Santa Barbara house rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights
 

Santa Barbara House Rental Photos and Description
2+ Bedrooms, detached room, 1.5 bathrooms + warm outdoor shower, Sleeps 6-8

Drink Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice Every Morning During your Stay!

This beautiful, cozy home has 2+ bedrooms and 1.5 baths along with a stand-alone detached room in the backyard. This pet friendly home boasts a beautiful manicured yard with 2 large orchard size orange trees, hot tub, outdoor shower. This California Cottage is typical Santa Barbara with white stucco and red roof tiles, beautiful oak floors and a great fireplace. The house is comfortably furnished including high quality linens and towels.

We are within walking distance to State Street and all the downtown shops (9 blocks or ~0.9 miles) and easy nearby access to the beach - only ~1 mile depending on what beach you'd like to enjoy.

The house can sleep 6 including the queen size convertible bed in the living room, but can sleep up to 8 including the a second pull out sofa in the living room and/or a detached room. One bedroom has a king size bed, the other a a queen size bed. The living room has a nice queen size convertible bed with memory foam.

The house has a large backyard lawn with a free-standing hammock for you to enjoy the gorgeous Santa Barbara days. You can eat breakfast and drink fresh squeezed orange juice from our orange trees while sitting on our redwood deck that receives perfect morning sun or have wonderful family dinners outside in the backyard. We also have a full front porch which gets great evening sun so you can sit back, enjoy a glass of wine and watch the world go by. We also have a great hot tub that you can enjoy while you sip some great local Santa Barbara wine and gaze at the moon or beautiful SB sunsets. Included also is a brand new gas grill at your disposal. You can also enjoy a rinse after hitting the beach with our outdoor shower!

We also have badminton, croquet and horse shoes to pass the the time.

You will have never ending hot water no matter how many baths or showers you take. We have a front loading washer/dryer at your fingertips.

We also have a small stand-alone detached room (approx. 150 sq ft) that has a full size convertible bed that can sleep 2 as well, however, you will have to come inside the house for bathroom access from this room.

We have a full kitchen with newer stainless steel appliances including a citrus juicer. We also have a 40 inch flatscreen TV in the living room and a 32 inch flatscreen in one of the bedrooms and a blu-ray/DVD player with access to Netflix, Hulu, etc., (using your own sign in). We also have wireless internet available throughout the property and a portable iPod dock for you to enjoy your favorite music whether indoors or out.

We are pet-friendly to well behaved dogs. Having 2 wonderful dogs that we enjoy traveling with ourselves, we know that it is important to find a place that is nice and accomodating to dogs. We have a dog door leading to the backyard which is fully fenced and we are within 0.5 miles of 3 off-leash open space parks including the beach, a park overlooking the ocean and one with amazing ocean and mountain views.

More Details
Hide Details

We are long time Santa Barbara residents who absolutely love living in Santa Barbara and truly make the most of living here. Tim grew up in Santa Barbara surfing at all the great local surf spots that the Central Coast has to offer. Shruti moved here to attend UCSB and never wants to move again! Together, we enjoy spending time with our 2 beautiful kids and our wonderful friends.

We love drinking local wines, eating at our great restaurants, hiking the local mountains and spending time at the beach...what a life!

When we first walked into this house, we fell in love with the gorgeous backyard and the wonderful open and airy feel of the house. There was just something that made this home a perfect piece of Santa Barbara.

What sets our place apart is our very competitive rate, proximity to Downtown SB and the local beaches, a hot tub, full kitchen and amazing backyard all for a much better deal than a local hotel. We are pet-friendly as well!

31 Reviews of Property 399042 in Santa Barbara, California

Beautiful Home-Close to Downtown & Beaches, Lush Yard, Hot Tub & Outdoor Shower
average rating of 4.730769 based on 31 reviews
business
Beautiful Home-Close to Downtown & Beaches, Lush Yard, Hot Tub & Outdoor Shower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399042
+1 805 570-5566
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County
5

Perfect rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a fabulous time in Santa Barbara! Our first impression of this great city was this amazing house. Great location, beautifully decorated, well maintained! The kids were so excited with the orange tree. We had fresh squeezed juice every morning....they are STILL talking about it! Thank you making our stay so wonderful and relaxing. Great communication prior to our arrival and even still after! Thanks for the memories!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Beautiful Home-Close to Downtown & Beaches, Lush Yard, Hot Tub & Outdoor Shower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399042
+1 805 570-5566
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County
5

Amazing Jem in Santa Barbara

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
My family and I had a great stay at this house when we were in town for the weekend. The landscaping is amazing and my only wish is that I had more time to hang out in the backyard and get in that nap on the hammock that I really wanted to! The interior is modern and comfy and our family already felt completely at home on the first day. The location is also good as you are only a few minutes to State street one way and from the beach the other. We look forward to staying here again on our next trip!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Beautiful Home-Close to Downtown & Beaches, Lush Yard, Hot Tub & Outdoor Shower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399042
+1 805 570-5566
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County
Long Beach, CA, USA
2

Cute place, good location, shotty plumbing, TOILETS CLOG

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Some friends and I stayed here for the weekend. It was mostly delightful, aside from a couple minor hiccups and one giant issue. It was clean and seemed well kept, the beds were amazing, and the kitchen was reasonably well stocked with cooking and serving utensils. The outdoor hot tub stopped working during our second to last day, and the owner said that happens often because the breaker malfunctions. Most importantly, if you like showering to the point of actual cleanliness in warm water (and getting the shampoo/conditioner out of your hair), or functionally flushing toilets, this may not be the place for you.

The plumber that came to snake the pipes at 12:30 AM to noisily snake the pipes (waking up the 4 of us who had been able to go to sleep) said that the pipes look as though there are roots grown into them. It's highly likely that the owners were aware of this prior to our visit because there was a sign posted above the toilet instructing users to hold the handle for at least 3 seconds (in all caps). When we called around 11pm, the homeowner told us she would get a plumber in the morning, expecting our group of 6 to be without a toilet for at least 9 hours. At our forceful insistence, the homeowner finally contracted a plumber to come to the house.

I would have been delighted to give a shining review of this property, or at least kept the homeowner's dirty little secrets about the numerous issues at the property, but after the homeowner's negligence and rudeness after the fact, she has forced my hand.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Home-Close to Downtown & Beaches, Lush Yard, Hot Tub & Outdoor Shower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399042
+1 805 570-5566
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County
Monterey County, CA
4

Week in Santa Barbara

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My friend and I stayed for a week in this 2 bedroom, 1/5 bath home. The property is close to downtown and comfortable. It had a nice back yard, parking, deck in back, and fit our needs well. The only issue we had was the water pressure in the bathroom sinks. It was very, very limited and made morning and night routines difficult. Other than that, it was fine for our lovely week in Santa Barbara. Thank you!
Owner's Response: Glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the house and in Santa Barbara. We were happy to host you. So sorry to hear that the water pressure was not sufficient in the bathroom sink. We have since cleaned out the clogged sink aerator from hard water deposits and the water pressure is back to normal now. I wish we would have known about it during your stay. We would have immediately taken care of it for you.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Home-Close to Downtown & Beaches, Lush Yard, Hot Tub & Outdoor Shower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399042
+1 805 570-5566
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County
5

A perfect spot!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I stayed here the weekend we got married. It was solstice weekend, so things were pretty crazy in town, even beyond wedding things. Shruti made it SUPER easy for us from the get-go. Communication was fast and incredibly detailed.

The house was absolutely PERFECT! Nice bedrooms, beautiful bathroom, very accessible and the backyard was FABULOUS. A hot tub, citrus trees, a hammock and tons of green space made it absolutely idyllic. And surprisingly quiet! The whole place was incredibly comfortable and well-worth what we paid. The location is fantastic, too - very easy to get almost anywhere.

Would highly recommend this home to anyone coming to SB - it was a great spot, great owners and a beautiful house. Thank you!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Home-Close to Downtown & Beaches, Lush Yard, Hot Tub & Outdoor Shower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399042
+1 805 570-5566
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County
Austin, TX
5

Welcome to the Neighborhood!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Santa Barbara is a lovely destination and this home lets you feel like you've just moved into the neighborhood!
We were visiting for a family reunion and our group included two couples, a granny, a grandchild, and an extra teenager.
The living/kitchen/dining area worked well for our family group and there was inviting space to socialize---or escape!
The bedrooms were comfortable and there was plenty of storage space. The early-riser family member enjoyed the outdoor bedroom and often walked to State Street for morning coffee. (easy access to half bath just inside the back door)
Especially enjoyed:
Platform king bed
Outdoor shower
Laundry
Yard--front landscaped sitting area,
back dining opens to patio
Access--walkable, nice neighborhood,
friendly neighbors on the street,
cross-town shuttle steps away,
easy parking in front of house
We enjoyed living here!
Thanks so much to the homeowners for making this home available, we didn't have time to enjoy the setting near as much as we wanted due to organized family reunion events, wish we could have stayed longer---
Maybe next time!
business
Beautiful Home-Close to Downtown & Beaches, Lush Yard, Hot Tub & Outdoor Shower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399042
+1 805 570-5566
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County
5

Wonderful experience all-around!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The house was well maintained and beautifully furnished and decorated! Overall, it was a very comfortable place to stay and enjoy the great town of Santa Barbara! Great customer service provided by the owners as well!
business
Beautiful Home-Close to Downtown & Beaches, Lush Yard, Hot Tub & Outdoor Shower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399042
+1 805 570-5566
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County
5

Amazing Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We rented this lovely home for the weekend. Great location, very close to State street and was the ideal situation for us.

The house was amazing and a huge plus was the nice backyard. All of the beds were extremely comfortable. The property was both very clean and well kept.

Shruti was very accommodating and let us check in early the day of because one of our guests arrived earlier than the rest of us. I would highly recommend both this house and to rent from Shruti, who was a great host.
business
Beautiful Home-Close to Downtown & Beaches, Lush Yard, Hot Tub & Outdoor Shower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399042
+1 805 570-5566
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County
Hermosa Beach, CA
5

Lovely stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I rented this place for a girls' weekend trip. It was quite lovely, clean, just as described. It was a 20 minute or $7 cab ride to downtown. Quiet neighborhood. The place was very neat and clean. Large backyard and all necessary appliances. The owners were very responsive and timely. They were very helpful and available any time I contacted them with questions, Very understanding, cordial and professional. The rate for this place was pretty reasonable. Will definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Home-Close to Downtown & Beaches, Lush Yard, Hot Tub & Outdoor Shower
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p399042
+1 805 570-5566
Santa Barbara Santa Barbara County
Santa Barbara
5

Extended Stay: Santa Barbara Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We live in Santa Barbara, and needed a place to stay for 3 months, while our house was under construction. I feel very fortunate to have found this place! It is well-tended, well-appointed,and nicely decorated, with special artistic touches. The landscaping is very special.
The photos and descriptions give an accurate impression of this home. I would go beyond this in the following ways:
There are 2 very inviting seating areas which are great for conversation - one in the living room, and the other around the picnic table on the deck in the back yard.
There is a lot of cheerful morning sunlight inside and outside the house.
The detached unit is a really nice room - well-built, with a very nice feel to it.
The house is located in a great neighborhood with interesting houses and well-kept landscaping all around.
It is a great location. You can get just about anywhere in 5 minutes by car. (The downtown area of Santa Barbara is a bit far for walking but really easy and quick to get to by car.)
The owner is really nice and very helpful. I had some special needs, and she was very attentive and supportive in helping me find what I needed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children