Old Center apartment rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Old Center Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom (second Bedroom on request), 1 Bathroom, (Sleeps 2)

Canal House 'The Old Lady'

This spacious ground-floor apartment in an old canal house features a living room, a very large bedroom, a large bathroom, a modern kitchen and a terrace garden. On the first floor is a large bedroom with adjacent a bathroom. The Old Lady was destroyed by fire in the 19th century and rebuild in 1870. So all the style icons are from this time period and during the renovation in 2010, these decorations are restored in their original condition. The ceiling decorations were specially made to carry huge gas lamps, which are replaced by antique crystal bohemian chandeliers. Wooden wainscoting and the antique fireplaces from black marble gives the apartment an atmosphere that makes you believe you are living in the past with all modern luxury. The modern kitchen with bluestone counter tops and Portugese tiles matches well with the adjacent garden, where you find complete silence in the middle of a very busy city.

The bed room at The Old Lady includes a king size bed, lots of store place a desk and a flat-screen cable TV with Internet and a well stocked mediaplayer. The living room includes a large sofa with a nice view on the Lutherian church on the opposite side of the canal.

Guests can prepare their own meals in the kitchen, which includes a gas hob, oven and a dishwasher. It also includes kitchenware and a Nespresso coffee maker. The stylish bathroom features a 2-persons shower, a bluestone washbowl and a toilet.

In the close vicinity of the apartment you find numerous shops, markets, musea, restaurants and theaters. Your host will make you feel very welcome and you can consult him with any question you have about Amsterdam.

Keywords: Apartment, Bed and Breakfast, Canal House, Monument, Bed & Breakfast, House, Condo,

More Details
Hide Details

Gijs is studying mechanical engineering at Delft University and Elsje is studying law in Amsterdam and goldsmith in Schoonhoven. We rent out the apartment to finance our study.

Gijs Cortlever purchased this apartment in 2010

Amsterdam is the most popular place to live for students.

The Canal Distric is the most lively part of Amsterdam.

6 Reviews of Property 398929 in Old Center, Netherlands

Beautiful Canal House Apartment in the Centre of Amsterdam
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Beautiful Canal House Apartment in the Centre of Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398929vbi
+31 633903641
Old Center Amsterdam
Philadelphia, PA
5

John & Mary ( Philadelphia, USA )

John & Mary ( Philadelphia, USA )
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We agree with all the prior reviews. Could not have asked for a finer time. It was like staying with a long lost cousin, who respected your privacy. The rooms are completely private and you have your own key. Regarding the location and accommodation - I have traveled extensively over the years and have lived out of Hotel room's. I find them OK for a few nights, Very sterile. Usually a very small room with smaller beds and no kitchen. Unless you reserved a hotel suite $$$$. Check the rates in Amsterdam for this type of accommodation. Not to mention the cost of breakfast in these hotels.
Transportation could not have been better. We were a ten minute walk to the Central Station. All the main Trams for Amsterdam begin there. No auto was needed. Could easily walk to many of the different areas of Amsterdam. We would gladly return here. We stayed for a week. If you have Google Earth, check out the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Canal House Apartment in the Centre of Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398929vbi
+31 633903641
Old Center Amsterdam
United States, Salt Lake City, Utah
5

Wonderful Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Sorry to be late with this review but I felt a need to add it since I depend on these reviews when using this site. We couldn't have picked a better location in Amsterdam. We were 2 blocks from the Anne Frank house and had wonderful restaurants all around us. The apartment itself does not have a kitchen because the owner of the home lives upstairs and shares the kitchen in the back. We had no problem with that since we enjoyed eating out most of the time. The owners were very seldom there and we hardly saw them at all except when Gijs served us a wonderful breakfast. The apartment is right in front with great light and windows, huge bedroom and bath. Plenty of room for my husband and I. We absolutely loved the place. There is no parking close to this area which was pretty much true for all of Amsterdam so having a car is problematic. There are parking garages but are quite far away and expensive. Would highly recommend this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Canal House Apartment in the Centre of Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398929vbi
+31 633903641
Old Center Amsterdam
Roseville, Ca
5

If you like old world charm, a huge bedroom, and a great host, you'll love this place!

If you like old world charm, a huge bedroom, and a great host, you'll love this place!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I'm not exactly sure where to start. I read earlier reviews of this place and they were all positive and accurate. However, they missed some of the charm of this place. It looks right over the canal and a beautiful church. If people watching is your thing simply open the windows and you'll see lots of folks walking and riding by. If you want to watch and have privacy simply use the privacy blinds where you'll see out but they can't see in. Also, they have wonderful and huge wooden pocket blinds to tune out all noise and light. The same is true of the bedroom. Huge room with a huge double pocket door for complete isolation. If riding is your thing,Giijs Cortlever will gladly let you use his. They are provided for free. The location is perfect if you want to see all the Amsterdam has to offer. We werre able to see Van Gogh, the Riksmuseum, and the Heineken factory all in a half day. For dinner there are more restaurants close by to be listed here. However Giijs can help, and will help, with all of those things. He's a fantastic host and a very inquisitive and bright individual. He also makes a great breakfast at your time convenience. Also, laundry is included if you need it. Same with WiFi. It's people like Giijs and his great apartment that make me realize that I will likely never stay at a regular hotel again. If you go to Amsterdam and this place is available, take it!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Beautiful Canal House Apartment in the Centre of Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398929vbi
+31 633903641
Old Center Amsterdam
HILLARYS WA, Australiƫ
5

Top location in Amsterdam

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
One of the most relaxing short stay accommodation we have had. Just perfect! It was hard to leave it to go out sightseeing. Highly recommend it. It was like staying in someone's home but there was complete privacy. A very comfortable bed and a breakfast that was beautifully presented in the separate dining/kitchen area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Canal House Apartment in the Centre of Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398929vbi
+31 633903641
Old Center Amsterdam
London
5

A wonderful romantic apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We had a fabulous stay at this beautiful apartment. The room was great - very luxurious feel with everything you need. The building has been recently renovated and is in a great location. Gijs was a wonderful host - the breakfasts in particular were delicious! Would thoroughly recommend. Just perfect.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Canal House Apartment in the Centre of Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398929vbi
+31 633903641
Old Center Amsterdam
Sint Maarten
5

A wonderfull Old Lady

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Live Amsterdam like an hipster in the middle of the heaven. The house is soo delightful, decorated like a picture in a magazine, the new bathroom make you feel as comfortable as in a hotel and the view from the living room, on the canal, is just "no-thinkable".... The house is well located, in the middle of Jordaan, the most trendy area, and at 2 minutes from the Central Station & the Cbd. About the Host, Gijs is a wonderful person who is really helpful and also know what is discretion, to make you feel like his home is your home. Plus, He cook breakfast like no one! If you want a wonderful experience, just go! & get a bike ! :) Thomas
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1