Grand Lake house rental - 180 degree views of Shadow Mtn Lake & Rocky Mtn Nat'l Park from your chair!
180 degree views of Shadow Mtn Lake & Rocky Mtn Nat'l Park from your chair!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps14
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Grand Lake House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 11-14)

NOTE: Recently renovated March 2014!

In summer be mesmorized by the light of the full moon glistening across the lake in a golden path right up to your window.In Winter, spend the Holidays enjoying the Magic of the glistening snowflakes tenderly falling on the lake and mountains while the glow of the wood burning fireplace warms your soul.

Enjoy the beauty and majesty of the Rocky Mountains and Grand Lake from this beautiful chalet-style home overlooking Shadow Mountain Lake and the Rocky Mountain National Park.

Maximize your time outdoors on the HUGE upper and lower decks, both overlooking Shadow Mountain Lake. Or spend a lazy afternoon lounging in the hammocks while reading your favorite novel. In Winter, nestle up on the couch with your favorite book or read a story to your family as the wood burning fireplace glows with warmth as the snow gently falls out the window wall in the living room.

We are just four minutes from the town of Grand Lake and the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. Grand Lake provides a classic 'old west' town ambiance and fun for the whole family. From there you can enjoy the shops, restaurants, mini-golf, guided horseback riding, guided and unguided snowmobile and ATV rentals, go-carts, bumper boats and more. Walk to the marina and rent a boat from this gorgeous lake home with panorama views of the lake and mountains.

Rocky Mountain National Park is home to an abundant wildlife population including elk, deer, moose, bears, porcupines and foxes (many of these pass through the rental property as well). Miles of hiking and snowshoeing trails are accessible from the entrance to the park.

Trail Ridge Marina is just 100 yards down the road and offers pontoon and sport-boat rentals. You can also snowmobile across the lakes in the winter! Book early as this is a year round vacation rental with strong rental history and repeat renters.

There is no better place to spend vacation or the holidays than in the mountains of Colorado.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

Views of the Lake and the Mountains right from this home and of course the beauty of nature all around with wildlife that comes through the neighborhood. Also, the ease of access to Rocky Mtn Nat'l Park and the Arapahoe Nat'l Forest and all the trail systems added to the convenience of this location. And downtown Grand Lake is only a few minutes away so it is easy to get anything you might need at the store.

The lake view and the feeling of being right on the water from the living room or deck. You can throw a stone in the water from here. Our guests write about seeing rainbows, thunderstorms, full moon glows coming across the lake. I like to shut off all the lights in the home and just look at the moon reflect on the lake as it looks like a path of gold light coming right up to you. The alpenglow on the mountains in the early evenings is ever changing so don't take your eyes off of it for a minute. Priceless!

20 Reviews of Property 184930 in Grand Lake, Colorado

Best Lake & Mountain Peak Views of Rocky Mountain National Park
average rating of 4.428571 based on 20 reviews
business
Best Lake & Mountain Peak Views of Rocky Mountain National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184930vb
+1 970-415-0392
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Denver
5

Perfect space for family celebration, incredible views!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We rented this large home to celebrate my dad's 60th birthday and we were very impressed with the amount of personal space we all had. The kitchen, to boot, had just about every possible cooking utensil/pot/pan/etc that one could ever need! We loved the large oversized fridge. But better was the incredible view from the living room. It was healing to just sit and stare out. Also, it's much closer to downtown Grand Lake than it looks on a map, it's just a quick ride into town – close to hiking trails, restaurants, great fishing spots. We're already trying to decide when we can rent this house again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Liz, we are thrilled your dad's 60th birthday celebration was a hit and appreciate your kind words. An update: yesterday we put in a larger dining room set that will expand from a 4 person round table up to an 8 person table with two leafs (in closet). We leave it with one leaf in for 6 but it provides flexibility depending on group size. We moved the other dining table and benches out to the sun porch but they can be brought in for even larger groups of up to 14 sitting down and eating together.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best Lake & Mountain Peak Views of Rocky Mountain National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184930vb
+1 970-415-0392
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Providence, RI
4

Fantastic family vacation!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a wonderful time with our 8 person, 1 baby family at Shadow Mountain Lake. The house was very clean upon our arrival, and had plenty of room for our family and amazing views. The location is perfect, very close to the lake and town. Joe was prompt and helpful in answering questions before, during, and after our trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best Lake & Mountain Peak Views of Rocky Mountain National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184930vb
+1 970-415-0392
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Atlanta, Georgia
4

summer in Grand Lake

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Loved our trip top Grand Lake, the house was wonderful. Great floor plan, great location, great amenities. 2 exceptions. No air conditioning/evaporative coolers and most windows didn't open, making parts of the house unbearable in 90+ degree heat. Would be a perfect house any other time of year,. We would stay in the house again but at a different time.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best Lake & Mountain Peak Views of Rocky Mountain National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184930vb
+1 970-415-0392
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
5

Celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This home was the perfect place for the celebration of our 50th wedding anniversary. We were very comfortable with a family of 14. The owner was very helpful and friendly to work with. We found our favorite place was the upper deck. The views were outstanding.
The Trail Ridge Marina was a highlight of our trip. We rented a pontoon boat and enjoyed time on the lake.
If you are looking for a comfortable - relaxing place for a family get together - this is the place.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. What a JOY it is for us to share the magic of Grand Lake with so many other families like yours marking memorable milestones in our vacation home. God Bless you for the next 50!
business
Best Lake & Mountain Peak Views of Rocky Mountain National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184930vb
+1 970-415-0392
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
4

Family reunion

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We enjoyed our stay in this beautiful home. The house accommodated our large family well for a reunion. The views are amazing and we even had a moose pass right by the property for everyone's pleasure. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
business
Best Lake & Mountain Peak Views of Rocky Mountain National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184930vb
+1 970-415-0392
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
5

Charming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a great vacation. Grand Lake is a charming town. Your home was very comfortable and in a nice location. We enjoyed mornings on the deck and the evening view of the lake and mountains. Thank you so much for sharing it with us!
A couple of tips for other vactioners;
We had some great food at the Grand Lake Brewing Company Taphouse just south of the residence and the local pizza place in downtown Grand Lake was great, too,
We highly recommend the Grand Lake Marina at the east end of town.... they taught our daughters to paddle board and were so much fun.
And go to Rocky Mountain Natil Park late afternoon/early evening. The shadows on the mountains are amazing at sunset and the animals are righton the road. I swear one bull elk posed for us!
Owner's Response: Amy, thanks for your kind words and for sharing tips for other guests. It is so rewarding for us to hear of other families and friends making fond memories in our lakehome. Gracias! Come again! Joe & Sue
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best Lake & Mountain Peak Views of Rocky Mountain National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184930vb
+1 970-415-0392
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Lexington, NE
4

family reunion

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
What a beautiful cabin, exceeded my expectations, was comfortable, clean and the view was amazing. Close to a charming little town, moose in the front yard sooo cool! I would recommnd this cabin to anyone.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Tammey, So glad you enjoyed yourselves and had a moose encounter, which happens regularly in our neighborhood. Please come again.
Warm regards, Joe and Sue
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Best Lake & Mountain Peak Views of Rocky Mountain National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184930vb
+1 970-415-0392
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
Email received from Guest: 8-14-08
Joe, You're too kind. I'm not sure if my wife told you but she fell in love with Grand Lake and if we lived in CO we'd seriously consider buying your place (we've been looking for a 2nd home within a couple hours drive from the DC area). The view is to die for and seems to be one of the best views in the area.

We're already talking about renting your place again next year. The one reason we may not is if things go according to plan, we'll have a second little one on our hands during the summer months next year, but we'd consider other times of the year as well.

Thanks also for all your advice on the hikes. One of the short hikes books you had was great.

Guy
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Best Lake & Mountain Peak Views of Rocky Mountain National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184930vb
+1 970-415-0392
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
I, the owner, am adding a number of guest comments as you will see in the guest book if you stay in the home. I can also send out a copy of the pages from the book if anyone is interested. Names are abbreviated for privacy.
--------------------------------------------------

Thanks for an awesome 4th of July "original" vacation in your luxurious lakehouse! Boating, Tubing, Horseback riding, and river rafting on the Yampa in Steamboat Springs were greatly appreciated and enjoyed by all. Eileen, Chris, Christopher and Nicolas.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Best Lake & Mountain Peak Views of Rocky Mountain National Park
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p184930vb
+1 970-415-0392
Grand Lake Rocky Mountain National Park
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
Thanks so much for letting us stay in this cozy house! The view is gorgeous & the lake is so relaxing! Thanks again.
Helpful votes: 2/3