Ocean View house rental - Pool deck and spa
Pool deck and spa
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Ocean View House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 full Bathrooms, Office, Sleeps 8

Do you long for?

The majesty of a panoramic ocean view lit by the glow of a tropical sunset?

The grandeur of a star-filled sky unbroken by streetlights or civilization?

The relaxation of watching ocean waves and swaying palms from your private lanai?

The enjoyment of a steaming cup of coffee, a good book, and a beautiful sunrise?

The solitude of a perfectly quiet evening touched only by the sounds of birdsong and breezes?

But also want?

The fun of swimming and relaxing in your private pool and sun deck?

The joy of swimming and snorkeling with the turtles at a stunning black sand beach?

The excitement of exploring a volcanic wonderland of lava flows and ancient caverns?

The romance of a soothing spa and glass of wine under a tropical sky?

The convenience of nearby shopping, gas, dining, and community library/clubhouse?

Then this might be the perfect spot for you to enjoy your stay in paradise!

Located 45 m. from Kona and 60 m. from Hilo... : We offer the wonderful experience of ''Old Hawaii'' with its serenity, quiet, and charm. In addition, we are ideally located to allow you to explore both sides of the Big Island. A five minute trip up to the highway takes you to the growing town of Ocean View, with its opportunities for shopping, dining, and an active community center.

Nearby must-see attractions include the black sand beach at Punalu'u, the green-sand beach and cliffs at South Point, Volcano National Park, and Kula Kai caverns. For the hikers, don't miss walking about 2 miles down to the beach and lagoon at Pohue Bay where you will likely have it to yourselves (especially on a week day). A quick trip to the quaint town of Na'alehu lets you avail yourselves of organically grown local produce, local style restaurants with live music, and a fabulous bakery. A journey through lush rainforest to the Kapoho Tidepools with its outstanding snorkeling and abundant sea life. Or enjoy kayaking with the dolphins.

Hale Maluhia, or ''House of Peace',: is at 600' elevation and 2 miles from the coast, providing panoramic ocean views and perfect temperatures and humidity year round. Its unique location at the southern end of the island allows you to experience both fantastic sunsets and sunrises! Because of our low elevation and the cooling trade winds, we are rarely affected by the vog that can affect the Kona Coast. But we are still on the sunny side, where we don't have the rain and the bugs of the Hilo side.

Hale Maluhia is 1700 sq. ft. and features an open floor plan with three large bedrooms and two baths. The entire unit is located on the second level, providing enhanced views of the coastline and mountains. Vaulted ceilings throughout provides the spaciousness of a much larger home and the skylights warm the house with natural light. We also provide an office with laptop computer and high speed internet. A 900 sq. ft. lanai wraps around the entire house in a plantation style, allowing you your choice of views and privacy.

A spacious and inviting interior...: The master bedroom has a sliding glass door out to the lanai and a lovely ocean view. With a king size bed and 32'' flat screen TV with Dish Network, it is a great place to relax at the end of a long day of sightseeing and swimming.

The kitchen is open, with a breakfast bar for informal dining. It is fully equipped and has native koa-wood cabinets. It is ready for you to make your favorite island dishes or just pop something in the microwave for a quick snack.

There are two roomy baths, both with large tile vanities and shower/tub combinations. The master bath has a vanity separate from the main area allowing for greater privacy and shared use.

The great room combines a dining, living, and sitting area. There is an entertainment center with TV, DVD player, stereo, and home theater. An IPOD dock lets you enjoy your own music, or you can tune into the stations provided by Dish Network .

More Details
Hide Details

My wife and I live in California and love the sun and the sea. We fell in love with the Big Island during our many vacations to Hawaii, and were fortunate enough to purchase this property for our retirement home. We are avid ballroom dancers and plan on building a dance studio on the property after we move over permanently. We both enjoy arts and crafts and hope to continue and expand our hobbies after we move.

Bob Werner purchased this house in 2009

We love the rural charm of 'Old Hawaii' and serenity of the south end of the island. It is on the 'sunny side' of the island and offers a panoramic view of the ocean 2 miles away. We enjoy watching the whale migration in season from our lanai. We also wanted to be in an area relatively free of the 'vog' that can affect the higher elevations and coastal areas to the north. We enjoy having services and amenities close by to avoid the need for frequent trips in to Kona or Hilo. We love the home and hope you will enjoy it as much as we do!

At 'Hale Maluhia' you can experience the peace and refreshment of 'getting away from it all' while still 'having it all'. Your vacation can be as active or relaxed as you wish. You can explore the richness of the Big Island or relax with a book on the lanai or by the pool. Kids will enjoy the opportunity to swim and splash about and adults can enjoy a relaxing soak in the spa at the end of the day. It provides a great base for exploring the delights of the east side of the Island without the long drive back to Kona. Make sure you take the opportunity to enjoy the spectacular, star filled night skies and look for shooting stars. The star-gazing is truly world-class!

57 Reviews of Property 398841 in Ocean View, Hawaii

Secluded Custom Retreat with Private Pool and Spa
average rating of 4.8055553 based on 57 reviews
business
Secluded Custom Retreat with Private Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398841
+1 424-210-1325
Ocean View Ka'u District
5

Wonderful vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The house was a wonderful place for our family to make as our home base while we explored the southeast and southwest part of the Big Island. The description and photos of the property were very accurate. The home is secluded and away from all of the activity and hubbub of the busier Kona area. The home was well stocked with everything someone might need for their vacation, from all of the pots and pans for making meals to the beach mats, coolers and towels for hanging out at the beach. This property is convenient for anyone who wants a quiet retreat away from it all, yet is still a short drive to some of the southern beaches such as Green Sands or Black Sand Beach and other sites such as Volcano National Park.
business
Secluded Custom Retreat with Private Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398841
+1 424-210-1325
Ocean View Ka'u District
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Truly a place to unwind and relax

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Wonderful hale on the moon! The trip to the "palm" beach down below was fantastic.

Bob and Sue were gracious and helpful. They are so well supplied for everything! (even a baby toilet seat in the closet!) Sue even loaned me her sunglasses when I couldn't find mine.

This location is terrific for traveling in both directions - to the Kona side and to the Hilo/Volcano side.

LISTEN to how quiet it is!! no noise at all except nature at its best...wind, birds, geckos... Truly a place to unwind and relax in your wonderful home in paradise.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Secluded Custom Retreat with Private Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398841
+1 424-210-1325
Ocean View Ka'u District
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Heaven on earth!

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
What a wonderful retreat! Your delightful home by the sea was just what we needed. No hustle/bustle, traffic sounds, or calls from solicitors! Its heaven! And still close enough to all the wonder and awe that makes this island what it is...heaven on earth!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Secluded Custom Retreat with Private Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398841
+1 424-210-1325
Ocean View Ka'u District
4

Secluded Paradise

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
What a relaxing, comfortable place to get away from our very cold winter! We were 6 adults and the accomodations were just right to be together or by oneself. Not having a beach close the pool and hot tub were just right to hang out or to relax at the end of the day. Bob and Sue were excellent hosts to help fill us in on the amenities nearby and to be of assistance to our needs. The home is about halfway from Kona and Hilo and if you like driving to sightsee this is a central place. Quiet and relaxing are the best ways to describe this getaway.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Secluded Custom Retreat with Private Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398841
+1 424-210-1325
Ocean View Ka'u District
Bend, Oregon
5

Serene Place in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We spent a wonderful week at this delightful, well appointed property. The wrap around lanai where sunrises and sunsets could be enjoyed over coffee or a wine did little encourage leaving. An occasional dip in your own private pool during the warm, sunny days only added to the total relaxing experience. A well stocked library furnished a selection of books to enjoy on the chaise lounges poolside. Highly recommend for a great unwind and tan.
Owner's Response: It was great meeting you guys! And we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. It is hard to leave the property, but for future travelers, I DO recommend doing some sightseeing! ;-) The Big Island has so much to see and do!
business
Secluded Custom Retreat with Private Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398841
+1 424-210-1325
Ocean View Ka'u District
Post Falls, ID
5

"Goodnight sun"; open/comfortable space in and outside

"Goodnight sun"; open/comfortable space in and outside
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our children are still saying "good night sun" after having watched the sun set over the expansive Pacific Ocean each night at the Lanikai house. That view is breathtaking and humbling. We happily slept 2 adult couples and 2 children under four yrs old at this getaway home. Located at the end of the road we had privacy and tranquility. The pool was cool for us, but we enjoyed the spa half of the nights during our stay. The house is open and a breeze keeps it cool. We love hiking and exploring, and the house's location was conducive to visiting Volcanoes NP and the Kahuku Ranch. There are several black sand beaches within an hour of hiking and/or driving of this house. Have fun like we did!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: While I always appreciate the kind comments of our "grown up" guests, it is especially pleasing when we make positive impression on the kids! From now on, when I am enjoying the sunset from the lanai, I will be thinking "good night, sun" myself!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for staying with us.

Bob and Sue
business
Secluded Custom Retreat with Private Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398841
+1 424-210-1325
Ocean View Ka'u District
4

Great place in a great location!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had a wonderful vacation here. The house is perfectly located in easy reach of both kona and volcano so we could experience everything the island had to offer. We had everything we needed for ourselves and three boys - the pool for the kids and the veranda for us to enjoy the quiet and serenity. A lovely home!
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. And thanks for your kind review.

Bob and Sue
business
Secluded Custom Retreat with Private Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398841
+1 424-210-1325
Ocean View Ka'u District
5

Very tranquil at the end of busy days

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I really enjoyed my stay here. We were busy all the days we were there. It was refreshing to come home to a quiet and secluded place after all the site seeing around the island. Bob was great with his suggestions of local beaches and sites. It is a bit of a drive to go anywhere but we enjoyed the road trips. It allowed us to see so much of the main island of Hawaii. The hike down to the private beach was incredible and the oasis at the end was peaceful and relaxing. I don't recommend the hike in flip flops though :-). The sunrise and sunsets here are amazing and I got some breath taking pictures. South point, though windy, was a great place to watch the sunset and is really close to the house. The black sand beach was my favorite beach while we were there but visited a lot of beaches off the highway. Some sandy, some rocky and all incredibly beautiful. If you like the stars, they are out in an incredible display almost every night!
The house was clean and felt like home as soon as we arrived. It was decorated in a comfortable and relaxing way. The bed we slept in was as comfortable, if not more comfortable, then our bed at home. Bob was attentive immediately to a couple of issues that came up during our stay. I couldn't have asked for a better owner. This would be our choice of a home base if we are ever able to make it to this part of Hawaii again.
Thanks for the hospitality and use of your home for our slightly gregarious and giggling group!! It really was a vacation of a lifetime!
Owner's Response: Wow! Your review reflects exactly the experience we want to provide. It is so encouraging to us to find out we are succeeding.

Thanks so much for your kind words. we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Bob and Sue
business
Secluded Custom Retreat with Private Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398841
+1 424-210-1325
Ocean View Ka'u District
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Great vacation!

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Bob and Sue,

Thanks for opening your lovely home to us. We had a great vacation. I think we almost did everything we wanted to do while here. The sunrises and sunsets were amazing. We enjoyed the house as our home base.

It was great having you and Sue here to help direct us to some different places we might not have seen. There was so much to do! We will be back...

Thanks
business
Secluded Custom Retreat with Private Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398841
+1 424-210-1325
Ocean View Ka'u District
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Amazing hospitality and beautiful home

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Bob and Sue,

Mahalo for the amazing hospitality and sharing your beautiful home with us. The setting made it seem like we owned all of Ocean View and left us instantly relaxed. Its also the perfect spot for exploring the east and west sides of the island. Our only regret is not getting down to the beach at Pohue Bay sooner - what a wonderful and secluded spot. And the lava tubes and petroglyphs along the way were fascinating!

All the best wishes and Aloha!