Savannah cottage rental - Drifting Cottage - cozy home with two Queen Beds - Sleeps 4
Drifting Cottage - cozy home with two Queen Beds - Sleeps 4
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Savannah Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, LOFT + 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Welcome!

Surrounded by turn-of-the-century bungalows and craftsman-styled homes, Drifting Cottage is ready to welcome you to Savannah!

Located in the Baldwin Park Historic District, this little jewel has been lovingly updated to comfortably accommodate 4 guests.

Our Cottage:

Drifting Cottage was purchased in 2009 and turend into a vacation rental in 2013. One of the many perks of our cottage is that you have your own patio and there is lush landscaping so you feel very tucked in from the street. We also have hassle-free meter-free parking on our street -- just check the street-sweep signs (once a week).

Stay as connected as you like to with our high speed internet, or just sit back and let the world pass you by. We have basic cable and a DVD player with a small supply of DVDs for your use.

If eating out isn’t really your style, stay in and enjoy the fully equipped kitchen, complete with everything you need to make amazing meals without ever leaving home.

Cottage Details:

* LOFT with 2 Full Beds

* 1 Full Baths with linens provided

* Kitchen is fully equipted

* Complimentary coffee & tea service

* Indoor & Outdoor Dining Areas - seats 3

* Habersham Village is about 1 mile south of us & is a great place to gather groceries, meet the liquorsmith, or even grab a tofu burrito at one of our five little restaurants in the 'HV' (Habersham Village).

If you’d like to have a “walk around the neighborhood” our address is 716 E. 40th St.

Why should you stay with us?

This is a home where you find your own excitement & relaxation ~ playing Monopoly, reading books in the comfy morning room, gathering together in the backyard, strolling through Baldwin Park, - this is what Drifting Cottage is all about!

We hope you will enjoy this cottage as much as we do & will go the extra mile with suggestions for dinner, shopping, or activities to make your stay more plesant.

We leave suggestions in a guide book for you -- and have a little blog with ideas as well.

Looking for more cottages for your family gathering? Busy Bee offers other signature cottages throughout historic Savannah.

More Details
Hide Details

I'm a Savannah native who loves the lifestyle of the lowcountry! Me & my pup, Tondee, love to explore the various parks around the Castle Cottage including Forsyth Park and Daffin Park.

Laurie deVegter purchased this cottage in 2008

The Baldwin Park neighborhood is family-friendly and centrally located. A mere 2.5 mile bike ride to the Savannah River or about a fun run up to Forsyth Park on the weekend for the Farmers' Market. Only 20 miles to the beach!

The benefits of being here is that its incredibly comfortable at a great price. The cottage was styled by a friend a local furniture boutique and it is very welcoming and friendly. We have tried to think of everything including coffee, flashlight, umbrella, etc. We want you to be comfortable in our home and enjoy your stay!

14 Reviews of Property 398727 in Savannah, Georgia

2 miles to Downtown - Sleeps 4
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 14 reviews
business
2 miles to Downtown - Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398727vbi
+1 912-220-0957
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Cottage 1010 Changeover to Castle Cottage

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Just wanted guests to know that Cottage 1010 sold -- Busy Bee has replaced 1010 with Castle Cottage, another signature cottage!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
2 miles to Downtown - Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398727vbi
+1 912-220-0957
Savannah Coastal Georgia
-
5

Great stay in Savannah

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The 1010 Cottage turned out even better than I thought it would be. The cottage was very close the park and my wife and I walked there every day enjoying the incredible architecture.
The cottage provided everything you need to have a wonderful vacation in Savannah.
Richard, Pam, and Madison
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
2 miles to Downtown - Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398727vbi
+1 912-220-0957
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Dade City, Florida
3

Mixed feelings.

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The cottage was clean and presentable. It was mostly as the pictures showed. Parking was a problem.
we could never find parking close by at night. We had to park around the corner and move the car to the front when someone left in the morning. The parking is public parking only, so first come first serve. Be careful on Wednesdays. your car must be off the street in the wee hours of the morning for the street sweeper. Be prepared to park at one of the garages overnight or your car may be towed. The surrounding area is mixed with houses that are in need of repair and nice homes. It was not the nicest of areas, if you are not used to run-down areas this may bother you. The area was safe, though not the cleanest. It was indeed quiet and safe. There is a great Restaurant on Montgomery St. They have the best breakfast! The parks are nearby and beautiful! The owners were available to us . The tv room is a bit small for four people. It realistically only fits two people for watching television, I would suggest a larger couch in there. The house is very modern with nice touches. Bring your own laundry soap if you want to do laundry. If you bring pets make sure you crate them and keep them off the furniture , you will be charged an extra cleaning fee. She was fair in her additional cleaning fee and did not charge us a pet deposit. It is basically a nice, clean, safe place with some minor drawbacks.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you found the home charming, Nilda!

The Victorian District is a diverse community which is what adds to its character. There are definitely all walks of life in the neighborhood!

Our guest book advises of the parking situation and if you'd prefer to park in a garage, we have those resources available for you as well!

I try my best to be sensitive to ALL our guests which is why we charge an additional $50 pet fee for a deeper clean. When we have additional pet hair, etc, it requires our cleaning team to wipe baseboards and launder extra blankets, etc. Most of our guests appreciate this!

All the best, Laurie d.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
2 miles to Downtown - Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398727vbi
+1 912-220-0957
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Saint Paul, MN
5

Wonderful stay in Savannah!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My adult daughter and I stayed at the Cottage for four nights and had a great time. The house is very well stocked and maintained. Easily accessible to many restaurants and tourist sights. The home has many personal touches including coffee and tea service, a list of recommended restaurants and the location of a grocery store and liquor store. We were able to enjoy a very relaxing vacation without having to worry about necessities. I plan on staying here again if in Savannah! A special thank you to Laurie for all the care and thoughtfulness she puts into the home rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Joan,
Thank you for the review! I appreciate your feedback and happy that you were satisfied with the cottage. Thank you for the tips on additional things to stock--we will get on that right away.
All the best!
Laurie d.
business
2 miles to Downtown - Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398727vbi
+1 912-220-0957
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Mary Esther, Florida
5

SCAD Move In Day

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The cottage was charming and met our needs. Probably will want to be a little closer to SCAD next time we visit but other than that it worked well and had everything we needed. Thank you.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review, Susan! I'm glad you enjoyed the cottage and were able to bring your pup. Cottage 1010 is just around the corner from the SCAD Fashion School but most of the buildings on "campus" are spread out all through downtown. I will be happy to assist you in finding a cottage closer to your specific SCAD building in the future. Best, Laurie d.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
2 miles to Downtown - Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398727vbi
+1 912-220-0957
Savannah Coastal Georgia
North Carolina
4

Cottage 1010

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Laurie is MOST helpful and welcoming - you couldn't ask for more; and the inside of the cottage is very nice. I loved the way it was decorated, LOVED the bath towels, and loved the bedding.
That said, all the photos on VRBO are of the inside except the one of the courtyard. So the first impression of the outside and street scene was a little surprising RELATIVE to how nice the inside is when I first drove up, which is not a complaint but rather advice so that no one else is as surprised. I wondered for a split second if I was in the right place. Walk around the corner though, and it's a beautiful street.
My main suggestion, which someone else also has written since I was there, is that the bedrooms need curtains very badly (perhaps even black-out lined). The alley that runs parallel to the cottage is fairly brightly-lit at night and has coming and going later than I am usually up and I ended up putting sheets up over the blinds just like the other person did in order to have more privacy and less light.
Also, if you are accustomed to having all your blinds wide open and looking out your windows, the cottage does not so much lend itself to that.
Little things that don't matter that much so these are just picky suggestions :-) :
(1) I had forgotten to pack bar soap and would have loved even the very cheapest of dollar-store or tiny hotel bar soaps when I arrived after a long, hot drive; I used the liquid hand-soap that was there for my shower instead. That was my fault for forgetting but I would have given ANYTHING for it at that moment!
(2) Would have loved a radio in the main part of the house since I was there alone and don't really watch TV much;
(3) Could have used a pet bowl or two, and maybe a full-length mirror somewhere.
The proximity to Forsythe Park was WONDERFUL and a real treat. It's spectacular and everyone in Savannah was so nice! (I also want to mention that I met some of the neighbors in the nearby Victorian houses and they were incredibly nice and welcoming and made you just want to move there!)
However, being there alone and never having visited Savannah before, in all honesty I would choose to stay a bit further North - closer to some of the other tourist destinations - just as a first-time visitor and a single woman. As pretty as the cottage was inside I THINK I would have enjoyed being more in the "heart" of the historic district/tourist destinations. Nonetheless a charming place for couples and groups and families!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
business
2 miles to Downtown - Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398727vbi
+1 912-220-0957
Savannah Coastal Georgia
5

Cottage 1010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My college-aged daughters and I had the pleasure of spending 6 days in this wonderful cottage. We visited Savannah and took day-trips to Tybee Island for the glorious beach. The cottage is quite charming and has everything a family needs. It is much larger inside than it appears from the outside. The decorating is very tastefully done and provides a very cozy atmosphere. One is encouraged to relax and enjoy the company of your family. It is close to Forsythe Park where my daughters ran each morning. There are numerous historical sites nearby as well as beautiful buildings and other architectural wonders.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words, Jane! So glad you enjoyed Cottage 1010 with your family. The owner has a great sense of style and wanted to make sure that guests are comfortable. We hope to see you back soon! Laurie d.
business
2 miles to Downtown - Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398727vbi
+1 912-220-0957
Savannah Coastal Georgia
United States
5

Perfect Vacation Getaway!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We absolutely loved 1010 Cottage and have recommended it to several friends who are considering a trip to Savannah. Without a doubt, the best value, ideal location, & accommodating in every way. Laurie was so great & what little we needed, she took care of immediately. Most unusual to find such gracious & attentive owner/management. This cottage is a very special place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We loved having you stay - thank you for your kind words. -Laurie d.
business
2 miles to Downtown - Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398727vbi
+1 912-220-0957
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Montgomery, AL
5

LuLu

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We loved staying in the cute, cozy, and comfortable cottage. It was very clean and had everything we needed. The only real problem we encountered was that the cleaning service had turned off the a/c and we didn't know about the switch in the laundry room that had to be turned on first. A call to Laura took care of that. A suggestion for the bedrooms-curtains that will keep out the street lights. I put sheets up to block the light. Overall-a really neat place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: LuLu,
Thank you for your review! We love Cottage 1010 as much as you do - it has such a unique artistic flair! Our "cleaner bees" are fantastic gals - they try to make everything "Busy Bee Perfect" for our guests. We will look into the curtains/shades as you mentioned and label the AC for future guests. Thank you for the suggestion! Best, Laurie d.
business
2 miles to Downtown - Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398727vbi
+1 912-220-0957
Savannah Coastal Georgia
Omaha, Nebraska
5

Great pet friendly get away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Laurie was very helpful. The home is decorated with cool vintage pieces along with nice upgrades and very organized. We enjoyed breakfast and coffee on the back patio each morning. The house is in close proximity to Forsyth Park and walking distance to many historic squares. Forsyth Park farmers market every saturday in spring/summer months 9am-3pm.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Loved hearing about how you took your pup to walk the squares as well as to Vinnies for pizza! Great tip for our pet owners! Thanks for sharing - still would love to find out more about that Ipod Tour you downloaded! Thanks again, Meghan!
Helpful votes: 1/1