Lee house rental - 1822 Historic Berkshire House
1822 Historic Berkshire House
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Lee House Rental Photos and Description
House, 6 Bedrooms + Office, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12) 3200+ sq ft

Sitting in South Lee, a mile outside of Stockbridge, The house is nestled in an ideal location with views of Beartown Mountain and Yale Hill. We’re centrally located to numerous southern Berkshire attractions including Tanglewood, the Appalachian Trail, and Butternut Ski Resort, Jacobs Pillow and many more. The Town of Lee lies in the valley of the Housatonic River between the Taconic Range and the southernmost extent of the Green Mountains. It was first settled in 1760, relying on agriculture and lumbering, and grew quickly enough to be incorporated by 1777. The town took its name from General Charles Lee, second in command to George Washington.

The community supported some textile manufacturing in the 19th century but its first paper mill was built by Samuel Church in 1806. As textiles declined in the town and region, paper-making took its place as the foundation of the community's economy. By 1857 there were 25 paper mills in Lee producing $2 million in paper, as well as a set of subsidiary industries producing lime and paper-making machinery.

In 1852 another major industry was launched in the town, as builders and architects discovered Lee marble. It is said to be the hardest and finest marble in the world. Large scale quarrying was carried on in Lee for such projects as construction of a wing of the Capitol. Almost half a million cubic feet of marble was quarried and shipped on the Housatonic Railroad in 1867. About the same time, a new process for making paper solely from wood pulp was adopted and the poplar forests in the town fueled a huge leap in paper production, making Smith Paper Company of Lee the largest paper producer in the world until the forests were depleted.

Lee, divided into three villages, still retains the first house ever built in town, dated 1760, still hosts a paper company and a lime kiln and still has many of the farmhouses, estates, business blocks and factories that exemplify its history. Residents like to believe that history is still alive and well in Lee.

Lee is located in western Massachusetts, bordered by Tyringham and Great Barrington on the south, Lenox on the northwest, Becket on the east, Washington on the northeast, and Stockbridge on the west. Lee is 9 miles south of Pittsfield, 122 miles west of Boston, and 138 miles from New York City.

Lee is conveniently located at Exit 2 of the Massachusetts Turnpike (Interstate 90). By car, Lee is approximately two hours from Boston (125 miles), less than one hour from Albany (45 miles) and two and one-half hours (160 miles) from New York City. Parking in Lee is normally not a problem. There are no parking meters. Parking on Main Street is both parallel and diagonal. There is a free, public parking lot near the post office off of Railroad Street.

Lee is served by two major airports, Albany NY (ALB) and Hartford/Springfield Bradley (BDL), each approximately one hour from Lee.

Pittsfield and Albany are both served by Amtrak. Also, during its operating season, Lee is served by the Berkshire Scenic Railway. The train makes stops in Lenoxdale, Lee and Stockbridge. There is also a train museum at the Lenoxdale station.

Peter Pan Bus Lines provides service to and from Lee. Buses stop at Juice and Java, 60 Main Street, in Lee.

The LEE TROLLEY runs weekends and holidays from downtown Lee to the Prime Outlets and Stockbridge; rides are free! The trolley runs from Memorial Day Weekend through Labor Day Weekend. For detailed information call 1-800-292-2782.

More Details
Hide Details

The bedrooms are laid out in the following fashion:

2nd Floor Bedrooms

1. Master Bedroom- King Bed, in suite bathroom

2. 2 Twin Beds

3. 1 Queen Bed with Jack n Jill bathroom

4. 1 Trundle Bed (twin) with trundle unit (twin)- shares Jack n Jill bath

3rd Floor Bedrooms

1. 2 Twin Beds

2. 1 Queen Bed

5 Reviews of Property 398162 in Lee, Massachusetts

Historic 1822 House, Newly Renovated
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Historic 1822 House, Newly Renovated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398162vb
+1 413-663-0018
Lee Berkshires
5

Beautiful and Charming Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I hesitate to review this house because I'd like to keep this gem to myself! This historic home is a wonderful place to call home during a vacation in the Berkshires. The renovations give visitors the comforts of modern amenities, but preserve the charm and character of a home built in 1822. Bedrooms are plentiful for a large group and extremely comfortable. The communal spaces are immaculately decorated, yet warm and inviting for a relaxing evening with family and friends. I will 100% return to this gorgeous spot!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. Be safe and we will see you soon...
business
Historic 1822 House, Newly Renovated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398162vb
+1 413-663-0018
Lee Berkshires
New York, NY
5

Beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
I stayed here with a few friends during summer, and we really enjoyed this home. Beautifully decorated and spacious. It rained a lot during our stay, so we spent more time than expected at the house, and having the enclosed patio was great, a nice play to hang out and read and enjoy the mountain views. Perfect location -- had a great meal at the restaurant across the street, a very short drive to Stockbridge and the Red Lion Inn, and Lenox, Great Barrington, etc. are very close too. Lots of hiking options nearby. The owner is extremely responsive and easy to work with. Would definitely recommend this home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Historic 1822 House, Newly Renovated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398162vb
+1 413-663-0018
Lee Berkshires
Brooklyn, NY
5

Charming home in Lee, MA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Our family enjoyed a wonderful week in this beautiful home this Spring. We had a fairly large group consisting of three adults and two children (ages 4 & 6.) Everyone had plenty of space and enjoyed their own bedroom. The home is very large and was very clean and comfortable. The house itself has been beautifully restored and decorated (new, modern bathrooms and a kitchen featuring state-of-the-art amenities.) We found it so comfortable that we spent more time inside than we intended to!

This area of the Berkshires is absolutely lovely. We enjoyed strolling the towns of Lee, Lenox, Stockbridge and Great Barrington. We also went to the Norman Rockwell Museum and Edith Wharton's home. The kids loved the fresh air and all the hikes we walked. It was a great escape for our family (we live in Brooklyn.)

We loved our time so much that our children cried when we left. We highly recommend this rental. The owners were very helpful and answered all of our questions. We will definitely return. Thanks again for a great week!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Historic 1822 House, Newly Renovated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398162vb
+1 413-663-0018
Lee Berkshires
NYC
5

Elegant, historic home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
This home is terrific and we will definitely rent again. My family of four stayed there for a long weekend in March with another family. It is a beautiful historic, New England home that is newly decorated throughout. The house has tons of character and charm (original wide plank flooring, veranada, fire place in dining room), while being fully updated, spacious and extremely clean! The house is set-back from the road at the end of long driveway with a beautiful lawn. It is also next to several other historic homes. It is located down the hill from Stockbridge so close to all Berkshire activities.

We want to return for the summer when we could enjoy all of the outdoor space as well as the indoors.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Historic 1822 House, Newly Renovated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398162vb
+1 413-663-0018
Lee Berkshires
Adams, Massachusetts
5

Took a chance and it paid off...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We looked for a vacation rental in the Berkshires at the last minute and found this GEM located in Lee just minutes from the Red Lion Inn in Stockbridge. This house is a new rental and was just totally renovated on the inside but yet still kept its old world charm. We took a chance since the home we usually rent was not available. This place was cheaper yet nicer. This place is HUGE! Sleeps alot of people. Brand new everything on the inside. You could still smell the paint drying. The bathrooms were someting out of a designer magazine. Plenty of space for 2 familys. The kids loved sleeping upstairs and looking out the window to the GIANT front yard. What was really nice is that across the street is this great little place to eat and grab a glass of wine if you do not want to cook. But once you see this kitchen you will want to cook. Professional grade appliances. I almost forgot. The original wide plank floors throughout the home are just amazing. There is so much to do in the area. Tanglewood is down the street. Norman Rockwell Museum. Historic Lenox with all kinds of little shops. Great restaurants to choose from also even though we cooked in the new kitchen. Very quiet and peaceful. I was able to check my emails at night and get some peace and quiet in the office located upstairs away from the kids. The yard is really something to see. Great landscaping and the kids had plenty of room to roam and explore. The owners are awesome to work with. They made the reservation process easy and were willing to work with us even though we were last minute. Our family had a blast and we will be back. The kids want to learn to ski next year so we will see what happens....thanks again for a memorable trip. The fact that you had everything there to like a regular home made it so easy. I will tell my friends about your home as look as I can still get a reservation next year. Thanks again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway