Harpers Ferry house rental - Front and Back Driveway
Front and Back Driveway
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Harpers Ferry House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedroom, 2 full bathrooms, Sleeps 9, 3-Night Minimum Stay

With stunning views, privacy, plenty of elbow room, good access and sunsets over the Shenandoah river, this vacation home is for you. New on the market and beautifully fitted up with everything provided so you can relax and enjoy. With fresh sheets, comfortable beds, and river views from the mountains that carry the Appalachian trail, please make our home your command center for vacationing.

Wild and Wonderful: Take a walk along the Appalachian trail from the Virginia line down the mountain into the Historic town of Harpers Ferry which is not only a quaint town but a protected National Historic Park. Snap photos of each other in front of the confluence of the Shenandoah and Potomac rivers from Jefferson Rock. Cool off by taking a lazy ride down the Shenandoah in a river tube and make memories white water rafting on the Potomac.

Light up your night life with a trip to Hollywood Casino and Charles town Races and slots. After dark, this is the place to 'Win Big' with live music, a variety of dining choices, heart pounding horse races, exciting table games, and super slot machines.

Relax and Enjoy: Have a lazy morning at home or walk down to the river to catch some small mouth bass from the shore or using the public boat ramp and your own boat. Relax in the sun on the back patio. Check your email using our provided wireless internet then map and print your Virgina wine tour on the house computer. Start at Notaviva Vineyards, just 4 miles away and sip wine in their hand crafted tasting room while listening to a live performer up on the crow's nest stage. Cruise down to the town of Hillsboro, VA and pick up some fresh produce and desserts from Stoneybrook farm and market. Cruise over to Magnolias at the Mill in Purcellville, VA for a gourmet lunch and sample their fine collection of craft beers. In the evening watch the sun set in the valley from the deck of Grandale farm eatery and listen to some live local acoustic talent.

Or Catch the Train into DC: With convenient access to DC via the MARC train (weekdays) or Amtrak (weekends), you can pack a bag and head for the capitol with your group without the hassle of driving. Start at Union station and hop on the Metro to anywhere in DC. So much to choose from: Smithsonian Museums, National Mall, National Zoo (it's free and they have pandas!), and don't forget to visit the Washington Monument and get your picture in front of the White House.

With our comfortable and secluded home to return to, you will have the perfect place to rest at the end of each memorable day during your stay. :-)

More Details
Hide Details

11 Reviews of Property 398147 in Harpers Ferry, West Virginia

Comfortable and Charming Home Furnished to Accomodate Your Family's Needs.
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 11 reviews
business
Comfortable and Charming Home Furnished to Accomodate Your Family's Needs.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398147
+1 304 924-1797
Harpers Ferry West Virginia
5

Fantastic holiday in Harpers Ferry

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We just got back from our wonderful family trip to Harpers Ferry. Even though the weather was a bit snowy and cold we still managed to get out and about and enjoy the local area as well as spend time with family at this lovely property.
I booked our trip last minute and there were not many options for a large group but this house was available for our party of eight. I was a bit concerned about renting this place after reading the latest review on their web-site. However we found the house to be very clean, bright and comfortable. There were clean towels and sheets, shampoo/cond in the bathrooms, and a wall mounted hair dryer in each bathroom. The kitchen had all of the necessary items for cooking family meals and the fridge, stove top and oven were spotless. The view from the deck was also amazing! Our family have stayed at many vacation homes over the years and we found this place to be very cozy and relaxing and excellent value for money. Thank-you Chris and Leanne!
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review and feedback.
Leanne & Chris
business
Comfortable and Charming Home Furnished to Accomodate Your Family's Needs.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398147
+1 304 924-1797
Harpers Ferry West Virginia
Boston, MA
2

Sadly disappointing.

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
One star for the fabulous setting and views; second star for a quick response when the heat stopped working with the arrival of a repairman w/in the hour. Unfortunately, those were the two high points of our stay.
Here's why:
1. We called the owner to report that the blow-dryer was missing. His response was "It's there somewhere; look around." But it wasn't. We had a photo shoot the next day - this was not good news to the four females in our group!
2. Everything in the kitchen was dirty: the counters and drawers as well as their contents; toaster was encrusted in grease, dead bugs were stuck in a layer of grease on the underside of the microwave, i.e. just above our pot of soup; pancake batter was dribbled down the stove front and knobs. We had to clean everything before using it.
3. Bugs - dead and alive - everywhere!
4. Cobwebs on the light fixtures.
5. Dead lightbulbs.
6. Deck was strewn w/leaves, sticks, and fallen furniture. Again, we had to clean it to use it.
7. Shower curtain was slimy. We purchased a strong cleaner and SCRUBBED!
8. Dish towels were stained and frayed. Bath towels were gray, thin, and fraying.
9. There was a general air of disrepair: dishwasher door's spring was broken, sinks were cracked, carpet was stained, kitchen cabinets were unmatched, wallpaper was peeling, and walls were scuff-marked.
The homeowners need to freshen up their property and hire a new cleaning person.
Owner's Response: There was a hair dryer at the property however guests move things around and items have been taken in the past - it was not noticed before your stay that the hair dryer was missing. Two wall mounted hair dryers have been added in each bathroom. We have had a crew at the property for three days making repairs and cleaning to make sure it is up to the standards expected by our travelers.
Thanks
Leanne Arnold
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Comfortable and Charming Home Furnished to Accomodate Your Family's Needs.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398147
+1 304 924-1797
Harpers Ferry West Virginia
columbia, md
5

weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Very spacious for our large group. Planty of room and bedrooms for everyone. Plenty of clean towels. Very private as well so don't really need to worry about noise level. Loved how ot had a key pad lock off the rear kitchen door which was very convenient so no keys were needed by anyone when going out. Has a great view of the river from the deck off the living room. Only down side was the road leading up to the house was a little confusing the first time and all the spiders, but that is to be expected. Would definetly stay here again.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Comfortable and Charming Home Furnished to Accomodate Your Family's Needs.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398147
+1 304 924-1797
Harpers Ferry West Virginia
4

Great Family Getaway Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had an awesome stay! Leanne was very helpful and friendly, and quickly answered any questions we had. We promptly received our deposit refund, too!
The house was perfect for our large group, plenty of room for everyone. We loved the way it was decorated, and especially the openness of the upstairs living room with all the windows. We wanted to open the windows to let in the fresh air, but they did not have screens. The decking and views were awesome, and we had fun relaxing around the fire pit.
We walked down to the river, visited Harper's Ferry and some went white water rafting and tubing.
There were plenty of bath towels and kitchen towels. We didn't have any little ones with us, but there were toys in the storage benches and a high chair, sippy cups, baby spoons, and a baby gate.
The steps inside the house and on the outside decking are both very steep, and would be difficult for someone elderly or with mobility problems to climb.
The bedrooms, bathrooms, and all counter tops and floors were clean, as was the refrigerator, but the oven was dirty and there were some cob webs hanging from the ceilings. Also there were a lot of spider webs outside by the doorways, so we knocked them down with a broom and also swept away a lot of old, crunchy leaves that had gathered around the patio door to avoid tracking them inside.
We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area. It is very reasonably priced for all the amenities.
business
Comfortable and Charming Home Furnished to Accomodate Your Family's Needs.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398147
+1 304 924-1797
Harpers Ferry West Virginia
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
5

An enchanting place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our weekend stay at this enchanting house was simply breathtaking. The whole family is still reminiscing about it three weeks after. One has to be there to feel the mountain top view and the cozy & snug house. One day, the entire family took a beautiful stroll to the Shenandoah river just down the mountain, and followed that with a hike through the woods. We visited Antietam Battlefield and Harpers Ferry – both were easy drives from this house. Needless to say, the house is spotlessly clean, has all the amenities (including a good library that we devoured) and is charmingly decorated – and most importantly: the beds are very comfortable. The owners are very friendly, and accommodating and easy to deal with. We travel a lot, and this is one of the best houses and places we stayed at. The whole experience was simply very relaxing. It is 10 out of 10.
business
Comfortable and Charming Home Furnished to Accomodate Your Family's Needs.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398147
+1 304 924-1797
Harpers Ferry West Virginia
4

Peaceful Woodsy Place up in the Mountains

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a joyous time enjoying this house and we were all fascinated with Harper's Ferry. There was plenty of room for 7 adults; it was very clean and fresh and pretty inside. The main picture of the house on line really doesn't do it justice; it's larger and has amazing elevation, with a large sloping front yard. The inside has a spacious feeling. If you have children they gates for the inside stairs. The kitchen was easy to maneuver; and had everything you need, even some great unusual spices! The frig was spotless and fresh. There was a great ice maker. The bathrooms had really nice shower heads and the towels smelled so good. We just made ourselves at home. We liked being able to choose which family room to hang out in, since there were two. It was lovely waking up in this house with the views out the front windows. The air conditioning was decent and there were overhead fans in many rooms. It must be gorgeous in the fall here. We made some great memories. Oh, and the owner was especially gracious and helpful with all our questions, and refunded the security deposit very quickly!
business
Comfortable and Charming Home Furnished to Accomodate Your Family's Needs.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398147
+1 304 924-1797
Harpers Ferry West Virginia
Chicago, Illinois
4

Weekend away with the girls

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We rented Chris & Leanne's place in Harpers Ferry for a calm bachelorette weekend. The house was clean and well appointed, and view from the porch was spectacular. The one complaint we had was that the grill was not working; other than that, everything was wonderful. We very comfortably slept 5 people, and there were so many towels! Thanks, Chris and Leanne!
Owner's Response: Hi, sorry to hear about the grill not working and thanks for letting us know. We will be sure to have someone look at that. Regards, Chris and Leanne
business
Comfortable and Charming Home Furnished to Accomodate Your Family's Needs.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398147
+1 304 924-1797
Harpers Ferry West Virginia
Silver Spring, MD USA
5

Harper's Ferry Girls Wekend

Harper's Ferry Girls Wekend
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We had a wonderful time in Harper's Ferry. The house was very well equiped and quite nicely arranged. We had plenty of room and all tthe amenities of home! We walked down to the river several times and saw a turtle and lots of birds. We enjoyed the decks for birding also. The house was very clean and the owners were very helpful with our questions before we rented. We enjoyed Harper's Ferry and the two flea markets that were on the way into the Historic District. I would definitely recommend this property and plan to return sometime!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
business
Comfortable and Charming Home Furnished to Accomodate Your Family's Needs.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398147
+1 304 924-1797
Harpers Ferry West Virginia
Remsenburg, NY
5

Harpers Ferry vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
This house was just lovely! It was exceptionally clean, well stocked and the bed linens were beautiful. We have stayed in dozens of houses for rent and this was by far one of the nicest. The outdoor area was well thought out too even though we were there in the winter months. Gorgeous views from the main area of the house. The owners have definitely gone the extra mile to make these accomodations very upscale and comfortable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Comfortable and Charming Home Furnished to Accomodate Your Family's Needs.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p398147
+1 304 924-1797
Harpers Ferry West Virginia
Remsenburg, NY
5

Harpers Ferry House Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
This house was just lovely! It was exceptionally clean, well stocked and the bed linens were beautiful. We have stayed in dozens of houses for rent and this was by far one of the nicest. The outdoor area was well thought out too even though we were there in the winter months. Gorgeous views from the main area of the house. The owners have definitely gone the extra mile to make these accomodations very upscale and comfortable.