Granada house rental - Pool area,looking to downstairs BD. Bright/colorful really,but site dulls photo
Pool area,looking to downstairs BD. Bright/colorful really,but site dulls photo
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Granada House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Extra bed(s), 2.5 Baths,Sleeps 2-6

HOUSE DESCRIPTION

House is a Charming, Modern ( built in 2006 by an American couple) home - yet it retains a colonial feel! Very Centrally Located,ONE BLOCK FROM SAN FRANCISCO CHURCH AND MONASTERY. Its Split Level . New Balcony off Master Bedroom. Efficient A/C in both bedrooms. In the center of the house is an open, uncovered area with a small COOL POOL WITH JETS, surrounded by lush foliage,hammocks and rocking chairs. There are tile floors throughout. Well-decorated with various French doors and windows.

Lovely detailed woodwork; Abundant lighting; And FANS galore hanging from high tropical bamboo ceilings. *NINE MODERN,CEILING FANS COOL YOU IN ALL AREAS OF THE HOUSE! SO MUCH BETTER THAN STILL SITTING HOT AIR! THIS MAJOR FEATURE IS NOT FOUND ANYWHERE ELSE IN TOWN!

There are two bedrooms,both with their own bathrooms. One on the main (bottom) level and one Master Bedroom on the second level.The Master Bedroom has a new gorgeous balcony with comfortable chairs and a stupendous view of the starry night & nearby Mombacho Volcano (when clear).

The house, Casa Las Brisas (house of breezes), is especially COOL due its efficient A/C's; its nine (9) large powerful ceiling fans (SUPER-COOLING!); the COOL POOL; breezes coming in the door and window off the living room, and the peaceful balcony off the Master Bedroom. These cooling aids are extremely important because Granada can get very hot. The balcony is an excellent feature, added in 2012.

I am continually improving the house. As of December ,2012, it has a brand new BLUE RAY DVD PLAYER, a new CD PLAYER, a new HOT WATER HEATER and a new POOL PUMP. The house is equipped with cable TV and with good internet service.

In addition, the house has a wonderful location- you can walk to the Central Park/Plaza and the main boulevard, LA CALZADA, where all the action is in five to eight minutes! The oldest church in Granada, San Francisco Church ,is just one block away.

Plus,the area is amongst the safest in Granada.Also taxis pass by every few minutes and the fare is only forty cents to any location within Granada!

PIease view all the photos on this site. They accurately show all of the house and were taken in 2012. The house is very modern - again it was built in 2006.

Keywords: House, Townhouse, Pool, Central, Fans

More Details
Hide Details

I am a 66 year young man just recently retired. After having spent my 20's in Law School and then Chiropractic College, I began my own business importing and wholesaling handicrafts and furniture from Bali and Thailand. This fit me well because I love to travel, then in Asia and later in Latin America most recently to Africa.

I used to play tennis and basketball,so now I'm a big fan of those two sports. And now with the SF 49ers doing so well,I enjoy watching their games.

Other things I enjoy are reading well-written books,seeing good movies,chatting and dining out.

DAVID WILENSKY purchased this house in 2010

I want to preface this by saying that I'd travelled to about sixty-five countries before coming to Nicaragua and buying the first house I ever bought in a foreign country.

Then two years ago I volunteered teaching for a month in Guatemala. When my stint was over I decided to take a look at nearby Nicargua. I found the people to be extraordinarily friendly, helpful and kind. So I returned with my partner to travel more and get some inexpensive dental work. She is a real estate agent and wanted to look at houses in Granada,a place we liked very much. When I saw this house,Casa las Brisas, it seemed so perfect for us! So I bought it for personal use, but also discovering I could rent it out while not in it. So I did not really buy this as a vacation rental but as a house for us to live part-time. Fortunately, because the house is so beautiful & comfortable it rents out easily. (See the reviews.)

* THE NINE MODERN,LARGE CEILING FANS WHICH COVER ALL THE HOUSE. THESE COOL YOU OFF WHILE INSIDE! (What a difference when they are off!)

- Plunging into the small pool to cool off and using the jets to massage muscles.

- Relaxing around the pool in a small hammock or a rocking chair reading or having a cool drink.

- Having bedrooms on TWO levels for added privacy.

- Air conditioning in both bedrooms.

- Very high tropically designed ceilings giving a spacious feeling to the house.

- The NEW balcony. See an incredible star-filled sky.

- Beautiful woodwork on doors,beams & colonial arches.

- Ample storage

- Recessed lighting,Terracotta sconces.

- Central location: short walk (5'-8') to the main streets,main park,almost all the excellent restaurants and La Calzada,the 'happening' street.

- Ten minute bike ride to breezy Lake Nicaragua. AND new bicycle at house can be rented at $5/day, 25/week.

- Very friendly Nicaraguan family who live next door.

9 Reviews of Property 396576 In Granada, Nicaragua

Modern Home, Colonial Style, Central, Pool-Jets, A/C, Balcony,View
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 9 reviews
business
Modern Home, Colonial Style, Central, Pool-Jets, A/C, Balcony,View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396576vb
5107014344
Granada Nicaragua
BERKELEY,CA,USA
5

Wonderful stay at modern house with pool in Granada,Nicaragua!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
My husband and I stayed at Casa las Brisas in Granada,Nicaragua recently for one week. We're writing this review b/c we want to HIGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH THIS HOUSE AND GRANADA,ITSELF.
First the house:The photos and desciptions seemed too good to be true,but they turned out to be entirely accurate! Some examples:
1.The pool was so refreshing with its cool water and jets. And the hammock chairs and rocking chairs around it made for a great area to relax.
2.The living room was very attractive and Extremely Comfortable w its Rocking Chairs, Sofa and Chair-Stool combination. Its DVD player and Cable TV worked well.
3. The Master BD was large and very comfortable-especially the bed,excellent queen mattress. The attached balcony was a cool,relaxing place in the evenings. And enuf storage in nice closet.
4.As stated ,it was less than a ten minute walk to the main happening spot, Calzada Street and the main Park. Plus even closer to SFrancisco Church and some great restarants,as La Hacienda,Kathy's Pancake House , Tercero Ojo (The Third Eye),and more.
And they provided for free a cleaning lady four days a week who did a bang up job,even washed our clothes in the washer /dryer here!
I highly recommend this house to 1 or 2 couples.
RE GRANADA: We are well-travelled and have never seen a town the size of Granada with so much charm -the colonial architecture; the horse carriages that frequently pass by carrying loads or giving people a ride;the fruit vendors who ply the streets and pass your door and cry out " melons,oranges,papayas...",in Spanish, the pastel colors of the houses, etc,etc.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Modern Home, Colonial Style, Central, Pool-Jets, A/C, Balcony,View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396576vb
5107014344
Granada Nicaragua
atlanta
5

Very nice clean, convenient location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I just returned from a month-long trip to Granada and stayed at this property. The house is exactly as portrayed in the photos, if not better. The place is huge and is very comfortable for up to four people in the two comfortable beds.

The location is ideal since it is only a few blocks from the main restaurant area and the central park. No car is needed at all, and taxis are readily available if you want to go to the grocery store or other places in the area.

Doug, the property manage, and Heidi, the housekeeper, are very easy to work with. You won't find a better place for the value either, so I would highly recommend this to anyone who is considering a trip to Granada.

Steve in Atlanta Nov.-Dec. 2013
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, Steve for your review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed my house so much and found my manager and my maid to be so good.
business
Modern Home, Colonial Style, Central, Pool-Jets, A/C, Balcony,View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396576vb
5107014344
Granada Nicaragua
Panajachel, Guatemala
5

Beautiful, functional, comfortable, and conveniently located!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My wife and I have travelled in Latin America for about 6 months, and we've only stayed in one other place we liked as well as David's house in Granada. David has assembled all the pieces here. The house is beautiful and functional, the property manager is knowledgeable and responsive, and the housekeeper is efficient and honest.

The location of the house is perfect. It's within half a block of both the Pure Spa with yoga, kickboxing and massage, and El Garaje, the highest-rated Granada restaurant on Trip Advisor. Iglesia San Francisco is well-known and very close, so the house is easy to find. It is also less than a mile from both the public market (on Calle Atravesada) and the supermarkets La Colonia and La Unión (on Calle La Inmaculada, i.e. carretera a Masaya).

Our favorite feature of the house is the swimming pool, which has a bench seat at the shallower end. It is plenty big enough for the two of us at once, and probably more people, depending on how much you want to move around and exercise. It's not heated, and is the perfect size and temperature for cooling off quickly. With the pool handy, my wife and I never once used the air conditioning, though we stayed in the house for 5 weeks. There is hot water too, but we seldom used that either.

Doug the property manager is fantastic. We wanted to make our own smoothies, so Doug brought over both a blender and a food processor to lend to us. We asked where we could buy coconut oil, and Doug introduced us to Jim who started the Pearl Lagoon Coconut Oil Company a year and half ago, and produces extremely high quality Nicaragua-made coconut oil. We had been looking for salt that does NOT have fluoride added (watch out for this in Latin America!), so Doug directed us to the La Colonia which carries sea salt. When the surging power knocked out the fridge, Doug found a repairman who showed up on a Sunday and retrieved the proper spare parts from his own stockpile--parts which have to be shipped down by his sister in Miami.

VRBO restricts the number of characters in a review, but we stayed here quite awhile and I've got more to say, so I'll try to continue in a second posting.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you two so much for your praise of my house and property manager. I'm so glad you enjoyed my house so much during your 39 day say.
David,owner
business
Modern Home, Colonial Style, Central, Pool-Jets, A/C, Balcony,View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396576vb
5107014344
Granada Nicaragua
Montréal, Québec
5

Fortement recommandé

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
C'est notre troisième voyage au Nicaragua, nous avons logé dans plusieurs endroits et je dois dire que cette maison est l'endroit que nous apprécions le plus. La maison est très bien située à proximité des meilleurs restaurants et de l'animation tout en étant dans une rue tranquille, loin du bruit. Les voisins sont charmants, on s'y sent en sécurité. Nous adorons le coin piscine avec ces chaises hamac pour se rafraîchir en prenant l'apéro ou simplement pour admirer les étoiles. Les chambres sont très confortables, la cuisine est bien équipée; tout est parfait! Il n'y a aucun problème de stationnement devant la maison en journée et devant l'église pour la nuit.

Nous reviendrons, c'est certain! Merci David!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Diane,
Thank you for praising my house so much and saying you will certainly return. And rewarding it with Five Stars.I am always happy when rentors enjoy their stay so much they take the time to post a review. So thank you again!
David,owner
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern Home, Colonial Style, Central, Pool-Jets, A/C, Balcony,View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396576vb
5107014344
Granada Nicaragua
Canada
4

Lovely House - Management needs work

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
The house itself is lovely, it's appearance is tranquil and welcoming, the art work is beautiful, the use of space is fantastic. However......probably 3/4 of the lights don't work, there's no hot water (not that it's really needed but at 6am a hint of warmth in the shower would be nice) so the dishes get washed in cold which seems less than sanitary to me but, the maid is a sweet young girl who does a good job, the TV is ancient and may or may not work properly, the beds are rock hard and the pillows are thinner than a package of looseleaf paper, the water pump runs ENDLESSLY unless you switch off the breaker and considering there are signs all over the house asking that you turn off lights and fans due to high electrical costs this seems rather wasteful as well as being so noisy that you can't relax or sleep...the manager made excuses and the owner said "wear earplugs"(seriously?!?!? EARPLUGS).... .... The house is well located on a fairly quiet street within easy walking distance of everything (the Pure Spa is 2 doors over & they are GREAT)...the neighbours are friendly and always have time to chat regardless of your level of Spanish knowledge. The manager tries hard to fulfill all your needs; water refills are delivered promptly, he'll pick you up and act as a guide for a small fee, he's reasonably helpful but there needs to be more focus on maintaining the house.
All in all we enjoyed our stay at Casa Las Brisas but, it needs some attention to detail. I would also suggest that the owner make people aware before booking that there's no hot water and that there is a damage deposit due at check in....the deposit is completely understandable but it should be disclosed upfront not after you've reserved and paid.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Twice I submitted a lengthy response stating the inaccuracies of this review ( eg the beds ARE high quality and comfortable to all except here; the pillows ARE very nice; there are not notes all over the house; there IS hot water,etc,etc.). And thanking the reviewer for all the many,many compliments and 4 star rating. It was 5-10 times this length. However both times VRBO.com said they did not receive it and I do not have the time to redo it since I'm returning to Granada in 6 days. Also, even in spite of that person's inaccurate review the house is basically booked out for as much as I want it to be for NOV to EARLY FEB, as I will be staying there some of the time.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Modern Home, Colonial Style, Central, Pool-Jets, A/C, Balcony,View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396576vb
5107014344
Granada Nicaragua
Baltimore MD
4

Beautiful house

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We stayed at the house for our honeymoon. The house is huge in addition to being beautiful. The location is great only a few blocks away from restaurants and the main street. We were there for a week and did a few tours of Masaya Volcano ad the Island tour. We do not speak any spanish but managed very well throughout the entire trip. The pool was awesome and cleaning service was very thorough! We had a great time
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you. SO glad you enjoyed the house so much.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern Home, Colonial Style, Central, Pool-Jets, A/C, Balcony,View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396576vb
5107014344
Granada Nicaragua
Washington, DC
4

Good home in Nicaragua

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This house was my 'home' in Nicaragua for two months. It was wonderful to have a nice kitchen, tv, wifi and pool! The house is beautiful and very comfortable, especially the two hammock chairs by the pool. I spent a lot of time reading there! Additionally, there is a fantastic gym next door that I went to daily and enjoyed having it so close. My neighbors were very friendly and I felt extremely safe. The house is walking distance to really everything but just enough off of the main roads so that you get some peace and quiet. I had a problem with the wifi during my stay and the owner completely refunded me for the time it was inoperable. The good business practice of making the customer happy was clear with this house owner and much appreciated. The house manager helped me negotiate a bicycle in town on my first week there which was very helpful! Great place to stay, especially for a long period of time. You can really feel at home here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Jodie,
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at my home so much.
Thank you for sending in this review.
Sincerely,
David ,Owner
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern Home, Colonial Style, Central, Pool-Jets, A/C, Balcony,View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396576vb
5107014344
Granada Nicaragua
Florida
5

Live like a real Granadino in this lovely casita...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
I just spent 2 weeks in this terrific rental house and can't say enough good things about it. Well appointed, nicely accoutremented with cable TV, hi speed WIFI, A/C in both bedrooms that worked well, a washer and dryer, tons of fans and an extremely handy location. The beds are comfortable, nice showers with hot water, all the comforts you should desire. If you enjoy yoga or working out, one of the best gyms in the city is 20 meters away, you have no excuses there =) Great restaurants, puparias and pharmacias all nearby, parque centro is only a short walk as well. The property manager Douglas is worth his weight in gold, very knowledgable and right on top of things, excellent asset to this rental. David is easy going as well, great communication and an all around nice guy. Had regular cleaning nica, she did a fine job and was reliable too. I'll stay here again while in Granada, it really does offer everything you need plus cool breezes, quiet and secure location and terrific oversight.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Modern Home, Colonial Style, Central, Pool-Jets, A/C, Balcony,View
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396576vb
5107014344
Granada Nicaragua
Auray, Bretagne, France
5

Charming house in Granaga, Nicaragua

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We just spent 4 days in Granada, at Casa Las Brisas, David's home. It was realy nice to stay here. This house is charming, tastefully decorated, perfectly adapted to our family (2 adults and a teenager). The litle pool allows a refresh time after walking the streets of this marvelous city.
I sincerely recommend this rental which is 5 minutes walking from the Cathedral Square.
David, thank's for your welcome.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Murielle,
Thank you kindly for taking the time to review my house. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed it so much.
David
Helpful votes: 3/3