Amelia Island house rental - .
.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Amelia Island House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)

*** PLEASE CHECK OUR CALENDAR BEFORE INQUIRING. ***

This charming, beachfront vacation home is a stone's throw from the sand dunes and ocean surf, located in the peaceful North Beach neighborhood of Amelia Island. Wake up to watch the waves from the master bed, with a pelican's eye view of the water. An 180-degree, wraparound deck overlooks seagrass dunes to the shore just 50 yards away. Barefoot walks before breakfast are easy with the dune walkover in front of the house.

The house may be relatively modern, but it is full of history. From the moment you open the porthole front door, you will begin to discover relics from an old ship inside. The boater's pine paneling rise to a vaulted beamed ceiling, reclaimed from a historic church decades ago. The antique sailboat model on the two-story stone fireplace reflect life on a barrier island, surrounded by seas and rivers, stones and sand.

Further Details: Recently renovated in tasteful nautical decor, we have preserved the original architecture while adding modern furnishings, appliances, and new designer bedding. Now with High-Speed Wireless Internet Access, you can surf the web and watch the surf at the same time.

About The Owner: Ocean Glory has been a labor of love for us ... serial renovators with a love of the ocean and a belief that cookie-cutters are for sugar cookies, not houses. We were blessed with the opportunity to buy a place that had a fascinating history, on the market for just 6 days that we stumbled upon and fell in love with. Yet, it desperately needed updating. We spent more money fixing and re-furnishing Ocean Glory than our own residence in Atlanta, creating a place of memories for our young sons, friends and family. We are delighted to be able to share Ocean Glory with missionaries, church staff and others who are in need of a special getaway. May your stay with us will bring you a bit of the blessing we've experienced in owning it.

Why the Owner Chose Fernandina Beach: For us, we wanted a place that was an easy drive from home ... just 6 hours from Atlanta. While we looked in the Destin area, St. Augustine, south Georgia islands and more, there was not a place that matched the history, character and recreation options of Amelia Island. We call it 'Mayberry on the Beach.' It's a place with very real, down-home people; no hyper-inflated prices; gorgeous, safe beaches; great places to shop and dine; and all the golf/tennis/riding/kayaking/boating/culture we might want in one place. No wonder it's one of the top 5 islands in North America. (Traveler Magazine readers think so, not just us!).

More Details
Hide Details

21 Reviews of Property 396068 in Amelia Island, Florida

Just Renovated, Ocean Glory: Beachfront Luxury and Charm
average rating of 4.923077 based on 21 reviews
business
Just Renovated, Ocean Glory: Beachfront Luxury and Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396068
+1 770 527-0777
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
Hartsele, AL USA
5

A VACATION DREAM

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
When I read about this vacation home, I was so excited because it sounded like the perfect place for a week of rest and relaxation following a the topsy turvy previous 6 months of 2013. I was a bit skeptical but when we arrived, it was all as described and much more. From the easy, friendly staff who welcomed us to Amelia Island at Fernandina Beach Realty until we locked the door behind us for the final time, the week was OCEAN GLORY MAGNIFICENT. The home was just like stepping in to the pages of Coastal Living and enjoying every minute. Thank you for sharing your home and making our stay a vacation to add to our cherished memories.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Just Renovated, Ocean Glory: Beachfront Luxury and Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396068
+1 770 527-0777
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
London, England
5

Ocean Glory

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Marvellous house, comfortable and relaxing with everything supplied that was needed. And great location steps from the beach.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Just Renovated, Ocean Glory: Beachfront Luxury and Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396068
+1 770 527-0777
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
Phoenix,AZ
5

Family vacation success

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We have rented 15 different properties from VRBO over the years and Ocean Glory rates up near the top. It is obviously someones home that they care about and have invested time and money in. The location was lovely, a short walk over the dune to the beach. The beach was not crowded, even on the weekend. It was a short drive to restaurants and shopping. The beds were comfortable and there were sand toys underneath the carport to use. The kitchen was adequately supplied, but a few more glasses would be appreciated. The dishwasher was a small one- maybe apartment size? so we ended up running that alot!. I would certainly stay there again if we returned. We had multiple extended families renting various properties up and down fernandina beach that week, and everyone agreeed Ocean Glory was the nicest of them all!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Just Renovated, Ocean Glory: Beachfront Luxury and Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396068
+1 770 527-0777
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
Connecticut
5

The best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Ocean Glory was easily the nicest we have ever rented. To our surprise we found more places to visit even though we have spent a month on the island before. We all loved the Jacksonville Zoo with its botanical gardens, which was such a delightful drive as well. On the historical boat ride we encountered an armored sub. which brought a little tension to the trip as we were visited by an all black armored launch and told to stay 500 feet away. All cameras were hidden and we knew it was for real.
We managed to meet an alligator with twenty two babies on the greenway, she did not like my binoculars and lunged out of the water! We found the small gem of a nature center in Amelia plantation as well.
I always enjoyed the town stores and my daughter and granddaughter did as well, whilst the males were happy to sit on the benches and listen to the old fiddle player.
We did manage to get cheese to bring home at the market, and finally eat real fresh strawberries!"
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Just Renovated, Ocean Glory: Beachfront Luxury and Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396068
+1 770 527-0777
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
Alpharetta, Ga
5

Stay at Ocean Glory

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a wonderful stay at Ocean Glory. The house was exactly as pictured and described. The house was very clean and well layed out. The house accomodated six adults very comfortably. The location was perfect for nearby activities, attractions, restaruants, golf. The best part of our visit was the full view of the ocean from the living area and the deck. The house had full amenities, we were not wanting for anything. I would highly recommend Ocean Glory to any of my friends and relatives.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Just Renovated, Ocean Glory: Beachfront Luxury and Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396068
+1 770 527-0777
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
Atlanta
4

Charming Beach House

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
While the weather did not cooperate for our vacation ( rained every day ! ) - the house, Ocean Glory was certainly a highlight of our trip. The house is very cozy with incredible views. We played some games, watched movies and cooked some great meals and just made the best of it - which was easy to do in such a nice house. The house has a very easy "flow" to it and even with all five us inside - if you wanted to find a quiet place to read, etc. - you could. Very nice touches throughout the house and very well designed. If not for the weather, i would give it a 5 !! The owner ( Paula) was very responsive to my questions prior to arriving.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/4
business
Just Renovated, Ocean Glory: Beachfront Luxury and Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396068
+1 770 527-0777
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
Atlanta, GA
5

Excellent Family Vacation Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We spent a week in June at this home and it had everything we look for in a vacation...great views, all amenities, comfortable beds, tv and high speed internet. The only complaint at all was our verizon phones weren't picking up much of a signal in the house, but we found little spots here and there where we could get bars. The house is so comfortable and they truly supplied just about everything you could possibly need. Yes, the deck is great..you could sit out there all day! And night! Thank you for sharing your home, we loved it there, so peaceful!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: That's right: one of the best experiences is sitting on the deck taking in the millions of stars you just can't see in the city or suburbs. And finding the cell phone hot spots does take a little trial and error. There's a land line there as a back-up if needed. -- Paula, owner
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Just Renovated, Ocean Glory: Beachfront Luxury and Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396068
+1 770 527-0777
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
Maumelle, AR
5

Great winter getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We had a great time in a beautiful home. It was very comfortable with fantastic views from bedrooms and living area. The beach was fantastic and the deck, well I could live on that deck. Even in January it was warm enough to sit out early and drink my coffee. Ocean Glory is a real gem. Thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Just Renovated, Ocean Glory: Beachfront Luxury and Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396068
+1 770 527-0777
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
Arkansas
5

Perfect house in ideal location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Ocean Glory is...glorious. The house is immaculate, and well-equipped with everything one needs for a relaxing and comfortable stay. The location is ideal, quiet yet overlooking the beach. Coffee on the deck, either in the am or pm, is the best part of the day. We really loved our stay and plan to visit again. Highly recommended.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Just Renovated, Ocean Glory: Beachfront Luxury and Charm
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p396068
+1 770 527-0777
Amelia Island Northeast Florida
Myrtle Beach
5

Perfect Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
We just spent a long October weekend at Ocean Glory and it was perfect. The house was beautiful, clean and comfortable and the owners were a delight to work with. Everything that you need was right there. The kitchen was well stocked and we used the gas grill each night. There was a wonderful seafood market 5 minutes away and if you are there on a Saturday, do not miss the farmers market. In the future when we visit we will plan our meals around all the goodies at the market. The very best part of the visit was sitting on the beautiful deck looking out at the ocean and walking the beach. We were fortunate enough to have perfect weather and a full moon! We really loved this home and plan on returning. Thank you Ocean Glory.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1