Oak Bluffs house rental - View from kitchen window
View from kitchen window
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps9
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Oak Bluffs House Rental Photos and Description
4+ bedrooms, 4.5 bathrooms, sleeps 8-10

3700 sq. ft. home with hilltop close views, located in a private community on the shores of Sengekontacket Pond and Majors Cove on the Bicycle trail. This island home is newly renovated with douglas fir ceilings, huge master suite, second master bedroom, new kitchen with Bosch appliances and quartz countertops. Contemporary decor - open diningroom and kitchen with dining for 12. Elevated location with hilltop views over saltwater pond, barrier beach and Atlantic Ocean. Spectacular views looking East. The community of Sengekontacket is relaxed, yet upscale. It has approximately sixty homes in a waterfront setting, with privacy, nestled amongst wooded lots of pine and oak. Amenities include walking trails, 2 tennis courts with freshwater pond view, clubhouse with mahogany deck, swimming/kayaking, saltwater dock and boatramp. Kayaks included in rental of property.

NEW in 2012: Designed and remodelled full bathroom in lower level bedroom suite with glass tile.

Golf: Nearby Farm Neck Golf Club less than 2 miles away rests on a peninsula (or 'neck') of rolling farmland on the eastern side of the Island, overlooking Nantucket Sound.

Island Summer Escape Located 4 miles out to sea on the Island of Martha's Vineyard is this beautiful year-round home that will allow you to relax and do nothing, or easily tour the 22 x 7 mile island. The town centers of Oak Bluffs, Edgartown and Vineyard Haven are 'downisland' and are a short drive or bikeride for restaurants, boating and shopping. Multiple beachgoing options including South Beach, a long stretch of sandy beach with surf in Edgartown or tranquil Nantucket Sound State Beach with kayak rentals. Bike, drive or bus to all 'upisland' locations in Aquinnah ('Gay Head'), Chilmark, Menemsha and West Tisbury. You are centrally located and an easy drive to the airport and ferries.

Beach and Felix Neck: State Beach, on the calm shores of Nantucket Sound, is a long stretch of undeveloped barrier beach can be reached by kayak, auto, bus or bike and is viewed from the home. Take the bike path to Edgartown and swim at Fuller Street beach, which is ideal for children. From Fuller Beach are picturesque views of Lighthouse Beach, on North Water Street, Edgartown, MA. From the property, an easy kayak or drive to Felix Neck is an Audubon Society property which has many activities including day camp, kayak trips, full moon tours, birding and hiking trails.

More Details
Hide Details

We have enjoyed living in this property full time for several years. Now we have it as a second home. Owners are a general contractor and physician couple from Massacusetts and Michigan/Ohio with a good sense of service and hospitality.

Gary Shriver purchased this house in 2007

Unique hilltop with ocean views in a large, clean, newly remodeled home that is tucked away with easy access to bicycle trail, private community amenities and down-island commerce.

Two king suites, state of the art kitchen, homeowner's association clubhouse, pond, saltwater dock and tennis courts on bicycle trail. Warm and outgoing host/owner to assist you with plans.

6 Reviews of Property 395843 in Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts

Executive modern oceanview hilltop home with spectacular sunrises
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Executive modern oceanview hilltop home with spectacular sunrises
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395843
+1 508 3220499
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
Bermuda
5

Beautiful, Spotless and Nicely Tucked Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We stayed at this property for two weeks in September. We found the location perfect for trips to Circuit Ave, golf course, airport , Edgartown and Vineyard Haven. The house itself was extraordinarily clean, the kitchen was fabulous and the rest of the house was lovely.
The owners were very helpful and even arranged for us to get extra cable service so we could watch golf and tennis! We would recommend this property to family and friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Executive modern oceanview hilltop home with spectacular sunrises
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395843
+1 508 3220499
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
5

Great vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Hello future renters!,

My son got married July 19, we had people fly from Polan, San Francisco, New York and Los Angelas. All this to say is that I needed a home that would be hosting a BBQ prior to the wedding! I was so happy to arrive and meet Gary at the house. The house was more then I had thought to be! Very clean, very spacious!, great rooms with fantastic views!l The house was big enough for 8 family members to sleep! Each had their own bathroom and privacy!. Kitchen is big enough to host "Hells Kitchen" lol,,,,(I watch that show),,

My husband and I have no regrets renting this property, my children and friends were beside themselves when they saw the house!,,,I would recommend this house to anyone seeking a rental on the island.

Nicole and Marcell
Owner's Response: You were wonderful Tenants and welcome back.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Executive modern oceanview hilltop home with spectacular sunrises
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395843
+1 508 3220499
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
Michigan
5

best vacation ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This home has two sections, an older part which is thoroughly updated, and a newer part which is more wide open in layout. The cabinets and trim are done by Gary, the owner, a highly skilled finish carpenter. The furniture and design is very tasteful, the home is on a private section of MV, and is VERY quiet. I have never seen a home so clean - it was impeccable. Easy access to Edgartown/Vineyard Haven hwy and airport. I would return without hesitation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The Island is magical and you are welcome back.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Executive modern oceanview hilltop home with spectacular sunrises
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395843
+1 508 3220499
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
Boxford MA
5

Paula D.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We rented this lovely home Aug 14-21 for our family of 6.
( 9 people with spouses and grand child). The floor plan was perfect for our extended family. It had many places to relax on a rainy day and nice deck for good days.The master bedroom suite was great. We enjoyed the use of the kayaks, tennis courts and daily bike rides from this convenient location.The home was very clean and the owner, Gary was a pleasure to deal with. Would highly recommend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: We enjoyed having you as guest renters and welcome you back.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Executive modern oceanview hilltop home with spectacular sunrises
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395843
+1 508 3220499
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
5

Ideal location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Location was ideal; less than 10 minutes away from all the best that MV has to offer ---- multiple beaches, vintage shops, art galleries, specialty grocers, choice restaurants and sightseeing. Easy access to OB, VH and Edgartown.

Accomodations were immaculate and spacious for our family of four;

Remodeled kitchen with high-end applicances; great outdoor space with multiple deck areas with unobstructed ocean views, outdoor shower and ample dining space with grill; quiet, serene area.

We are avid travelers with two "tween-age" children and have literally stayed in vacation rentals across the globe; and would highly recommend this property.

Access to owners' kayaks and amenities of the community were an added bonus on the Sengekontacket Pond.

Overall, a very enjoyable experience including all interaction and correspondence with owner. Class act.

The Ferguson Family
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank You
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Executive modern oceanview hilltop home with spectacular sunrises
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395843
+1 508 3220499
Oak Bluffs Martha's Vineyard
New York, New York
5

Fantastic property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We stayed in this house the first week in august, 2011. It's a beautiful place - the two master bedrooms are open and airy, and the kitchen and living room are great. We were three couples, and a three-year-old. (The bunk beds in the fourth bedroom are probably better for kids than for adults.) It's an easy drive to the beach, and a nice area for walking. We were really happy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Charles was our first guest with HomeAway and is welcome back.
Helpful votes: 1/2