Oak Harbor house rental - Beautiful Waterfront Beach Cabin on Penn Cove with great VIEWS, Whidbey Island
Beautiful Waterfront Beach Cabin on Penn Cove with great VIEWS, Whidbey Island
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Oak Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms, 2 bath, Sleeps 4-6: Comfy Yr Round, Spectacular VIEWS, Boat, Pool

Sandpiper Haven is a charming two bedroom, two bath, single story, low bank waterfront house located on world famous Penn Cove, Whidbey Island, with direct beach access , phenomenal views, a great deck, nearby boat launch, and much much more. Conveniently located between Coupeville and Oak Harbor, enjoy fabulous VIEWS south across Penn Cove of the Olympic Mountains and Coupville, and east of the Cascades! With annual rainfall of just over 21 inches, nearly half of the regional rainfall, you can enjoy being in the rainshadow of Whidbey Island.

Formerly called 'Penn Cove Beach Cottage' Sandpiper Haven now has new owners and plenty of updates including high speed internet, and all NEW HDTV with cable TV, ipod docking stereo CD/radio, outdoor furnishings, gas grill, fire pit, Sleeper Sofa, and much more. This is a low-allergen environment. For this reason, no pets and no smoking are permitted. Enjoy this comfy, well-appointed and well-supplied house in a phenomenal setting.

During Peak Months, enjoy access to two sea kayaks and a 12' Rowboat to qualified Guests to explore the cove, fish or crab (and yes, we have crabbing and fishing gear too).

Sandpiper Haven is truly a bird watcher's paradise with floating flocks of resident and migratory water fowl and overhead visits by a neighboring family of eagles. For the seafood lovers, try mussel and clam digging and enjoy fishing just steps from the back door. Qualified Guests can borrow the two kayaks and 12' Rowboat to explore the Cove on calm days during Peak Season at no additional charge.

The day brings beautiful views of boats, seals and otters playing in the water, and of the snowy peaks of the Olympic Mountains rising in the distance beyond the shores of Penn Cove. To the east catch glimpses of the Cascade Mountains as well. The house is south facing to capture the warmth of the sun on a large private deck in fair weather, or inspire romance watching storm-churned waves while comfortably seated indoors by the large stone gas fireplace.

Evenings can be spent by a private firepit roasting marshmallows, curled up with a book on super comfy new living furniture by a gas fireplace, playing games and doing puzzles with friends and family, or watching a movie on the new HDTV.

Or, you may prefer an evening out with great dining options in Coupeville, Langley, Oak Harbor and beyond.

Enjoy access to the local heated outdoor community pool as our Guest from Memorial Day through Labor Day.

The house sleeps 4-6 comfortably, with a heavenly pillow-top Queen Bed in the Master, and two twins in the 2nd bedroom. A new sleeper sofa with additional memory foam topper allows for another two people to sleep comfortably in the Living Room. We even provide a portable crib and bedding for infants. Dine comfortably inside or out for up to 6 Guests.

An outdoor private promontory allows you to get further away from it all, boasting even more fabulous views down the beach and across Penn Cove.

Action seekers may kayak the cove or explore the many hiking and bike trails within minutes from the house. Bring your own boat or jet ski and launch it from our private community-owned boat launch and dock just several houses from the property.

The house was built in 2003 so is well-insulated and perfect for year-round.

The historic waterfront town of Coupeville, visible across the cove, can be reached in minutes by car. Oak Harbor, to the North, is also minutes away for major shopping amenities and restaurants. And to the West lies Historical Ebey's Landing Preserve and the nearby Coupeville Ferry with service to historic Port Townsend. Greenbank Winery, antiques shops, galleries, the town of Langley, and Deception Pass are also nearby.

Best suited for: families, romantic getaways, couples retreats, girls weekends away, small reunions, great stays when attending a wedding, holiday gatherings, anniversary present for the grandparents, rewards for employees, adventure-seekers, and many more.

Visit our website, see our video, and read our reviews, and.... look no further. Stay and Play at Sandpiper Haven.

Thank you!

More Details
Hide Details

We are a family of four and have always loved the out of doors. Julie grew up outside of Boston, and Pete in Durango, and we both met out in the Seattle area back in 1994. Come and stay at our home and see what we love so much about the NW, Whidbey Island, and Sandpiper Haven.

Julie & Peter Mattson purchased this house in 2011

We love Whidbey Island and have spent years traveling around the northwest exploring. Whidbey Island has so much of everything great that the northwest to offer - views, mountains, water, beach, hiking, biking, clamming, kayaking, fishing, and exploring.

Sandpiper Haven is really 'Heaven' to us - we love the beauty, peace, access to beach and exploring and comfort of this beautiful home. Sometimes we choose to just simply hang out and do puzzles, play games, read books, and enjoy eachother's company. Other times, we love sitting on the expansive deck viewing wildlife such as the bald eagle that perched on our nearby dock for TWO hours the other day, or the kingfisher hovering right out front! And then there is clamming, boating, and all the great parks and exploring nearby. A short drive to Coupeville is always rewarded with ice cream for the kids at their fabulous ice cream parlor, Kapaw's.

Come and enjoy Sandpiper Haven and we hope (think) you'll love to come back year after year! Just read our Reviews and see what others have to say....

57 Reviews of Property 395752 in Oak Harbor, Washington

Sandpiper Haven: Fabulous Waterfront Beach House-VIEWS, Kayaks, Famous Penn Cove
average rating of 4.9423075 based on 57 reviews
business
Sandpiper Haven: Fabulous Waterfront Beach House-VIEWS, Kayaks, Famous Penn Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395752
+1 206 395-5540
Oak Harbor Whidbey Island
5

A wonderfully relaxing weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We found a super-clean home ready for our family. Our boys loved having new puzzles, games, and toys to play with. They also loved playing on the beach right outside the house. They were so excited to see an otter one morning. We were close enough to town to get what we needed and far enough that it was quiet and peaceful at the house. It was mostly cloudy while we were there, but on the last morning the sky was clear and we saw some mountains across the Cove. That was a fun surprise. The owners were so friendly and easy to work with. We look forward to returning!
Owner's Response: Dear Betsy & Jon, We are so happy your family enjoyed your weekend stay. Yes, March can be iffy for weather, but glad you got some nice "sun-breaks", and the kids got to enjoy the beach and games and puzzles. Definitely come again. The kayaks will be out in summer! -Julie & Peter.
business
Sandpiper Haven: Fabulous Waterfront Beach House-VIEWS, Kayaks, Famous Penn Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395752
+1 206 395-5540
Oak Harbor Whidbey Island
5

Peaceful & Relaxing Retreat

Peaceful & Relaxing Retreat
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This was our second time to one of our favorite places!! We enjoyed our time so much the first year we came back again this year (even during the winter) to relax in front of the fire and decompress for a week. Breathtaking views of the water and mountains. A great location to explore the area, hike, relax and bird watch (incredible bald eagles nest across the street)!! The owners of this property have furnished this home with everything one could desire. Julie & Peter are fantastic hosts. They always provide additional information about local events, recommendations for restaurants and follow up to ensure you enjoyed your stay! We will be back again in the near future!
Owner's Response: Dear Lisa & Chris, Thank you so much for coming again (this time in Feb) and escaping the harsh New England winter it has been this year for you folks. We so appreciate your return visit. In fact, that is one of our goals, to have Guests come back year after year, incorporating Sandpiper Haven into their own family traditions. All our best! Julie & Peter.
business
Sandpiper Haven: Fabulous Waterfront Beach House-VIEWS, Kayaks, Famous Penn Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395752
+1 206 395-5540
Oak Harbor Whidbey Island
5

Wonderful Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This cottage and property were everything promised in the website and in the pictures, and more. The cottage was sparkling clean, nicely furnished, and had all the needed equipment in the kitchen for meal making. One of the wonderful things about the cottage was the expanse of windows across the front, giving a full view of the Olympic Mountains as well as the cove. From the front yard one could also view the Cascade Mountains. A nice trail down to the beach has recently been added, making beach walks very easy to take. On a clear night the view of the sky from the deck was spectacular. The owners have done everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. This was a memorable getaway.
Owner's Response: Dear Janet,
Thank you again for choosing our home, especially over Christmas! We appreciate your trust in us and glad you enjoyed your stay. Our boys love those clear nights for stargazing as well. Come again and Happy New Year! -Julie & Peter
business
Sandpiper Haven: Fabulous Waterfront Beach House-VIEWS, Kayaks, Famous Penn Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395752
+1 206 395-5540
Oak Harbor Whidbey Island
Littleton, CO
5

Thanksgiving Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Sandpiper Haven was the perfect place for our Thanksgiving week visiting our son who is stationed at NAS Whidbey Island. It was our home away from home. I was able to cook a turkey dinner in the well equipped kitchen while looking out at Penn Cove. The views and walks on the beach were spectacular. The house is homey, comfortable and was the perfect place to reunite with our son. This was our third time renting on Whidbey and we will definitely be back to Sandpiper Haven again. Thank you for making your home on Whidbey like our home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Maria, We are so glad you and your family had a wonderful Thanksgiving at Sandpiper Haven! We have had a number of Guests stay over the holidays and share the sentiment. You captured our goal to try and provide a comfortable home with all you might need to experience the season as stress-free as possible. Do come again! Julie & Peter
business
Sandpiper Haven: Fabulous Waterfront Beach House-VIEWS, Kayaks, Famous Penn Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395752
+1 206 395-5540
Oak Harbor Whidbey Island
Cave Creek, AZ
5

What a wonderful experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had an absolutely wonderful restful stay at Sandpiper Haven in September. Before our arrival we felt well prepared by the excellent communication that Julie and Peter provided. On arrival, “The Haven” was truly welcoming, very well appointed and so cozy. We spent a lot of time on the deck just watching the water, the birds and “Sammy”, the seal. Using the kitchen I was astonished at how well equipped it was; we truly had everything we needed readily available. You could tell Julie and Peter took great care and pride of ownership in the decorating, comfort of the furnishings and maintenance of the home and yard. This pride in visitors having a wonderful experience was also demonstrated in the abundance of material that was provided on what to do, what restaurants to try, where to shop, games, books … . The convenient and well maintained walkway to the beach and the promontory table with chairs were a special bonus. Words fall short in describing the many wonderful features of Sandpiper Haven as our home away from home. I would not hesitate in recommending this property to anyone. We definitely did not want to leave and would love to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Dave & Jan, We can't thank you enough for taking the time to express all the things you loved about your stay. Do come again! The kayaks will be out for your next stay next summer to add to the rowboat. -Julie & Peter
business
Sandpiper Haven: Fabulous Waterfront Beach House-VIEWS, Kayaks, Famous Penn Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395752
+1 206 395-5540
Oak Harbor Whidbey Island
5

Quaint little house overlooking Penn Cove.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We loved Sandpiper Haven. Walks on the beach. Wild life whatching. Cooking local seafood in the fully stocked kitchen. Close to Coupville. Three Sisters small store up the road. Sitting on the deck was wonderful. A great little get away.
Owner's Response: Dear Lisa & Chad, Thank you so much for coming and do visit again.
business
Sandpiper Haven: Fabulous Waterfront Beach House-VIEWS, Kayaks, Famous Penn Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395752
+1 206 395-5540
Oak Harbor Whidbey Island
Wauconda, IL USA
5

Fun at the Sandpiper

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We enjoyed a wonderful week at the Sandpiper. The house/property were perfect for us. Inside the house had all of the comforts of home and all functioned well. Outside, the property is on the edge of the Sound with stairs to the waterfront. Also, landscaping was beautiful, including a nice deck and a fire pit that we enjoyed sitting around playing games, listening to music, making s'mores, etc. in the evening! The area is great, close to two towns with grocery shops, restaurants, etc....also, close to nice parks and areas for activities. We all loved the Madrona trees, amazingly beuatiful on the rugged landscapes. We enjoyed day trips to Port Townsend/Olympic Peninsula, and to the San Juan Islands (Friday Harbor)for sea kayaking. We strongly recommend this property for active families that love the outdoors. Gerard, Loretta, and kids
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Loretta and Family, You certainly partook in all that Whidbey and the region has to offer and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for such a complete review. Come again. -Julie and Peter
business
Sandpiper Haven: Fabulous Waterfront Beach House-VIEWS, Kayaks, Famous Penn Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395752
+1 206 395-5540
Oak Harbor Whidbey Island
5

Puget perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
What a delightful find! This cottage met our every need including providing dinners of clams, mussels, and sea urchins from the beach! We found the cottage very clean and much of it looked almost brand new. Though we had poor weather, the comfort of the cottage made it the perfect place to simply hang out and relax.

We explored Whidbey Island from end to end, and appreciated the copious travel info available to us. We also were delighted with many books on the area, its history, and the creatures that live there. While there, three eagles fledged from their nest nearby and we enjoyed the entertainment of their learning to fly, squabbling with each other, and being scolded by their regal parents that stood guard near their huge nest....... Amazing! We were also visited by a seal in the evening, and watched over by a beautiful heron from down the beach.

We have stayed at many VRBOs across the country including in Alaska and Hawaii and Sandpiper Haven is by far the best. The rates were great, the area offered lots of activities and restaurants, and Julie and Peter were very accommodating. I would recommend this cottage without reservation!
Owner's Response: Dear Clyde and Karen,
Thank you for such kind words. We are so pleased we've been able to create such a special place, not just for us, but also for you (and other Guests) as well. And how great to see the eaglets fledging. They nest year after year at that same spot across the street and just keep adding to their nest. It's tremendous. Do come again! -Julie & Peter.
business
Sandpiper Haven: Fabulous Waterfront Beach House-VIEWS, Kayaks, Famous Penn Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395752
+1 206 395-5540
Oak Harbor Whidbey Island
Bellingham, WA, USA
5

The love is in the details ... and the view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had an unforgettable (albeit too brief) stay at Sandpiper Haven. The layout of the place, the attention that's been paid to make it a low-allergy environment, and the unmatched amenities (good reads abound, children's games galore, beach toys to boot, and super-well equipped bathrooms and kitchen) as well as the thought that's gone into making this a safe and relaxing place for folks with inquisitive kids are outstanding. We had the worst weather upon arrival and didn't miss sunshine a bit, what with the puzzles, birdwatching resources, and the tremendous stretch of beach (fun even in the rain). Julie was absolutely wonderful to work with when I bombarded her with many questions before our arrival, and I love how the owners are helping build community on Whidbey and amongst the visitors by providing and inviting written feedback on wildlife viewings and local eateries. Julie's helpful instructions and the place itself invite responsible tourism and renters and create a sense of a very special home everyone cherishes and respects. We can't wait to come back and spend more time on the adorable promontory. For now, we are living on amazing memories of the silver full moon reflecting in Penn Cove's rippling water and the astounding diversity of wildlife we had the pleasure of observing from the comfort of the living room and deck. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Alina, Wow, so sweet and what can we say? Thank you so much for the kind words and we do hope you can come longer for your next stay! Glad the girls had fun using the community pool too. All our best - Julie & Peter.
business
Sandpiper Haven: Fabulous Waterfront Beach House-VIEWS, Kayaks, Famous Penn Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395752
+1 206 395-5540
Oak Harbor Whidbey Island
Seattle, WA
5

Excellent owners, beautiful property, wonderful experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Thank you, Julie and Peter, for everything you did to make our stay so nice. We really enjoyed being on the water. And the kids loved all of the games you have at the house. The house is perfect for a weekend getaway, and we were very comfortable there over the holiday weekend. Thanks so much for emailing so much information to us before our arrival. It made everything easier. And thank you for being available by phone when a few minor things came up, like the screen door that we thought was stuck open but just needed to be pushed open even further to release. We hope to come again some day!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dear Tessa,
Thank you again for choosing our home for your holiday getaway and glad you had such a nice stay. Your kind words mean so much to us. We look forward to your next visit! -Julie & Peter
Helpful votes: 1/1