Sea Ranch house rental - Front of the house
Front of the house
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Sea Ranch House Rental Photos and Description
Comfortable cabin-esque forest home, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Moonraker House is located approximately 107 miles north of San Francisco off historic and scenic Highway 1.

Our two bedroom, two bathroom home has an upstairs deck, private hot tub, WiFi, cable televisions, a fully equipped kitchen with bedroom linens and bathroom towels provided.

With 50 miles of private beach, bluff, and forest trails, picnic areas, tide pools, three recreational centers, two marine reserves, a fenced dog park, and an 18 hole championship golf course, there is something for everyone to do without leaving the local area.

Gualala, the closest town, is 8.7 miles north with grocery stores, specialty shops, restaurants, a bank, post office, and gas stations.

Six hundred fenced sheep and goats graze the common areas to eliminate fire hazards and follow The Sea Ranch philosophy of living lightly off the land.

The artist community of Mendocino is fifty-eight miles north and Fort Bragg is nine miles north of Mendocino. Both places are perfect day trips to explore, shop and eat. Charter boats are available for fishing and whale watching in Fort Bragg.

Grey whale migrate December through March and can often be seen off the shore or by boat.

Seal pups are born late March and early April and can be viewed from the bluff trail above the reserve.

Observe pelicans, cormorants, and oyster catchers from ocean bluffs and on the beach

Redwood violets and trilliums bloom around our house in March and April. Then in May and June the Rhododendrons are in full flower.

The Sea Ranch thespians present two productions a year, one in spring, and one in fall.

More Details
Hide Details

My parents purchased our family vacation home in 1990 after several years of renting homes on The Sea Ranch and searching for the perfect home for us.

My father wanted a house in the forest and my mother wanted something close to the ocean. This home is the perfect blending of the two.

My father, 80, is a retired teacher and my mother, 79, worked for the State of California. They still manage the property with help from myself and my teenage son, Josh.

I am a special education teacher and have a small organic farm with horses, dogs, chickens, orchards and crops and live about ten miles from my parents in the Central Valley of California.

Michael, Patricia, Catherine and Josh purchased this house in 1990

Robinson Jeffers, Carmel poet, said it well, 'the ocean gives perpetual music and the stone mountain its music of silence.'

We are blessed to be able to share our peaceful home with you. Since our house is located in the forest, we do not have the foot or road traffic the other places do. We rarely see people or cars in the area or on the trails nearby and appreciate the serenity.

The ocean, towns and beaches are closeby to explore and there are plenty of things to do in addition to just quietly relaxing in the redwoods.

8 Reviews of Property 395522 in Sea Ranch, California

Secluded getaway in the redwood forest, yet close to ocean with beach access
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews
business
Secluded getaway in the redwood forest, yet close to ocean with beach access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395522vbi
2093840647
Sea Ranch North Coast California
4

Moonraker

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
What a pleasant well equipped house.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Secluded getaway in the redwood forest, yet close to ocean with beach access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395522vbi
2093840647
Sea Ranch North Coast California
5

My favorite place to stay at Sea Ranch

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I've rented probably seven or eight houses at Sea Ranch over the years, and this is by far my favorite, and my husband's too. Love the location in the redwoods, the access to the trails, the private hot tub. It's just a secluded, romantic getaway. Because it's on 3 levels and has the deck up top, it feels much bigger than it is. Well appointed, everything I need for cooking, wi-fi, etc. Nicely furnished and everything's comfortable and works well. It's also, oddly enough, probably the cheapest place I've rented up here.

But I think it's really this--You know how some places just "feel" right? That's how this place is. Whether it's the fact that the owners are good people (I don't know them so couldn't say, but I'm guessing yes), or it has good feng shui (about which I also know nothing!) or whatever, my pulse drops and I start relaxing as soon as I walk in the door.

I almost hate to review it, because it might make it less available! But I do want to say, thanks for making this place available. I sure appreciate it.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Secluded getaway in the redwood forest, yet close to ocean with beach access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395522vbi
2093840647
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Reno, NV
4

Great space!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Moonraker House provided special spaces where our family could spread out. The loft was perfect for teenagers to have their own hangout. Feels like a luxury treehouse! The house was tidy and clean, quiet with a secluded feel.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're always happy when guests like and enjoy our home. We find it quiet and restful yet just minutes away from the ocean and forest trails. The house is small but has space for privacy.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded getaway in the redwood forest, yet close to ocean with beach access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395522vbi
2093840647
Sea Ranch North Coast California
4

Unique house in the redwoods

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We agree with all the positive reviews. We would return for the solitude and beauty. This is a unique location with no neighbors and on one side a deep ravine that is the southern end of Sea Ranch. The beds were quite to our liking, relatively new, plush but not sagging, and very confortable. In our experience with VRBO, the beds are the greatest risk.

The only reasons to not give it 5 stars are it's being far from Gualala, the basic hot tub, and the not comfortable couch. Even so, we would return!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded getaway in the redwood forest, yet close to ocean with beach access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395522vbi
2093840647
Sea Ranch North Coast California
United States
5

Quiet, lovely and well-maintained property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband and I stayed at Moonraker. We were looking for a quiet, well-equipped property which would place us close to other activities on the coast, but which would still let us have a true "getaway" from our very busy every day lives. Moonraker was perfect for us. Communication with the owners was prompt and informative.

Unlike properties which face the coast more directly, these homes are nestled into trees. Even though the houses are only a few hundred yards away from each other, you neither see nor hear the other occupants. This was a real bonus for us. The trees also buffer the wind which comes off the ocean. However, it's still close enough to the water to hike down if you choose (and we did). Be prepared for a very challenging return hike (or bike) if you choose to go down. Our calves were sore in a good way!

The house is well-maintained and very clean. Our mattress was comfortable, and we both slept well. Though it's open to pets, there were no previous signs of pets, and our well-behaved Lhasa Apso was welcomed. Cooking facilities are in good shape, and there are plenty of spices, pots, pants and on-site goodies for those who like to cook. We also appreciated that firewood (and firestarting instructions) were close to hand.

The property is about 27 miles above Jenner on a curvy but beautiful part of Highway 1. Be prepared to take your time and enjoy the scenery. Gualala is about 10 miles away, and while small, is a welcoming community. We recommend the bookstore, which was well-curated and friendly. We also enjoyed the local bakery, which had delicious breads, pastries and coffee.

We loved the character of Moonraker, with its distinct architectural charm. We will definitely come back. Many thanks to the owners for making this home so welcoming.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded getaway in the redwood forest, yet close to ocean with beach access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395522vbi
2093840647
Sea Ranch North Coast California
San Francisco, CA
5

Private Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Moonraker is a lovely home. We came for the weekend and were delighted by how private it was and the amazing hot tub among the redwoods. The owners were easy to be in touch with and the home was well equipped from kitchen to extra blankets for the bed and multiple luggage racks. We were wondering if the drive out to SR was worth it but this made it so. Will certainly return.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of Moonraker House. We love Sea Ranch for its beauty and peacefulness and we think our quiet location in the redwoods is the perfect place to enjoy it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded getaway in the redwood forest, yet close to ocean with beach access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395522vbi
2093840647
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Santa Rosa
5

A lovely home in the redwoods!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My 15 year old niece, my dogs, and I totally enjoyed our week's stay at Moonraker. The quiet peace and tranquility are apparent the moment you step out of your car. We enjoyed the beautiful redwoods, huckleberry bushes, ferns and other lush growth native to the redwood forest. The house is very comfortable and I was happy to find the mattress the most comfortable of any rental in which I've stayed. We enjoyed the spacious upstairs balcony and loft (where my niece enjoyed sleeping), the hot tub, the barbecue and outdoor table, our evening hillside walks on some of The Sea Ranch's wonderful hiking trails. Our only disappointment is that we never found a decorative sheep to add to the owner's delightful collection, which my niece was hoping to do. :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for sharing your feelings about staying at Moonraker. We have enjoyed the house in all seasons of the year and always find it relaxing.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Secluded getaway in the redwood forest, yet close to ocean with beach access
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395522vbi
2093840647
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Northern California
5

Moonraker

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Moonraker provided an enjoyable stay. The home is clean and well maintained. The property was just as it was described in the listing. Beautiful forest setting yet close proximity to the ocean. The owners were timely about all communication. Sea Ranch home with lots of charm, privacy and comfort.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2