Asheville house rental - Beautiful and fun porch.
Beautiful and fun porch.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Asheville House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths (Sleeps 6)

Farmhouse on the Cane is a special place for both families and couples to visit.

Amazing property central to many top activities including; The Blue Ridge Parkway, Mount Mitchell, Linville Falls and the City of Asheville

Sleeps up to 6 comfortably.

Beautiful cook's kitchen stocked with all you need to make your stay special.

Over 1/2 mile waterfront on property and fun hiking trails right on our property.

80-year old restored farmhouse, nestled in the mountains on the outskirts of the town of Burnsville, North Carolina.

This artistic home is situated on 18 acres and over a mile of River frontage on the famous Cane River that is stocked with trout.

Experience the 'SPA' feel throughout this home with river rock showers, full chef's kitchen and warm colors and lighting throughout. Area is rich in history and local culture. Make sure you make some time to visit local museums and walk along the town square in downtown Burnsville.

An incredible farmer’s market is held on Saturday spring-to-fall and is rich with local produce and organic products.

Pass through the town, you will continue to drive along country roads and pass picturesque cows and old barns. We guarantee a smile will cross your face and your shoulders will begin to relax.

The worries of life somehow will be forgotten. Often parked along the sides of the road are trucks where local fly fisherman and their sons are fishing for trout. Make sure you wave and say hello.

Some mornings as you drive, you will see a herd of deer cross the misty road as they come to the Cane River to drink or look for berries. Often, you will cross paths with roosters and chickens as they search for food. Watch too for small bears along the river, but please just observe!

As you turn onto the driveway, cross over the Cane River and enter the property, make a mental note of the local swimming hole on the left. It is a favorite watering hole in the summer and locals call it the “rope hole”. Good for cooling off in the summer.

Pass the entry gate, and you will see an old cattle barn. In summer months, grapes grow on the vines up and along the top of the roof of the barn. When they ripen, make sure you pick a few.

After you settle in, take some time to sit on the rocking chair porch with a glass of wine or sweet tea. The rockers are hand-made by locals. You can listen to the water as it flows over the natural rocks and giant boulders and the water passes along the shores of the pristine Cane River.

Mornings are great for walking along the path of the river located just outside your back door. Around the corner, from the house in the summer months, we grow a kitchen garden with fresh strawberries, corn, tomatoes and herbs.

Wading in the river is a must for the summer afternoons. We suggest wearing old tennis shoes or such for traction. Unlike swimming pools, cut-offs and old t-shirts are preferred!

Dinner out with “people watching” is fun in downtown Burnsville. But most like to cook in our state of the art “country” kitchen using local produce and fish. The kitchen is a favorite of most and is equipped with a double oven and nice cookware. There are plenty of plates and utensils for families. The chilly water from the tap is from a hand-dug water-well, so please use what you need conservatively.

There will be plenty of room to serve your meals from our antique 12-foot long table from an old-local country-store. Everyone will enjoy dinner as they pull up a bench round the dinner table. Entertainment optional….talk and get to know each other again.

More Details
Hide Details

After looking for over 2-years we found it with 'Farmhouse on the Cane!' We completed a renovation of a 1940's home which took over a year's time.

This is not your typical rental home and would love for you to enjoy it as well.

We also own the historic Nu Wray Inn Bed & Breakfast (Built in 1833) on the Town Square about 10-minutes away.

Read the previous comments as you have to experience to truly believe it.

We fell in love with the amazing 'Andy Griffith/ Old Town' feel of Burnsville (Only 10-mins away) with the friendliest people you'll ever meet. The natural beauty of the the Blue Ridge Mountains with local farms will shave years off your stress level.

We very convenient to Asheville, only 35-minutes away and 2.5 hours to Charlotte, so we're very easy to get to.

21 Reviews of Property 395504 in Asheville, North Carolina

Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
average rating of 5.0 based on 21 reviews
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
Houston, Texas
5

Most Beautiful Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I cannot write enough great comments for this vacation home or its owners. We stayed here in October when the leaves were changing and found so many great things at this property. The house is just beautiful inside, a great blend of modern convenience and rustic charm. Coming from small condo living the large chef’s kitchen was so much fun to cook in. The views from every room were outstanding. The claw foot tub in the master bath overlooking the river cannot be beat. We spent mornings cuddled up on the patio, afternoons walking the trails around the house (the hike to the actual Christmas tree farm near the house was so much fun), and lunch laying on a blanket on the lawn. And the best part is the sounds of the river the whole time. When car trouble late one night was threatening to ruin our vacation and with no one else to turn to we called Bob the owner for help. He was so amazing and took time out of his day to help us get in contact with a local shuttle service and loaned us his own SUV to drive while we got things fixed. He went above and beyond to make sure we were ok. We can’t wait to return to the beautiful farm house by the river.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
Crofton, MD
5

A wonderful fall getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Our family stayed here for a relaxing long weekend during our son's school fall break. It was exactly what we wanted! The house is cozy and inviting, the river was peaceful and calming. After a trip to the local grocery store, we spent three great days relaxing, hiking, and watching the fish in the river. We found everything we needed to make our stay pleasant. Although we did not do any sightseeing this time, the farmhouse is located in a great spot if you want to go to the Blue Ridge Parkway or Asheville. I want to follow the local "Quilt trails" next time! We definitely want to return and highly recommend a stay at the farmhouse.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
United States
5

upstateadventurerssc

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We returned to the Farmhouse this past weekend for our 'last weekend before school starts get-away' -- once again, it was fabulous!!! This time we brought the hubby's parents. They both loved/LOVE it as much as we do. The river is so serene! The peace and quiet is so welcome! All the men (young and old) fished while we gals just hung out on the porch and watched, read, etc. Everyone is already talking about returning next summer! See you then!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
Waxhaw NC
5

Awesome House And Awesome Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Great house with everything you need to have a wonderful time inside and outside. We really enjoyed tubing down the river without leaving the property. Also went on an great hike without leaving the property. Highly recommend and can't wait to go back. Thanks Lisa and Bob.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
St. Louis, MO
5

Wonderful Farmhouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family had a great week in the Farmhouse. We loved the open and airy house with the large yard going down to the river. The location is very private.
We were sad to leave but will definitely be back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
Raleigh
5

Charming, special and wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I took a lot of time searching for a special place to celebrate my anniversary, a place with charm, ammenities, on the river, close to Asheville and top of my mind was clean and comfortable and the bonus for me, being able to bring my well behaved and trained pup. I have had some not so great experiences renting in the mountains before and I was being a bit picky this time and I am very glad I was! My experience..... couldn't be better. Starting with the fantastic kitchen, special bathrooms, amazing front porch and my personal favorite - the river right there. The property is beaufiful, the home is lovely with many authentic pieces and it was so comfortable and clean. The owners went out of their way to ensure there were many special touches. I fell in love with this home and hope to return before long. Highly recommend this place, but not when I want to go!! Enjoy - well worth it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
5

Weekend with Family to Find the Perfect Christmas Tree

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We spent a wonderful weekend with our children in this beautiful house. We came to Burnsville to let our children pick out a Christmas tree. There were several Christmas tree farms nearby. We also took the children to a gem mine a few miles away. They enjoyed finding their own gems. We spent the rest of our time at the house enjoying the beautiful setting. The children loved the river and spent several hours playing in the spacious back yard. We also had a fire in the fire pit and roasted marshmallows. The house had everything you could possibly need and was even decorated for Christmas. We would like to come back again, maybe in the summer.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
Hemingway, SC
5

Wayne

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My family and I spent 5 days and 4 nights at the farmhouse and had a wonderful time. The area is beautiful and it even snowed on our last day, which my kids loved. We had a bonfire every night and I caught my first rainbow trout from the river that runs right by the house. The house was great for our family of five and we never slept better. We will be back and it won't be too soon.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
Charleston, SC
5

A Thanksgiving To Remember

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My husband and I took our three kids up to the farmhouse to get away and have a cozy family Thanksgiving. We were not disappointed! For cooking such an important meal in an unfamiliar kitchen, I felt right at home and everything I needed was at my disposal. My children were in heaven with the ample yard space and the river in front. Everything about the home is comfortable and inviting. We hope to go back in the summer. Thank you to Bob and Lisa for being such gracious hosts!

- Lisa Duffy
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Riverfront Refurbished Farmhouse - Fishing Steps Away
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395504
+1 828 682-2329
Asheville Asheville Area
United States
5

REST & RELAX

REST & RELAX
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Thanks so much for your wonderful accommodations for our long-weekend get-away! The kids had a blast fishing and swimming in the river. We had a great time relaxing on the porch, reading, wading in the river and just enjoying the peace and quiet. The Wi-Fi was fabulous as we were able to check-in, and it was a BIG bonus that there is no cell service. It was fabulous to get away from ringing phones. The kitchen is fabulous and the grill was great! The kids can't wait to come again! We didn't hear -- "we're bored" one time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3