Austin cottage rental - View of the beautiful grounds, water feature, large deck and entertaining areas.
View of the beautiful grounds, water feature, large deck and entertaining areas.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Austin Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 bedroom, 1 bath - sleeps 4.

This luxury downtown property is ideally located just two blocks from S. Congress and Lady Bird Lake. It's the perfect place for a weekend getaway or reprieve from a business trip . Walk to arts and entertainment or stay in and enjoy the privacy of the beautiful grounds. The outdoor entertaining areas and gas grill are located between the main house and guest house; a perfect place for dining alfresco under the canopy of winding Oaks lit with white lights. There are multiple places to relax, dine and enjoy the beautiful gardens. The guest house is an open space with 360 square feet and 15 foot cathedral ceiling with exposed beams and cedar ceiling. There is a futon bed down and a queen bed in the loft with one bathroom. There is a kitchenette, a table for four and wood burning fireplace. In the heart of it all but you won't want to leave!

The house was built in 1927 and resembles a European cottage. The guest house was constructed in 2006. The property and grounds have been published in garden magazines and open for public outdoor living tours.The guest house is connected to the main house by a breezeway with the outdoor entertaining areas in the center of the two houses. Casement windows surround the guest house with beautiful views of the gardens and 100+ year old Oak trees. The outdoor space has multiple seating areas for rest, relaxation and dining. This property is for the exclusive enjoyment of paying guests only. There is a strict noise ordinance by 10:30 p.m.

More Details
Hide Details

I am a native Austin RealtorĀ® for the past 25+ years. I have enjoyed a landscaping business as well as my design work helping clients with their remodel projects inside and out. I enjoy traveling for inspiration. I have shared my home with people from all over the world as well as one famous guest, Natalie Portman who rented my entire house while filming a movie here. My home is my refuge where I can unwind, rejuvinate my spirit and entertain my friends. I share my home with two beautiful English Setters.

Owner - purchased this cottage in 2002

The location is the best Austin has to offer for those that want to be walking distance to all of the arts and entertainment, dining and shopping, while being able to retreat in the privacy of an urban oasis.

In addition to the vibrant Soco area there are always festivals, concerts and marathons in the immediate location. ACL music festival and SXSW are within 5 to 10 minutes away. Hike and bike trails, kayaking and sculling on Lady Bird Lake, bat watching on South Congress bridge. Visit the State Capital, the museums, the second street shopping district. Enjoy the nightlife in the warehouse and sixth street districts. Catch a performance at the new Long Center for Performing Arts. Swim in our beloved spring fed pools - Stacy pool located in Travis Heights, Deep Eddy and Barton Springs.

25 Reviews of Property 395429 in Austin, Texas

Downtown Guest House just two blocks from SoCo
average rating of 4.92 based on 25 reviews
business
Downtown Guest House just two blocks from SoCo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395429
(512) 423-8844 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
5

Pretending I am still there...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Our stay in Austin was absolutely perfect and that was due in large part to our accommodations. The weather was incredible and the food was great- but it was our little "cottage" that made our trip something to remember. I already knew I was going to love it from the photos I saw on VRBO- and the house and outdoor area is EXACTLY as it is shown. It is so beautiful- every detail was well thought out and the entire place was spotless. I could live in this tiny paradise as my permanent residence and be very happy. The location was perfect- a very quick walk to Congress and all of its restaurants and shops. Turn the other way on Congress and you are able to easily walk to the bridge and across to downtown. The neighborhood itself was a great place to walk around and look at all of the unique homes. I would return this very minute if I could. The owner was very nice and helpful- and has exquisite design taste. I have been an interior designer for 15 years and I asked her about her paint colors, where she bought towels, etc. We didn't spend as much time lounging around the lush outdoor area as we were out exploring as much as we could but I could see spending tons of time out there on a longer visit- very peaceful. You should stay here!!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Downtown Guest House just two blocks from SoCo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395429
(512) 423-8844 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
5

Excellent neighborhood location with great outdoor space

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This was a great location for a get away to Austin. The rental is very nice and the outdoor space with the hammocks, grill and table and chairs was excellent for an afternoon of relaxing. You are 2 blocks from the heart of South Congress with great music and food. The happy hours shows at the Continental had some great bands and be sure to get a burger at Hopdoddy it is worth the wait in line. The owner was very accommodating and easy to work with on check in and check out.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car
business
Downtown Guest House just two blocks from SoCo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395429
(512) 423-8844 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
5

Small, but perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We traveled to Austin for a birthday celebration. We wanted to be able to explore and play, but also to relax and eat some meals "in". This property is perfect. The outdoor grill is huge and located in the most beautiful setting. Two hammocks. Gorgeous gardens. Twinkling lights. We sat by the fireplace for dinner each night and slept with a fire going as well. Everything you can imagine is in easy walking distance. We adored Perla's -- amazing seafood and we are from the Gulf Coast. We saw a show at the Continental and loved it. We shopped at Heritage Boots -- the best boot shop we've ever seen. We even had a massage at South Congress Massage --- really excellent. We will return to Austin, and would love to stay here again.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Downtown Guest House just two blocks from SoCo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395429
(512) 423-8844 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
New Braunfels TX
4

No car needed!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Great location! The owner was very sweet and helpful! The outside space is amazing! The only improvement I would make would be to provide a larger TV. I would tell anyone considering this space to go for it!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Downtown Guest House just two blocks from SoCo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395429
(512) 423-8844 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Atlanta
5

Oasis off soco

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The location could not have been better, just two blocks from lively south congress and a 10 minute walk to the lakeshore/downtown music districts. This fabulous garage conversion into a cozy, beautifully designed and well appointed loft guesthouse had everything and more than expected. Everything from finishes, furnishings, volume of space down to each detail was extremely well executed. The outdoor kitchen and various seating arrangements surrounded by lush gardens made it a wonderful environment to re-charge before heading back into action packed Austin. We will definitely return!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car
business
Downtown Guest House just two blocks from SoCo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395429
(512) 423-8844 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Houston, Texas
5

5-Star Bungalow

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
What a pleasant surprise to find such a gem of a place in the heart of Soco. Only a couple of blocks to the many restaurants and shops that South Congress offers. My sister and I loved it and will definitely stay there again. Her patio under huge oak trees was lovely and relaxing. the beds were sooo comfortable. I would call it a 5-Star Bungalow.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Downtown Guest House just two blocks from SoCo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395429
(512) 423-8844 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
5

Perfect, highly recommend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 22, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We stayed at the SoCo guesthouse for the weekend and can't wait to go back. The location was perfect and a short walking distance to all the shops and restaurants on South Congress. The guesthouse was beautiful inside and out. The interior had beautiful high end finishes and was decorated nicely with the owners own personal touch. The backyard, private courtyard area was spacious and peaceful. We will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Downtown Guest House just two blocks from SoCo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395429
(512) 423-8844 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
5

Mother's Day Weekend

Mother's Day Weekend
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We were 2 mother/daughter pairs who had a great visit to Austin - lots of fun things to do and see. Michelle's guesthouse was a wonderful place to stay - close to Congress but an oasis of green. I felt like I was in a treehouse when I awoke each morning and saw the sun shining through the live oak branches. Would love to come back here again! Michelle is easy to work with and the property is lovely with the bonus of a beautiful outdoor space - wish we had more time to make use of it!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Downtown Guest House just two blocks from SoCo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395429
(512) 423-8844 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Hong kong
5

Great ! Highly recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Excellent location, very convenient. Cute house, just as it is described
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Downtown Guest House just two blocks from SoCo
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395429
(512) 423-8844 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Harrisonburg, VA
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Very comfortable; great location; would stay here again and would recommend to friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway