Kealakekua Bay studio rental - Sunset from the lanai
Sunset from the lanai
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Kealakekua Bay Studio Rental Photos and Description
Studio, Studio + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

Welcome to Hale Pono- House of balance and goodness.

Nestled on the hillside above beautiful historic Kealakekua Bay, come to relax, rejuvenate and recreate. Be amazed by the magnificent panoramic ocean views. Tropical breezes caress you and incredible sunsets await you. Enjoy world class snorkeling, kayaking, swimming and surfing, all less than a mile from your doorstep.

Kealakekua Bay is a pristine marine preserve where you may experience a spinner dolphin encounter while kayaking over to the Captain Cook Monument for snorkeling in crystal clear waters teeming with coral and fish. Visit historic Napoopoo Beach Park and the Hiki-au Heiau. Manini Beach and white sand Ke'ei Beach are minutes away. A 3 mile drive along the ocean takes you to the awesome Place of Refuge (Pu'uhonua o Honaunau). Next to this is the famous '2 Step' site for unbeatable snorkeling and scuba-diving. Salt and pepper Hookena Beach is a few miles south, perfect for sunbathing, swimming, boogie boarding, snorkeling and perhaps dolphins again.

Explore and tour the many Kona coffee farms that abound in the area along with the historic Painted Church and the Peace Garden.

Stop in at Kalama's deli and restaurant, a 2 minute stroll from your door, for cold drinks, local cuisine, and hot plate lunches. Visit the gallery for souvenirs and local artisan wares. ChoiceMart is near by for groceries and the local weekly Sunday Farmers Market. Volcano National Park is a 1.5 hour drive away.

The studio cottage is elevated above the treetops to take advantage of the stunning 180 degree view of the ocean and Kealakekua Bay. The large private lanai is the perfect place to take in the incredible sunsets and watch migrating whales. Soak up the suns rays on the adjacent sundeck. The cottage is light and airy with two large french doors and many windows. Papayas grow outside your door. Inside is a fully equipped kitchen with a full size refrigerator, stove and microwave, complete with mango countertops and brand new cabinets. The unit boasts eco-friendly cork flooring and a spacious bathroom with walk in shower. The unit sleeps 2-3 people comfortably with a futon and comfortable new queen sized memory foam bed. Beach chairs, towels and ice-chest are furnished for your convenience.

Sorry, not suitable for small children.

Also available cottage Moe (cottage of dreams) see last 4 photos. Contact for availability and more information.

Conveniently located 25 miles south of Kailua-Kona International airport and just 14 miles south of downtown Kona in beautiful lush Kealakekua.

Keywords: studio, cottage, house, ohana, sun, ocean view, sunset, snorkeling, kayaking, beach, dolphins, vacation, quiet, privacy, private lanai, sun deck

More Details
Hide Details

We have been visiting family in Hawaii for many years and now have found the perfect place to enjoy and to share with guests.

The area boasts some of the best access to the water. The several beaches in such close proximity are unusual on the Big Island. Swimming with the dolphins in the bay is the most remarkable experience. The snorkeling is unparalled.

17 Reviews of Property 395362 in Kealakekua Bay, Hawaii

Spectacular Panoramic Ocean & Bay Views - Summer Special $99!
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
business
Spectacular Panoramic Ocean & Bay Views - Summer Special $99!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395362vbi
530 343-5318
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
CA
5

Beautiful birds, reefs like flower gardens, whales, turtles, dolphins, amazingly colorful fish.....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Lovely view, very airy, comfortable studio, pictures can't capture it! We had a scope along for birdwatching and stargazing and had fun watching whales and dolphins from the lanai. We were serenaded every morning and evening with birdsong, and had flybys at eye level of Hawaii's rare native hawk and owl.
Really a lovely, relaxing time, and I haven't even mentioned the 4-5 hours a day we spent in the water! Kealakekua Bay is just down the hill, and 2 Step is a 5-10 minute drive (depends on how long you stop at the little honor-system fruit stand). Both bays are amazing for swimming, snorkeling and shore-diving. Unlike the reefs in Kona (or Hanauma Bay for that matter), the reefs here look pretty untrampled and we hope they stay that way. So we'd like to add this plea: please be kind to the reef and future snorkelers/divers and do not put your feet/fins down or touch anything - the reef is extremely fragile.
Jill and Dale are wonderful hosts, allowing all the privacy one wants but available and helpful for queries and requests.
We were a little concerned about the possibility of road noise as we don't like to hear this, but had no issues.
The lovely 4-part harmony drifting up the hill on Sunday mid morning is coming from the old and beautiful Hawaiian/Samoan church down the hill, some wonderful ohana down there.
A wonderful, relaxing time - thank you Jill and Dale!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Panoramic Ocean & Bay Views - Summer Special $99!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395362vbi
530 343-5318
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Sterling , Alaska
5

Very--Very--Very Nice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Excellent accommodations,excellent condition very clean & well maintained we could not ask for a more pleasant enjoyable place to stay. Would highly recommend for anyone coming to the Big Island. This end of the Island is the nicest with much more to offer then the rest of the Island. Snorkling was awesome. Sad that we didn't get to meet the owners but the caretakers were wonderful. All the pictures in the advertisement were exactly as we found the unit to be. Thanks Again Ron & Jean Ann from Alaska.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Panoramic Ocean & Bay Views - Summer Special $99!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395362vbi
530 343-5318
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Florence, OR
5

Wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We spent 10 luxurious days at this lovely spot with a beautiful view of Kealakekua Bay. The studio has an airy screened in lanai with bay view, sweet bird song all day long, lush garden with citrus blossom scent wafting on the breeze. The room is spacious and has a full kitchen, the owners are welcoming and generous and gave us all the privacy we wanted. It is within walking distance of the bay where we snorkeled to our hearts content and were blessed with swimming with dolphins 4 days in a row. All in all a fabulous trip. We have already booked our return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: See you next year...a hui hou!
business
Spectacular Panoramic Ocean & Bay Views - Summer Special $99!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395362vbi
530 343-5318
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Olympia, Washington
5

Wonderful Escape

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I just got home from spending 9 days at Jill & Dale's getaway and I miss it already! It is a perfect place to run away from the stress and busy day to day life at home. It's quiet, with the music of the birds singing and looking out almost every window and seeing the beautiful ocean. The warm breeze drifting through the house. I believe when people look through the vrbo website they would be lining up to book their reservations for this getaway if they knew how perfect it is. Mahalo Jill & Dale, hopefully I will be back very very soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Panoramic Ocean & Bay Views - Summer Special $99!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395362vbi
530 343-5318
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Live Oak, CA
5

A true expericene of paradise -a don't miss spot!

A true expericene of paradise -a don't miss spot!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We had the pleasure of staying at Hale Pono in January. Wow! This was our first time to Hawaii and this place rocked. Every morning we sat on the lanai looking at the beautiful Kealakekua Bay while eating exotic fruits from the local farmers market and drinking locally grown Kona coffee. We saw whales spouting in the bay on several days. Our place was lovely and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful! A true spot of paradise. Dale and Jill are wonderful hosts! Just down the road is such a lovely beach. We found a couple of locations nearby that were perfect for snorkeling, and easy for us as beginners. While Hale Pono is secluded, it also has many lovely spots to visit and restaurants nearby. Our location was advantageous for day trips. It took us about 1 1/2 hours to get to Volcanoes National Park. We had days where it was just great to stay in and relax, drinking in the beauty and peace. If you want a feast for your eyes, mouth, and soul, we highly recommend a stay at Hale Pono!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Panoramic Ocean & Bay Views - Summer Special $99!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395362vbi
530 343-5318
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
mainland
5

wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
what a pleasure it was to stay here! perfect spot, lovely studio with beautiful handcrafted details and stained glass, peaceful, relaxing.....wonderful hosts. we loved staying here in our favorite part of the big island, and we'll be back! mahalo jill and dale.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: And we will be happy to have you stay!
business
Spectacular Panoramic Ocean & Bay Views - Summer Special $99!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395362vbi
530 343-5318
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Oakland, California
5

Rainbows and geckos and sunsets.. oh my!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
I would say, if you cant have a simply lovely time from this spot as your home base.. then the fault lies with you. This little stilted studio is perched sweetly at fraund level.. and there are probably 10 different kinds of birds amidst the abundant fruit trees and palms.. banana and papaya trees..
and i haven't even mentioned the most obvious, coolest part.. The ocean view, the ocean sound and smell.. it's about a ten minute walk down the road to the ocean. The beach is pretty small.. more of a park.. but lovely fore sunning on the grass! local spot. The kitchen is very handy and hand crafted. with everything we needed for simple meals and more.. the bathroom was updated and comfortable. and the place felt open and homey.. well equipped and well appointed. guide books and mags.. dvds and maps were very helpful too! This place rocked .. but was astonishingling quite at night too..
try it, you'll like it!
thanks and mahalo Jill and Dale!
See ya next time.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Panoramic Ocean & Bay Views - Summer Special $99!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395362vbi
530 343-5318
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Utah
5

AAA+++

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Our family stayed at this lovely property the week of Christmas (we rented both cottages) and we couldn't have been happier! The cottages are inviting and had everything we needed, the grounds are lovely, and the location was perfect. We loved the privacy and the view from the lanai and are already looking forward to our return! We have no hesitation in recommending this place to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Panoramic Ocean & Bay Views - Summer Special $99!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395362vbi
530 343-5318
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Santa Fe, NM 87508
5

Spectacular!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My husband and I stayed at this wonderful studio tucked in the hills above Kealakekua Bay. The views were fantastic! We snorkeled the famous 2 Steps and even saw a turtle plus lots of fish! The studio was well stocked, even had a coffee grinder and coffee maker to enjoy the local Kona coffee. The grounds are beautifully well kept and the caretakers very knowledgeable about the tropical foliage and edible plants. Sitting on the lanai and smelling the sweet flowers while eating breakfast and sipping coffee was a great start to our day!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Spectacular Panoramic Ocean & Bay Views - Summer Special $99!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p395362vbi
530 343-5318
Kealakekua Bay Kona Coast
Granite Bay, California
5

Powerful mana

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This place is a romantic place to relax renew! The incredible views from the lanai, easy access to snorkeling, swimming, kayaking are hard to beat.

We woke up daily to the sound of birds, had breakfast of papayas on the lanai purchased from the local fruit stands or farmer's market (on Sunday), took a morning swim and came back for more relaxation at our private sanctuary. In the evenings, we had sushi grade ahi purchased from the local grocery store and watched the sunset. It was truly difficult to leave the studio as had everything we needed.

Dale and Jill are perfect hosts. They leave detailed information on local attractions and will do whatever they can to make sure that you have a pleasant stay.

We would HIGHLY recommend this property and plan on coming back as often as we can.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1