Dune Allen Beach cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Dune Allen Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Sunroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Adorable cottage in Dune Allen (Santa Rosa Beach) located 1 SHORT block from the beach (you can hear the waves crashing when the door is open).

Recently renovated (2012) and in great condition, this beach house is perfect for a family with kids. This is a traditional beach cottage-- low maintenance, attractive and just what you need for a nice, relaxing vacation!

There is public access to the beach one block away and once you're done enjoying the white sands (or any time you like!), you can enjoy the private outdoor shower; grill; and relax in the fenced-in yard!

Bring your bikes and enjoy the 18 mile bike path along scenic Highway 30A.

This property is in a residential area, away from the 'party scene' of Destin, but close enough that you can drive in for shopping or a movie on a rainy day. The cottage is within walking distance of a large convenience store, restaurants, and locally-owned shops.

The bedroom has a queen bed and flat screen television; two twin beds in main living area, comfy couch, 32' flat screen television w/cable and dvd player, fully-equipped/updated kitchen, dining table seats 4, off-street parking, private/fenced-in yard, minutes away from outlet mall.

Keywords: classic, casual, relaxing, adorable, cottage, bungalow

More Details
Hide Details

I'm a sales rep based in New Orleans and cover a large southeast territory. When I'm not working, I enjoy boating, fishing, traveling and spending time with my family.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2012

I grew up traveling to this area most of my life and fell in love with this little cottage. It has just the right feeling of old school Florida with just the right ammenities to make it new school. My family has lived in Santa Rosa Beach area for the past 12 years and own and operate a small business in the community.

19 Reviews of Property 394998 in Dune Allen Beach, Florida

Surfer Cottage, Newly Renovated, Across the Street from Beach
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 19 reviews
business
Surfer Cottage, Newly Renovated, Across the Street from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394998vbi
Dune Allen Beach South Walton
St. Peters, MO
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This was the 2nd year my husband & I spent 4 wks at The Surfer Cottage - we love it! It's perfect for 2
retired people seeking a quiet get away. The cottage is well equiped for cooking in or grilling on the
Weber. The local restaurants are wonderful - Stinky's, Local Catch, Louis, Louis, Red Bar, Old Florida
Fish House and St. Rita's Fish Fry is great. We have walked miles thru neighborhoods and the trail
along 30A. The locals & other snowbirds are so friendly & stop to chat. It's truly a perfect get away.
We have enjoyed exploring all the little beach villages from one end of 30A to the other & each has it's
own "vibe". Meredith & her mom couldn't be more accommadating.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Surfer Cottage, Newly Renovated, Across the Street from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394998vbi
Dune Allen Beach South Walton
4

Informal and fun

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Enjoyed the Surfer Cottage very much. It was a nostalgic and somewhat retro fun place to be. Location very close to the Gulf (only half a block) and near good restaurants were pluses. The two small benign lizards residing outside on the patio were quite interesting to watch, and the outside shower was greatly appreciated after a day at the beach. Ceiling fans were much appreciated by us since we preferred not to use air conditioner.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Surfer Cottage, Newly Renovated, Across the Street from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394998vbi
Dune Allen Beach South Walton
New Orleans, LA
5

Just what we wanted!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My wife and I LOVED this little cottage. It's situated just a short walk from the beach, which we mostly had to ourselves in early May. The cottage is just as described. It's simple and quaint, with more than enough room for 2 people. It was just what we wanted. It has a small patio area where we read books in the afternoon and grilled burgers at night. The kitchen comes equipped with basic cooking supplies so that you can enjoy stay-in meals.

Meredith - the owner - was such a great host. She called me before I reserved the property to describe the cottage to me and then called again when I arrived to ensure it met my needs.

The cottage is on the less-built-up end of 30A. There are residential streets and walking paths nearby which we took advantage of when we wanted a morning stroll. Stinky's Fish Camp is a short walk away and has great seafood. Within a short drive are a fresh juice bar, Hibiscus (great breakfast spot), The Red Bar (great dinner spot), Santa Rosa Golf club, and of course Seaside.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Surfer Cottage, Newly Renovated, Across the Street from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394998vbi
Dune Allen Beach South Walton
Georgia
5

Spring break 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Really enjoyed our stay at the cottage, despite bad weather. Great location, could walk to beach with coffee or cocktail. Close to golf course and walking distance to Stinky's - and Gulf Place. We were there for spring break but wanted to be away from the crowds - so perfect for my husband and me. Cute, quaint, well-supplied with everything you need, including grill and beach chairs! Meredith is a great "owner," checked to make sure everything was OK - highly recommend.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Surfer Cottage, Newly Renovated, Across the Street from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394998vbi
Dune Allen Beach South Walton
Arkansas
5

My Home at the Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
When I tell people im going to the beach I say im going to "my cottage in Santa Rosa" because that is how I feel about this place! I have loved this little house since I was a little girl running around there barefooted chasing boys in a bikini and thats been a looong time!! lol. I havent met anyone with more class or nicer to rent from than M.B. and I can honestly say that the surfer cottage is the PERFECT place to stay with your family when visiting Destin or Santa Rosa beach!.. I could stay up all night and write a book about it but really yall should go and find out for yourselves!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Surfer Cottage, Newly Renovated, Across the Street from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394998vbi
Dune Allen Beach South Walton
New Orleans, LA
5

Perfect little slice of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was an absolutely perfect pick for my wife and I. The open floor plan and 180 degree windows looking out to a thick tree line around the property really made us feel secluded.. Felt very cozy and like home! Had two of our freinds stay with us for a night and two days, and the twin beds were perfect.. Much more so than a pull out couch. And made for great napping on rainy afternoons.. We cooked every meal in the kitchen or on the grill and spent every minute we could on the beach (we had scattered t-storms the whole week). The chairs, beach umbrellas, and cooler were perfectly effecient and all we needed to enjoy the beach all day. Kitchen had everything we needed and more. There was a redbox movie rental at the closest gas station which was great on rainy mornings. We brought our bikes expecting to ride back and forth to the beach, but never even pumped up the tires when we realized how close we were (and the rain kept us off the bike trails). Was really impressed with the beaches.. They are advertized as public, but had more of a private feel to them as the public parking was about a half mile away from the walking beach access in front of the house. And it really is steps away.. When it says a block, thats a really short city block.. Two houses.. Amazing value for this location (and the location far exceeded my expectations)! You know you picked the right place when you're dissapointed on leaving day and even more so when you get home... Already planning next summer!! Thanks again for a great week! We are new Santa Rosa converts..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Capt Ryan, glad you enjoyed. Will look forward to seeing you back soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Surfer Cottage, Newly Renovated, Across the Street from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394998vbi
Dune Allen Beach South Walton
Johns Creek, GA
5

Perfect little Beach Cottage in Santa Rosa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We've been coming down to this area for years and have great friends right around the corner. The cottage was perfect and we'll be coming back again for sure! I highly recommend it and Meredith was a pleasure to deal with.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Surfer Cottage, Newly Renovated, Across the Street from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394998vbi
Dune Allen Beach South Walton
Nashville
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband and I just returned from a weekend stay at this great little place. The photos are perfectly accurate. It is clean and comfortable, well decorated, kitchen is well stocked, and it's a VERY short walk to the beach. The cottage owner was so friendly and accommodating. We arrived late on our first evening and walked down for a great dinner at Stinky's restaurant. We have three older children, who reluctantly stayed home this trip. This cottage would be perfect for a family with younger children. If we return to this area for another date weekend getaway, this will be our spot!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Amy!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Surfer Cottage, Newly Renovated, Across the Street from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394998vbi
Dune Allen Beach South Walton
Atlanta
5

Excellent Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Just got back from the "Surfer Cottage" and it was as advertised. Quaint home, 1 block from the beach with easy access. Owner was easy to work with. Photos are exactly the way the home looks. Property was clean and had everything you need to enjoy your week at the beach (beach chairs, towels, outdoor shower, etc). This part of Santa Rosa Beach is not as crowded as the beaches to the East and West. Great for small kids.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the review Steve! Come back soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Surfer Cottage, Newly Renovated, Across the Street from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394998vbi
Dune Allen Beach South Walton
Columbus, GA
5

Absolutely Perfect Experience...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The cottage was perfect! Honestly, I have no suggested improvements. The location is awesome, the look and feel of the property is exactly what one would want for a beach cottage getaway. The outdoor shower was epic and the house had everything we needed. The property was well stocked with towels and even float noodles. The owner was extremely accommodating and informative. The property is a short drive from local shops and restaurants. I recommend going to Seaside's Farmer's Market and Another Broken Egg breakfast. It was a great experience and we want to return as soon as possible!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review!
Helpful votes: 1/1