Waimea - Kamuela studio rental - Sleeping area
Sleeping area
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Waimea - Kamuela Studio Rental Photos and Description
Studio, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Aloha E Komo Mai! (Welcome, friends!)

Experience the captivating beauty, quiet and charm of upcountry Waimea while staying in this graciously appointed and meticulously kept ohana studio apartment. Ideally located, this gem of a studio is in a prestigious neighborhood on the sunnier western edge of Waimea Town, just minutes to town center and restaurants and services, and 15 minutes down the hill to the best white sand beaches on the famous Kohala Coast. Horseback riding, hiking and eco-adventures are all within easy reach in the picturesque North Hawaii countryside.

This hillside retreat is tucked away on the slopes of Hoku'ula, one of Waimea's gorgeous pu'u (hills). With windows on three sides, it enjoys wonderful light and peaceful views of neighboring properties and of majestic Mauna Kea, slopes to summit. From your private lanai, the southern exposure allows you to experience both a glorious Mauna Kea sunrise and the fiery skies of a Kohala Coast sunset.

The accommodations are perfect for a single or couple on vacation or business. There is a very comfortable memory foam queen-size bed with good-quality bedding and towels. The well-equipped galley style kitchenette allows you to eat in and prepare a home-cooked meal if you wish. There are dishes, pots, pans, eating and cooking utensils, a full-sized refrigerator, two-burner propane cooktop, microwave oven, toaster oven, coffee maker and rice cooker. There is a washer and dryer, shared with the upstairs apartment, in a separate laundry room.

Please enjoy the photos by our friend Ethan Tweedie for a glimpse of the studio and of beautiful Waimea.

Transient Accommodation Hawaii Tax ID No.

W40940494-01

Keywords: Kamuela Hillside Studio, Ohana, Apartment, Condo

More Details
Hide Details

Jeanne Oshima is a retired flight attendant who worked for a major airline for almost 30 years. She knows a lot about hospitality and, after countless layovers in many hotels, she knows what makes for a good night's sleep! She has tried to create a space that she would like to be in -- clean, inviting and comfortable with tasteful furnishings, high thread count cotton sheets, good pillows and fluffy cotton towels. Also a foodie, she has equipped the kitchen with everything one would need to create a home-cooked meal. Originally from Honolulu, she spent most of her adult life in the San Francisco Bay Area where she was based and moved to the Big Island with her husband in 2005 after retiring.

Tom Bailey is a retired software engineer who was introduced to Hawaii by his wife, Jeanne. Originally from Pennsylvania, he has always enjoyed the outdoors and instantly loved the beauty and peacefulness of Waimea. He is a movie buff who enjoys reading, hiking, bike riding and improving his woodworking skills utilizing Japanese joinery techniques.

Jeanne Oshima or Tom Bailey purchased this studio in 2000

Jeanne and Tom chose Waimea, or Kamuela, as the place they would retire to, falling in love with the beauty and open spaces of the area. They purchased this unique and special property that combines 2 dwellings, one in which they live and the second that has an apartment upstairs and a studio below which are both rentals. Jeanne's mother and father were both born on Hawaii island and she has always had a close connection to the island, visiting relatives as a child on vacation from Honolulu. After spending most of their lives in an urban environment, Tom and Jeanne wanted to retire to a more rural setting, but with essential services and a hospital close by. Waimea fit the bill. Plus, after years in Northern California, they appreciate the good sleeping weather of Waimea with cool nights that are similar to the SF Bay Area. No air conditioning required!

A relaxing stay in a beautiful area with all the creature comforts. Exploring the island from a central location and coming home to shops, eateries and services in a local community. Cooler weather at 2,800 feet above sea level makes for great sleeping without air conditioning, but the warmth of the coast is just 15 minutes away!

31 Reviews of Property 394925 in Waimea - Kamuela, Hawaii

Peaceful Studio Apartment with Inspiring Views of Mauna Kea
average rating of 5.0 based on 31 reviews
business
Peaceful Studio Apartment with Inspiring Views of Mauna Kea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394925vbi
808-887-1027
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Absolutely the best!

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Thanks so much for returning my battery charger. I can't tell you how much we enjoyed your rental unit. It was absolutely the best!
business
Peaceful Studio Apartment with Inspiring Views of Mauna Kea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394925vbi
808-887-1027
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We spent 10 days on the Island with this wonderful studio as our base. It felt like we were tucked into the hills of the Shire, albeit with a heated towel rack and Netflix, while being only minutes from town and the Kohala coast. Tom and Jeanne were also very kind, taking time to chat to us about the best places to visit and such, depending on where we were heading for the day. I can't imagine finding a nicer place to stay, and look forward to visiting again someday!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful Studio Apartment with Inspiring Views of Mauna Kea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394925vbi
808-887-1027
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
5

Perfect Studio

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This may be the best VRBO we have experienced. Perfectly designed space, thoughtful touches (a heated towel rack!), free laundry, great views, easy driving distance to beaches, private lanai, terrific hosts. We would stay there again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Peaceful Studio Apartment with Inspiring Views of Mauna Kea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394925vbi
808-887-1027
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
Vancouver, Washington
5

Paradise...Found!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband and I spent a month at this wonderful studio and would recommend it WITHOUT any reservations (no pun intended). Hosts Jeanne and Tom are friendly, helpful, caring people who went out of their way to accommodate our needs as guests. The unit is spacious, comfortable, furnished with everything needed for our stay. It more than met our expectations. Views from the house and hillside above are simply spectacular. Kamuela is a lovely little town, well situated to explore both east and west coasts of the Big Island, and just about15 minutes from good beaches. We would absolutely consider a return stay -- and hope to do so soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Peaceful Studio Apartment with Inspiring Views of Mauna Kea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394925vbi
808-887-1027
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
5

Great View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Beautiful immaculate studio,would certainly recommend to any couple wanting a great place to stay near to beaches( 25 mins), local shops and good restaurants, accesss to Mauna Kea and North coast.Owners friendly and helpful too, what more could you want?!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Peaceful Studio Apartment with Inspiring Views of Mauna Kea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394925vbi
808-887-1027
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
Germany
5

Excellent Stay on Big Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This lovely and calm Studio Apartment is the perfect stay at the Big Island were you really will not miss a thing. Beside it's friendly atmosphere, it offers beautiful views of the Mauna Kea area.
It is located really close to everything you need. Beautiful beaches as well as the shopping facilities of Waimea can be reached within only a few minutes.
Jeanne and Tom are very gentle and extremely helpful. Thanks for making us feel so comfortable. Your excellent hints were so appreciated!
We had a wonderful time and can't wait to come back.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful Studio Apartment with Inspiring Views of Mauna Kea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394925vbi
808-887-1027
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
Toronto
5

Lovely studio and convenience location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The studio is spacious and beautiful with a gourmet kitchen. There is even a rice cooker! The location is convenience, very close to beaches ( my favorite Hapuna beach etc.) but 2.5 hours driving from the volcano. The restaurants and grocery stores are within 1 mile radius. I was confused by the parking space first which was all my fault. Jeanne and Tom left a very nice note on the door to remind me. Overall, the studio gives my trip a wonderful touch.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Peaceful Studio Apartment with Inspiring Views of Mauna Kea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394925vbi
808-887-1027
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
5

Wonderful Waimea Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
If you are looking for a beautiful, peaceful, and immaculate place to stay in Waimea, this studio is undoubtedly the most wonderful and affordable place for a getaway! Jeanne and Tom were most kind and made us feel so comfortable! My niece and I enjoyed our stay so much that we plan to have future getaways! The location is near shopping, restaurants, and the views are just breathtaking!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Peaceful Studio Apartment with Inspiring Views of Mauna Kea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394925vbi
808-887-1027
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
5

More than a home away from home...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I stayed for 8 days and after just one we did not want to leave. Jeanne and Tom are the most gracious hosts and the large studio was the cleanest place I have ever stayed. She has equiped it with everything you may need and the views of Mauna Kea were priceless. I felt like I was at a 5 star hotel. I look forward to my next stay in 2 months and would move in and live there if it was feasible.
It is quite and peaceful. You are only 15 minutes by car to some of the best beaches in the world and walking distance to town if you do not mind walking up hill to get back. The sleepy little town of Waimea has everything you may desire and there is a Costco near the airport in Kona.
It can get windy and misty, depending on what time of the year, but for us it was magical.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words and positive comments, Tracy. Our guests love the location and beauty of the studio, super convenient to the restaurants and markets in town and a clean and peaceful place to stay. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return in October. Best to you and Craig.
business
Peaceful Studio Apartment with Inspiring Views of Mauna Kea
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394925vbi
808-887-1027
Waimea - Kamuela Kohala Coast
5

PONO Studio Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The property was immaculate, spacious, beautiful view and the owner was very welcoming & helpful. A big plus for the site is its proximity to town. Would rent it again if the occasion comes up!
Recommended for:  Age 55+