Lake James house rental - .Lakefront Retreat
.Lakefront Retreat
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Lake James House Rental Photos and Description
5 Bedrooms + Loft, 5 Baths, Sleeps up to 10

You’ve done it!

You have found THE Perfect Lakefront Retreat for Family and Friends!

24' 90HP Pontoon boat available as separate rental!

*** Discount for non-credit card payment, small groups, and last minute bookings ***

This beautiful custom home is the perfect retreat for your special gathering with your family and friends. Our spacious luxury home has over 6,500 square feet and every amenity to ensure an awesome and memorable experience for everyone in your group...whether that is quiet time relaxing and enjoying gorgeous views over beautiful Lake James, action packed days enjoying the lake, kayaking and canoeing, exploring natural ‘adventure islands’ (undeveloped islands), fishing, tubing, water skiing, and boating; or off the lake, hiking trails and mountains, spelunking caverns, or mountain biking; then perhaps joining up again in the evening for s’mores around the fire pit, friendly challenges in the game room, a favorite movie in the home theater, or cozy gatherings around the stone fireplaces.

The home is built with natural materials throughout; gorgeous hickory floors, extensive stone and custom iron work, exposed beams, wood paneled vaulted ceilings, and 10' 4' ceilings on main level. The house uniquely combines luxury amenities with natural materials and rustic accents to enhance your mountain experience right on the lake!

The wonderful large gourmet kitchen is the heart of the home with granite, top end appliances (Wolfe and SubZero), a massive central island with prep sink, breakfast nook with long table, and counter bar with comfy barstools. The dining room has a fabulous 72' round table with bench seats and lazy susan - perfect for great conversation with a large group! Each of the two inviting living room areas has cozy quality seating, a stone gas fireplace, and a wall of full height glass doors for views and access outdoors. A huge game room includes pool table with ping pong top, foosball, Wii video game system with games including Rock Band, game table, and electric piano.

The family game closet is full of games for all tastes and is complete with jigsaw puzzles. The soundproof home theater features stadium seating and an 82” TV. The kitchenette/wet bar on the lower level is perfect for refreshments and snacks. If you are looking for a nice quiet place you can head off to the sun-room boasting the best views in the house with awesome chaise lounge, or a cozy seat in the loft or study area, or a quiet spot in a hammock or chair on the deck or patio. Everyone is sure to find their favorite spots!

Electronics include stereo with Ipod and Pandora hookup. Stereo speakers throughout the house, custom controlled within each room. WiFi, satellite TVs, Blue-Ray players, and on-demand Netflix.

There are 5 bedrooms and 5 full bathrooms, with double tankless water heater so you never run out of hot water.

Master bedroom: king bed and luxury bathroom with jetted spa shower and whirlpool tub

Bedroom two: king bed and bathroom with separate shower and whirlpool tub

Bedroom three: two queen beds and access to hall bathroom

Bedroom four: queen bed, shares hall bathroom with bedroom five

Bedroom five: two twin beds

Plus there is an additional full bathroom. Nearly all furnishings and mattresses are top quality and brand new. All linens are brand new.

The outdoor area includes a large open deck with stunning views and large gas grill. The lower deck has flagstone floors with large deep seating patio set. It's an easy walk from the house to the double slip dock with party deck and diving board (depth of 30 ft at dock!). You are welcome to use our 2 kayaks, canoe, and 14' Phantom Sailboat. You can bring your own boat or PWC to keep at the dock, or you can rent our 24' pontoon boat. Gathering around a fire in the fire pit or feeding fish at the dock will create fond memories for everyone.

More Details
Hide Details

We fell in love with the mountains and this beautiful clear lake! Warning - it is hard to leave!

42 Reviews of Property 394863 in Lake James, North Carolina

Perfect Lakefront Retreat at Lake James! Pontoon Boat Avail! Special this week!
average rating of 5.0 based on 42 reviews
business
Perfect Lakefront Retreat at Lake James! Pontoon Boat Avail! Special this week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394863
+1 919 426-6723
Lake James High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Suwanee GA
5

Prefect getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We had 10 people stay in the house and it had lots of space to allow all to have their own area of down time. We had two rainy days and was able to stay busy with the games and theater area. A great time was had by all. Great house with a great view.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Perfect Lakefront Retreat at Lake James! Pontoon Boat Avail! Special this week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394863
+1 919 426-6723
Lake James High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Raleigh/Atlanta Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My wife and I with our 7 year old twins and year old son, met my parents at the house. It's an easy 3 hr drive from Raleigh. We were very happy with the space, furnishings, and location of the house. My kids really enjoyed the theatre and the game room, and we all slept well beause all the rooms are well furnished with comfortable beds and great bathrooms and showers.

Becaus it was cold, we didn't get to take advantage of the lake and/or boats, but we will be back. The boat access and swimming platform are absolutely amazing.

Overall, the house has almost every imaginable detail addressed. If you want a getaway, on the lake, to unwind in absolute comfort, this is your place. Keep in mind, the house is fairly remote in relation to groceries, etc., so be sure to bring the basics with you. Real shopping, is approximatley 20 minutes by car.

The Halls, Raleigh
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Perfect Lakefront Retreat at Lake James! Pontoon Boat Avail! Special this week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394863
+1 919 426-6723
Lake James High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Better Than I Imagined!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
A big group of friends and I always go somewhere to ring in the New Year and this year we decided we wanted to rent a house as a sort of relaxing 'getaway". We are a mixed group of guys and girls and so needed lots of room and lots of varied activities to keep us busy for the 4 days we were to spend together. I found this property online and knew it would be perfect for us. It was easy to arrange and centrally located enough for those of us traveling from out of state and from within. We wanted to find a place, too, that was on the same level of luxury we are used to in our other travels. While the pictures on the website are very accurate I must say they do not do the home justice. It was breathtakingly beautiful when we first arrived and our mouths just dropped open. It accomplishes so many seemingly incongruous qualities that are all desirable for such a vacation; spacious yet cozy, rustic yet luxurious, etc. The owners have thought of every detail. The kitchen alone made me want to live there permanently. As a fan of design, I was impressed with all the custom details to the home's interior and even more impressed with the attention to details in the fixtures like heated bathroom floors, jetted tubs and refrigerated drawers in the kitchen as well as the additional convenience of the bar downstairs. There were so many things to do with a healthy game closet selection as well as an immense library of DVDs in the theater room in addition to the pool table, foosball, ping pong, canoeing....we took advantage of it all. We loved having our meals together at the large table in the kitchen with a great view of the lake and we slept extremely soundly in the luxurious beds in every room. Other details were appreciated like the fireplaces on both the main level and the lower level, individual thermostats on each floor and a music system throughout the house. In short, we couldn't have picked a better place to bring in the New Year. Every single person in our party was more than impressed. We had an amazing time and our surroundings most definitely played a large part in that. Thanks again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Perfect Lakefront Retreat at Lake James! Pontoon Boat Avail! Special this week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394863
+1 919 426-6723
Lake James High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Perfect lake house getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had a guys weekend at the house. It was way better than we anticipated. Grilled steaks on their awesome weber grill, played foosball, ping pong, pool, video games, and had a fire with smores. Everything in the house is so nice. Will definitely come back in the warmer months to use the boat and explore the lake!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Perfect Lakefront Retreat at Lake James! Pontoon Boat Avail! Special this week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394863
+1 919 426-6723
Lake James High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Best Vacation EVER!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
me my parents and my best friend went there in the summer of 2013. we stayed at the house for a week. The very first night we all went out to dinner i guess me and my friends bedroom door was locked from the inside and when we got back the door was locked from inside the house and from the patio door as well so we called the caretaker and she was over in less than 5 mins and opened for us. This was by far the best vacation of the only 13 year life. but i sincerely hope that i can go back someday. If you are looking for a fun family vacation this is your place. It rained almost everyday but we made the best of it. Every morning i tried to catch a fish but all they did was eat the bait but i still had fun doing it. BEST VACATION EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Perfect Lakefront Retreat at Lake James! Pontoon Boat Avail! Special this week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394863
+1 919 426-6723
Lake James High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Seagrove Beach, Florida
5

Multi Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Just wrapped up a week stay on Lake James and had a great time. The house was absolutely perfect for everyone, especially the kids who enjoyed the theater room, game room, and dock at the lake all week. The owner doesn't miss out on anything with this vacation rental - everything about the house is put together in a manual that is very simple to review and understand (especially when it comes to TV/Stereo devices - which are AWESOME) Kitchen was great with a huge island that was used extensively and had everything needed to prepare and serve meals. Canoes and kayaks were a huge bonus and we also rented the pontoon boat for the week to take to the great sandy beaches on Lake James. Central location made it easy for day trips to Asheville, Grandfather Mtn, Blowing Rock, Chimney Rock, Black Mtn, and zip lining for kids in Morganton. Can't say enough about the house and location. We will be back soon!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Perfect Lakefront Retreat at Lake James! Pontoon Boat Avail! Special this week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394863
+1 919 426-6723
Lake James High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Birminghan, Michigan
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Wonderful stay!! Highly recommended -- beautiful location and amazing property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Perfect Lakefront Retreat at Lake James! Pontoon Boat Avail! Special this week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394863
+1 919 426-6723
Lake James High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
East Hanover, New Jersey
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our family with kids ranging from 70 to 2 years of age came from all points east for a gathering. Without a doubt it was the best vacation any of us have had. The house was ideal for space and recreation. Someone could be active playing pool on one end and another reading quietly on the other. The boat on the lake was fantastic. Plenty of wonderful places to visit in the area by boat or car. We recommend booking this vacation treasure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Perfect Lakefront Retreat at Lake James! Pontoon Boat Avail! Special this week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394863
+1 919 426-6723
Lake James High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Bluffton, SC
5

Family Lake Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family thoroughly enjoyed our week at Lake James in this beautiful house. The accommodations were outstanding and the house was fully equipped. The lake views were incredible. We rented the pontoon boat and spent a great deal of time on the water (swimming, boating, fishing, and sightseeing). Also, the family took full advantage of the canoe and kayaks available. Family members also enjoyed side trips for golfing, mountain biking, zip-lining (Asheville), and beach swimming (State Park). By all measures, this was a very successful vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Perfect Lakefront Retreat at Lake James! Pontoon Boat Avail! Special this week!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394863
+1 919 426-6723
Lake James High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Monroe, NY
5

Beautiful Lake House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This beautiful home was more than we could ever have asked for. It was spacious, well decorated, very clean and had everything we could possibly need. The weather was awful that week so the movie theatre and game room came in handy for the girls. The ladies that maintain the house were wonderful and very helpful. A big shout out to Angie, Andrea and Jason for all of their help!! Despite the rain, we enjoyed shopping in Blowing Rock, visiting The Biltmore House and going up to Grandfather Mountatin and Linville Falls. We also took several boat trips to check out the lake and have lunch and dinner at Bear Creek Marina. The only downside was the lack of good restaurants close to the house. We do recommend Judge's Riverside Barbeque Restaurant in Morganton. Their brisket and fried shrimp were excellent! Overall we had a great experience and absolutely recommend staying here.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/4