Cassopolis house rental - Lake views are lovingly exploited with our 2500 sq ft. walkout family getaway
Lake views are lovingly exploited with our 2500 sq ft. walkout family getaway
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps14
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Cassopolis House Rental Photos and Description
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 14

Life is Great on Stone Lake!

In our family, vacations are about enjoying life and making wonderful memories- together. Life is too short and quality time to scarce to waste on ordinary experiences. So when we are looking for vacation destinations and four season fun, we say go big or stay home.

Is your family like minded? If so, then please consider making memories on our 1.5 acres of lush, terraced, manicured lawn, with mature oaks and 300' of beautiful lakefront on tranquil Stone Lake.

You get the best of both worlds all year long with the convenience and luxury of 2500 Sq. ft of comfortable living space (5BR/4Bath) and the lake views, open space and large trees worthy of a state park. This home accommodates 12-14+ guests (More if you want to stick the kids in a tent by the lake shore) and comes complete with DUAL KING MASTER SUITE'S WITH PRIVATE BATHROOMS. One with an authentic jacuzzi two person tub and a private glass sliding walkout to enjoy your coffee while watching the sun come up over the lake. The other with stunning views of the entire property. Regardless of whether it's Spring, Summer, Winter, or Fall, there's something for everyone.

Got Sun?

This fully furnished lake front home is situated with a football field's worth (yes it's true) of lake front, open space and shade trees and ample onsite parking. This property is perfect for a romantic getaway or a large family gathering, with cookouts, campfires and even tent camping by the shore, all while overlooking all sports Stone Lake. Skip stones off the dock and admire the beautiful and historic Cass County Courthouse in the distance across the lake. It's our little piece of heaven.

Got Rain?

Want to stay in? Life is still Great on Stone Lake! The fully furnished lower level recreation room complete with a bar, LCD TV, electronic dart board, and........Brunswick pool table (that converts easily to a competition ping pong table) whew!! Oh, it also offers 12' sliding glass doors for walk out access to the truly HUGE concrete patio with over 750 sq ft of grilling (on our COMMERCIAL GRADE GAS GRILL) and entertainment area (Yes, we go crazy big!)

Got Kids?

Awesome! We do too (Eight - yes really) Kids will go wild (and be out of your hair if need be) swimming, playing on the swing set, exploring the lake shore, pitching a tent by the shore or just playing games in the large yard (did we mention it's like a football field?) Are you worried that the kids will whine if it rains because there's no X-Box? (Don't worry we got you covered there too with an X-Box 360, but bring your own games.)

Got Snow?

Book in the winter and ice fish in the annual Stone Lake ice fishing tournament. Got kids or are young at heart, sled down one of our 250' hills or hop over to Swiss Valley Resort 20 minutes (13.77 miles) away to get your ski or snow board on!

Got a Huge Family (Like Us)?

We've got good new for you! We own another property right next door!

Our adjacent Stone Lake Family Cottage (VRBO 414250) is a cedar sided beauty that sleeps 8-10. Its spacious deck offers the best views of the lake while having breakfast or grilling with the family. Its sandy beach is a stones throw away and fenced in yard makes it safe for both children and pets.

If the dates are available, rent both properties to host 25-30 guests. Each with stunning views of the entire property. Regardless of whether it's Spring, Summer, Winter, or Fall, there's something for everyone.

Got Boating Needs?

Great!, We also have an onsite boating package rental available (additional cost) that includes a paddle boat, canoe and Pontoon, see rate section for pricing. Please bring your own water toys, etc., there's plenty to do.

Got a Request?

Looking for anything else? Let us know and we'll see what we can do, but please first call to reserve your week of memories you won't forget.

We hope you will come stay with us and experience why 'Life is Great on Stone Lake!'

With much Love and Fun,

Kevin & Kyra Weber

Keywords: Lakefront, Lakefront house rental, family vacation, Lakehouse Rental, 5 bedrooms, Diamond Lake, Multi-Family, ND, Notre Dame, Football weekend, fish, ice fishing, snow, ski, sled, snow board

More Details
Hide Details

Growing up in Michigan and Ohio respectively, we have always loved the outdoors and healthy lifesyle that it brings. Life is Great is one of our family motto's (another is no Whining!) and we hope you enjoy our lake home as much as our 7 kids and two grandkids do.

Kevin Weber purchased this house in 2005

Plain and simple, we bought this property for our family to enjoy all year around. Not just the views which are truly beautiful and the serenity they bring, but also the large lush lawn and mature trees. Being close to Diamond Lake, Notre Dame, Swiss Valley Ski Resort, Chicago and Detroit doesn't hurt either. :-)

With over 1.5 acres of lawn and 300' of open access lake front, we truly feel we have the best of both worlds, a great house, a large open yard for games and entertainment with mature oak trees, deer who visit and easy access to beautiful Stone Lake. Come winter, we can sled down one of our 250' hills, ice fish or hop over to Swiss Valley 25 minutes away to get our ski or snow board on.

22 Reviews of Property 394808 in Cassopolis, Michigan

Life is Always Great at Our 1.5 Acre Stone Lake Family Retreat
average rating of 4.3636365 based on 22 reviews
business
Life is Always Great at Our 1.5 Acre Stone Lake Family Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394808
+1 574 514-0200
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
valparaiso
4

great place

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
All and all it was a great rental property with everything there that we needed.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Life is Always Great at Our 1.5 Acre Stone Lake Family Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394808
+1 574 514-0200
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
United States
5

Great Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My family, 8 adults and 2 young children, had a great four days at Stone Lake. The two master suites and three smaller bedrooms worked perfectly for us. The three smaller bedrooms had just enough room for beds and were off the kitchen, but since we were there for family time, it worked great for us. The kitchen was well appointed with everything my son, who is a sous chef, needed to prepare our meals. We used the outside area a lot, and enjoyed the firepit two nights of our visit. While there, we took a trip to Round Barn Winery (45 minutes away) and South Bend Zoo (30 minutes away). But the day that was my favorite was the lazy day we spent at the house. We played billiards, cooked and drank the day away. We were lucky that our weather was perfect. After reading other reviews, I was a bit wary about a few things, but the owners were easy to deal with and I received my deposit check back within two weeks with no hassles. I would definitely recommend staying here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Life is Always Great at Our 1.5 Acre Stone Lake Family Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394808
+1 574 514-0200
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
4

Great time!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family and my husband's family rented this house for Labor Day weekend and we all had a great time! Kevin was a great host as well as his property manager. We had more people than we expected to stay at the house and more cars but they were more than accommodating to our needs. A few minor things that we encountered at our stay: 1. The fire alarm needed it's battery changed and was beeping when we got there; 2. There was barely any propane for the grill; 3. The motor for the pontoon wasn't working and didn't have any gas. All of these were taken care of right away, the property manager was there to welcome us and took care of our immediate needs. If you do stay here, we recommend renting the boat package. We spent the entire weekend on that boat! We also discovered a trail across the street from the lake house. And, the center of town was a few minutes away so if we ran out of something it was close by. All in all, we really enjoyed this place and recommend to anyone with a big family!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Life is Always Great at Our 1.5 Acre Stone Lake Family Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394808
+1 574 514-0200
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
Northern Indiana
4

Yearly Vacation Rentral for Memorial Day

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The house was clean and updated. The lake was small, we rented the pontoon which was very nice. We did catch a lot of fish. The patio area was very nice. The only problem is you cannot access the backyard from the kitchen. You have to go through the basement. The bedrooms were a little small but clean. The other issue was the amount of bath towels you get. Only 2 per bedroom, so you have to constently wash the towels so you can have a clean one for the next day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Life is Always Great at Our 1.5 Acre Stone Lake Family Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394808
+1 574 514-0200
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
West Chicago, IL
5

The best vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
"It doesn't get any better than this" is the phrase our family of 15 used over and over during our week stay at Stone Lake. The house was so well appointed for our needs, especially the kitchen. The pool table was a huge hit with the teens and dads. The pontoon was well worth the renting. We spent hours on the lake swimming, fishing, and just relaxing. The beautiful patio furniture made our family dinners special. The quick access to little Cassopolis made groceries and gas easy to replenish. We "old folks" appreciated the privacy of the suite downstairs. The family with the small children enjoyed the other bedroom with bath upstairs. All beds were comfortable, even the sofa bed in the living room.
(that was the review of a teenager who can sleep anywhere!). We couldn't find a blender anywhere and think that would be a nice addition to the kitchen.

Our two year old loved the dock, beach, and water. There are lots of weeds but no one in our group complained about it. They swam in the lake both on the beach and out in the middle off the pontoon. The boat we brought was perfect for this small lake and we rode, water skied, fished, and tubed every day. The boat house could use some cleaning up.

All in all a great experience and a real blessing to our family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Life is Always Great at Our 1.5 Acre Stone Lake Family Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394808
+1 574 514-0200
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
4

Nice house, but some issues

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a family get together at the house. It was a good time. Things we loved were the giant outside table/space. It also had more than enough bathrooms. The two bedroom suites were nice, but the three additional bedrooms are very tight if you use all of the beds. The dining room was very small for the size of the house (6-8 chairs). Luckily, the weather was nice, so we ate all of our dinners outside. The backyard is very big, but it is a little hilly. The beach was pretty rocky and filled with lily pads. Maybe they needed to clean it up a bit.

My only other complaint was that there isn't any inside area to socialize that isn't a thin door away from a bedroom. While it's nice to play pool during the day, it's hard to do it when you've got a bedroom immediately next door. The three smaller bedrooms are more or less off of the kitchen/dinning room/ living room, so that makes it difficult to be doing anything loud in there if people are sleeping. If your group was all adults, this would be less of an issue.

Overall, it was a nice stay. We did enjoy the time there, and it's possible we'd go back, but since our family size has increased, it would be very very tight. Most of my criticisms weren't an issue during the day, because we had very nice weather the entire week we were there. I don't want my criticism to detract from the niceness of the house, because it really was a nice house.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Life is Always Great at Our 1.5 Acre Stone Lake Family Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394808
+1 574 514-0200
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
4

Ok

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We did enjoy our week here. It was a family vacation with 10 adults and a few little kids. The kitchen was nicely stocked with cookware and bake ware and a nice big fridge. There were just a could problems I'd like to mention. If possible I would give it 3.5 stars. First, the lake is full of seaweed, at least in August. We would float out past the seaweed and lounge on rafts but it wasn't possibly to really play near the shore. Also, we found the house smaller than expected. I have no idea how they took the pictures but all the rooms appear bigger than they really are. The pool table room left barely enough room around the table to play pool. The kitchen, living room, and dining room are on the 1st floor, not the ground floor, and were not big enough for our family to hang out comfortably there. There are 3 bedrooms off the kitchen and dining/living areas so it was hard to be in those areas if people were sleeping in the bedrooms. The lay out was not ideal for families with small children who go to bed early and get up early. The adults wanted to hang out at night and sleep in the morning. We ate all our meals outside (the patio and outside dining set are really nice) but that involved carrying everything down to the ground floor and out. Finally, it was a pain in the behind to get our security deposit back. We were accused of dinging the owners pontoon boat. We brought our own boat but parked on the other side of the dock the entire time. We went no where near the pontoon boat. Finally, after many emails back and forth over a couple months, we received a check in the mail with the security deposit. We were afraid we would have to take legal action to get it back. We would not return to this house or lake and are looking for somewhere else for our vacation next summer.
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Life is Always Great at Our 1.5 Acre Stone Lake Family Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394808
+1 574 514-0200
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
Chicago, IL
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
It was a great place. Lots of space- plenty of beds and room for our group of 9 adults, excellent kitchen layout for large group, big yard to play in, great view of lake (directly behind house), great entertainment - board games, cards, pool, darts, ping pong (didn't even have time to try out the video games). Grill worked great and plenty of cooking and eating utensils. I would recommend this place for friends.
business
Life is Always Great at Our 1.5 Acre Stone Lake Family Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394808
+1 574 514-0200
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
5

Great getaway house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Rented this cabin for a winter time girls weekend. We had 13 people and the house was big enough for us all! More than enough beds and linens, the house was clean and very modern. We loved open floor plan of the kitchen/dining/living rooms because we could all hang out together. The pool table in the basement was a bonus and very nice! During the day we were able to split up and go to Michigan City shopping or hit the wine trails, little bit of a drive for anything but it was worth it. Winter rates were great for a quick weekend away with friends. I've had several of our party ask to get this same house for our trip next year! Thanks!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Life is Always Great at Our 1.5 Acre Stone Lake Family Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394808
+1 574 514-0200
Cassopolis Southwest Michigan
Cleveland OH
5

Excellent feel, function and value!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
What a wonderful time we had! For the first time, I had all of my children, grand-children and family from three States together for Christmas. I had searched far and wide for a place that would accommodate everyone and two dogs at an affordable price...not an easy task. I was happy to find this listing fit the bill, and Kevin pleasantly worked through last minute schedule changes without a hitch for a Holiday get-away.

I was cautiously optimistic (the pictures definitely do not do the place justice!) until we arrived. This home is very comfortable and well equipped. Not only were there ample beds, but they were comfortable as well. Arriving for Christmas with snow on the way, we knew that we would spend all of our time at the house, and it was perfect. From the furnishings to the game room, everything was top-notch, yet home-like enough so that you could really relax. We love to cook, so we brought everything we would need, but the kitchen was so well-appointed that we did not have to use any of our things (although we wish we would have brought a blender :)

The back yard and lake provided a beautiful Winter back-drop to top off what was an excellent time for all of us! We very all very happy staying here and I would recommend this home to anyone. If you're looking for a vacation home, then you know the costs of Hotels and other rentals make this an exceptional value. I will definitely remember this one for future needs...Life is Always Great!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children