Carmel house rental - Elegant Living Room
Elegant Living Room
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps5
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Carmel House Rental Photos and Description
Main House 3 bdr 2 baths Sleeps 5, Guest House 1 bdr 1 Bath Sleeps 2

The main house sleeps 5 with 2 bedrooms & a 3rd loft bedroom with high ceilings and plenty of space. There are 2 bathrooms in the main house.

The guest house has a queen bed and sleeps 2. It also offers a private bathroom.

The main house can be rented separately for one rate or you can also rent the guest house for an additional fee. The guest house is an optional extra if you want to sleep 7 instead of 4-5. To secure guest's privacy, I never rent the guest house to anyone who isn't also renting the main house. But if you only need the main house you don't have to pay for the guest house as well. This way the prices are fair for parties of all sizes, as guests only pay for the amount of space they need.

Places Of Interest In & Around Carmel: In addition to the quaint village atmosphere in Carmel-By-The-Sea, with impressive shops, restaurants, art galleries and beaches, you can enjoy scenic drives and choose from 12 golf courses in the area. Experience the spectacular coastline of Big Sur, take a tour of the local winery in Carmel Valley and visit Monterey, as they are all close by. Throughout the year Carmel hosts golf tournaments, jazz festivals, live theater and many other interesting events.

Luxury & Style : In the summer of 2010 I bought Dove Cottage in Carmel. As a designer my goal was to create a luxury accommodation using European antiques along with the highest quality, comfortable furnishings (leather club chair, linen sofa, beautiful bed linens, etc.) This was to be my second home and I wanted guests to feel like they were visiting a country house in Europe. In a very short time Dove Cottage was booked 6 months in advance and was never available for me to visit. So I decided to buy another property in Carmel and found this wonderful place that I named Pussy Willow Cottage. I have purchased some amazing pieces for Pussy Willow Cottage. The 11' wide and 8' high French doors in the living room and high beamed ceilings allow sunlight to fill the space. It is a happy house with great spirit.

More Details
Hide Details

As a makeup artist and photographer I lived in England and traveled and worked throughout Europe. I then became an antique dealer and designer, specializing in European country interiors. After happening upon Carmel I fell in love with the area and wanted to create my idea of a luxurious but comfortable European country home and offer it to others. Hotels and many house rentals are generic and impersonal. Pussy Willow Cottage is my second home and when my guests say they feel they're staying in friend's private home, it makes me smile.

After renting a house in Carmel last year I fell in love with the surroundings. When I drove away I wondered if the place was real or if it had been a dream. But I was not happy with either the service or the house I had rented. As a designer and someone who enjoys dealing with people, I felt I could do better on both counts. A month later, in July, I bought my first place and named it Dove Cottage. Two months later my calendar for the following summer and autumn was nearly full. That told me that the high quality service and style I was providing was what people wanted. But I never got to stay there myself as it was always booked up. So I just bought, remodeled and decorated this second place that I named Pussy Willow Cottage.

37 Reviews of Property 394502 in Carmel, California

Pussy Willow Cottage.Designer's Home-European Ambiance-Walk to Downtown & Beach
average rating of 5.0 based on 37 reviews
business
Pussy Willow Cottage.Designer's Home-European Ambiance-Walk to Downtown & Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394502
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
5

A Perfect Cottage in Carmel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Four of us (moms) decided to explore Carmel this year for the girl's trip. The photos on the VRBO are not very accurate. In person, this charming cottage was even more beautifully decorated, well maintained, and comfortable. The location was great for shopping (less than 1 mile from Ocean Ave), incredible dining and close to Big Sur and some great wineries too. We had wonderful time exploring the area. However, we also enjoyed hanging out at the house, visiting each other. Amy, thank you for opening your beautiful cottage. We will definitely have to comeback for more memories.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Pussy Willow Cottage.Designer's Home-European Ambiance-Walk to Downtown & Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394502
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Houston, TX
5

Getaway at its Best!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This house is a charming piece of paradise in the heart of Carmel. I spent a week during the AT&T Pebble Beach Tournament and had the greatest time. The location of the house is absolutely perfect and makes accessibility to town, the Valley, Monterey and the entire area so easy. It is beautifully and tastefully decorated and has all the comforts of home. There was more than ample space for everyone to be able to stretch out and relax after days of exploring and multiple patios to enjoy the evening sky. There's plenty of parking space and such an easy stroll to town. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with me and look forward to returning soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I appreciate your kind words and I hope you will stay at the cottage again. You are always welcome.

Amy
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pussy Willow Cottage.Designer's Home-European Ambiance-Walk to Downtown & Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394502
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
5

Family Thanksgiving

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Pussy Willow Cottage became the perfect gathering spot for our family last Thanksgiving. My husband and I flew to Carmel from the east coast for the week. Our children and grandchildren -- who all live in California -- joined us. They drove north from Los Angeles, south from San Francisco and also along Highway 1 from Big Sur. We rented the guest cottage as well as the main house, and there was room for everyone. Delightfully decorated, Pussy Willow was clean and well equipped. During our stay, we visited many of the usual tourist attractions, and enjoyed a festive birthday celebration at the local winery. While the younger members of our family walked to town a couple of days to enjoy the shops and eateries along Ocean Avenue, we preferred staying in the house just hanging out together. It proved to be an ideal family vacation. Thank you Amy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Pussy Willow Cottage.Designer's Home-European Ambiance-Walk to Downtown & Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394502
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Malibu, CA
5

Lovely, lovely, lovely...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was our third visit to Pussy Willow Cottage, walking through the door of this peaceful and beautifully appointed home is always such a pleasure. Amy is a thoughtful and gracious hostess and this cottage is beautifully decorated, meticulously neat & clean, truly a peaceful haven. The location is fantastic, a quick zip into town in the car but I enjoy walking into town and down to the beach, there is so much to enjoy along the way. Thank you Amy, looking forward to returning in 2014
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Pussy Willow Cottage.Designer's Home-European Ambiance-Walk to Downtown & Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394502
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
5

A fairy tale cottage...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had a lovely stay at the Pussy Willow Cottage. It was a wonderful way to finish up our trip to the California Coast. What a magical place, lovingly designed and meticulously maintained. We loved it. Thank you Amy!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pussy Willow Cottage.Designer's Home-European Ambiance-Walk to Downtown & Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394502
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
San Juan Capistrano, California
5

Beautiful cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We spend a week in Carmel every spring and this year we stayed at Pussy Willow Cottage - the photos do not do it justice! This home is cozy and warm with beautiful decor and bright sunny windows. Our friends rented the guest cottage so everyone had privacy when needed. The yard is lovely too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pussy Willow Cottage.Designer's Home-European Ambiance-Walk to Downtown & Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394502
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Houston, TX
5

A perfect family vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I spent two weeks at Pussy Willow Cottage and are happy to report that it was evrything that was described and more! The house is darling and was a big hit with our grown daughters and son in law. Each room lived up to the great pictures. We loved spending late afternoons on the patio...the cottage garden was in bloom and the cool temperatures made for a perfect setting! We remained busy every day...there were many activities from golf, the Carmel Valley wine road, Pebble Beach, Big Sur and much more. Mostly we enjoyed the beautiful home, wonderful restaurants and the many fine wines! All in all a perfect trip...we will stay at Pussy Willow Cottage again in the near future. Thank you, Amy!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Pussy Willow Cottage.Designer's Home-European Ambiance-Walk to Downtown & Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394502
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Wisconsin
5

Satisfied guest from Wisconsin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We recently spent four nights at this cottage and found it every bit as nice as advertised. It has a very homey feel, in part due to the layout but also because Amy has done a great job of decorating it. Lots to do within easy driving distance. One right turn onto Ocean Avenue and you're in downtown Carmel. Easy to get used to the lifestyle; we kept going back to Katy's Place, Bruno's Market & Deli, and the Carmel Valley Coffee Roasting Company. It's a busy community during certain times of the day so you might need to get a bit lucky to nab one of the many free parking spaces. We've advised Amy that we'll go out of our way to rent it again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pussy Willow Cottage.Designer's Home-European Ambiance-Walk to Downtown & Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394502
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
5

The Best place to Stay when in Carmel

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
From the moment my wife and I stepped in to Pussy Willow Cottage we new we were going to have a great vacation.
The house was perfect. Comfortable, beautifully decorated and every thing you would need for a fantastic stay
It is a 15 minute walk to town which has good restaurants for all tastes.
We spend many hours just visiting all the many different art galleries and stores then stopping a nearly every coffee store in town
Just great
I would highly recommend this house and we hope to return again
Bruce & Sally
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pussy Willow Cottage.Designer's Home-European Ambiance-Walk to Downtown & Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394502
(818) 980-2119 (California, USA)
Carmel Central Coast California
Malibu, CA
5

Second Time Around

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This was our second visit to Pussy Willow Cottage, what a pleasure to walk through the door and enter this lovely home again. Everything was as nice as we remembered and Amy's recommendations for dining and siteseeing were spot-on. Thank you for a wonderful week, looking are already looking forward to returning next August.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway