Jim Thorpe chateau / country house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Jim Thorpe Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 full bath, 1 half, family room converts to 3rd bedroom, sleeps 8

It's time to kick back and relax in this beautiful rustic country home. Perfect for a family vacation as well as a romantic getaway. This country home is in the woods on 5 private acres on a dead end road & is pure paradise, privacy and serenity. Our spacious home has 3 queen sized beds, 3 full sized beds (futons) and 2 twin beds so everyone gets a good nights sleep after a busy day! There are also 2 full baths & a 1/2 bath so no waiting in line to use the 'facilities'. Relax on the front or read deck with a glass of wine or a cold beer while the BBQ grills your steaks & hotdogs. Build a fire in the backyard pit for smores later. During the day you have so many outdoor things to choose from like hiking, mountain biking, whitewater rafting, paintballing, festivals to name a few. Walk through the village in downtown Jim Thorpe & get aquainted with all the vintage shops. Lakes, parks & trails everywhere. Get aquainted with Jim Thorpe and our home and you will fall in love!

ALL THE COMFORTS OF HOME: Our home also features high speed wireless internet (bring your own laptop), 2 cable tv's including a 2 high definition flat screens, dishwasher, unlimited wood for the full stone wall fireplace, a washer, a dryer and more privacy than you can imagine. Picture a family or holiday dinner at the oak table with a roaring fire nearby.

Cathedral ceilings and a family room with 15 windows. What a view! Our family uses this home and we love it. There is a tranquility and peacefulness the moment you enter the long private driveway that you just can't get anywhere else. Full kitchen with all supplies needed (just bring the food!).

READ OUR REVIEWS!

SO MUCH TO DO!

If you prefer adventure to total relaxation...there's plenty to do nearby for everyone in your family. DOWNTOWN JIM THORPE VILLAGE (10 minute drive) is absolutely adorable. Tour an old jail, Packer Mansion, shop in all the little unique stores in the heart of this country village. Mountain bike rentals also in the heart of town.

POCONO WHITEWATER & SKIRMISH PAINTBALL 2 miles POCONO DOWNS & MOUNT AIRY CASINO just 30 miles.

PENNS PEAK concert hall 8 miles.

DORNEY PARK & WILDWATER KINGDOM 25 miles.

POCONO RACEWAY 10 miles!

CROSSING OUTLETS 25 miles.

BIG BOULDER SKI 8 miles

JACK FROST SKI 12 miles

BLUE MOUNTAIN SKI 16 miles

READ OUR REVIEWS!

Indoor year round water park in Split Rock resort just 10 miles. Lake Harmony 8 miles. Lot's of restaurants in a 10 mile radius if you prefer to eat out. Four ski mountains close by --Big Boulder, Jack Frost, Blue Mountain & Camelback.

READY FOR A VACATION...: This is a relaxing escape from the busy lives we all lead. I hope your family enjoys this home as much as my family does. E-Mail or call for more information & lots of additional pictures.

WE ARE PET LOVERS SO WE ARE PET FRIENDLY

PLEASE READ OUR REVIEWS-- satisfied guests are the best testament to our home and your vacation !!

More Details
Hide Details

Our family lives on busy Long Island which affords us wonderful waterfront and beaches. We have extended family in PA and wanted our own piece of paradise nearby so we ventured out over 10 years ago and bought this warm, charming, country home. It was love at first sight!

Owner purchased this chateau / country house in 2003

When looking for a vacation rental I wanted something my own family would enjoy too. I wanted a country feel in the woods to get us away from our hectic lives. This home is 10 miles off Route 80 at Exit 284. It's just 110 miles from NYC. It was in the perfect location. Extremely private, easy to get to, only a few hours drive and plenty of things to do in the surrounding area. I hope your family loves this home as much as mine does.

The family room is my paradise. There are 15 floor to ceiling windows for a panoramic view of the woods. This is where you'll see wild life grazing or just passing through. You'll see for yourself if you join us!

45 Reviews of Property 394353 in Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania

Log Sided Country Home On Rustic 5 Acres 'Pensi Place'
average rating of 4.911111 based on 45 reviews
business
Log Sided Country Home On Rustic 5 Acres 'Pensi Place'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394353
+1 516 317-1728
Jim Thorpe Poconos
Spring lake nj
5

Third stay and is just gets better

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Our third stay at this amazing house in jim thorpe. As usual Catherine was amazing and accommodating even when we decided to stay an extra day. Lots of snow on the ground and lots of wood in the woodshed for the many fires we sat by in the evenings. This home is secluded, warm and cozy but close enough to many wonderful attractions and restaurants that you are never at a lack for something to do. Thanks again Catherine you are the best! Can't wait to come back!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: WOW..you are amazing! Thanks a million!!
business
Log Sided Country Home On Rustic 5 Acres 'Pensi Place'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394353
+1 516 317-1728
Jim Thorpe Poconos
new castle, DE
5

awesome weekend with the guys!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This place was perfect for our guys weekend. Despite being hit with a snow storm the night before we left, everyone in our group still had a blast! The driveway was plowed in time for our arrival, there was plenty of firewood in the shed to last the whole weekend, and there is so much room in the cabin that even with 7 guys it never felt crowded. Everyone even had their own bed. I am definately looking forward to staying here again. Working with Catherine was effortless and just added to the overall great experience.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Shawn! That snowstorm had me a bit worried for you but it all worked out. You're a sweetheart.
business
Log Sided Country Home On Rustic 5 Acres 'Pensi Place'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394353
+1 516 317-1728
Jim Thorpe Poconos
5

Perfect vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This house had everything we needed. Everything was just as it was described. The house was quite spacious while being warm and cozy at the same time. The property is beautiful as well. You are secluded while at the same time being minutes away from everything you need. You are minutes away from Big Boulder, Jack Frost and Split Rock Water Park. Camel back is close enough too. Down town Jim Thorpe is adorable with lots of shopping and great places to eat. The owner was wonderful to deal with. She couldn't be more pleasant and accommodating. We will absolutely be staying here again.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Michael..guests like you make my experience easy and pleasant too. Hope to see you again!
business
Log Sided Country Home On Rustic 5 Acres 'Pensi Place'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394353
+1 516 317-1728
Jim Thorpe Poconos
5

Relaxing by the fire never felt so great!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My wife and I had a chance to stay at Pensi Place and we couldn't have been happier. The property was immaculate and you could really tell that the owners take great pride in the property. There was more than enough firewood in the little "fire shack" than we could use in a year (although we did have a fire going from the moment we arrived till the moment we left!).
The cabin was only a short ride to downtown jim thorpe where we had a chance to sample some great food and even got to tour the awesome Packer Mansion (definitely worth a stop in their Libations parlor).
Thanks so much to Catherine for making our stay great and the awesome communication as well. Was super responsive even though it was the day before her wedding! We'll definitely be back-even my husky didn't want to leave his space by the fire. Five stars!
Owner's Response: Thanks John! You were great to work with & I hope to hear from you again.
business
Log Sided Country Home On Rustic 5 Acres 'Pensi Place'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394353
+1 516 317-1728
Jim Thorpe Poconos
5

Simply A Great Place To Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My friends and I had a great time staying at Pensi Place. We were looking for a quiet getaway with no distractions or intrusions and that is exactly what we got. The privacy and seclusion were perfect and the fact that we were minutes away from downtown Jim Thorpe, Penns Peak, and many other local attractions was a bonus. The home was clean and very accommodating. We had plenty of room and amenities. We especially enjoyed the fireplace and the supply of seasoned firewood. Catherine was a pleasure to deal with and setting up the arrangements was simple and pleasant. The only bad thing about Pensi Place was leaving. We had a great time and plan on coming back. I would highly recommend staying here if your considering a place in the area.
Owner's Response: You were a pleasure to work with Tom. Thank you for the review. See you soon!
business
Log Sided Country Home On Rustic 5 Acres 'Pensi Place'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394353
+1 516 317-1728
Jim Thorpe Poconos
Catasauqua, PA
5

Excellent private getaway cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Property was very private and secluded but yet close enough to many area attractions. Property was very clean and has a nice open floor plan. Owner is quick to respond with any concerns, would definitely stay again.
Owner's Response: Thank you Colleen. You were a pleasure too!
business
Log Sided Country Home On Rustic 5 Acres 'Pensi Place'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394353
+1 516 317-1728
Jim Thorpe Poconos
5

Fantastic home, peaceful vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is a great home nestled in the beautiful woods outside of Jim Thorpe. It is open and airy and there are a lot of thoughtful amenities. It was convenient to so many outdoor activities and the owner has organized a book with restaurants, activities and more which made planning our days so easy.

The owner made our first experience with Homeaway successful and we look forward to returning soon.
Owner's Response: Thanks Joanna. You were a pleasure to work with as well. Hope to see you again!
business
Log Sided Country Home On Rustic 5 Acres 'Pensi Place'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394353
+1 516 317-1728
Jim Thorpe Poconos
5

Pleasantly surprised.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This home was so appealing, it was great! We were three couples and all agreed we will stay there again. Kitchen is much larger than it appears in photos; the whole house was larger than pictured and the home well kept. The grounds nice and secluded. The owner was a pleasure to deal with, very professional.
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review & enjoy the rest of the summer. See you soon!
business
Log Sided Country Home On Rustic 5 Acres 'Pensi Place'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394353
+1 516 317-1728
Jim Thorpe Poconos
PA
5

Awesome House and Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Wow. What a great vacation. This house is awesome. Secluded wooded lot, private and relaxing. The owner was a pleasure to deal with. I highly recommend this home. I will definitely be looking to rent again.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks Mike..you were a pleasure to deal with too!
business
Log Sided Country Home On Rustic 5 Acres 'Pensi Place'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394353
+1 516 317-1728
Jim Thorpe Poconos
5

Well maintained and spacious

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The owner is meticulous in terms of management and maintenance. This well cared for and spacious home is even better than the pictures. We used Pensi Place as our base camp for a weekend of paintball at Skirmish - a few miles away. Excellent bedding arrangements and comfortable - great kitchen (and gas grill on deck) and large dinging table with plenty of chairs to accommodate a large group. Quite secluded and quiet. AC in the summer and ceiling fan kept the house at a very pleasant temperature (we never even changed the settings). Washer and dryer, a couple of TVs and dvd player are available as well as wifi throughout the house. The large screened porch overlooking the woods behind the house (and where the gas grill is located) offers a second communal eating area. While the log exterior is somewhat rustic in appearance, the interior is anything but - very modern and comfortable - easily accommodates a large family or a group of friends. Enjoy! We certainly did.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you very much Neil. It was a pleasure dealing with you from start to finish as well. Hope to see you again!