Southwest Harbor house rental - Apple Cottage is an appealling oceanfront house with spectacular views.
Apple Cottage is an appealling oceanfront house with spectacular views.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Southwest Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, Large Living Room, Ocean and Mountain Views From Deck, as grill

Apple Cottage is a charming and comfortable two bedroom house with some of the best views of the ocean and mountains on Mt. Desert. Set in a quiet location at the end of a private lane, it is the perfect place to get away from it all! The comfortable and cozy house is newly furnished and accommodates four people. Sit on the new deck and enjoy fresh lobster while viewing sailboat races and passing boats. The house is a short distance from the favorite Acadia National Park hiking trails of Wonderland and Ships Harbor and just a five minute drive from the delightful village of Southwest Harbor. Within a short distance there are the many recreational opportunities of Acadia National Park with its extensive network of hiking trails and carriage roads. There are many opportunites to hike, bike, kayak, sail and to explore the many delights of Mt. Desert Island.

Cable TV, WiFi, gas grill on new deck and much more.

Layout: Large, attractive living room with ocean views and wide sliding door access to deck. Separate kitchen. Dining table accommodates 6. The master bedroom has a new queen size bed. The second bedroom has new bunk beds for two adults (or two children). All furniture and furnishing new in 2012. The oversize bath includes a walk in shower. New washer and dryer, TV, central heat. Kitchen has dishwasher, stove and new refigerator and microwave.

Deck, rebuilt in 2013, has reading area and chairs, gas grill and dining table with sun umbrella and chairs,

Amenities: The Island Explorer, a free island-wide bus system, stops within a short walk from the house and it can accommodate bikes. house is located near renowned Acadia National Park, close to Southwest Harbor village center with shopping, restaurants and lobster pound. Sailboat, motor boat, bike and kayak rentals available locally. Half hour from Bar Harbor and Northeast Harbor.

Keywords: Oceanfront, Great views, Newly refurbished and furnished in 2012, Near Acadia National Park, Good Value

More Details
Hide Details

4 Reviews of Property 394342 in Southwest Harbor, Maine

Charming, 2BR Oceanfront cottage with stunning views. Newly furnished.
average rating of 5.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Charming, 2BR Oceanfront cottage with stunning views. Newly furnished.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394342vbi
+1 610-220-7558
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Dartmouth Nova Scotia
5

The title describes it all.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is not a cottage! It is a fabulous cottage house, wonderfully furnished right down to a blender!
The view from the deck is great and the sights of the boats moving thru the channel is ever changing. We even had deer wander across the lawn on two occasions. The cottage is very clean, up to date with nothing to do but bring in your groceries. Quiet location only two miles from South West Harbor is a tranquille place for a relaxing vacation. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming, 2BR Oceanfront cottage with stunning views. Newly furnished.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394342vbi
+1 610-220-7558
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Western Massachusetts
5

Lovely week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We were incredibly impressed with Apple Cottage, from the amazing location and lovely ocean view to the pristine condition of the house. Tucked back in a wooded area, but right near the water, it was quiet and peaceful with easy access to a rocky beach area where my son spent a lot of time happily skipping rocks. The house itself was very well-appointed -- virtually nothing was lacking that we needed for the week -- and nicely furnished. (extremely comfortable, not too crowded with things, and perfect size for a family of four.) Granted, we lucked out with great weather, but would have been happy to hang out longer in the house or on the deck. Moreover, Ann H. was very communicative and helpful throughout the process -- from the time we booked it to the myriad of questions I sent her way about places to hike or things to do. (she always responded quickly, and with good humor.) Her binder of suggested activities, restaurants etc. was a great resource. Southwest Harbor is also just a very nice part of the island, and easily accessible to many lovely walks and restaurants. We cannot wait to come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming, 2BR Oceanfront cottage with stunning views. Newly furnished.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394342vbi
+1 610-220-7558
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
Bala Cyynwyd, PA
5

Wonderfdul experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We had two great weeks in this lovely cottage. So comfortable. Spectacular ocean views. House was very well equipped. Quiet location, but just a short drive frrom the charming village of Southwest Harbor. 15 minutes to Bar Harbor. BH was great to visit, but too busy to want to stay there. Acadia National Park provided beautiful hiking choices. We rented bikes for two days and biked on Acadia's carriage trails. Loved our dinners at Red Sky Restaurant and SIPS. Can't wait to rreturn to Maine and Apple Cottage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Charming, 2BR Oceanfront cottage with stunning views. Newly furnished.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p394342vbi
+1 610-220-7558
Southwest Harbor Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island
St. Paul, MN
5

We'd Love to Return

We'd Love to Return
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My husband and I and our two children, ages 6 and 8, LOVED the Apple Cottage for our week-long stay in Southwest Harbor. It was clean and comfortable, and was well stocked with what we needed (and more). We loved walking down to the rocky beach and watching the tide change. Our kids could play down there for hours. The view from the deck was gorgeous and peaceful.

The cottage is a bit close to the larger home next door (maybe owned by the same family), but we were lucky to have another family with kids staying who at least tolerated our six-year-old's enthusiasm for the beach and were pleasant to talk to about their Acadia adventures. It would be ideal for a larger group to rent out both places--their deck and view were even better!

The owner was also so friendly via e-mail, answering all my questions promptly and providing great, personal tips about exploring the area hikes and restaurants. We used her recommendations quite a bit.

While we have no complaints about our experience, one of the photos in this listing is not accurate. The house does not include the "comfortable space for reading and napping."
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2