Ojochal house rental - Casa Ylang Ylang
Casa Ylang Ylang
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Ojochal House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Casa Ylang Ylang is perched high above the blue Pacific, offering splendid ocean and mountain vistas. At one thousand feet up, you will enjoy delightful cooling sea and cooling mountain breezes.

Awaken to toucans raiding the papaya and banana trees. Parrots, hummingbirds, and other wildlife we haven’t totally identified, thrive in the lush tropical foliage.

Several excellent restaurants are located in and around Ojochal, as well as all desired creature comforts. Nearby beaches include lovely Playa Tortuga (within view), Playa Ventanas (with 5 caves), Uvita’s Whale’s Tail, and the Marina Ballena National Park. Within 90 minutes driving are Manuel Antonio (most visited National Park in CR), Dominical (great surfing) and the entire Osa Peninsula experience. Enjoy zip line canopy tours, whale/ dolphin watching, bird watching, kayaking, surfing, horseback riding, sports fishing, etc., or simply cocktails on a choice of verandas as the sun drops below the horizon fifty miles away.

Ojochal de Osa is located along the Costanera Highway 30 minutes north of Palmar Sur Airport. (daily 35 minute flights from San Jose via Naturair or Sansa.) If driving from San Jose, the picturesque trip takes 3 ½ hours.

Costa Rica Mindset:

Yes, there are bugs in CR- but these are kept under control by the breezes and the Gecko patrol. Should you happen to be bothered by bugs/geckos, you might wish to consider an alternative destination.

Driving is not recommended after dark (5:30). Unless your flight arrives in the morning, we suggest you spend your first CR night in the central valley, or along the way.

Warning: You may find yourselves setting an alarm to arise at dawn each day just to absorb ALL of the constant beauty around the remarkable surroundings of this gracious Mediterranean villa. And if you encounter particular problems during your stay, a resourceful English speaking manager resides locally just a phone call away.

Keywords: house, villa, vacation home, ocean view, pool,

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 393772 in Ojochal, Costa Rica

Casa Ylang Ylang - Ocean View Villa with Pool
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 13 reviews
business
Casa Ylang Ylang - Ocean View Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393772vbi
+1 706-399-0697
Ojochal Puntarenas
St Catharines Canada
5

What a great view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted:
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We wanted a vacation place with a view, and that is what we got. Excellent value for money for a good size and relativel well-appointed costa rica rental. Though there are neighbours, they are out of sight, making this casa reasonably private. Ojochal is a great expat town with a number of good restaurants. Great beaches are close by.
Ken is a friendly, available and helpful property manager.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Casa Ylang Ylang - Ocean View Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393772vbi
+1 706-399-0697
Ojochal Puntarenas
Graniate Falls, NC
5

Gorgeous Views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My wife and I stayed here while touring the Ojochal-Uvita area. The house was a great retreat, but it was a bit of a challenge to get there. Be prepared for typical Costa Rican dirt roads and make sure you have good 4-wheel drive. The drive up and down the mountain is worth it once you see the awesome views of the bay below. This was an extremely relaxing place, which even the locals called tranquil. At night (which arrives around 5PM year round) you can sit in a cooling breeze and listen to the sounds of the nature and not much else.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Casa Ylang Ylang - Ocean View Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393772vbi
+1 706-399-0697
Ojochal Puntarenas
Kannapolis, NC
5

Paradise in the Jungle

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We stayed here for our honeymoon and loved it. We were looking for something secluded where we could get away from it all, and we found it. After the first day we had trouble remembering the day and time. Exactly what we wanted. This house is beautiful, perched atop a mountain overlooking the Pacific Ocean The most beautiful sunsets you will ever see. The town of Ojochal at the bottom of the mountain is charming, & representative of the real Costa Rica. It is basically one main dirt road that runs thru the town, with another road going up the mountain to this and several other houses along the way. The restaurants in Ojochal and the surrounding area are amazing. MAKE SURE YOU HAVE 4 WHEEL DRIVE!!! The road leading up to the house is a steep, winding dirt road & can be tricky without 4WD, especially during rainy season. The house is situated in the jungle with banana and papaya trees on the property, with frequent vists from toucans, parrots, hummingbirds, iguanas, lizzards, giant toads,& geckos. The house does not have air conditioning, nor does it really need it. All rooms have numerous sets of double doors and windows that open, along with fans. Once the rooms are open air, there is a constant breeze blowing thru that makes the house very comfortable. We even had to turn the fan off at night on occasion because it got so cool. Especially loved the verandas and decks, where you can sit outside in the rocking chairs and just enjoy the views, take a dip in the pool, or a nap in the hammock. It was a very relaxing trip. While Ojochal is representative of the real Costa Rica, there is a nice sized ex-pat community that lives here, with quite a few Canadians ad Americans. Ken Stone, the local property manager is of great assistance, and there whenever you need him. He is a super nice guy, and a wealth of knowledge about the area, and will help you with anything that you need. There are grocery stores, butcher shops, restaurants, a small police station, etc all located down the mountain within the community of Ojochal, to meet all of your needs. We felt very safe in Ojochal and at the house itself. The people in town are very friendly, always throwing a smile and a wave your way. I would highly recommend Casa Ylang Ylang if you want to get away from it all, experience the real Costa Rica, all while living in paradise. The views are just majestic, and cannot be properly translated into words, other than "Pura Vida". We will be back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Casa Ylang Ylang - Ocean View Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393772vbi
+1 706-399-0697
Ojochal Puntarenas
Leesburg, Virginia U.S.
4

Two Weeks in Paradise

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Having just returned from our two-week stay at CYY, we are tanned and relaxed (sure to be short-lived when the grind re-commences shortly). The property was as presented and is in a great location with wonderful beaches (Playa Tortuga, Playa Uvita, Playa Ventenas, Playa Ballena), and unique restaurants nearby. Exotica and Citrus were our favourite restaurants, and Momma e Pappa was great for casual nite take-out. We enjoyed the villa and the lovely grounds, and the sunsets were breathtaking. Ojochal’s temperatures for our entire stay were 97 – 100 and humid, and the wonderful pool was our salvation!! Our only complaint with the accommodations was there was no A/C in the bedroom. Five minutes after stepping out of the shower, we were both drenched. Sleeping was not comfortable – even with all the doors and windows open, and the overhead fan on high. Suggest adding a unit in the BR for future guests’ comfort ? Also – the bedroom linens could be nicer and of better quality. The coffee maker was partially broken, as the espresso maker did not work; however, we made drip coffee each morning so got our fix.
You won’t need an alarm clock here! There is a flock of hundreds of parrots that come to the trees each morning around 5:00 a.m., making their lovely parrot sounds. They return each evening before sunset. We also saw what resembled mini-macaws. Unfortunately, not a monkey in site. It was early to bed and early to rise, as the sun and water wore us out.
Ojochal is a village with quite an international flair. We met lovely people from Canada and Europe: for those of you researching for retirement - everyone we spoke with loved living in CR. Adjusting to the horrible off-road conditions and steep inclines was a challenge, but certainly got the adrenaline pumping. You MUST have a 4W to navigate these roads. Main highways are in great shape, however.
Saving the best for last, the property manager, Ken Stone, was a doll. Very personable and helpful, and we rested assured knowing he was only a phone call away should we require his assistance in any matter. We very much enjoyed his company. (Of course he paid me to say this …. LOL … just kidding, Ken!!)
Wonderful, authentic experience all in all. We came away with great memories, new friends, and are already planning our trip for next year. ?Thank you Diane, and Ken.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Casa Ylang Ylang - Ocean View Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393772vbi
+1 706-399-0697
Ojochal Puntarenas
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
4

Wonderful Location and accommodation

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We spent two weeks here. We enjoyed every day. The pool was perfect, the Tourcans shared morning coffee time by the pool. The kitchen was well stocked and Ken was available and attentive to all our needs. Most enjoyable you won't regret it. Also so close to so many great resteurants.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Casa Ylang Ylang - Ocean View Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393772vbi
+1 706-399-0697
Ojochal Puntarenas
Keshena, Wisconsin
5

Midwest cousins

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The house was just as described and we were very pleased with our week long stay. We watched many beautiful sunsets and beautiful vistas from the upper balcony. The pool was so refreshing after the hot afternoons on the beach.
Everyone should visit the "Whales and Dolphins" restaurant for lunch and a swim in the pool far above the Whale Tail beach. We especially enjoyed the Ventanas beach with the caves and shade of the trees. We had a lot of fun riding horseback to the Nauyaca waterfalls. They served us a great breakfast and lunch.
I would highly recommend staying here if you want to experience the real Costa Rica and get away from all the big resorts.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Casa Ylang Ylang - Ocean View Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393772vbi
+1 706-399-0697
Ojochal Puntarenas
5

Terry & Addie Holden

Terry & Addie Holden
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
What you see on the website is what you get! The house was absolutely beautiful, the view was breathtaking, the pool was incredible and we had a blast! Thank you Diane and Ken!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Casa Ylang Ylang - Ocean View Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393772vbi
+1 706-399-0697
Ojochal Puntarenas
WA. State
4

January in Casa Ylang Ylang

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Our two week stay at Casa Ylang Ylang was terrific. Ken, the property manager, was attentive and effective in solving our daily needs. He was pleasant and available, specifically, I had a life threatening accident and he managed the situation well exceeding all expectations.
Casa Ylang Ylang was as beautiful as the photos presented. There were times when the water temperature matched the shade temperature with the fans running. It was incredible! We felt private enough to be comfortable skinny dipping. Sky TV and high speed Internet would have improved our ability to stay connected with family and friends. The fifteen minute drive on a bone jarring road with a 4x4 from the highway was harrowing!!!!! We enjoyed "The Dome" restaurant in Uvita, especially the Ginger Curry Chicken. The national parks are amazingly alive with wild life. At Manuel Antonio park we hired a guide, Miguel, for three of us at 7:00 a.m. It would have been an ordinary walk in the jungle without him. He even helped other guides find the exotic animals with a portable telescope.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for not choosing our own mountain for practicing your auto acrobatics. You must have discovered more challenging terrain nearby to blaze that new road down to the highway! At least you now have had an unforgettable vacation experience, plus reinforcing the value of both wearing your seat belt and not declining rental car insurance. High speed internet, you'll find, can be more often an aspiration than a reality. All we can provide is the best high speed internet that is offered in the area. Residents agree that it does have its pura vida moments.
Glad that your overall stay was most enjoyable though.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Casa Ylang Ylang - Ocean View Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393772vbi
+1 706-399-0697
Ojochal Puntarenas
4

Great place to stay!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Casa Ylang Ylang was a great place. We had no problem finding it with the help of Ken(Property mgr). He was very helpful in settling us in and acclimating us to the area. The only disappointment and a very minor one was the house could have been a little cleaner. We stayed 10 days and never had a cleaning person come by, but we took care of it ourselves. It wasn't a big deal to us. Otherwise a great trip. I would recommend it.
Thanks,
Neal and Pam
Rosharon, Texas
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Pam and Neal - so you discovered that pura vida means 'flying critters' in pidgin-Boruca? I'm confident that Ylang Ylang was spotless upon your arrival. Most of us make a two minute broom circuit mornings while awaiting the coffee to percolate. Glad you considered it a minor inconvenience. If needed, always ask your VRBO managers to recommend a charming local cleaning person who will be happy to stop by periodically for a small fee, but you'll find that even Mel Gibson encounters last night's insects too, and does a daily sweep like we all do. Thanks be to easy-care tile floors everywhere, of course, and we appreciate your visit.
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Casa Ylang Ylang - Ocean View Villa with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393772vbi
+1 706-399-0697
Ojochal Puntarenas
United States
5

Peaceful, beautiful, remarkable and life changing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We had most wonderful time in Costa Rica at our fantastic rental. We booked this house after reading reviews and doing our research. We could not have been more pleased with our stay at Ylang Ylang, which was a beautiful and perfect setting for us. The villa is situated in the middle of the jungle with beautiful view of ocean and greens. We woke up every day with only birds and animal sounds. Every morning a flock of las Cusingas birds when come by to at the ripest papayas in the front yard making their delightful sounds with their beaks. It was a very peaceful and magical experience with spectacular sunsets each night. I can honestly say it was the best vacation rental we have ever had. With its 270 degree ocean view we could actually hear the pounding of the ocean waves from our gorgeous terrace and bedroom all night long! The owners had everything we needed in the villa from a blender to make the most amazing smoothies with Golden ripe Costa Rican Pineapples (3 for 2 dollars), Papayas and bananas (from the trees on our rental) to the Wi-Fi and large DVD library and books.

The villa is right by a charming little town called Ojochal. The beaches nearby were never crowded and very beautiful. We even purchased fresh Mahi and Ahi from a local fisherman on the main road back to our Villa. We really appreciate Ken Stone (property manager) who was there to answer any questions and offer fantastic suggestions. Ken was very helpful and made the rental process smooth. We even had our best and most special breakfast with Ken, and all his local cohorts, right down the road from our Vacation home. Ken would always come right over, on the rare occasion when we needed his help.

The house is truly as beautiful as the pictures show. We spent all of our time at the house on the back patio having dinner, playing cards and enjoying the pool. Every morning, and every 2 or 3 hours after that all day long, we would swim in the pool. We also enjoyed our coffee, smoothies and most meals on the terrace watching hummingbirds and butterflies flit from flower to flower with the sound of the crashing surf just off in the near distance. Bliss.

I would love to come back again and we are already made plans for next year. Pura Vida!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: No fair! Don't reveal all our secrets! The calendar is already far
too busy to reserve time for ourselves to come and enjoy what you've
so elegantly described. The many birds are particularly enchanting
all right. It's hard to justify interfering with their enthusiastic
pillaging when you can buy a six pound ripe papaya at the local
tiendas for only seventy cents, isn't it? Many thanks for your kind
words. Like us, you've discovered that the rainy season could also
likely be the best time of all to visit the Pacific Sur. Shhh!
Helpful votes: 10/11