Decent, But Some Disappointments
Submitted: December 17, 2012
Stayed: December 2012
Start with the positive: The location was GREAT for beach lovers (nothing else in the area). The beach was quiet, peaceful, etc. The price was good. The kitchen was decently stocked (could use some knives). The decor of the unit was pleasant and the beds were comfortable. The unit was clean and the maintenance contact was friendly and responsive.
HOWEVER, we were disappointed with a few major (for us) items. Firstly, the photos and "amenities" lead a potential renter to believe there is an enclosed, private balcony. This is not the case. In actuality, there is a small plastic table and chairs set outside in the hall/stairwell, next to both stairs and the elevator. This was a major letdown for us, as we have a 1 year old that certainly could not play next to the stairs. We were looking forward to enjoying the outdoor space, but it really was useless to us as-is.
Secondly, I should have read the description more closely for the lack of "pool", but the photos made it look like there is a pool on site. It is really just a small, hot "spa", which was not appropriate for our child or me (pregnant).
Thirdly, the floor plan of this unit in relation to the one next to it has clearly been redesigned at some point (and not very well). There was a closet in the master bedroom with a vent directly into the neighbor's master bedroom. We could see directly into her bedroom! In addition, we could both hear each other clearly from various parts of the unit. Also, the neighbor's pantry light turns on this unit's hall light. Imagine how scared we were when our hall light suddenly turned on while we were all in bed! Finally to this point, the neighboring unit had FOUR private balconies, while this unit had none. POOR redesign.
Other small things: the TV remote did not work except to change the channel (power, volume, etc. had to be done on the set itself). There was a missing cable for the DVD player in the master, so we couldn't watch DVDs in that room. The wood floors were not finished--they still had spacers around all of the walls (which our small child loved trying to eat). The beach equipment provided was largely broken (at least half the chairs did not function properly, the toy buckets were cracked, floats had hotels, etc.).
Overall, it would be nice if the photos were a little less misleading and some of the broken/unfinished items were fixed/finished. Otherwise, the unit was sufficient.
Owner's Response: The couple who rented have made some very good points. We have completely renovated the condo and, quite obviously, missed these punch list items. We have used the beach chairs and toys and have not noticed them malfunctioning, nor received complaints prior hereto, but we will check on them as we do not check on them each time someone uses them. The condo has a spa, not a pool which I believe we have so stated. The balcony sitting area is common space outside the door. Criticism can be difficult to hear as we try to have this condo as perfectly nice to use as is possible. During renovation these items were overlooked and will be addressed. Thank you for advising us of these matters.
Did you find this review helpful?