Mission District estate rental - kitchen - very modern. Has all the amenities of great place to cook and hang
kitchen - very modern. Has all the amenities of great place to cook and hang
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps16
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Mission District Estate Rental Photos and Description
5 Bedrooms, (5 seperate rooms with 7beds) 3 full bathrooms, 1/2 bath, Sleeps 12+

WINNER OF THE 2012 HGTV 'House Hunters on Vacation San Francisco'!

This 3 story, 2 unit building with private street entrance was built 3 years ago and has been featured in countless magazines, television shows, commercials and more. The Discovery Channel calls it one of the 'Worlds Greenest Homes'.

It is powered by the sun and the wind and features all the latest in green energy and design.

3,800 square feet make this spacious home extremely comfortable for a couple, a family or a bunch of friends and is an experience in itself. You probably wont want to leave.

The ground floor opens into an urban oasis with a indoor pool and spa. The back wall completely opens and spills into a gorgeous courtyard with indoor/outdoor kitchen and koi pond and fountain.

The second floor has 5 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms plus hot tub.

There is 1 king size bed, 2 queen size beds, 2 full size beds and 3 sofa beds.

The 3rd floor is an open floor plan with the kitchen, dining room, living room and cocktail room and half bath. This top floor features bifold doors and windows that completely open to amazing views and a wrap around outdoor deck.

Check 'rates' for full rate description

More Details
Hide Details

My name is Robin and I have lived in the Mission District of San Francisco for 20 years. I LOVE it here. I am a general contractor and have built many homes here in San Francisco. I love to take advantage of all the wonderful things this city has to do. I have many friends in the restaurant/entertainment business here in the City and I have my finger on the pulse of the city. I also have a 13 year old daughter. If you need advice or info on what the city has to offer, I can help you.

Robin purchased this estate in 1998

I bought this building during the dot com days because this neighborhood was full of excitement and things to do. Plus you cant beat it for easy access to the freeway, public transportation, shopping and everything else.

Less than a 5 minute walk and within 3 blocks are 6 cafes', 2 grocery stores, 15 or more restaurants, 3 bakeries, 3 parks, 1 pool and shopping shopping shopping.... that's just to start. The neighborhood is full of friendly people who love living here and give this location a neighborhood feel.

22 Reviews of Property 393593 in Mission District, California

5 Bedroom San Francisco House Vacation Home Winner
average rating of 4.3636365 based on 22 reviews
business
5 Bedroom San Francisco House Vacation Home Winner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393593
Mission District San Francisco
5

I left my heart at La Casa Verde

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I left my heart in San Francisco (it might be at La Casa Verde)! We had a fantastic time in San Francisco. We stayed at La Casa Verde which made our trip all the more pleasurable. We had seen the house on House Hunters on Vacation on HGTV and were delighted when we found the house on homeaway. The house was perfect for our extended family. It was large enough to all have our own rooms and privacy and also has a third story which is a huge open gathering space. We cooked some meals at the house and ate some out. The kitchen is a dream for anyone who and especially for me because I like to cook.

The house looks just like the photos and Robin who is the owner helped us with a lot of our plans. I think we did almost everything she suggested and I don’t think we could have had a better time! We were lucky to have great weather while in San Francisco so we spent time in the beautiful yard barbequing and hanging out together.

After staying at the house we spent the next 2 nights in a hotel. We had planned that since the house was already booked during our last two days. We were a party of 12 and we rented 3 rooms in a hotel. What a difference! We had an average of 4 people crammed in each room, some on cots and sharing bathrooms. We had to eat every meal out. Our luggage took over the rooms in the hotel and there was no space. It was a nice hotel, don't get me wrong. It just can't begin to compare to renting a big house.

This is the first time I have tried a vacation rental and this is the last time I will use a hotel, especially with a group of people. Yeah for vacation rentals and yeah for La Casa Verde. I have a new way to travel! I would recommend the house for any type of group whether a family or company or a group of friends. It’s simply great.

Jerry
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
5 Bedroom San Francisco House Vacation Home Winner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393593
Mission District San Francisco
5

Perfect place for a large group!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
I rented both of the houses at La Casa Verde for the weekend of my wedding. I live in San Francisco but had family coming in from all over the country. I had driven by the house many times and noticed it because it has quite a presence so I was really excited when I saw it listed on homeaway. It turned out to be the perfect decision and place to host my family. Many of my family members had not seen each other in years so to have them all together was a treat for everyone. We had 19 people total and between the two houses there was plenty of room for everyone. The houses were modern, clean and had good flow. They also had good common space for cooking and eating and visiting which was important to us. I live in the neighborhood so I am familiar with it and think it is the best place in San Francisco to live and visit. The Mission has everything you could possibly want and if you can't find it there is easy transportation to get anywhere else in the city. Renting both houses at La Casa Verde was a great decision for our family. I would definitely do it again.
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much for your stay. You were great guests and I am so happy it all worked out and you had a beautiful wedding and good time with your family at the house. Please come visit us again! Robin
business
5 Bedroom San Francisco House Vacation Home Winner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393593
Mission District San Francisco
5

Green Dream House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My family and I rented both houses at this beautiful location. The event was my wedding and we had family come in from all over the country. We thought it would be nice to have everyone stay at one location instead of individual hotels. This was a great idea. We all got to hang out together, eat meals at home and enjoy each other's company while in the privacy of this special home.

There were 19 of us total and there was plenty of room for everyone. Between the 2 houses there were 7 bathrooms and 8 bedrooms with 10 beds plus sofa beds so we were extremely comfortable. The houses are really modern and cool. Everything was very clean. The owner set it up for a housekeeper to come in and do a light cleaning everyday and arranged for a personal chef to come in to cook us dinner one night (something I recommend with a large group).

The house had everything we need like extra bedding, nice cookware, comfortable but modern furniture and more. The views were really amazing and the neighborhood is great. We walked all around the neighborhood everyday and enjoyed it. Everything we needed was in walking distance. We also took the BART which is the underground transportation. The owner helped us figure out how to take it and we found it very convenient.

We all had a great time at the houses and would recommend them and stay there again. Thank you.
business
5 Bedroom San Francisco House Vacation Home Winner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393593
Mission District San Francisco
5

Great house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My company rented La Casa for a business retreat. There were 13 of us at the house. We loved the house and the neighborhood. The house was beautiful and big enough for all of us. We worked and played and pretty much stayed in the neighborhood except for a trip to the Wharf and Alcatraz which I do recommend. The weather was a bit chilly but nice. We didn’t see any fog which was okay by us!
Overall I would recommend this house for anyone who is going to San Francisco. It was very big, clean and very comfortable. Zoe
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
5 Bedroom San Francisco House Vacation Home Winner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393593
Mission District San Francisco
Sacramento area
2

Women's annual weekend

Women's annual weekend
  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: May 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We have rented from vrbo in Carmel, Lake Tahoe, Hawaii and Half Moon Bay. This was by far the biggest disappointment. The view and the neighborhood were wonderful....but the home was in need of maintainence and a good cleaning. My experience with other rentals is the owners want you there. Not the case here, discouraged us from renting pool (probably wasn't working), wouldn't allow us to check in before 6 PM (ridiculous in San Francisco traffic) and partial rolls of toilet paper!! We loved our excursions to local restaurants and pubs. The place just needed a good cleaning and a coat of interior paint. Wouldn't recommend it in present condition. The architecture and potential are awesome so hope owner will upgrade and fix things (shades, lights, stairs, bathroom fan, steamer in kitchen etc.) too much wrong especially for the price!!
Owner's Response: Renee I am so sorry to hear this. Other people from your group told me they loved the house and had a great time. I work very hard at trying to make everyone happy and make the house an enjoyable experience for everyone. However, it is obvious that you cant please everyone all the time . You were unhappy and complaining since the day I sent you the contract. Because of this I tried really hard to make the house extra nice for you but still it wasn’t enough.

You claim that I didn’t want you there which is absolutely not true. You said the reason for this is because I advised against paying for the pool and because I have a 6pm check in. I explained to you that it is very cold in San Francisco and in the past most people who rent the pool don’t use it. I tried to help you not waste money by telling you not to pay for it up front and add it later if you want when we know what the weather will be like. You never responded.

I also explained to you that I have check in at 6pm because it takes my cleaning crew every minute from the time guests check out at 11am until 6pm check in to get the house ready. We clean everything from top to bottom. The house is very large and it takes all this time. This is also in the very beginning of our rental agreement. But you have complained and sent me nasty text messages about it. It is not meant to hurt or bother you. It is just the way it is.

I am sorry you thought the house needed cleaning. That day I was there training a new crew. They are a professional house cleaning service and 3 of them plus me worked for 7 hours on the house. I was very picky with them and checked everything they did and the house was very clean. In an attempt to make you happy before you arrived I even bought lots of fresh flowers and decorated the house.

I also explained to you that the bathroom fans all work. They are very nice inline fans which means the motor is in the mechanical room. If you were looking for outdated noisy fans you wont find them here.

I still don’t know what you mean about the lights and shades not working. There are around 100 light bulbs in the house. Every fixture works and has been assigned just a single switch to make it easy for use. Every shade works as well. If you couldnt figure them out I would have been happy to help but didnt hear from you about them until now.

Anyway, sorry your unhappiness. Sure looked and sounded like everyone was having a great time and enjoying
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
5 Bedroom San Francisco House Vacation Home Winner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393593
Mission District San Francisco
5

Great Time and Beautiful House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We had a great time over our family vacation in San Francisco and staying at this beautiful house made it all the better. Our oldest son lives in San Francisco and we brought our 3 kids and grandmother to visit him. We wanted a place that was large enough for us all to be together and this was the perfect place.
The house looks just like the photos and it was very roomy and comfortable.
The bedrooms were all on the second floor so we were able to put the kids to sleep and enjoy evenings on the 3rd floor with the view. It was very clean and the layout was great. We cooked many of our meals in the kitchen and spent a lot of time in the family room/ kitchen area.

We did do a lot of the things that were recommended to us by Robin. She sent us a welcome package with restaurant and tourist information and she was accomadating when we asked for advice on other things. We were in San Francisco a week and could have stayed another week and probably not seen all we wanted to see. I think we will be planning another stay in San Francisco and we will come back to this house. I don't think there is a better house in the whole city!

The weather was raining in San Francisco so we spent more time in the house than we had expected and are so happy we picked a house that was so nice to be in. I would recommend this house to all different kinds of vacationers.
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
5 Bedroom San Francisco House Vacation Home Winner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393593
Mission District San Francisco
Portland, OR
2

Real Time Review

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We are in the middle of our stay here as I type this. Feeling a bit frustrated with what we are experiencing. Upon arriving we discovered the house just hand't been cleaned professionally which starts things off on the wrong foot. There was a roll of half used TP in each of the bathrooms and when we asked Robin where extra was we were told we needed to go buy it ourselves. Trashbags so we could keep the place tidy and dispose of garbage in a clean and effinicent manner? Go buy those too. The WiFi has worked on and off which has made it incredibly frustrating since we are here for work. The house looks beautiful in pictures especially the ones where it is lit up at night. The relaities are that the windows haven't been washed in months and its hard to get most of the lights working. The pool is pretty (but dirty) but read the fine print - it costs extra if you want to use it. I am guessing the charge goes towards cleaning it? Hoping things turn around here but who knows. We have texted back and forth with the owner and its looking like once you get here what you see is what you get. I'd be bummed if this was a family vacation or my one big summer vacation - its expensive. A four day work trip? We will survive. Just disappointed.
Owner's Response: Hi and thanks for the note. I am very sorry you were confused about the rental. Perhaps you didn’t read the listing or the rental agreement because all of your concerns are clearly addressed in both.

All of the lights actually work. I went over the lighting with the person who rented the house. I am sorry if she didn’t pass on that info.

The wireless is Comcast Business Class and works great. When I was contacted saying it wasn’t working we found out it was because you trying to use the neighbors network. Once that was figure out and the correct network was used it was fine.

Also, since this is a vacation rental and not a hotel, many things like replacing toilet paper and daily cleaning do not come with the rental. It is described clearly in the rental agreement in the same size print as everything else. I do not have any small print. Everything can be added on but the person who rented the house opted out of these.

The house is professionally cleaned in between each guest. Daily cleaning is optional. This is noted in in both the listing, the rental agreement and it was also personally explained to you. Here is an exert from the rental agreement:

“Housekeeping: There is no daily housekeeping service unless requested. While linens and bath towels are included in the unit, daily maid service is not included in the rental rate. This can be provided at extra cost and upon request.”

As with almost all vacation rentals, heating the pool is an additional charge. Again it is in the listing, in the rental agreement a few times and personally explained to you. Here is one exert from the agreement:

“POOL - Pool requires a special usage and heating fee. Unauthorized usage is not permitted.”

With vacation rentals, toiletries are not included and if they are they are not replaced daily. Again, this is explained in the rental agreement. We do however provide starters on most items and there were 10 rolls of toilet paper left for your group.

Again I am sorry that you didn’t understand this information. I don’t know how much more clear it could have been.
Helpful votes: 19/21
business
5 Bedroom San Francisco House Vacation Home Winner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393593
Mission District San Francisco
5

Hottest spot ever!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Stayed at la casa verde for my summer vacation along with 4 guy friends and 2 of their girlfriends. We had a wonderful time and want to go back. These are some of our favorite things:

1. The house was beyond our expectations. It is even more beautiful than the photos.

2. We enjoyed the 3rd floor deck which was a great place to hang out given the nice weather (better than we expected)

3. We bbq'd in the back yard which was a lot of fun

4. The beds were comfy but the showers were amazing!

5. The house was spotless and well maitained. Especially given it was such a large house! (wouldn't want to be responsible for that!)

6. The owner was very helpful with everything about the house and what to do in San Francisco

7. We enjoyed many restaurants that were recommended by the owner including Foreign Cinema and Range. Luckily the house was in the Mission disctric which was obviously the best place to stay in San Fran. Very hip and cool

8. We saw Alcatraz, Marin and spent a day with a limo in Napa (barely remeber that but I am told we had a blast!)

9. Shopping in Union square was okay. It is quite pretty but seems to have the same stores as other nice places (the girls liked it though)

10. Lastly, San Francisco is an awesome place and cant thing of a better place to stay than la casa verde.
Helpful votes: 7/9
business
5 Bedroom San Francisco House Vacation Home Winner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393593
Mission District San Francisco
5

SF....best vacation ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We decided on a SF vacation at the last minute and it was the first time any of us had ever been. we knew it was one of the most popular travel destinations in the world but were a little afraid it would be too over come by tourist.
We were so happy to find just the opposite. It seemed like there were only locals every where we went.\

The city is very laid back and so great.

Oh and I forgot, this is a review about the best accomacations in the entire city. Dont know how it happened but at the last minute we landed probably what has to be the best place to stay in San Francisco.

We stayed at La Casa Verde and it is the perfect example of everything San Francisco.

This place was a relaxing mecca inside of what I now belive to be the best city in the world.

La Casa Verde made it difficult for us to venture outside it walls. The house was beyond our expectations and simply gorgeous from top to bottom.

I think we might have arrived at a special time becuase the weather was warm and we were warned by the home owner to be prepared for cool weather.

We had a bbq in the back yard which has its own kitchen and dishwarsher for cleaning.

The next floor was all bedrooms and perfect for our party of 12 guests. It was nicely tucked in between the other floors and made this the quietest place in the house.

The third floor was our favorite. This floor was enormace and opened. There was a living room, family room, dining roon and kitchen that was perfect for our large group. It allowed everyone to do their own thing yet still be together.

Side note" there were plenty of towels, blankets and enemities for all of us. Plenty of body wash but bring your own shampoos. The owner will help you with stocking the fridge and booking events or experiences too.
She was great! Thanks robin and thanks la casa verde for a fab vacation.
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
5 Bedroom San Francisco House Vacation Home Winner
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393593
Mission District San Francisco
Portland, Oregon
5

Conference retreat in the Mission

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
A group of friends and I enjoyed a wonderful four-day stay at the Casa Verde while we attended an academic conference. The place has amazing common area spaces for hanging out and reading, and plenty of beds for all kinds of configurations of friends and lovers.

The quirky and friendly modernist vibe of the place made us feel immediately at home. The neighborhood is awesome. Plenty of great restaurants and cafes. Robin was accommodating, and our entry and exit was seamless. This is a great alternative to the corporate hotel, and as long as you have enough folks chipping in, it works out to be cheaper too.
Helpful votes: 2/4