Shelburne cottage rental - New roofs, chimney and decks at Morning Mist
New roofs, chimney and decks at Morning Mist
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Shelburne Cottage Rental Photos and Description
5 Bedrooms + Loft, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 10-12)

Morning Mist Cottage and an adorable guest house on beautiful blue Lake Deception is located in Shelburne County on the South Shore of Nova Scotia.

This 62 acre sanctuary of water and woodland is a step back to simplicity and spiritual renewal. Our cottage is private, twelve feet from the lake that entices you to swim and canoe. Countless species of birds and frequenting beavers live within the lake and the forest of towering mature maple, oak and pine trees.

Owner/operator, Pauline Elizabeth, an educator/holistic practitioner invites you to rest awhile, connect with the earth and have fun as you swim, canoe, bike and hike on your perfectly secluded vacation for complete relaxation, reflection and rejuvenation.

Morning Mist Cottage is deluxe, spacious and made of pine with cathedral ceiling, skylights, and large glass-sliding patio doors that seem to bring the picturesque outdoors inside.

A striking stone and brick fireplace adds to the ambiance and is open to the living room, dining room and full kitchen. Two full four-piece baths and a new half bath in the loft, a breathless nine person outdoor spa, kind and queen-size beds and comfy furniture provide a country charm with all the amenities. New renovations this spring include wood floors in bedrooms and loft, new duvets,draperies, roofs and an awesome stone chimney

Whether you are a single person, group, couple or a family with children this gorgeous retreat will entertain and delight all.

Only twenty minutes away are pristine isolated white sand beaches heralding the sound and smell of salt water flowing with the tides, the River Hills Golf Club and historic town of Shelburne offering fine dining.

Sailboats and fishing boats carve their way through the waters of the third largest natural harbor in the world. Explore and discover the magic of this unique little town and but come back to the quiet of the forest and lake as you swim and canoe or relax in a lounger on the deck.

More Details
Hide Details

Right now I am living a good life. I moved to Nassau in the Bahamas 5 years ago to teach Music at St. John's College and stayed. Having four adult children and four new grand babies I am spending a bit more time in Nova Scotia. I have retrained as a therapist and am writing a book. Spending time in the outdoors, swimming in the ocean and listening to music are my passions.

Pauline Elizabeth purchased this cottage in 1977

My former husband and I were married on the land and spent summers at our cottage with our four children. In 1998 I created Morning Mist Cottage as a necessity to maintain and continue to upgrade the property. 'Coming home to your heart' is indeed an opportunity for relaxation and spiritual renew. It is beautiful in the spring, summer and fall.

I have maintained the rustic appeal with all new amenities. I was years without a television or Internet. I now have both. Our hot tub, cedar sauna, wood burning fireplace and recreational activities makes for the best holiday ever.

6 Reviews of Property 393383 in Shelburne, Nova Scotia

Delux Secluded Lakefront Cottage on 62 acres woodland, hot tub, sauna, wireless
average rating of 0.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Delux Secluded Lakefront Cottage on 62 acres woodland, hot tub, sauna, wireless
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393383
+1 902 800 1695
Shelburne Nova Scotia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Celebrating our anniversary

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Nancy and Mike Boyce
Review Submitted August 16, 2010 Date of Stay August 10, 2008
Before we arrived at Morning Mist Cottage we could anticipate the calmness. This was our fourth visit to celebrate our anniversary. The cottage invited us as we lounged on the deck and let nature take us on a wonderful vacation. The sun glistens on the clear, blue water; pure beauty. The abundance of birds sang beautiful songs as the frogs croaked away the night. We kayaked on the lake, swam in the warm water and at night star gazed while sitting in the hot tub surrounded by trees. What bliss! The stars seem brighter here. The fire pit made many toasted marshmallows. The cottage is like what many would call a dream home; spacious with a cottage feel but with every modern convenience one could want. It is absolutely stunning inside and out. Morning Mist by far is the most relaxing place we have ever been. After each visit we anticipate the next.
business
Delux Secluded Lakefront Cottage on 62 acres woodland, hot tub, sauna, wireless
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393383
+1 902 800 1695
Shelburne Nova Scotia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Beautiful Property

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Wow! Wonderful Spot! (Taken from Guest Book)
Nancy, Jeff, Peter, Ben from Calgary, Alberta
Review Submitted May 29, 2012 Date of Stay August 8, 2011
Wow! Wonderful Spot! Although the weather was not on our side we had such a great experience. Lots of love and memories. It's obvious that Pauline and family have had many years themselves here. Very comfortable and warm feelings. Many thanks. Only complaint-not enough time here. To the new comers-explore every inch of the property-you will not be disappointed
business
Delux Secluded Lakefront Cottage on 62 acres woodland, hot tub, sauna, wireless
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393383
+1 902 800 1695
Shelburne Nova Scotia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Family from Europe and Canada

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Thanksgiving at the Cottage (Taken from Guest Book)
Samantha and Family Date of Stay October 8, 2011
The Askheim family from Halifax and Oslo enjoyed canoeing, campfires, hot tub and beautiful 24 degree C. weather. Thank you so much Pauline! We will be back! Samantha, Ruar,Frija,Tore, and five week old Baby Astoid, Eva and Lars Askheim
business
Delux Secluded Lakefront Cottage on 62 acres woodland, hot tub, sauna, wireless
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393383
+1 902 800 1695
Shelburne Nova Scotia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Wow! Wonderful Spot!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Wow! Wonderful Spot! Although the weather was not on our side we had such a great experience. Lots of love and memories. It's obvious that Pauline and family have had many years themselves here. Very comfortable and warm feelings. Many thanks.
Only complaint-not enough time here.
To the new comers-explore every inch of the property-you will not be disappointed.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Delux Secluded Lakefront Cottage on 62 acres woodland, hot tub, sauna, wireless
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393383
+1 902 800 1695
Shelburne Nova Scotia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Thanksgiving at the Cottage

  • Submitted: May 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
The Askheim family from Halifax and Oslo enjoyed canoeing, campfires, hot tub and beautiful 24 degree C. weather. Thank you so much Pauline! We will be back!

Samantha, Ruar,Frija,Tore, and five week old Baby Astoid, Eva and Lars Askheim
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Delux Secluded Lakefront Cottage on 62 acres woodland, hot tub, sauna, wireless
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393383
+1 902 800 1695
Shelburne Nova Scotia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
Before we arrived at Morning Mist Cottage we could anticipate the calmness. This was our fourth visit to celebrate our anniversary. The cottage invited us as we lounged on the deck and let nature take us on a wonderful vacation.
The sun glistens on the clear, blue water; pure beauty. The abundance of birds sang beautiful songs as the frogs croaked away the night. We kayaked on the lake, swam in the warm water and at night star gazed while sitting in the hot tub surrounded by trees. What bliss! The stars seem brighter here.
The fire pit made many toasted marshmallows. The cottage is like what many would call a dream home; spacious with a cottage feel but with every modern convenience one could want. It is absolutely
stunning inside and out. Morning Mist by far is the most relaxing
place we have ever been. After each visit we anticipate the next.
Helpful votes: 6/7