Lunenburg house rental - View from Cove (with Lower Deck/Bench, Dock for 18-ft Boat, and Screened Gazebo.
View from Cove (with Lower Deck/Bench, Dock for 18-ft Boat, and Screened Gazebo.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps7
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Lunenburg House Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms (Master has a suite), 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7

*** POSSIBLY THE MOST SPECTACULAR RENTAL LOCATION ON THE SOUTH SHORE ***

Please view our new video (the last picture thumbnail), or by copying this link into your internet browser: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_4XjqVPxzbg&feature=em-upload_owner&noredirect=1

Experience Nova Scotia island-living at its finest at the Fennel Old House. Our renovated, turn-of-the-century home is accessible by car with no need for a ferry or boat. We sit on a spectacular, multi-acre, oceanfront site, just 30-feet from the water. Bordered by woods on three sides, we overlook a picturesque, rocky cove and wide bay beyond. The front deck facing the water is huge and breathtaking… The only house you can see from our front deck is a mile across the bay! Guests have called the 180-degree view of the ocean and islands beyond one of the most amazing they’ve ever seen. Included is a brand new dock where you can tie up a boat, swim off of, lounge on, and view sea life.

The LaHave Islands: a Unique Destination

From the minute you approach Crescent Beach, a popular 1.2-mile long beach which leads from the mainland out to the LaHave Islands, you know you’ve come to a special place. After driving down the wide beach (or taking the road behind it), you follow a winding road and cross two bridges. You encounter postcard views along every turn -- colorful houses, old fishing wharves, and fishing and pleasure boats passing by. At the end of the road, you’ll find the Fennel Old House.

Convenient Location

We are a seven-minute drive from the Lighthouse Route, which runs the mainland between Halifax and Yarmouth. We’re a half-hour’s drive from Bridgewater, which is the area’s main shopping/restaurant area. We’re a 40-minute drive from the historic seaport of Lunenburg and tourist destination of Mahone Bay, and an hour-and a half's drive southwest of Halifax and the airport (YHZ).

Our property offers charm and privacy, yet is located in a vibrant island community, on the most populated of the two dozen islands which make up the LaHave Islands. We’re also and in an area of the South Shore which has much to offer tourists.

The Outside

Enjoy the outdoors from our sprawling, nicely landscaped yard with flower gardens, 4 sundecks (including a roof deck and deck by the water), floating dock, screen house and screened gazebo perched right on the shore. You can swim off the dock, catch crabs, pick wild blueberries and raspberries, play croquet and badminton, and swing on our tree swing. Or just relax, listening to the seagulls, watching fishing boats in the bay, and viewing deer, seals, otter and blue heron. In the evening, barbecue in the back yard, enjoy spectacular sunsets over the cove, and light a fire in our outdoor fire pit to roast marshmallows.

The Inside

The Fennel Old House can comfortably sleep seven adults in four bedrooms. The master bedroom has a large, attached changing room, which can also accommodate a crib. The other two upstairs bedrooms have three twin beds. A downstairs bedroom has a double bed and adjoins the bathroom.

Our home features large-window views, wood floors, period-moldings, wainscoting, and tongue-in-groove walls throughout the upstairs. Come home from a day at the beach or touring to warm in front of one of two wood stoves. The first floor also has baseboard electric heating with thermostats in each room, and portable, safe, high-powered heaters on the second floor.

Eat your meals at the dining room table while enjoying a wide open view of the cove and bay through a large picture window.

The kitchen is fully equipped with an electric stove, microwave, toaster oven, coffee maker, food processor, quality china and flatware, and much more (we love to cook!). The living room has a 27' TV with limited satellite service, DVD & VCR players, a stereo/CD/tape deck, and mini pool table, and a large book collection of Nova Scotian culture. We provide bedding and towels, other supplies such as toilet paper, and a washer/dryer. Yes, we have WIRELESS internet, and the cell service is good. We do not allow smoking of any kind inside our home.

The Area

Locally, there are many attractions. Half a dozen beaches are within a 10-minute drive, including Risser's Beach Provincial Park, with a fine-sand beach with lifeguards, winding boardwalk along a back marsh, visitor’s center, a snack bar and shower facility. On our island are many quaint paths and roads to walk or bike, a marine museum, community hall, fish plant/government wharf, two churches, and a cemetery. On nearby Crescent Beach, people love to park their cars on the beach, walk their dogs, surf, kite-board, stroll the beach at sunrise and sunset, and of course, swim!

Several fishermen and their families still live on the islands, some who will take visitors out fishing or on island tours (ask us). Locals also love to share their community's history through casual encounters along the road and at events like the Monday morning coffee hour, serving the best home-made scones and sticky buns you’ve ever tasted – really. The community hall also hosts guest lectures and other events.

Along the Lighthouse Route on the mainland are lots of craft and antique shops, artist studios, restaurants, museums, and historical sites (like Fort Point Museum in LaHave, where the French first landed in Canada in 1604). You can take in musical events, county fairs, farmers’ markets, art shows, ox pulls, movies, theater and more. For sporting activities, you can rent kayaks, golf at several courses, go horseback riding, rock climb, wind surf, para-sail, and enjoy the resort at White Point Beach, where you can get a day pass to use the pools, yard games, and boats.

Don't miss the most famous bakery in Nova Scotia, the LaHave Bakery (15 minutes away), where you can sit down in its quaint dining area and enjoy an amazing breakfast or lunch. Another guest favorite is 'The Ovens,' which is a series of ocean caves accessible by wooded walkways, where the waves pound in and out. At Ross Farm, children will love to see a “working” farm where they still raise animals and grow crops. And bake sales and lobster suppers in community halls all over the area are delicious!

Payment

We accept US and Canadian-based checks,wire transfers, e-Checks through HomeAway and VRBO, and online payments from Canadian banks through Interac.

Contact Us

We hope you have the chance to experience our little piece of heaven. Please respond via this website, or call Mont at 617-909-7279. He will call you back to save you any charges.

Availability

If The Fennel Old House is booked during the week you are travelling, note that we also own 'SKYVIEW ON LAHAVE ISLAND,' a 15-year old home perched on the highest point of our island -- above the tree tops -- with an amazing 360-degree view of the LaHave Islands and the ocean. Gorgeous views from every window! It can sleep up to 8 for $795 to $1750 per week. Please see HomeAway listing #3320214.

More Details
Hide Details

The Fennel Old House is owned by Mont and Mitzi Fennel, who have been coming to the islands every summer of their lives.

Mont Fennel purchased this house in 1956

In 1956, our father stumbled upon the Fennel Old House on a boat tour of the islands, while visiting a friend. He bought it from a fishing family. Back then, it came with a large wharf, smokehouse, outhouse, one electric outlet and no running water! Over the years Dad fixed it up to become a wonderful second home for us. 10 years ago, my sister and I took over the property and fully renovated it. We have furnished it nicely, and have beautifully landscaped the large yard. The house, community, and area have become a fundamental part of our lives.

1) Beauty -- Unparalleled views of the ocean… Awesome picture-taking, both on our property and of the surrounding islands. Photograph or paint vistas, fishing boats, wharves, and colorful houses.

2) Romance -- Total privacy and relaxation. Enjoy the ambiance of 2 wood stoves, lounging on multiple decks, dinners in the gazebo or screen porch, walks on island paths, and more.

3) Children – We are a kid's paradise, with a large yard to play badminton, croquet, football, frisbee, wiffle ball, darts, and use our outdoor swing. Youngsters love to play and swim off our dock, climb around our waterfront, and explore the adjacent woods. We have books, board games, and some toys for tots. Also a mini-pool table and TV/VCR with a video library.

4) Adventure – Dozens of things to do on the popular South Shore mainland area (within 5 to 40 minutes), and quick access to beaches (5 to10 minutes). We provide guests with a guide with directions.

5) Community -- An unusually close group of families, both fishermen and summer residents, who live nearby and welcome visitors.

6) Boating – Our floating dock, attached to land-based ramp, is large enough for a low-drafting, 18-foot boat, or a couple of kayaks. Explore our cove and other island inlets or venture further around all of the LaHave Islands. Kayaks can be rented 10 minutes away.

7) Pets – We gladly accept them and have a huge yard for dogs to play in.

27 Reviews of Property 393316 in Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 27 reviews
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
Wellsboro PA
5

Charming and Authentic Nova Scotian experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
My dad and I rented the Fennel Old House in mid-May. The neighbors and property manager were available, friendly & helpful! The house was charming & meticulously kept- we feel it was accurately represented on its web site in terms of maintenance & amenities. The owner was available by phone & email prior to the trip. He answered all of our questions to our satisfaction. The property was steeped in LaHave Island history! From the many books on the shelves to a worn map on the 'fridge & paintings on the walls, we were immersed in the unique culture of the close-knit fishing communities on these islands. Local folks embraced us, opening the historical society's museum & church before its scheduled opening date. There was such reverence for local ancestors & for the museum’s collections. Upon the advice of our new friends, we attended a fabulous church turkey supper, once again experiencing the friendly, welcoming ways of LaHave Island residents. Employees in the grocery store in Bridgewater helped us select seafood & gave us ideas about preparing authentic salt cod cakes, which we made upon return to Fennel Old House. We purchased fresh locally-caught lobster for an unbelievably low price and prepared it at the house. Each morning, after an enjoyable walk, we ate breakfast to the warmth & crackling of the wood cook stove in the kitchen, watching lobster boats, deer & local birds from our window.
We took fun, easy day trips into Lunenburg and Mahone Bay, shopping at a farmers’ market & touring via horse-drawn carriage. The Biscuit Eater in Mahone Bay served very nice sandwiches and delicious carrot cake. Owner Alden Darville welcomed us with interesting, animated conversation as we ate our lunch. The trip to Lunenburg was shortened when we discovered the car ferry across the LaHave River. There is a nice museum in Lunenburg, as well. The Knot, a well-known pub in Lunenburg, had spectacular, REALLY FRESH mussels, pan-fried haddock & Fish & Chips for more-than-reasonable prices (about $31.00 for 2 ample meals, minus gratuity). The food was so fresh & well-prepared that we made it a point to return to The Knot on our way back to the Halifax at the end of our trip.
Overall, we recommend Fennel Old House for families with an interest in immersing themselves in the history of this charming & unique region of Nova Scotia. We do not feel that the setting would be safe for very young children & elderly due to the rocky waterfront setting.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
Saint Louis, MO
5

Special Rental with Ambience, View, Privacy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My wife, I, and daughter stayed here for a week. We found it a special place for a particular type of renter. We are people who like to sit and soak up the views, read, converse, and cook (barbecue) our meals when on vacation. The pictures on the website lived up to their promise, but they do not capture the general peacefulness and quiet – the natural sounds and intricacy of view and play of water – in experiencing the property itself. It's wonderfully secluded and yet has relatively easy access to the general South Shore.
The quarters of the house itself are not luxurious but offer comfort and are well-stocked in many ways. (We brought CDs and enjoyed the excellent sound system). Although separate from any caretaker, we were provided with cost-free phone-help by the owner, and the nearby caretaker helped provide as trivial an item as coffee filters. We loved the various venues on the property, including a mosquito-proof gazebo set nicely apart from the house proper. (Mosquitoes were a minor concern only at sunset.)
The drive from the main road may sound daunting but it turns out to be both extremely simple & direct, with perfect directions, and part of the property's charm (small museum, bridges, beach, walks). There are two highly usable, sanded, beaches minutes away: Risser's beach is the more developed with multiple facilities, but we preferred the immediacy of Crescent beach just "down the road."
As non-Canadians we found all of the South Shore to be refreshingly simple and uncommercialized. The only possible limitation of the location is it is a bit further removed from the more touristy sites to the east. So if one wants mainly "action" -- perhaps not the place. But it has its own rewards of settling in, finding many small treasures -- the quaint quick ferry, the much-frequented LaHave Bakery (particularly for Sunday brunch), the beaches, wildlife (red foxes, deer, wild flowers). Most of all the ambience and views. Highly recommended for those who want to get away from "it all."
Your overall impression of the property and your stay
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
portland, or
5

relaxing island retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
we had the most relaxing, lovely time at this beautiful old island home. gorgeous views of the water & trees helped us forget our hectic city life. the history of the house and the area were fascinating and we loved exploring the islands and entire south coast of nova scotia. highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
United States
5

Vacation Far From The Madding Crowd

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We received excellent service both in booking the property via email and during our stay. Within an hour of arrival the owner telephoned to check that everything was in order and was willing to sort out any problems. Within two hours his mother who vacations in the house above us called in to offer help if needed and to give us helpful information about the area and places to visit
The house was set in an idyllic, tranquil location perched above the waters of the False Le Have with fantastic views all around. From the outside decks you could walk a few steps down to the boat landing stage, or rest in the screened pavilion overlooking the water. We ate several meals out on the decks, or just relaxed with drinks or books in the afternoon sun.
The house was charming with a galley kitchen, which was stocked with enough equipment to cater for an army; a pleasant dining room looking out to the water and housing a beautiful old fashioned wood burning stove, which provided heat downstairs and could be used to cook on.
The sitting room had a selection of easy chairs to relax in, a small wood burning stove, and a small pool table plus a large selection of board games.
A large bathroom sported a claw foot bath with a shower above it, and a composting toilet which we had fun getting used to. This room led into the downstairs bedroom with a double bed. Upstairs were 3 more bedrooms with 3 single beds and one double bed, and they were all comfortable, and the house was tastefully decorated. Everything was clean and well cared for.
The bathroom downstairs led into a large store room which housed a washer and drier and all manner of tools and equipment for any emergency. A stock of candles came in useful one night when we came home after dark to find the island had had a power failure due to a tree falling on power lines.
The owners had compiled a folder of very useful information as to places of interest to visit, restaurants to try and walks in the area. We enjoyed many of these facilities on and off the island and even had a boat tour around the island with a very friendly lobster fisherman who told us many stories of the people and places.
What we liked best about our stay was the situation of the house surrounded by water on three sides with no other house visible around us. Many days we thought we could just stay there and enjoy the peace, and would have done so if there hadn’t been so many interesting places in the area to explore.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
5

LaHave Islands and the Old Fennel House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The location of the Fennel Old House is exceptional, right on the water, with amazing views. The slate on which the LaHave Islands are built gives rise to a spectacularly convoluted and interesting shoreline, ideal for inquisitive children, beach-combing and exploring. Running between the islands are navigable channels, and on some of the neighboring islands are secluded, sandy, pocket beaches.

We loved the kitchen, it was fully equipped. We did some of our cooking on the wood cook stove! As another reviewer pointed out, the basics are there if you need them; sugar, spices, etc. It was evident that the owners enjoyed cooking.

The cottage was very clean. Tastefully carried-out upkeep/renovation is apparent. Original construction materials contribute to the dominant experience of the house. The bed linens, towels were of a nice quality.

We wish we had more time to enjoy the outdoor bonfire.

At the end of the hallway at the top of the stairs from the main level, there is a wonderful little work-space where the working-vacationer, writer or artist can enjoy views of the little inlet on which the house is set

The owner was readily available and happy to help us with any questions we had while we stayed there, despite it being during the evening and on a weekend (i.e. we were able to reach him immediately – not typical of other owners or rental agencies)

We stayed only two nights but would have loved to spend more time there.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
Port Hope, Ontario
5

A week of seclusion in a stunning location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We stayed at the Fennel Old House for a week in early July. The house has a spectacular setting and is entirely private. The views are stunning and it is a great place to relax and watch the sun come up or go down (depending on one’s sleeping cycles). One can either go up on the rooftop balcony or down to the little dockside pagoda. It was a wonderful place for dogs since they could run everywhere and not come to harm or bother any other people. There are beaches close by (Crescent Beach, in particular) for swimming and many other nearby attractions. We enjoyed antiquing in local stores and trips to nearby small towns and beaches. The Bakery at Le Havre was a frequent stop for coffee, lunch or groceries. Lunenburg is a short ferry ride away and offers shops and restaurants. Of course, it is also a lovely town with wonderful old houses.

The Fennel house itself was vey homey and comfortable. The kitchen is well-equipped and the entire house reflects the lives of the owners in its decorations and reading materials. The wi-fi reception was excellent. The beds were comfortable. There are decks to sit out on. The owner was available by email or phone and was helpful after we had suffered a power outage.

Altogether, we had a most enjoyable week on the South Shore of Nova Scotia.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
Chattanooga, TN USA
5

Wonderful Nova Scotia experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had a wonderful experience at the Fennel House. The owner happened to be staying nearby while we were there and was very helpful and even took us out for boat rides a couple times which our kids enjoyed very much. The home was in an ideal location and very comfortable. Everyone we met in Nova Scotia was friendly and helpful. There were so many things to do, we ran out of time to do everything. Some of the highlights were driving south to Liverpool along the lighthouse route, visiting nearby Lunenburg which was beautiful, and visiting the nearby Ovens sea caves. The Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic in Lunenberg is very well done and was a lot of fun for our kids. They got to do many hands-on activities that made it memorable. Best of all was just hanging out at the house and exploring the beautiful cove and shoreline. This was our first time to visit Nova Scotia and we hope to return as soon as we can.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
Basingstoke, UK
5

Nova Scotia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We were staying in the house for a week, apart from the weekend we spent in Halifax. We were really lucky with the weather in May, as the temperatures were in mid 20's, and mosquitoes just started to show up. The house is placed on the beautiful Bell Island. What you see on the pictures is what you find there, there is only water and woods, amazing . from the moment we saw the house we fell in love. the views from the windows or from one of the terraces were spectacular, it did not disappoint us at all, and the fact that Mont was willing to rent us this house midweek is just showing what a great person he is. he was able to answer any question I had and also those questions were answered on the same day. it was our third trip to Nova Scotia, we absolutely love this province, we stayed in few places before(houses, B&B) but this one was so far the best. it had a charm, something to take you back in time to those old days of people living on the island. there was this book in the house written by children from the local school containing a lot of interesting stories about the island, or even how Mont's Dad, found the house. if you love outdoors this is the place to be. our 5 year old son loved running around, climbing the rocks, collecting sticks from the woods for the fire we made one evening ,there was plenty of room for him to explore. my husband loved going for a run every morning to Crescent Beach that is around 2 miles away from the house.
there is a ferry about 15minutes away from the house that can take you to Lunenburg, and quicker to Halifax, if you do not want to drive too much, but Bridgewater is a beautiful town to drive through ,worth visiting.we traveled a lot. we went to local places like Lunenburg, Liverpool and Mahone Bay but also went a little bit further away to Yarmouth and Cape Forchu, Annapolis Royal, Digby. Apart from Crescent Beach there were few other beaches really worth visiting that were only short drive away- Summerville Beach, Broad Cove, Sandy Bay trail, Hunts Point Beach.
The kitchen was well stocked perfect for someone who would like to cook, but believe me once you visit the LaHave Bakery (15min drive)you will want to go there for every meal. the house was clean and well maintained. there is an internet and phone available, no satellite tv, but you are on holidays and the last thing you will think about is just that. you will find plenty of reading material in the house as well. THANK YOU Mont:@)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
Whitefield,ME
5

What a Great Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My husband and two teenage boys spent a wonderful week in June at this delightful house. We arrived on a cold, foggy day and found fires already laid in the two woodstoves. Within a short period of time, the house was cozy and we could appreciated its rustic charm. Rustic charm with all the modern conveniences needed. The kitchen is very well-equiped, the beds are comfortable, the view is amazing, and the little pool table is a lot fun. The multiple decks are perfect for reading, napping, drinking wine and enjoying the view. The little LaHave ferry makes day trips to Lunenberg, Peggy's Cove, and Mahoney Bay easy. We also enjoyed a day trip to Halifax with its museums and harbor
activities Don't miss the Maritine Museum.. Our boys enjoyed running on nearby Cresent Beach. It was a wonderful trip. The owner was helpful . He even checked the first day to see if everything was okay.We would love to visit Nova Scotia again and stay at this charming house again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Stunning Oceanfront Island Home! On Secluded Cove Near Lunenburg. Car-Accessible
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p393316
+1 617 909-7279
Lunenburg Nova Scotia
Cambridge MA
5

Rustic Charm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We were fortunate to spend a week at the Fennel Old House. Had we wanted a modern home there were plenty of places on Cape Cod we could have rented. But this place had a wonderful old-fashioned charm, while also being equipped with comfortable furnishings and all the appliances we needed. Its surroundings were also delightfully rustic. The house looks out on a bay which appears much like it did when Champlain discovered it 400 years ago and the French first settled the area. In fact, the view of the islands from the front deck were nothing but unspoiled rocky shores – we could only see one other house a half-mile across the bay! And yet there are several dozen homes on the LaHave Islands, so there is a real sense of community. There was also ready-access to Lunenburg and other towns. The people were great--one fellow with a back yard auto body shop repaired our car for a fraction of the cost in Boston. We recommend the Fennel Old House to anyone who wants the experience of a quiet, historic seaside location for a vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2