Sea Ranch house rental - View from front decks
View from front decks
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Sea Ranch House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Ladder Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

When you arrive at Hedgegate, you'll immediately feel right at home in this beautifully decorated ocean view home. For one thing, the furniture is stylish and comfortable. Throughout the house you'll find enjoyable art from around the world and original local art; the kitchen is fully stocked with just about everything you might imagine for meal preparation right down to the olive oil, and service for eight. An extensive video & music library ,board games are more than adequate for everyone, unless of course you would rather just sit on the deck and enjoy the great outdoors which is located right outside in all directions. With an ocean view from the hot tub that's always ready you'll enjoy the scenery and view no matter what weather's on the horizon.

Keywords: Stunning Views, Walk to Ocean, Comfortable . Well Equipped Kitchen;

If I didn't enjoy my work as a art curator, I'd choose to live at this wonderful home we call Hedgegate. House. Instead, we have chosen to share it with others who may enjoy it as much as we do.

Hawley Holmes purchased this house in 2000

The Sea Ranch on the North Coast is far enough away to get away and close enough to our daily life to make it possible more often than not. About 115 miles from San Francisco but a world away.......

Very Private Location at end of cul-de-sac Four Miles to town and four miles to Sea Ranch Lodge. Walk to Shell Beach.......

Basically, the perfect location.

13 Reviews of Property 392751 in Sea Ranch, California

Best Value at Sea Ranch Oceanside
average rating of 5.0 based on 13 reviews
business
Best Value at Sea Ranch Oceanside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392751vbi
5108417338
Sea Ranch North Coast California
San Leandro
5

Perfect Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My wife, two kids and I felt at home right away and loved the private, comfortable feel and view. Also all the easy access to the outdoor space. We really appreciated how well stocked the kitchen was not to mention all the films. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Best Value at Sea Ranch Oceanside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392751vbi
5108417338
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Central Washington
5

Peaceful and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My girlfriend and I recently stayed at Hedgegate House for 3 nights. I have absolutely nothing negative to say about our stay or this property. The minute you walked up the front porch you felt at home. The house was very clean and well maintained, and so well stocked!! There was even condiments in the refrigerator! Toiletries in the bathroom, everything you could want to cook or bake with, flour, sugar,oils, coffee, spices, and pots, pans and bake ware. Beds are so comfortable, actually the whole house is comfortable, and cozy. The view!! You are a ways away from the ocean, but you can still see it and hear it!! The days we were there was sunny and warm, was even alittle to hot sitting on deck in afternoon. There was such a feeling of peace in and out of the house, the 3 days we had was not enough. The pictures that Hawley has posted are exactly how this house looks. I would highly recommend this house, and communicating with Hawley was very easy and quick response to questions. She even called to see how we were enjoying our stay! Thanks Hawley! I would go back to Hedgegate House, but not sure if I will make it being as I'm in central Washington. I do know that my girlfriend is planning on going back, but she's only 3 1/2 hours away.
There are two bedrooms that give two couples privacy, and a loft with a trundle bed. The loft is probably suited for older children to young adults, because you have to climb a ladder to get to it.
You will not be disappointed with this house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Best Value at Sea Ranch Oceanside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392751vbi
5108417338
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Concord, CA
5

GOOD ENERGY, VERY RELAXING, PEACEFUL & PRIVATE!!!!

GOOD ENERGY, VERY RELAXING, PEACEFUL & PRIVATE!!!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My sister and I spent Mother's Day weekend at Hedgegate, and I can't tell you how awesome it was. The minute we walked in the door we felt a peacefulness that is hard to describe.

Hawley did a great job of describing everything and posting photos that portray "what you see is what you get". Everything was there to make your stay welcome, from the condiments and glassware in the kitchen to the "something you forgot" drawer in the bathroom. I don't think we have every felt so welcomed in a rental before.

Our favorite thing was the meadow right in front of the decks, where we saw a deer who appeared the next day too. There was a wonderful mild scent all around the property that reminded me of wild flowers, and the air was so clean and fresh with the ocean breezes.

We both agreed that the beds were the most comfortable we have ever experienced in a rental. My sister especially loved the kitchen and ice maker. She actually made a dinner for us, which has only happened one other time in our traditional Mother's Day adventures along the ocean.

Our Mother's Day brunch at the Sea Ranch Lodge was out of this world! The spread, not to mention the excellent food, service, ambience and views were more than spectacular. Thanks Hawley for your recommendation.

The town of Gualala if so quaint and just 4 miles from the house. There is a kitchen shop, clothes boutiques and a book shop; although Hawley has provided everything possible for entertainment in cd's, games and dvd's. Also, try the Surf Market, it has all you need for a barbee on the deck. It has a full butcher line of meats along with already made sandwiches and pastas. I highly recommend it.

People are worried about the drive, but really, it was not bad at all. Getting to Jenner was very easy from Benicia and the only issue for some might be the last 30 miles to Sea Ranch, as it is curvy, but there are also long stretches of straight roads that give you a break in between.

There is very easy access to beaches where you can drive, park and walk if you don't want to walk the 5 to 10 minutes from the house. This time we didn't walk but drove and walked less than 2 minutes to the beach front. Hubby and I are walkers, so we will be exploring the beaches by foot when I take him to Hedgegate for a second visit.

You have to visit this sacred place...it will take you away from all of the stresses of your life, even if for only 2 nights.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Best Value at Sea Ranch Oceanside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392751vbi
5108417338
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Sacramento, California
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The Hedgegate House at Sea Ranch is a wonderful find. We have just resturned from our second stay in this well-equipped, lovely home. The location is peaceful and surrounded with only views of nature at its best. The kithchen has everything needed to enjoy preparing meals while listening to music playing on the stereo and looking off into the ocean. The hot tub is perfect after hiking through the trails or along the coast taking in the beautiful sights. The magazines, books, games and puzzles are all there for guests to enjoy. Music CD's and an extensive video collection add to the options for renters to enjoy. The kids enjoy the privacy of the loft (and having their own tv). The adults enjoy the privacy of the bedrooms being separate from the family room. Everything was thought of making this place one you will long to return to again and again. Thanks Hawley for renting us your beautiful home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Best Value at Sea Ranch Oceanside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392751vbi
5108417338
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Reno, NV USA
5

Wonderful Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My family and I spent Thanksgiving week at The Hedgegate House and we couldnt have been happier. The home was clean and well equipped which made preparing Thanksgiving dinner a breeze. Hedgegate House is located near many trails and just a short walk to the beautiful cliffs of Sea Ranch. My kids especially enjoyed the long trail that is lined with tall trees which they nicknamed the jungle! The kids also enjoyed all of the games and movies that the home has to offer. The owner of the home is very nice and attentive and kept in touch with us through the whole process. In the end It really is all of the little things and thoughtful touches that make Hedgegate House such a great place to stay! We will be staying here again for sure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Best Value at Sea Ranch Oceanside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392751vbi
5108417338
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Washington, DC Metropolitan Area
5

Charming, comfortable and wonderful hot tub!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed four nights and loved every minute of it!
Hedgegate House is an exquisite home with every amenity and convenience you can think of -- and probably some you can't. The listing is completely accurate, and access was smooth and easy when we arrived. The loft, with its ladder access, would be perfect for younger kids.
Beautiful, clean, nicely furnished, and art everywhere! The art has come from all over the world, and clearly has been collected with care and great attention to detail. Best of all, it is everywhere -- brightening up small spaces and adding to the overall enchantment of this fine home and spectacular location -- Sea Ranch.
Wildlife really does abound here. In the front yard one morning there were 7 wild turkeys, quite large birds, pecking their way thru the grass and making a soft, gurgling sound. Under one of the large shrubs were 3 raccoons watching the turkeys. Many birds, most of which I could not name, flit about the trees, native grasses and bushes. There were a couple of very shy rabbits. On a walk along Pebble Beach, on the rocks to the north, were a hundred Harbor seals resting and playing and catching some rays that filtered thru the clouds and high fog.
This is not a location that features glitzy night life. There are a couple of restaurants nearby which offer good food, but nothing 5 star that we found. In Guala, about 5 miles north, we loved Bones Roadhouse, great BBQ, cold beer, the only thing missing was sawdust on the floor. Had we found Trinks sooner we would have probably eaten there at least once a day. The Twofish Bakery, actually in Sea Ranch, has stunning reviews on Yelp.com, so we went there. Sadly it was closed for 2 weeks during our stay; the owners actually took a holiday. We surely will try that next time.
Watching the breakers in their endless dance of energy, seafoam, and life is eternal and soothing. You know it will go on and on long after you return to the hurry and action of urban existence. Strolling the many paths at Sea Ranch offers long vistas and views of the cliffs and beaches and wildlife, and the most refreshing air in the world.
If you are looking for a wonderful home away from home that is peaceful and quiet to just get away and unwind, this is where you want to go. And I'll bet you'll find yourself wanting to stay just a little longer when it's time to leave.
We must come back, and sooner rather than later.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Best Value at Sea Ranch Oceanside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392751vbi
5108417338
Sea Ranch North Coast California
San Carlos, CA
5

Really enjoyed our stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My husband and I just spent a week at Hedgegate House and REALLY enjoyed our stay. It was comfortable, cozy, well-provisioned, relaxing, and exactly what we expected and wanted. It was an easy walk to the beach when we felt like the beach. Nice hikes around the property when we felt energetic. Or a relaxing sunset on the deck when we wanted that! Even the rain we had during our stay was welcome--the coast is gorgeous in the rain, and it was the perfect excuse to stay in and read or watch movies. I would recommend Hedgegate House to anyone wanting to stay in Sea Ranch, and we look forward to a return visit soon!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Best Value at Sea Ranch Oceanside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392751vbi
5108417338
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Oakland
5

Great Sea Ranch home and location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My two week stay at the Hedgegate House was very enjoyable. The house has everything you could want (and more) in a vacation home, including an ideal mid-Sea Ranch location, a wrap-around deck and a hot tub. For hiking fans, the home is close to both meadow and bluff trails. A large swimming and tennis facility is less than a mile away. The other outstanding feature is the private and wind-sheltered location at the end of a cul-de-sac The temperature on the rear deck was consistently about 5 degrees warmer than nearby meadow and bluff locations. The owner Hawley has done a wonderful job of thinking of everything a Sea Ranch visitor could want and is a pleasure to deal with. I highly recommend a stay at Hedgegate House!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Best Value at Sea Ranch Oceanside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392751vbi
5108417338
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Napa, California
5

Hedgegate House--Charming, relaxing, perfect location!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Spent a too short weekend with "the girls" at Hedgegate House. Every single one of us has wants to come back! Cannot recommend this property high enough!!!! Great amenities, beautiful casual furnishings, awesome view!
The home was immaculate inside and out, the furniture well placed for views and conversation, and the beds were superbly comfortable and roomy. The kitchen was so well stocked- not one, not two, but 8 cork screws-- we knew we were in the right place! Everyone wanted their turn to cook it was such a nice kitchen! Even the bathrooms are gorgeous and spacious The bedrooms are well placed from the other, so great spot for two vacationing couples and includes a spot for a couple of kids to have their own hideaway too! And so nice to be able to slip right into a bathroom from the hottub deck. The owner has taken the time to leave detailed instructions and label areas right down to the red, white and champagne glasses- so thoughtful and such a nice touch.
I've stayed in many beach houses over the years and Hedgegate is far and away the number one! Don't expect the same old tired "rental" property furniture or decor at this house-- it's a home, and obviously well loved and tended to! We felt as though we were staying at a friend's home, and not just any rental.
The beach is a short jaunt- but even if you are too lazy to make the 5 minute trek (don't be!!), the views from both decks are spectacular.
This property is simply perfect on every level!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! That is what it is all about for me-having others enjoy Hedgegate House as much as I do.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Best Value at Sea Ranch Oceanside
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392751vbi
5108417338
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Granite Bay, California
5

The Great Reviews Were Right!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Wonderful experience! Lovely home -- as warm and welcoming as the owner (who is not only warm, but very responsive). ! I agree with all previous reviews -- very comfortable home (loved the layout), wonderfully decorated with beautiful views and excellent use of outside space. We've been renting at Sea Ranch for years -- and traditionally come up one to two times a year. This house is more thoughtfully equipped for a renter than any we've seen. A wonderful value. We are already looking forward to our second visit to Hedgegate!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4