Middletown cabin rental - Front Entrance of private & secluded log house
Front Entrance of private & secluded log house
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Middletown Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

My father and I custom built this log house on the original spring house foundation from the early 1800's. The house is in the foot hills of the Maryland Mountains near world class golf resorts, ski resorts, shopping, antiquing, fantastic hiking, and some of the nation's most important historic battlefields. The cabin is all wood inside and out. It has a large stone fireplace, perfect for a romantic atmosphere on chilly nights, as well as a classic wood stove which can be used for cooking and baking in addition to heating the cabin. The bedrooms are actually open lofts with a catwalk connecting them to a central landing. The upstairs is open to the downstairs and leaves the cabin with a large spacious feeling. The beds are built in and each loft has a small seating area and a private balcony. There's a large deck off the back, overlooking the huge fenced yard and the neighboring horse fields.

The yard, complete with a custom dog house and play house, is perfect for children and pets. The back deck in the mornings can't be beat for sipping coffee and watching the horses as the dew burns off the fields. In the evening, the deck, with a view of the mountain skyline, is the perfect place to relax after the day's explorations.

Not only is this the perfect house for a private romantic retreat, it is the perfect launching pad for a small family or group of friends to tour the nearby battlefields, to go for hikes along the AT or through the numerous state and federal parks in the area, or to enjoy some world class golf. The cabin is very near historic battlefields such as Antietam, Monocacy, Gettysburg, and Harpers Ferry. Also nearby are gorgeous historic towns such as Boonsboro, Middletown, and Thurmont, and even downtown Frederick. Hiking trails as well as state and federal parks are everywhere.

Greenbriar State Park is great for swimming in the lake and picnics with the family. Gambrill State Park, at five minutes away, can't be beat for walking the dog with great vistas of the valley. There are at least five blazed trails of varying difficulty and length. If you like to ski, you'll find Whitetail, Liberty, and Round Top within thirty minutes drive! For golf it will be tough to choose between Beaver Creek, Musket Ridge, or Maryland National. There are great spas in nearby Middletown or Boonsboro and you can?t beat the shopping at the Hagerstown Prime Outlets, about 15 minutes away.

Come enjoy our cabin and find out all the amazing things this region has to offer. We're happy to provide tips, suggestions, and directions. We can't wait to have you stay! Kate & Joe.

PS See below the calendar for a link to more pictures. We have lots to show you.

There's a beautiful creek running through the property, as well as a small pond. Deer frequently graze in the woods around the stream.

South Mountain and others are clearly visible from the property and provide an excellent vista from the deck.

We've placed lots of good books and paperbacks in the cabin for chilling on the back deck and enjoying the peace and quiet. If you don't finish it, take it with you. If you finish one you've been enjoying (or have extras to clear out!) leave them for the next guest!

Pet Friendly: There's a LARGE fenced yard and a spring providing fresh drinking water at all times. There's also a big custom built dog house and play room for kids.

Kid Friendly: There's a playhouse in the yard and with all the fencing and decks, children can play without getting near the stream or street. It's very safe.

More Details
Hide Details

The house and log cabin in Middletown are nestled at the foot of South Mountain and surrounded by horse pastures and hiking trails. We spend all our time outdoors, on the trails when we are here (and not hip deep in renovations projects!) If you love being outside, enjoy visiting historic battlefields, like hiking and exploring or just going for a walk with your dogs, this is the place for you.

Kate Hopkins purchased this cabin in 2005

Joe and his father custom built this log cabin on the original spring house foundation of our historic farm. The spring is still running through the foundation and even helps to keep the house cool in the summer. The log house and our main house are located on 2.5 acres at the foot of South Mountain and surrounded by horse country, federal and state parks and historic battlefields. There’s even a creek running through the property with a bridge across to the original outhouse! We love being here and can’t wait to share it so you can all see what the mountains of Maryland have to offer.

The property is so peaceful and serene it is the perfect spot for a relaxing weekend or home base for exploring everything from the Appalachian Trail to Antietam Battlefield. The back deck in the mornings can’t be beat for sipping coffee and watching the horses as the dew burns off the fields. There’s a giant stone fireplace and a traditional wood stove for heat and atmosphere on chilly nights. The cabin is very near historic battlefields such as Antietam, Monocacy, Gettysburg, and Harpers Ferry. Also nearby are gorgeous historic towns such as Boonsboro, Middletown, and Thurmont, and even downtown Frederick. Washington DC and Baltimore are both less than an hour away and the MARC train stations in Frederick and Brunswick are both about 20 minutes away for an easy ride into DC for a day's sightseeing or work. Hiking trails, state and federal parks are everywhere. Gambrill State Park, at five minutes away, can’t be beat for walking the dog with great vistas of the valley. There are at least five blazed trails of varying difficulty and length. If you like to ski, you’ll find Whitetail, Liberty, and Round Top within thirty minutes drive!

27 Reviews of Property 392560 in Middletown, Maryland

Serene Log House Nestled Amongst MD & PA Historic Battlefields
average rating of 4.703704 based on 27 reviews
business
Serene Log House Nestled Amongst MD & PA Historic Battlefields
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392560
+1 (410) 703-8502
Middletown Maryland
5

Very relaxing get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I and two small dogs stayed for 17 days and loved it! Do not count on your GPS to find the location. We were just around the corner but very lost! Kate was available and helped us right away.The description of the property and the amenities are as described.The property was clean and well maintained. We used the location to go to Gettysburg and Antietam battle fields, but we also went into Fredrick and to the local wineries. For wifi we went to either the Boonsboro public library or to the one in Middletown. We also used The Main Cup in Middletown as a regular stop...breakfast, lunch, dinner, wifi. We truly enjoyed our stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Serene Log House Nestled Amongst MD & PA Historic Battlefields
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392560
+1 (410) 703-8502
Middletown Maryland
4

Getaway for two

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I must say we completely enjoyed our stay at this location. My boyfriend and I are in the hospitality industry so were constantly at work. This was the perfect getaway for us. It was very peaceful and relaxing. I was able to paint and he was able to play his guitar comfortably with no interruptions. The property is beautiful and intimate. It waa very clean and neat with candles laying throughout the living room. We planned on doing nothing while on this getaway but we did managed to visit the creamery which was cute. Safeway was minutes away which was great. I would definitely recommend this to others. Thank you for the stay :)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Serene Log House Nestled Amongst MD & PA Historic Battlefields
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392560
+1 (410) 703-8502
Middletown Maryland
5

Relaxing Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Thanks for the use of your cabin! We had a great time! Everything was wonderful. The fenced yard was great for pets. The cabin was cozy with nice decor and the kids loved the loft area (with supervision:)). We spent a day in Gettysburg and also tried out the One Cup Cafe in Middletown. A great fit for our family and we truly appreciated the flexibility with check out as we got in late Friday evening. Thanks again! ~Pittsburgh, PA Clan
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review. We enjoy hearing it! There are many kid friendly things to do in the area from Swimming in Greenbriar Lake to the Crystal Grottos Cavern nearby, or even hunting for crayfish in the creek. Please come back again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Serene Log House Nestled Amongst MD & PA Historic Battlefields
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392560
+1 (410) 703-8502
Middletown Maryland
Cary NC
5

Cabin Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We loved our stay in the cabin. The yard was fantastic and our dog loved it, though I recommend you check that the gate to the stairs in the big house is closed. I didn't and our escape artist took off down the road. Other than that, it was gorgeous!! The house was perfect for my husband and I. The beds were so comfortable. We both slept so well while we were there. It was relaxing and a great time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Serene Log House Nestled Amongst MD & PA Historic Battlefields
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392560
+1 (410) 703-8502
Middletown Maryland
Baltimore
4

Honeymoon Retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We had a great time at the cabin, it was just what my wife and I had in mind. We hiked the AT and got some great pictures. And the food at JB's was awesome! Thanks again...
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you had a great time! We have some folks that come every year for their honeymoon. Come back again Jason!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Serene Log House Nestled Amongst MD & PA Historic Battlefields
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392560
+1 (410) 703-8502
Middletown Maryland
Pittsburgh, PA
5

Perfect base for active history buffs

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
The cabin was the perfect base station for our running, mountain biking, hiking and history touring. Just as described. Delicious cold spring water. Beautiful stone fireplace that gives off nice heat. A few great places in the area: the Main Cup (used to be required stop for Main's Ice Cream) in Middletown, Hypnocoffee, Four Seasons Books and Mellow Moods Cafe and Juice Bar (great healthy choices) in Shepherdstown, Turn the Page Bookstore in Boonsboro, Old South Mountain Inn, JB Seafood for Maryland Crab Soup, Maryland Heights hike, Washington Monument on South Mountain, and Lebherz Olive Oil & Vinegar Emporium in Frederick. The cabin is ideally located to enjoy this beautiful part of the country. Thanks for making it available.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow! We love to hear what a great time our guest had at the cabin. That's a fantastic list of local activities to do and places to go. (We have a great list with driving directions and times in our reservation packet. Email us and we'll send it along.) Thanks again Jon, and come again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Serene Log House Nestled Amongst MD & PA Historic Battlefields
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392560
+1 (410) 703-8502
Middletown Maryland
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
5

Everything we hoped for

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The cabin is awesome, so much better than a hotel room. The driveway is an adventure but there's not much could be done about that. The "stairs" took some practice but we got the hang of it. The fireplace was one of the best things about our stay. It is pretty amazing that everything you need is built into such a small space. My wife and I think we could live there. If you are staying in the Frederick area this cabin is well worth the extra 10 minute drive. It will make your trip memorable.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We love hearing that our guests enjoyed their stay, thanks! Please come back again. A quick note about stairs and driveway: We try to let people know, the stairs are steep, given the tiny footprint of the cabin it was necessary or the stairs would take the whole space! Their perfectly manageable just quite a bit steeper than normal. The cabin is in a mountainous area and is down a steep drive, but the good news is your down the hill and screened from the road.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Serene Log House Nestled Amongst MD & PA Historic Battlefields
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392560
+1 (410) 703-8502
Middletown Maryland
Townsend, MA
4

Columbus Weekend

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Really enjoyed the weekend at the cabin! We spent most of Saturday visiting Antietam National Battlefield, which is only 10 - 15 minutes away, before leaving to attend our friends' 50th Wedding Annniversary Party in Emmitsburg. We spent Sunday visiting the Pry House and the Civil War Medical Museum in Frederick. Had a lovely dinner at the Main Cup in Middletown two evenings. Parking is a bit tricky in front of the cabin, but we got used to it. Overall a very nice stay!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Serene Log House Nestled Amongst MD & PA Historic Battlefields
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392560
+1 (410) 703-8502
Middletown Maryland
Washington DC
5

cozy cabin close to so much!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This cabin was the ideal spot to celebrate our anniversary and for a restful get-away spot still within easy driving distance of DC. The cabin itself was well-kept, clean and cozy. We enjoyed coffee outside on the deck in the mornings and warm fires in the fireplace at night. It was wonderful to be so close to many amenities (e.g., restaurants in downtown Middletown), parks and sight-seeing opportunities. We would love to return - if only we can get the grandparents to watch our kids for another weekend!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: As always we're so glad to hear our guests had a good time. We strive to make sure the cabin is well equipped, clean, comfortable, and cozy! Do come back again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Serene Log House Nestled Amongst MD & PA Historic Battlefields
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392560
+1 (410) 703-8502
Middletown Maryland
Washington, DC
5

Romantic Little Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The cabin is beautiful- gleaming wood, adorably quaint touches, cozy. The fireplace heats the cabin quickly and fills the air with a wonderful wood smoke smell and it's clean and tidy. It was the perfect base camp to explore the surrounding battlefields from and provided a quiet place to cook and eat dinner together. We had hoped that the cabin was a bit more secluded (it is right off the road and directly behind the owner's home), but this did not detract from our lovely stay. Thanks, Kate and Joe!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2