Urbanna house rental - View from the water of house and boat house
View from the water of house and boat house
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps14
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Urbanna House Rental Photos and Description
5 Bedrooms, 3+1/2 baths in house, 2 baths in pool house (Sleeps 14)

WATERFRONT, luxurious, 5 bedroom home with detached INDOOR Pool for your private use. Inclues Deck, Boathouse and Dock, on private 4 acre grounds. The house is filled with antiques, large furnished porches, and, of course, a hammock. Perfect for a family reunion or a retreat from the daily rat race.

Enjoy expansive waterviews from almost every room of this majestic house filled with antiques. Treat yourself to a kitchen filled with friends and home cooked meals in the newly renovated kitchen or indulge with the freshest of seafood in nearby restaurants in Urbanna proper and Kilmarnock--just minutes away. This newly renovated home is furnished to comfortably accommodate families up to 14 people. All bedrooms have private or semi-private baths, with more bathrooms in the pool house.

Sit on the grassy knoll with the cool water breezes, fish off the dock, enjoy a relaxing swim in the heated INDOOR pool, sunbathe on the deck, take the canoe for a quiet stroll along the river bank, or bring your own water vessel. MLW- 3 feet.

More Information: The quaint and quiet town of Urbanna and other local areas offer shopping, antiquing, art galleries, trendy shops, restaurants and more. www.Urbanna.com

Enjoy boating excursions as well as beautiful views from land or sea. Soak in all the Rappahannock River has to offer from seafood to boat rides! Sunset Marina located very nearby offers cruises and charters of all sorts. Captain Johnny Talley with LastOneCharters.com will pick you up right at our dock. www.fishlastone.com

SEE OUR WEBSITE FOR MORE PICTURES: www.JamesRossRiverPlantation.com

This quiet and relaxing retreat offers stunning sitings of Osprey, Bald Eagles and Great Blue Herons to name a few. Wildlife and water surround you on this peninsula of beauty. Bring your binoculars and restore yourself with the serenity that nature has to offer.

Why the Owner Chose Urbanna: The quaint and peaceful town of Urbanna is ideally located on some of the most awe-inspiring waterfront property. It is a vacation destination for travelers all over the east coast and well renowned for fishing and oysters as well. Come and Enjoy!

We are just 1 hour from Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown, Yorktown,Busch Gardens and only about 30 min from Gloucester, Deltaville, Irvnington, and Kilmarnock.

The Unique Benefits at this House: Retreat to this majestic 5 bedroom house surrounded on 3 sides by water, filled with antiques and stunning waterviews from almost every room-- a rare and fabulous find. Enjoy and Relax in the heated indoor pool, docks, screened porches, surrounded by family and friends. Some Time to cherish!

After enjoying this wonderful home with family and friends for several years, the owners have honored us with the opportunity to assist them in allowing others to enjoy the many wonderful amenities of this grand estate. You, too, will come to love the cool river breezes and serenity of watching the Osprey and Great Blue Herons along the rivers edge. Enjoy a canoe ride, or bring your own water vessel, and enjoy the playful Rappahannock with its beautiful views and fun-loving opportunities as well.

More Details
Hide Details

After enjoying this wonderful home with family and friends for several years, the owners have honored us with the opportunity to assist them in allowing others to enjoy the many wonderful amenities of this grand estate. You, too, will come to love the cool river breezes and serenity of watching the Osprey and Great Blue Herons along the rivers edge. Enjoy a canoe ride, or bring your own water vessel, and enjoy the playful Rappahannock with its beautiful views and fun-loving opportunities as well.

The quaint and peaceful town of Urbanna is ideally located on some of the most awe-inspiring waterfront property. It is a vacation destination for travelers all over the east coast and well renowned for fishing and oysters as well. Come and Enjoy!

We are just 1 hour from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens and only about 30 min from Gloucester, Deltaville and Kilmarnock.

21 Reviews of Property 392527 in Urbanna, Virginia

Waterfront with INDOOR pool-- luxurious & private RETREAT
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 21 reviews
business
Waterfront with INDOOR pool-- luxurious & private RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392527
Urbanna Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

"on a scale of 1-10 it was an 11"

"on a scale of 1-10 it was an 11"
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
I turned on the computer to write to you and there was your message to me! Just wanted to say thank you for the towels and all you did to make our visit perfect. (we are giving the kids goggles for Christmas in remembrance of their pool time there). Everyone who has asked me how the trip went gets the same answer : "on a scale of 1-10 it was an 11" I also tell them that as beautiful as the photos were on line, it even more wonderful in person. We were so relaxed that we never left for the week except for grocery runs. The children enjoyed scavenger hunts each day--swam--played with all the games we found!
business
Waterfront with INDOOR pool-- luxurious & private RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392527
Urbanna Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

The Perfect River Get-Away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Outdoors all day and cozy, comfortable evenings indoors. Great layout for entertaining with a well equipped kitchen. Fishing, boating, swimming and exploring...kids' paradise! The indoor pool is icing on the cake!
business
Waterfront with INDOOR pool-- luxurious & private RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392527
Urbanna Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

September 2013

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Yes Linda our stay was fabulous... Weather was perfect.... We really enjoyed ourselves and felt really safe in ur compound all locked up :-) we will spread the word about this spectacular property... A true gem
Thanks again
Jean
business
Waterfront with INDOOR pool-- luxurious & private RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392527
Urbanna Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
VA
1

Never return to this property

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The bathrooms are very dirty. Fleas visit you on your bed. The owner charged us for locksmith. However, she never gave us the key. and she didn't call locksmith when we reported her that bathroom door was locked. We had to go upstairs when we need to go to bathroom.
Owner's Response: The condition upon which you left the house was upsetting and thankfully unmatched by any previous guests. Our excellent cleaning crew was able to find all the "goodies" you left behind. We regret that you had to spend 1.5 days without one of the 2 bathrooms downstairs, but agree that it is best that you do not return to this property.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront with INDOOR pool-- luxurious & private RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392527
Urbanna Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our family had the most wonderful time at the James Ross River Plantation. It started in the morning as the adults grabbed a cup of coffee and met at the dock to watch the beautiful sunrise. At the same time, the grandchildren were getting their poles ready to go fishing. The house is beautiful and very accommodating. The boating was so peaceful and the indoor pool brought many hours of fun for the whole family. We would definitely recommend a stay at the James Ross River Plantation. You will leave with wonderful memories.
Owner's Response: Delighted to be a part of your special celebration! Thanks for your kind words. Linda
business
Waterfront with INDOOR pool-- luxurious & private RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392527
Urbanna Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Boalsburg, PA
5

Love this property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I took our children and grandchildren to James Ross River Plantation the first week of July 2013. This property is beautiful, we have rented other homes through VBRO for several years and this was by far the best. The property was very clean and well maintained. The house was large enough to hold all of our family. We have a grandson who has a wheelchair and we had no problems with accessibility.

The pool house is fabulous! There was an issue with the pool when we arrived but Chris, the pool man, had it fixed for us ASAP. Our grandsons wanted to be in the pool from sun up to sun down.

The property is secluded, so we didn't have to worry about seven little boys making too much noise. When they weren't swimming, they were fishing from the dock or playing in the large yard. I never heard any of them say that they were bored! The youngest boys enjoyed playing with their toys on the wrap-around sun porch. They also enjoyed taking walks on the property and spotting deer and turkeys.

We enjoyed meals around the large dining room table each night. The kitchen was well equipped and the gas grill was large enough to prepare food for our gang.

The town of Urbanna is just sweet. The kids enjoyed Bethpage Miniature Golf & Ice Creamery, just up the road from the house, and in town there are several shops and restaurants. We ordered pizza from Angelo’s Colonial Pizza the first night and my husband and I went to lunch at Virginia Street Café . You must order a piece of their French Silk Pie!!

I would highly recommend this property, we hope to stay there again. Linda (the owner) was great to deal with.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Pam, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your family, the property, and the specialness of the town of Urbanna. What a delightful review. Thank you for your wonderful advice to future renters. We certainly hope to have you back another time! Linda
business
Waterfront with INDOOR pool-- luxurious & private RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392527
Urbanna Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Chester, Va
5

one of our best vacation homes

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I have always been fortunate with homes chosen for vacation through the online process, but this home was the best so far. We found the home as described and more. The 1930's home was well cared for, decorated in period style and had space for all the family (Nana, Gdad, son and his large family). The pool house was fantastic and the children (10 in number) swam every day and even earned a night time swim. Having good weather for March allowed the family to be on the water almost every day, in the boat and canoe there at the property or in the kayaks we brought from home (only one rainy day!).
The owner answered our calls with questions right away and even arranged for a local person to check on the pool while we were there. I, also, had a good experience with the owner in arranging all the details. i took her advice and provide a list of ideas to make the next renter's experience better.
I have already given friends and family the longer version of this review and encouraged them to rent this property or take a look at this way of finding a rental property. We have been able to rent vacation property from Virginia to Florida without trouble or disappointment.
Urbanna is a good "walking about" town. We enjoyed browsing through the shops and took the whole family to Marshalls Drug for handmake ice cream floats, milkshakes and limeades. We spent only a little while in town because there were so many things to entertain at the house and pool. Our only rainy day found us at the National Museum of the Marine, also a great place to visit, especially for this x-military brat.
I cannot say enough good about this week in Urbanna and the James Ross River Plantation!
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed the house and pool! Thank you for the kind words about the lovely town of Urbanna, the house, pool and service. We will be pleased to have you return. Enjoy your spring!
Linda
business
Waterfront with INDOOR pool-- luxurious & private RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392527
Urbanna Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Minneapolis, MN
5

Gorgeous Property!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We enjoyed a wonderful visit to the James Ross River Plantation. We had a total of 14 guests from ages 6 to 70 and it was the perfect property to accommodate a large group comfortably. The pool house provided a fantastic activity for such a remote location. The dining room made meals a pleasure and the kitchen and laundry are an added bonus. The boys caught crabs, croakers, and drum off the dock and took a few turns in the row boat. Enjoyed watching the olympics on the 50" plasma and the wireless internet made keeping in touch a breeze! Took day trips to Williamsburg, Norfolk, Virginia Beach and Montpelier. Couldn't have asked for a better place to vacation.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Waterfront with INDOOR pool-- luxurious & private RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392527
Urbanna Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Warren, Ohio
5

James Ross River Plantation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
More than we expected! Six adults and four children all under the age of 4. The large house had plenty of room for us to all have our own space. The kids played with their toys on the wrap around enclosed porch and had a blast. Dinners were around the huge diningroom table and the kitchen had everything we needed. We loved the way the house was decorated with antiques. The property is beautiful and we were surrounded with stunning views of the boathouse and river. The pool was a big hit of course. We didn't have to worry about the kids getting sunburned because it was all enclosed. We spent most of our time on the property but there were many quaint little towns close by if you wanted to sightsee. Urbanna reminded me of Mayberry....the people so friendly and helpful. Very relaxing, quiet and private. We had a wonderful vacation! I would recommend this property...you won't be disappointed!
Owner's Response: Thank you Tamara! We loved having you all and hope to see you again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront with INDOOR pool-- luxurious & private RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392527
Urbanna Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Paris Landing ,Tn
5

Serenity!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The word "serene" kept coming up when I asked my family how they liked the house! We really enjoyed our week there! The pool was incredible! We will definitly consider returning.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Nothing's better than a little Heaven on Earth! So glad you enjoyed it. Hope to have you back next year! Linda