Lakeside house rental - Activities for everyone at this wonderful Harbor Country Location!
Activities for everyone at this wonderful Harbor Country Location!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Lakeside House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

Why choose ' Two Porches', Lakeside, MI?

1. Comfortably furnished in updated Harbour Country d├ęcor.

2. Spacious Master Suite features king bed and spa bath

3. Guest Suite with private porch

4. Second Floor loft, perfect for making childhood memories

5. Complimentary wireless internet

6. Family friendly, beautifully manicured private yard.

7. Access to several public beaches.

8. Linens, beach towels, chairs and toys provided

9. Shopping, dining, antiquing, boating, wineries and MORE.

10. Quiet, peaceful rest from every day hectic life only 1 1/2 hour from Chicago.

Keywords: rental house, luxury, family friendly, peaceful, getaway

17 Reviews of Property 392456 in Lakeside, Michigan

Activities for EVERYONE in wonderful Harbor Country
average rating of 4.8 based on 17 reviews
business
Activities for EVERYONE in wonderful Harbor Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392456vbi
708-256-5536
Lakeside Southwest Michigan
Ohio
3

Lovely Home

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
A lovely vacation home which was perfect for our family of nine. One caution: Be aware of possible undisclosed additional cleaning fees.There are no clearly outlined expectations for what the owner wants the renter to do upon departure. We have rented approximately 20 vacation homes and each had a helpful list of duties to complete, such as laundry, dishes, take out garbage, etc. and a clearly stated fee for not completing these duties. This wasn't the case for this property. I was very surprised to be notified by the owner that I would owe an additional cleaning fee which was not stated anywhere in the contract or in the home.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Activities for EVERYONE in wonderful Harbor Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392456vbi
708-256-5536
Lakeside Southwest Michigan
Palos Heights, IL
5

Wonderful, relaxing, family fun at Two Porches

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This house is amazing! Ten people from three generations and we were all very comfortable sleeping, preparing and eating meals, reading on the front porch, watching TV, playing cards and getting ready to walk down to the beach! The house is big enough so that you can be where the action is or spend a little alone time too. Everyone really loved the master bath shower! And having several people in our family with pet allergies, we really appreciate that pets and smoking are not allowed!

We ate at the usual places; Nani's Cafe (several times for breakfast and lunch), Blue Plate Cafe, Greenbush Brewery, Roadhouse, Stray Dog, Casey's, but the best cheeseburger was at the train museum in Hesseton, IN. Did a spa day w/the girls too! One rainy day we took the kids to the movies in Michigan City, IN which we realized is in a different time zone as we were the only one in the theater for almost an hour!

We'll be back in 2014!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are thrilled that you loved Two Porches as much as we do. Our time there has left us with many cherished memories and we are delighted to be able to share this with others who love it as well.
business
Activities for EVERYONE in wonderful Harbor Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392456vbi
708-256-5536
Lakeside Southwest Michigan
Northwest suburbs, Illinois
5

Great home for families with kids

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We stayed in Lakeside with our two children and another family with young children, and Two Porches really met our needs (close to the beach, convenient washer/dryer, nice warm outside shower, well-equipped kitchen, plenty of beds, short drive to shops and walking distance to a restaurant). The owner is accessible and helpful, and the house is very clean and well-kept. Our only "wish" is that the upstairs sleeping loft had window shades and/or more air circulation - it gets warm up there. But we plan to return, and would readily recommend this rental to others!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: So glad that your family enjoyed Two Porches as much as we do and we look forward to renting our home to your referrals. We agree that Two Porches is a great home for families with kids.
business
Activities for EVERYONE in wonderful Harbor Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392456vbi
708-256-5536
Lakeside Southwest Michigan
porter in
4

renter in june 13

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
we all enjoyed our stay at two porches. we had a few gliches when we arrived the internet and cable was out. we were able to access the email after a few days but the cable did not come on til thurs. It was only a problem because my mom and aunt are in their 80's and were not able to go to the beach.
The beach was wonderful clean and everyone was nice and respectful. The house is magnificent absolutely beautiful and large great for extended family. I would definetly reccommend this home to everyone. try the pumpernickel cafe food was wonderful oink for ice cream if you need groceries go to barneys in new buffalo extremely nice .The beach was not as close as I thought but I should have asked that question.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Activities for EVERYONE in wonderful Harbor Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392456vbi
708-256-5536
Lakeside Southwest Michigan
Beecher, IL
5

Peaceful, pleasant birthday retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Just returned from a relaxing stay at Two Porches for a 50th birthday party celebration with family and friends. The home is clean, bright, and airy. The open kitchen, dining, living area was a great place to stay in and cook together. Their two gas grills were handy for the outdoor cooking, while the spacious kitchen facilitated the other prep, and serving of our meal for 9. We enjoyed the front porch for lunch alfresco. The path to the beach is just down the lane, with a short walk down the road. The neighborhood is very quiet, so it was easy to unwind and relax in the evening. There is plenty of shopping, wine tasting, golf, and other activities to keep everyone in your group satisfied. I would recommend Two Porches for anyone looking for a great stay in the beach area of Michigan, but don't tell too many friends or it will be booked! It might have to become a Memorial Day tradition for our family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Activities for EVERYONE in wonderful Harbor Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392456vbi
708-256-5536
Lakeside Southwest Michigan
Orland Hills, IL
5

Chicago Gang Fun Tour 2

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We loved the house last year and came back for another stay this spring. Owners are very accomodating and easy to work with. This year it was a little chilly for the beach, but we enjoyed the wineries, casino, and outlet mall, all within a short drive. This year we had 11 adults. Did use an air mattress this time, but otherwise lots of room for fun and games. Do bring paper products, limited supply for a large group, and hand soap was limited to kitchen and one bathroom, so bring along extra. Lots of natural light. Will look forward to coming back.Thanks again LeeAnne for a lovely stay...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Activities for EVERYONE in wonderful Harbor Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392456vbi
708-256-5536
Lakeside Southwest Michigan
Chicago, IL
5

Great Weekend House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We had a great time here. Everything was well-kept and we all loved the open feeling provided by the vaulted ceiling. Short walk to the private beach that offers more than enough space and seclusion. We had eleven people stay here and did just fine. The twin beds were a bit stiff in my personal opinion, but those who slept on them didn't complain. Great back and front porches. All in all, great place and I'd recommend it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
Activities for EVERYONE in wonderful Harbor Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392456vbi
708-256-5536
Lakeside Southwest Michigan
Evanston,il.
5

perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We rented the house for a week: 2 young grandparents, daughter and husband, four children ranging from 4 to 10. When we walked in, everyone said "WOW"...and it was a wow from beginning to end. The house was immaculate, the beds comfortable, the kitchen well appointed and everything worked! Since we liked cooking our own meals, I appreciated finding a well stocked spice rack-very nice touch...The beach was lovely and easy to access. All four grandchildren loved sleeping in the loft upstairs and there was a real sense of private spaces in the house. And lastly, the owners were great about sharing information up front about the house and were available by phone when we had a question upon arrival. Great choice!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Ken and Renee we are so thrilled that you loved Two Porches as much as we do. We pride ourselves on sharing a lake house that is designed to make memories special in a location that can't be beat! We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Activities for EVERYONE in wonderful Harbor Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392456vbi
708-256-5536
Lakeside Southwest Michigan
Champaign, Illinois
5

Illinois visitor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
The owner was very responsive and easy to work with. Arrangements were easy to make, and checking in and out were simple. The renter was not required to do any cleaning upon departure. The kitchen, first floor space, and two porches are great. The master bedroom and bath are very large, and the other bedrooms are more than adequate.

The loft, which serves as the 4th bedroom, has 4 twin beds and would be good for a family with several children, as long as they are old enough to safely go up and down a spiral staircase. The only negative is that there is a big window in the gable of the loft and there are also skylights. Neither has curtains or shades, so morning arrives pretty early for those sleeping there. Also, the loft tends to get very warm in hot weather. The window and skylights do not open, so a fan has to be used to circulate the air and cool the loft down even when the air-conditioning is on.

The various amenities in the house are great. It is very well-equipped. All linens and towels are provided, as well as beach towels. Beach chairs and sports equipment are available. The house has Wi-Fi, but only a basic cable package. No ESPN, CNN, etc. There is a DVD player connected to the TV in the loft.

The beach is a five minute walk away, and is very nice. There is plenty of parking for cars at Two Porches. Between the front and back drives, 4 or 5 cars can be parked.

Overall, Two Porches is the nicest house that we have rented in the many years that we have vacationed in Southwest Michigan. We had to move up in size this year in order to accommodate our growing extended family. We certainly hope to return to Two Porches.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Activities for EVERYONE in wonderful Harbor Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392456vbi
708-256-5536
Lakeside Southwest Michigan
Homewood, IL
5

Amazing vacation location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
I had an amazing time at this property! I definately will recommend this to anyone! LeeAnne's home was beautiful and perfect for the 10 of us. A special thanks to LeeAnne for making my birthday wonderful. I will definately be visiting again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Erica - so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Two Porches and that all 10 of your guests enjoyed their stay as well. Lakeside is a special place and I am glad that you were able to create some special memories there. I look forward to having you as a guest again in the near future. Happy Birthday.