Carnelian Bay cabin rental - Lynwood Chalet - Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe
Lynwood Chalet - Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Carnelian Bay Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + game room, 3 Baths, hot tub (Sleeps 6-10)

This cabin is fun year-round!

Summer renters: Miles of trails in the Tahoe National Forest just out our back door! Less than a mile down the hill is beautiful Lake Tahoe and walk out our back door into one of the many hiking and biking trails including the Tahoe Rim Trail. A hot tub, BBQ & two large decks for outdoor dining & relaxation.

A short 5 - 10 minute drive will bring you to the Truckee River for rafting or tubing, to the coast guard station to launch a boat or to one of many public beaches. In 15 minutes you can be at Squaw, Alpine, Northstar or the casinos! Tahoe City is only 5 minutes away with fine dining and shopping.

Winter renters: Sled hill right out the back door. Cross country ski or snow shoe right into the trails of the Tahoe National Forest. Or, take a soak in the hot tub on the deck while star-gazing.

In 15 - 20 minutes you can be at Squaw, Alpine, Northstar or the casinos! Tahoe City is only 5 minutes away with fine dining and shopping.

Updated 3 bedroom, 3 bath A-frame cabin with a bonus game room. Newer slate fireplace and entry, gas fireplace is thermostat controlled and we have a newer central heat so you will be cozy! Two new flat panel TVs, cable and DVD/VHS as well and WiFi and two radios/CD playerS and ipod player/clock radio. New furniture and linens throughout. So many kitchen utensils and appliances: roasting pan, griddle, espresso machine, coffee maker, toaster, humidifier, iron/board, etc. Free high speed internet access and Wi-fi.

The game room will be a hit with your party! Foos ball, electronic darts including a fun 'talk back' mode. The kids will enjoy the games, toys, play kitchen, movies and books. The adults will enjoy a wide selection of games, books and movies as well. Cable TV/DVD/VHS in the game room. It also boasts a double sofa bed along with 2 single fold out futons and a brand new full bathroom along with its own exterior door and window to the back yard.

Keywords: Chalet, Home, House, Rental, Vacation, Tahoe, snow, Lake Tahoe, cabin, Ski, ATV, OHV, North Shore, sled, snow shoe, cross country, X country, game room, foosball, darts, family and kid friendly, children, snow mobile, boat, lake, beach, hike, bike, trails, forest, hot tub, decks, BBQ, sled run, sledding, child, children

More Details
Hide Details

We are a family of four who dreamed of owning a home in Tahoe. Our dream came true when the housing market declined and we could afford this cozy cabin in such a perfect location. We try to visit once a month and more often in summer. We are continually adding new furniture, electronics, etc. We want it perfect for our visits and your visits! Our children are 9 and 12 so all of their toys end up in our game room for your children to enjoy. We have cars, dolls, kitchen toys, games, tinkertoys and more. We are so excited every time we get to visit this fantastic cabin and are happy to share our favorite activities and restaurants with you. Just ask! Nana and Aunti E are pictured with the kids.

Kelly purchased this cabin in 2008

We fell in love with the beautiful, peaceful neighborhood, wide streets (nice when the streets are full of snow and plows!) and quiet location next to the forest. It was important for us to be close to all of the great beaches as well as the major ski resorts like Squaw, Alpine Meadows and Northstar. This is a quiet neighborhood surrounded by nice, large homes. When we saw that this house had a bonus room downstairs we knew instantly that we would bring up the foos ball table and make that the most fun room in the cabin. It is a favorite. The kids will disappear down there in the evenings and never come out...except to eat! We even added a full bath to the game room and a door to the backyard so they really never have to come out:-) It makes it nice when the kids have their own space and the adults can lounge in the living room or decks on their own. The clincher was knowing we had thousands of acres of forest in our back yard including dozens of trails - even an Off Highway Vehicle trail as our son loves to ride ATVs. Luckily, the OHV trails start at the end of our block so it is a quick walk to get to it but that trail does not run directly behind our house so we never hear the noise of the ATVs and dirt bikes on that trail. The trails we do have behind our house are for hiking and biking and occassionally you will see horseback riders. It is perfect for snow-shoeing and cross country skiing in winter. It is fun to go out in the fresh snow in the morning and see all of the animal tracks from the night before. We love walking the neighborhood and enjoying all of the lake views in our area. Fulton Crescent is a great street to watch the sunset colors over the lake. And, we are hoping we might get a lake 'peek' view from our front yard and deck soon as some of the trees are getting removed to make the area more fire safe!! It is a short drive to the lake...which is our favorite spot to hang out in the summer.

Fantastic hill in the backyard makes a great sled run in the winter. Or in the summer you can hike and bike right out the back door to the trails. The Off Highway Vehicle trail is just at the end of the block. We love all of the summer area activities as well such as Farmer's Markets, free concerts on the beach, Truckee street fair, Shakespeare festival, and more. Pick up a free Tahoe paper to see all of the options available.

24 Reviews of Property 318252 in Carnelian Bay, California

Sled hill & forest in back yard for GREAT XC/snowshoe & HOT TUB! Near Lake Tahoe
average rating of 4.9565215 based on 24 reviews
business
Sled hill & forest in back yard for GREAT XC/snowshoe & HOT TUB! Near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318252vbi
(916) 616-7471 (California, USA)
Carnelian Bay Lake Tahoe North Shore
4

Huge Backyard

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The house is great. Typical level of funky for a Tahoe house, but the owners have taken the time to make it very comfy, usable and child friendly. The Game room downstairs is excellent and the kids spent plenty of time down there. Our favorite part of this location is that it borders the National Forest. While we were there in winter, I'm very familiar with the mountain biking and hiking trails right out the back door and they are some of the best anywhere! We're excited to come back in the summer.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review! We look forward to having you back in summer for the hiking and biking and sunshine!
business
Sled hill & forest in back yard for GREAT XC/snowshoe & HOT TUB! Near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318252vbi
(916) 616-7471 (California, USA)
Carnelian Bay Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

Perfect for kids

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
When you drag little kids out to Tahoe for snow play, it's all too easy to end up in a situation where you're doing more schlepping back and forth to the play zone then playing. Not so with this rental. The owners are sitting on the perfect location for little kids to enjoy the snow - no driving required. Just pop open the back door, grab a sled, and you are in business on the hill in the back yard.

When the kids are tired, or better yet, asleep, you can sit in the hot tub on the deck, enjoy great a great, private view, and try to catch snowflakes in your mouth. I barely scratched the surface of what is available right outside the door, but I know I'll be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow, Thanks for the lovely and perfectly-stated review. We bought the cabin a few years back when our kids were just 7 and 10 because we loved the sled hill and freedom it gave our kids...and the freedom it gave us as parents :-) Looking forward to your next visit :-)
business
Sled hill & forest in back yard for GREAT XC/snowshoe & HOT TUB! Near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318252vbi
(916) 616-7471 (California, USA)
Carnelian Bay Lake Tahoe North Shore
Carmichael, Ca
5

Perfect location and cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We arrived the weekend of Labor Day. After a long ride to Tahoe, we were excited to get our vacation started. The cabin was exactly what we were looking for. We were close to Tahoe City and to Kings Beach. The hot tub was exactly what we needed after a long drive. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped. We felt right at home. The owner was easy to work with and before we left sent us information regarding events that were happening in Tahoe City. When we didn't feel like cooking there were lots of restaurant to pick from close by. On Sunday night, we sat on the porch and watched the fireworks from Kings Beach. We can't wait to go back! Perfect vacation.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sled hill & forest in back yard for GREAT XC/snowshoe & HOT TUB! Near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318252vbi
(916) 616-7471 (California, USA)
Carnelian Bay Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

summer vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our family of six adults had a wonderful time at Lynwood Chalet! It was incredibly well appointed with everything we could possibly need, and everything was in good condition, right down to the espresso machine. Our favorite amenities were the two big, beautiful decks where we spent most of our time, and the hot tub. We loved the quiet neighborhood and the beautiful forest right behind the cabin. The owner made everything very easy with great directions and prompt replies to emails. This was the best VRBO experience we have had and we hope to return to Lake Tahoe and Lynwood Chalet again soon. It was perfect!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sled hill & forest in back yard for GREAT XC/snowshoe & HOT TUB! Near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318252vbi
(916) 616-7471 (California, USA)
Carnelian Bay Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

Great location, clean and friendly owner!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
It was our first time visiting Tahoe - we'll be back! Lynwood Chalet is centrally located with access to grocery, beach, hiking and restaurants. The trails behind the home are great for running - very peaceful. The cabin was spotless and well equipped...and the owner was easy to work with and very responsive. The bathrooms are a bit small - but, the only slightly negative comment that comes to mind.
Definitely recommend!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sled hill & forest in back yard for GREAT XC/snowshoe & HOT TUB! Near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318252vbi
(916) 616-7471 (California, USA)
Carnelian Bay Lake Tahoe North Shore
Lodi, CA
5

Lake Tahoe Fun!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We truly enjoyed our fabulous weekend in your cabin! The key points my kids enjoyed were the playroom (of which they loved the stairs down! Go figures, right??), the wonderful relaxing spa, and third the room with a T.V. upstairs where the giggled until eventually falling asleep!! Most of all my fellow award winning cook and her wanna be side kick tore it up in that wonderful kitchen! Kudos to this great place. You will definitely see us back again soon! Thanks for all the great memories!!!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sled hill & forest in back yard for GREAT XC/snowshoe & HOT TUB! Near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318252vbi
(916) 616-7471 (California, USA)
Carnelian Bay Lake Tahoe North Shore
5

Great cabin, ample sleeping space, plenty of parking!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We came for skiing in early March in a group of 8. There were plenty of bathrooms and lots of sleeping space, especially for the value. We were also able to park 3 large cars in the loop driveway. Place was clean and had plenty of amenities (hot tub, foosball table, fun basement, espresso maker). Owners were extremely responsive. Living room was cozy but fun!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Hi Wayne - Thanks for the great comments. Come back and visit us again soon! Kelly
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sled hill & forest in back yard for GREAT XC/snowshoe & HOT TUB! Near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318252vbi
(916) 616-7471 (California, USA)
Carnelian Bay Lake Tahoe North Shore
Bay Area
5

A wonderful family getaway....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The Chalet has it all. A sled run, hiking in Tahoe National Forest, a Jacuzzi under the stars, every comfort you could want, and 5 minutes from town. The playroom is wonderful-our kids moved in for the whole week. We will be back!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Tom, Glad you and your family had such a great time. And thanks for sending me the picture of the bear you saw! We already have your 2014 dates booked. The Chalet looks forward to having you all back again.
Kelly
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sled hill & forest in back yard for GREAT XC/snowshoe & HOT TUB! Near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318252vbi
(916) 616-7471 (California, USA)
Carnelian Bay Lake Tahoe North Shore
Elk Grove, CA
5

Fun, Fun, Fun!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My family and extended family had a wonderful time at Lynwood cabin. The cabin was in a spectacular location. Grandma enjoyed the cozy fire and cable TV, while the kids (6 - 12) and I headed out into the backyard for hours and hours of winter exploration and sledding. The cabin is very roomy and had all amenities we could ask for. The kids loved the room downstairs and if they weren't sledding, they were down there playing. Will definitely visit again!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Damon, I am so glad everyone had a great time - from the little ones up to Grandma! Next time you can visit in the summer and enjoy the lake and the hiking and biking.
~Kelly
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Sled hill & forest in back yard for GREAT XC/snowshoe & HOT TUB! Near Lake Tahoe
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p318252vbi
(916) 616-7471 (California, USA)
Carnelian Bay Lake Tahoe North Shore
Oakland
5

The perfect cozy Tahoe cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
My friends and I really enjoyed this place and definitely want to go back next time we're Tahoe-bound. The rental process was smooth, and the place was perfect! Thanks for a great weekend!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Rachel, Thanks for your nice review. I am so happy you all had a great time and we look forward to having you back for a visit.
~Kelly
Helpful votes: 1/1