New Orleans house rental - Open floor plans allows for cozy gatherings
Open floor plans allows for cozy gatherings
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

New Orleans House Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Den, and Living room, Sleeps 4

Nestled in the Riverbend section of Uptown New Orleans, this little gem of a home sits half a block from Historic Oak street. Whether at full-tilt during the Oak Street Po-Boy Festival, just coming to life on weekend mornings with crowds seated outside the Oak Street Cafe for fresh homemade doughnuts and live Jazz, or past sunset when crowds at the ever-popular Jacque Imo's and Maple Leaf Bar spill out on to the sidewalk, there's always something going on. This 1 BR/1 Bath, originally built in the 20's has been fully restored to it's original grandeur with a mix of the historic and the modern. With a minimalist touch and attention to detail, you'll enjoy an open floor plan living room and a beautifully appointed kitchen. The den offers Flat screen TV, Wi-Fi internet, and a queen sized sofa bed. The bedroom features a queen sized bed, full-closet and a screened-in porch with adirondack chairs for star gazing. Soak in the jacuzzi bathtub after a long day of sight seeing.

Other Activities: Swamp tours, French Quarter Tour, Cemetary Tours, Walking, Jogging, Bicycling and Horseback riding on the Mississippi River Levee 2 blocks away, Audubon Park, Audubon Zoo. You'll enjoy your stay from start to finish.

GOOD EATS!: Camelia Grille, Jacque Imo's, Maple Leaf Bar, Ninja Sushi, Rue De La Course, Oak Bar, Curry Corner, Mona's Mediterranean, Oak Street Cafe, Sno Balls, Lebenon Cafe, Cafe Greneda, Panchito's Mexican, Little Tokyo, Saltwater Grille, O'Henry's, Brigsten's, Matt and Naddies, Dante's Kitchen, China Orchid, Hana, Cold Stone Creamery, Cooter Brown's Oyster Bar, New Orleans Daiquiri, Le Madelaine, Lousiana Pizza Kitchen to name a few...all within a quick 10 minute walk!

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 392275 in New Orleans, Louisiana

Oak St. Charmer 'Bon Temps' Entire Home 1BR/1BA 1100 Sqft Sleeps 4
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 13 reviews
business
Oak St. Charmer 'Bon Temps' Entire Home 1BR/1BA 1100 Sqft Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392275
New Orleans Louisiana
5

FELT LIKE HOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This displaced NOLA Girl loved being back home for Christmas. Every time we opened the door, it seemed as though we were opening the door to our home. Safe, wonderful neighborhood and location. Steps from anything you want or need. Being able to spend Christmas with family and friends - including our dogs - was amazing. The house is clean and neat; the bed was very comfy and the fenced yard was great for the dogs. Dining table can accommodate 4 and with the gate-leg table added, we enjoyed a dinner party of 8 (with a few borrowed chairs). My brother and his wife were able to avail themselves of the sofa sleeper one night. Perfect! Will definitely come back to this one.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Heather S.,

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Seems like you made the most of your time back in NOLA. Oak St. is a great location, and the Bon Temps is particularly comfortable; great for entertaining and can accommodate a group. Hope you'll stay with us again soon! We love return guests and gladly offer a 10% discount during Non-Peak seasons. You definitely need to check out the Oak Street Po-Boy Fest. It's get's bigger every year and at the Bon Temps it's literally right outside your front door.

Take care and we look forward to hosting you again!
business
Oak St. Charmer 'Bon Temps' Entire Home 1BR/1BA 1100 Sqft Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392275
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Fantastic Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Had the pleasure of staying at the Bon Temps house Oct 27-Nov 10. The house was exactly as described in the HomeAway details. When we arrived the house was very clean and waiting on us. The location of the house is excellent if your looking for a quite and peaceful place. There are many places within walking distance to the house, Oak Street Cafe, Shops, Squeal's BBQ, Etc.... The drive to Bourbon Street, French Quarters, Museums, Etc is only about 10-15 minutes. Screened in back porch is great for morning coffee and evening cocktails. The fenced in back yard was a huge bonus for us as we were traveling with our dog so he was able to enjoy his vacation as well chasing the birds and squirrels and on occasion the neighbors cat. (Hope the neighbor doesn't see this) If you are looking for a very reasonably priced get away you won't be disappointed. We will definitely stay here again....

Robert & Karen
(Mountains of North Carolina)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oak St. Charmer 'Bon Temps' Entire Home 1BR/1BA 1100 Sqft Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392275
New Orleans Louisiana
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
4

Excellent stay in New Orleans

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Such a cute home! I pulled up after a long flight and there was a tiny bit of confusion about which was the right house as two had the same address, but thankfully, my boyfriend had already arrived and came out to meet me. Very chic and updated decor and thoughtful touches like a goodie basket and menus to local spots made it feel very welcoming. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the shower was amazing! Good water pressure is sometimes a rarity, so I appreciated it. Also, having a washer and dryer was convenient as we got caught in the rain a couple times and were able to have more clean, dry clothes. We had a problem getting the tv to work, but the owner responded immediately and we had no problems after that. It was a bit of a trek to the hot spots and the street car was under construction, so we ended up spending more on taxis than we thought, but there are so many awesome restaurants within a couple of blocks (highly recommend jacque-imos at the end of the block...I could have eaten there every night!) that we didn't have to go far.
The only downside was the back porch wasn't as nice as I'd hoped. A little moldy, a little small and no landscaping to make it inviting.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Oak St. Charmer 'Bon Temps' Entire Home 1BR/1BA 1100 Sqft Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392275
New Orleans Louisiana
Lafayette, LA
5

Mona from Lafayette

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
Great stay in New Orleans! I have been trying to stay away from downtown and enjoy other parts of the great city. My husband and I both enjoyed the area around oak street. My husband really enjoyed the Oak Street Cafe. The rental was clean and just as described. I would definitely stay there on another visit to the big easy and would recommend it to others.
business
Oak St. Charmer 'Bon Temps' Entire Home 1BR/1BA 1100 Sqft Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392275
New Orleans Louisiana
Lafayette, LA
5

Mona from Lafayette

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
my husband and I had a great stay, we used to always stay downtown but we have been staying in different areas of the city to enjoy everything about New Orleans. I loved the oak street area and i think my husband enjoyed The Oak Street Cafe the best. The house was clean, well maintained and was just as described. i would stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
business
Oak St. Charmer 'Bon Temps' Entire Home 1BR/1BA 1100 Sqft Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392275
New Orleans Louisiana
Denver, CO
4

Cute House.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My husband and I came to New Orleans for NCAA Final Four. There were no surprises with the Bon Temps property. The house is as adorable as the pictures indicate, is well taken care of, and is clean. The screened in porch is nice in the evenings, and the yard would be great if you brought your dog along with you. It is a little noisy - the houses are very close together with fairly thin walls (or windows?) and I did wake up a number of times over the weekend, in the wee hours of the morning, to the sound of small parties next door. The neighborhood was ok - it won't be my first choice of areas to stay if I go back, but if this is the area that you want to stay in, then this is a great house.

The St Charles Streetcar is within easy walking distance, although they are currently doing repairs, and we found ourselves walking all the way to the Riverbend station, as the Carrollton leg of it was closed during the days for construction. Even with the streetcar running in the area, I wouldn't stay here without a rental car. It's a bit too far away from things to rely solely on public transportation.

There are some great restaurants pretty close to this house. My husband is highly allergic to gluten, so we were a little worried about finding safe food in New Orleans, but we had great luck with it. We had the chance to try Cowbell, which had fantastic food and a country-hipster sort of atmosphere. Squeal has very good bbq and is just across the street. If you can drive a few minutes over to the Garden District, try Superior Seafood - the charbroiled oysters were amazing, as was everything else. We also had breakfast on our way out at the Oak Street Cafe and that was tasty as well. There just wasn't enough time for everything in such a short trip!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oak St. Charmer 'Bon Temps' Entire Home 1BR/1BA 1100 Sqft Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392275
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Oak St. Charmer 'Bon Temps'

Oak St. Charmer 'Bon Temps'
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
This house is the perfect place to stay if you want a great location with easy access to transportation, great restaurants and a real feeling of life in The Big Easy! It was so quiet and comfortable and the off-street parking was a real benefit. I have been to New Orleans many times, and this is a real gem. Plus...the jacuzzi tub is worth it all after long days of walking around the wonderful attractions that the City has to offer! The photos and descriptions are quite accurate and the house was very well-maintained. The owner was most helpful and I would highly recommend this house to anyone!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oak St. Charmer 'Bon Temps' Entire Home 1BR/1BA 1100 Sqft Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392275
New Orleans Louisiana
Cocoa, FL
5

New Years in NOLA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We brought in 2012 staying at Bon Temps for the weekend. The house was great and had everything you could possibly need. I loved being able to walk to Oak St. and visit the restaurants and bars (some of the best in the city). We usually stay in the Quarter and venture out to other parts of the city to take a break. Staying here was a much better decision with the Quarter being a close drive or taxi ride away. I will always look to stay here on future trips.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oak St. Charmer 'Bon Temps' Entire Home 1BR/1BA 1100 Sqft Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392275
New Orleans Louisiana
Eagle Point, Or
5

Your review requirements are silly

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Nice convenient and practical location. Landlady especially courteous. House is clean and just the right size for two people. Bed could be bigger but not a deterrent. I will return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Oak St. Charmer 'Bon Temps' Entire Home 1BR/1BA 1100 Sqft Sleeps 4
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p392275
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Very professional

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
I rented and paid for this house and then become unsure about the transaction and wondered if this was a scam as I started to read about many internet scams and home rentals. I contacted Lenora with my concerns, and she refunded my money within a few hours of my contact. She is very professional and a pleasure to deal with. I am definitely keeping this home in mind for the future.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/3