:( Never again!
As very, very, very seasoned travelers, who also own a rental property in the Gulf area, we love to do family vacations and always look forward to them. Since we had never explored the Myrtle Beach area, we decided to do so for our 2013 Spring Break. Communication with the owners was fantastic, they were very responsive; but that was the only positive about this vacation... By our second full day, we were all ready to leave!
The rental property (19th floor Penthouse) was located in what once must have been a nice resort, yet certainly at least 30 years outdated.
Our thoughts of the property were:
- Upon opening the front door, a strange smell 'hit' us, which we eventually decided it was due to the age of the property.
- Both sofa and love seat stunk like urine, to the point that we had to cover them with bedsheets in order to use them.
- The partial ocean view was disturbed by the ugliness of all the buildings crammed together.
- Although the rental unit was a non-smoking property, it felt as everyone on the hallways, porches, and elevators were smoking; a smell that seems to consume you.
- The guests definitely favor alcohol in mass quantity because there were intoxicated people at the pool, the beach, the parking lot, the elevator, the hallway... everywhere! Which comes at the cost of people being rude, obnotious, loud at all hours of the evening, even when you are trying to sleep (and I mean pass midnight).
- The unit's instructions specifically said not to bring toilet paper, that it was provided; yet both bathrooms were out within a few hours of arrival.
- The unit's instructions were very specific about ways to maintain the rental clean, yet no supplies were provided (no problem, we went and purchased our own, as I had to sterilize the place before I would allow my family to use it).
- One of our most important questions was whether or not the rental included access to the Fitness Room, which we were told it did. Unfortunately the Fitness Roon is only to be used by people that have reservations in the "Resort Hotel", not people that rent from independent owners. Nonetheless we managed to get in the Fitness Room once, to find out that the machines were as archaic as the resort, rusted, outdated, broken, unusable.
Our thoughts of the area were:
- It definitely tends to the masses, which obviously attracts a different crowd...
- Restaurants were very abundant, but again, for the quantity, not for the quality :(
- Everything was very run down.
Owner's Response: As homeowners who are proud of our condo and have never received a bad review, we were very disheartented to read this. We lived in the condo all winter (as we do every year) and departed the day prior to your arrival. We were surpised to read about the issues mentioned as we did not have the same experience. That being said, your feedback is appreciated and we have acted immediately to have the problems within our control remedied ASAP. The sofas were professionally cleaned today (March 22, 2013). We also followed up with the cleaning crew to ensure they leave more toilet paper for our Guests. We are truly sorry you had a bad experience.
Clark and Linda
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?