Chocolate Hole cottage rental - The cottage
The cottage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Chocolate Hole Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Sweet, simple, and affordable, Stone Post Cottage is as perfect for a serene solo getaway as it is for a dreamy honeymoon. The detached stone building contains a bathroom, a private deck, and a bed/sitting room with a queen-sized bed and a wine refrigerator, a toaster oven, and a Mr. Coffee and/or electric tea kettle. Be a welcome guest at SPC. Enjoy lovely views in every direction from sunrise to sunset. Stroll ever-changing, extensive tropical gardens designed to be especially attractive to butterflies and hummingbirds. Relax midst charming, comfortable furnishings indoors and out. Cruz Bay shopping & restaurants are a convenient, easy 5 minute drive away. Beyond the tiny town an island of fabulous beaches and hiking trails awaits. Return to the sunset view of St. Thomas from your private deck, the beautiful lap pool with complimentary Pool Pilates Wednesday and Friday, and the pool deck gazebo with a wonderful view of Hart Bay. Amenities include air conditioning, Wi-Fi Internet access, cable TV/DVD player, beach towels, beach chairs, coolers, floats for the pool, a Thermo-Spa hot tub, and a gas grill with burner. NEW THIS YEAR and for your exclusive use while in residence is the pool deck bar with fridge/freezer, microwave oven, and sink.

Keywords:

More Details
Hide Details

An avid gardener for most of my life I began to become fascinated with the notion of a tropical garden. For a while I thought adding a wonderful greenhouse to my Connecticut home would satisfy that desire but when I had the chance to actually attempt a garden in the tropics I took it - I hope I have the chance to spend the rest of my life editing and sharing a tropical garden.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2002

I chose St. John because it is a Caribbean destination that is easy to get to and from for family and friends as well as myself and because it is American so while there are adjustments aplenty the language, the money, and the laws are familiar - mostly!

I love to go out in the evening and am so happy I don't have to give a thought to the drive home on this hilly complicated island because I am so close to town. My land is less hilly than most and so I can truly be indoors and out all day - most welcome is some time in the pool followed by a relaxing 15 minutes in the hot tub. My convenient location means I can pick up BBQ at Uncle Joe's or pizza at da Livio and bring it back to my pool deck where family and I dine while the local avian chorus serenades us.

8 Reviews of Property 391011 in Chocolate Hole, Virgin Islands

Conveniently Located Charming Cottage Has Ocean Views and Pool
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Conveniently Located Charming Cottage Has Ocean Views and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p391011vbi
340 715 1679
Chocolate Hole St John
5

Best place ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Very nice place , pictures and description don't do enough for this rental, very romantic and private. Property owner is a wonderful person who really knows how to make you feel right at home and put a lot of thought in the design and property layout, you'll have a hard time leaving this place behind to go home, it will feel like your leaving home behind you
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Conveniently Located Charming Cottage Has Ocean Views and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p391011vbi
340 715 1679
Chocolate Hole St John
NJ
5

One word: Perfect.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
First of all, the stone post cottage, itself, is an adorable 1 bedroom cottage PERFECT for a couple - immaculately clean, with a beautiful updated bathroom and cute porch, with great view, to enjoy mornings and sunsets on (and a rainbow or 2 if you're lucky). A/C is available in the room (not necessary though if you enjoy sleeping with the cross winds cooling you off at night), a small fridge for some cocktail ingredients, coffee-maker, toaster and blender were also available in the room. A couple beach towels were provided and the bathroom towels were thick, fresh and great after taking a shower under the tile and stone lined shower! The cottage also has an equipment room a level below the living area, next to the outdoor shower (great to get the sand off as the sun's setting) which has some different size coolers, beach chairs and assorted snorkeling gear for your trips to Waterlemon and other great snorkeling spots! Outside of the cottage you will find a hot-tub perfect for star gazing in and a pool perfect for a quick lap or 2. The grounds of the SPC are filled with beautiful plants, bushes, flowers and trees that the hummingbirds and butterflies love to hang out in (bring your zoom lens!) The location of the cottage is ideal - walking distance to the Westin (just 1 little hill to get up) and a very quick drive to/from Cruz Bay. If you're beach hopping, don't worry, it's a quick drive to all the north side beaches after you've driven through town. Margaret, the care-taker, is an incredibly accommodating, helpful, and just overall great person that knows the island well! She had greeted us at the car barge port and led us directly to the cottage (no need for directions!). A bottle of wine, cheese and assorted fruit was waiting for us as we arrived inside :) As far the the island of St. John - it is picture-perfect and the ONLY negative I can think of the entire trip is that the food on the island (both in restaurants and in grocery stores) is VERY pricey... but hey, it's vacation! In summary, my wife and I can't wait to return to St. John and the cottage! Stay young!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Conveniently Located Charming Cottage Has Ocean Views and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p391011vbi
340 715 1679
Chocolate Hole St John
NY
5

Heaven on Earth and Sea

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
My memory often floats back to this beautifully sited cottage. I've stayed here a few times and I have to pinch myself each time over the beauty and serenity. The cottage is comfortable, immaculate, and induces a sense of peace and well-being as soon as you enter. I especially love the luxurious shower! Imagine taking in pleasing views of the sea while rinsing off after a perfect day at your favorite beach. Another nod to the sublime is the immediate setting. Gorgeous gardens and an inviting pool beckon. I always love a quick dip under the stars and moon to cap off an enchanted day. It all happens here at Chocolate Hole.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: St. John is endlessly wonderful. It is a true joy to hear that staying at Stone Post Cottage makes a special place so very extra special for my guests. Thanks for your lovely comments. I hope to see you back soon.
business
Conveniently Located Charming Cottage Has Ocean Views and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p391011vbi
340 715 1679
Chocolate Hole St John
md
5

Totally in touch with nature

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2011
This is the place to stay if you want to get in touch with nature while residing in a charming cottage. The setting is totally idyllic. The cottage sits on top of a hillside overlooking the bay, surrounded by a beautiful garden, which is a combination of tropical and desert vegetation. I loved seeing the hummingbirds flying through the garden. The cottage has the flavor of an English cottage with all the comforts of home. Best of all, after returning from the beach each day, we were able to relax on our porch, barbecue our dinner, take a swim in the pool, and then soak in the hot tub under the stars. I am looking forward to staying there next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Conveniently Located Charming Cottage Has Ocean Views and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p391011vbi
340 715 1679
Chocolate Hole St John
Plainview, New York
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
The pictures do not give this charming cottage it's due. The gardens were beautiful and the cottage was georgous. Margaret was very welcoming and you should take her suggestion about the reef bay trail. My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay and we would highly recommend it to anyone.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Conveniently Located Charming Cottage Has Ocean Views and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p391011vbi
340 715 1679
Chocolate Hole St John
North Carolina
5

Paradise has a Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
Let me start this review, with a warm thank you to Miss Maragret. She is a wonderful Inn Keeper, and very helpful for our first visit to St John's. Her cottage is the most romantic, one bedroom cottage we have ever had the privledge of using. Very classey, clean and well equiped, with the additional unexpected luxury items we found there, Wine, Cheese, Cracker, Godiva Chocolate and fresh Passion Fruit. Thick fresh towels. a awesome shower with dutch doors that opened to the side porch, we only opened the top portion. The private pool and hot tub are a nice extra, but we were there for the beaches, and from the cottage and surrounding property the views of the water was perfect. Things that I personally like to find at a rental, beach chairs and a cooler are provided, along with snorkling gear, and floats. Even though we only spent a few days on St. John's, it felt like a lot longer, it is that relaxing. Cruz Bay is just about five minutes by car and any beach you want is just a few more minutes away or closer, if you go down to Chocolate Hole. A couple of tips... rent a car or jeep thru Orbitz's website, we choose a sub compact SUV and got a full size Jeep for less than $50 a day from Budget, and took it over to St John's by ferry. Contact Lowkey dive shop to make a divetrip, we did a Discovery Dive for our very first dive ever, and the Divemaster Ben and Captain Bob were really great, have a drink at Woody's or a couple a more, best drinks in town and a great prices. Eat grilled lobster at the Lime Inn, Rich is great and the chef prepares the meals perfectly, don't judge it against Maine lobster it not the same, you are in the Caribbean. Do the snokling tour at Trunks Bay, follow the markers, forget the perfectionest, it is worth the so called crowds. Stop at the Star Market and grab lunch, $6.99
lots of good food, Yeah, we had jerk chicken, you are in the Caribbean, pick up a hitchhiker, they need a ride, because the next time it could be you. And if you are from North Carolina, stop in at High Tide Restaurant for some great food and drinks, these folks do Carolina proud, plus they have Banks beer, if you never had a Banks Beer from Bardados, it the fresh tasting beer in the world. Just remember you are a guest of the people on St John's, slow down and thank your lucky stars that you are there. Miss Maragret, thank you for a great time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much for your very kind words - always wonderful to have people visit who love St. John as much as I do and who find so much that speaks to them personally. I look forward to the return visit of these Carolinians and am pleased they plan to stay longer next time!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Conveniently Located Charming Cottage Has Ocean Views and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p391011vbi
340 715 1679
Chocolate Hole St John
los angeles
5

TRUE PARADISE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2008
Having been to this amazing spot a few times, I can't begin to describe the beauty, the serenity, the pitch perfect experience it was to be a guest of this cottage. Perfectly manicured grounds, breath taking views, very convenient location as it is minutes to St John's downtown area full of restaurants, bars and beaches. St John boasts some of the most amazing beaches on the planet, and this cottage offers an amazing compliment with its salt water pool and hot tub. Whether you are looking to spend your days on the beach swimming and snorkeling, going for hikes, or just lounging around in a hammock by the pool, Margaret's cottage supplies everything you need for the ultimate Caribbean getaway !!!! Can't recommend enough ...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Conveniently Located Charming Cottage Has Ocean Views and Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p391011vbi
340 715 1679
Chocolate Hole St John
boston ma
5

Paradise on Earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
If I could I would live here, I would. I have visited this cottage twice and am absolutely in love with it. Beautiful views, vegetation, birds singing and Margaret is an amazing hostess and gardner. Its easy to get to even if you do not rent a car, taxis drive up and down from the town center. The fresh water pool is delicious. The cottage itself is airy spacious and I absolutely love the peddled floor shower and bathroom. It exactly what you imagine the Caribbean to be.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway