Lajitas house rental - View of Laughing Horse Retreat from the north.
View of Laughing Horse Retreat from the north.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Lajitas House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

Laughing Horse Retreat is where y’all want to be. Bring the whole crew and your dogs and horses too, or just bring yourselves! Come on out to West Texas for relaxation or adventure. The house sits on 217 acres with a horse corrals, and 20 acres fenced for horses. Laughing Horse is conveniently located along Texas Highway 118 in the scenic Christmas Mountains, just 10 miles north of historic Terlingua and Study Butte. The modern kitchen, relaxing porches, three bedrooms, four comfortable beds, stunning views, abundant wildlife, desert plants, expansive acreage, and private location combine to provide a truly unique vacation experience.

Spend your time around the ranch or enjoying all that the Big Bend has to offer. Then sleep well and wake up relaxed. Go for hike through the scenic mountains and desert. Ride your horse around the 217 acres. Walk to our quiet spring and watch the birds. Hang out in the Terlingua Ghost Town. Enjoy the most scenic drives in Texas. Raft down the wild and scenic Rio Grande River. Explore Big Bend National Park. Ride your mountain bike through Big Bend Ranch State Park. Enjoy dinner, drinks and live music in Terlingua. Take a guided jeep tour to some of the area’s most scenic locations. Enjoy a guided horseback ride with excellent guides and well trained horses. Seek all the adventure you can handle. Or, just sit in a comfortable chair on a breezy porch and enjoy the views or a good book. If you don’t have time to do it all, come back again!

Bring your horses! They’ll love the tack room, corral and 20 fenced acres. You can ride your horses around the 217 acres, along Terlingua Ranch roads, and on selected trails in Big Bend Ranch State Park and Big Bend National Park.

Keywords: house, ranch, acreage, horses, corral, RV hook-up, mountains, desert, retreat, Big Bend

More Details
Hide Details

Judy and Seth Burgess love the Big Bend. Seth is originally from Rhode Island and Judy is a native Texan. Seth is a retired from Equimax, USA, Inc., a company he started in 1986 to get jobs and horse people together all across the USA. Judy is an ordained Episcopal Priest. We currently care for three dogs, four horses and a donkey.

We lived in this location for 15 years until moving to the Ruidoso, New Mexico area when Judy was called to a new church. We chose this area because Judy wanted to get back to living in Texas and Seth wanted to live in the mountains. You won't find a wilder more remote place in Texas. The Big Bend area is truly the ultimate getaway spot.

Judy always said she wanted "land lots of land." On 217 acres, you can ride your horse, hike, and explore the wonders the desert fauna and flora without evening leaving the property. During your stay, you may see mule deer, aoudad sheep, coyotes, mountain lions (pretty rare), and of course all sorts of birds and small animals.

12 Reviews of Property 390574 in Lajitas, Texas

Laughing Horse Retreat: 3bdr Home W/ Horse Corral on 217acres
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 12 reviews
business
Laughing Horse Retreat: 3bdr Home W/ Horse Corral on 217acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390574vbi
855-224-4236
Lajitas Big Bend
5

Magnificent views!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Laughing Horse was an amazing oasis located just minutes from Terlingua and Big Bend. Our school enjoyed the amenities and solitude on the expansive acreage. Thanks!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks for energizing us to do even better. Taking the time to write a review is really appreciated.
business
Laughing Horse Retreat: 3bdr Home W/ Horse Corral on 217acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390574vbi
855-224-4236
Lajitas Big Bend
5

Great secluded, retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We loved staying at Laughing Horse Retreat! The proximity to both Big Bend National Park and Big Bend Ranch State Park was perfect. We loved the low-key, peacefulness of the area at large, and the Laughing Horse property itself was perfectly tucked away off the road with tons of space, privacy, and solitude all around us. Coming from a small lot in a big city, the land seemed enormous to us. The kids loved going out and exploring the "backyard"…Honestly, we could have filled a week just doing that! Thank you for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Wow! What a great review. Thanks! We're so glad you got to experience the "total getaway". Your enthusiasm is infectious. It makes us work even harder.
business
Laughing Horse Retreat: 3bdr Home W/ Horse Corral on 217acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390574vbi
855-224-4236
Lajitas Big Bend
5

Ideal isolation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My family of 4 and my parents stayed 3 nights in Laughing Horse and loved everything about it. We appreciated the clean house, the flash lights, the Kleenex (it's the small stuff sometimes), and the natural beauty of the property. We ate breakfast every morning on the deck . We drove back into the property and watched shooting stars (we were bundled up, it was cold!). We drove into Big Bend and toured the ghost town in Terlingua (but we were so thankful to be going home to Laughing Horse!). The boys of all ages enjoyed climbing the ridges and valleys near the house.
If you are looking to stay anywhere close to Big Bend, I highly recommend Laughing Horse. We had room for all 6 of us. The fully stocked kitchen made meals as easy as possible. The large laundry room was a blessing. The views were unbelievable. The isolation and quiet were ideal!
We feel it was an answer to our unspoken prayer that we 'stumbled upon' Laughing Horse and were able to book it. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. I can just imagine you having a wonderful time. We're so glad your stay went so well, and we really appreciate your motivating feedback.
business
Laughing Horse Retreat: 3bdr Home W/ Horse Corral on 217acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390574vbi
855-224-4236
Lajitas Big Bend
2

the views

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
we spent a four day week-end here-house is clean and very comfortable-views are out of this world and the night sky was awesome(we saw shooting stars)-its the place to really leave your cares behind------but what is so great about this property is also what can be bad--disclousure i received after renting states that rain can make the drive impassable--any running water will recede quickly once rain stops and the drive is usually completely dry within 12 hours--it rained but no running water, gully was dry but i got stuck on clay hill(thank God for on-star as no cell reception)--because of remote area tow was expensive and he almost got stuck pulling us out-he said would take 3or4 days to dry--it did-we had to park at road and walk the 1/2 mi drive in the mud for 3 days and then get 4 wheel dr(i drive large suv with 2 wheel dr) to bring our luggaage down to car--locals advised that they all have 4 wheel drive, or atv for times like these--maybe that would be some thing the owners should think about
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your frank report about our road. During the 15 years we lived at Laughing Horse, we used to pray for this kind of rain. Usually our prayers seemed to go unanswered. While very rare, this type of rain event does occur, and in its current state, sections of the road can become impassable. In this case, the remnants of a tropical storm were to blame. We are actively pursuing solutions that will make the road better able to withstand this kind of rare event. In the desert, it could be a while before we see this much rain again. However, any guest that runs into a problem with access should contact the property managers for help. Because the area is very remote, traditional services like Triple A, or road side assistance may be very expensive or not available. Our property managers are available to help you with any challenge you face during your stay. They are close by and ready to come to your aid.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Laughing Horse Retreat: 3bdr Home W/ Horse Corral on 217acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390574vbi
855-224-4236
Lajitas Big Bend
Coppell
4

Great place!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We spent three nights at Laughing Horse Retreat (parents and three small children). The house was clean and cozy, view outside stunning. Kids loved running around the house both inside and outside. Pictures don't give justice to the place. It even had an outside grill!
Only bad thing was that there had been pets inside before us. We couldn't see any signs of them (house was clean) but one of us could felt the presence in his lungs and had some problems (this could have happened anywhere so not really house's fault). But rest of us the house was close to heaven.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you had a great time. Because we are pet owners ourselves, we have chosen to allow pets at Laughing Horse. We make every effort to keep things clean and tidy, but, as you say, the issue is not cleanliness. I suspect that some visitors with pet allergies may detect that pets have been previous visitors. If anyone has information on how we can better accommodate folks with pet allergies, we'd love to hear from them.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Laughing Horse Retreat: 3bdr Home W/ Horse Corral on 217acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390574vbi
855-224-4236
Lajitas Big Bend
Wimberley, TX
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We brought our two horses and an old dog for 7 nights. The location of the property is excellent, right next to 118 and 10 minutes from Terlingua/Study Butte. The surroundings are amazing, you can ride your horse on the Gate 9 dirt road forever! The house is in great shape, clean, with all amenities. Our 18 year old dog loved the ramp! Corrals are safe and spacious, there was a hose to fill water troughs and there is also a tack room and a hay room - very nice! The water well seems to be a great producer and inside there is a reverse osmosis system to produce drinking water. All utensils and kitchen appliances available. The cable was somewhat "weird" since it goes through a Roku appliance but we were not there for the TV anyways, we were outside all day, after all that's what you are there for, right? :-) While we are on the topic, the lack of noise and the absolute quiet surrounding you was just awesome!
The property has a 20 acre paddock that is fenced with tensile wire but it looked very steep and also was full of all sorts of desert plants with thorns - we did not fee comfortable letting our horses roam the paddock for those reasons, your mileage might vary. It was our first time in the Big Bend area and we rode the property and also the BBNP and BBRSP. Beautiful area - planning on being back very soon! Thanks to Janet and Daryl for making our stay comfortable and answering all of our (beginner) questions!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow! What great feedback. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks. We hope to see you again some time.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Laughing Horse Retreat: 3bdr Home W/ Horse Corral on 217acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390574vbi
855-224-4236
Lajitas Big Bend
5

Happy Horses-Happy Cowgirls!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Having looked for a long time for a place to go and bring the horses to Big Bend, can't tell you how fantastic is was to find Laughing Horse Retreat. Everything was perfectly set up for our four-footed friends as well as us two legged ones. Three of us share the accommodations and found them roomy, comfortable, and relaxing. By the way, we really enjoyed your Pat Parelli videos; maybe we learned something!
The location was great, deck and picnic table wonderful for our evening happy hours where we discussed the days adventures. As for me personally, this was on my bucket list-taking my horse to Big Bend-however, now I just want to go back so I can't scratch it off!
We rode the State Park and the National Park; the day we were planning to explore LHR land and surrounding area, the wind decided to blow at 40-50 miles per hour. Sooo, good excuse to come back next year! Thanks for providing the perfect place for us; we loved it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Laughing Horse Retreat: 3bdr Home W/ Horse Corral on 217acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390574vbi
855-224-4236
Lajitas Big Bend
5

Happy Horses-Happy Cowgirls!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Having looked for a long time for a place to go and bring the horses to Big Bend, can't tell you how fantastic is was to find Laughing Horse Retreat. Everything was perfectly set up for our four-footed friends as well as us two legged ones. Three of us share the accommodations and found them roomy, comfortable, and relaxing. By the way, we really enjoyed your Pat Parelli videos; maybe we learned something!
The location was great, deck and picnic table wonderful for our evening happy hours where we discussed the days adventures. As for me personally, this was on my bucket list-taking my horse to Big Bend-however, now I just want to go back so I can't scratch it off!
We rode the State Park and the National Park; the day we were planning to explore LHR land and surrounding area, the wind decided to blow at 40-50 miles per hour. Sooo, good excuse to come back next year! Thanks for providing the perfect place for us; we loved it!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Laughing Horse Retreat: 3bdr Home W/ Horse Corral on 217acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390574vbi
855-224-4236
Lajitas Big Bend
Killen, TX
5

Zielsdorf tour of Big Bend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The retreat was everything and more than I'd expected... spotless property, immaculate house and comfortable beds. We immediately felt at home and let the relaxing mood wash over us every evening after trekking through the park. Easy access and short drive to Terlingua. Recommend it to anyone, especially a large group.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind review Bruce. Your enthusiasm motivates us to do even better. We're so glad you had a good time. We love the Big Bend. It is so different from so many other places in the United States. We hope you will be able to come back soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Laughing Horse Retreat: 3bdr Home W/ Horse Corral on 217acres
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390574vbi
855-224-4236
Lajitas Big Bend
Kingsville, TX
5

South Texas visitors

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Great place to stay - everything you want to do is there: you can hike, bike, or just sit on the deck and enjoy nature. Beautiful views (sunsets and sunrises) and the house is neatly set up with everything you would need and or want was there. Reasonable distance to Terlingua and Big Bend. We really enjoyed ourselves and the kids loved it too; Great place to get away from civilization and would love to go back and stay longer! Thank you!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind and encouraging comments. It just makes us work harder to make the place even better when people are so kind and enjoy themselves so much. We would love to have you back at any time. Returning visitors get a 10% discount!
Helpful votes: 2/2