Austin house rental - Beautiful fall foliage with view of dock
Beautiful fall foliage with view of dock
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps18
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Austin House Rental Photos and Description
Large Comfortable House 4 Bedrooms 2 Bath, (Sleeps 16+)

Rejuvenate and reconnect with family and friends at our restorative family lake retreat. Perfect for R & R or lake activities on constant level Lake Austin. 100 feet of lakefront and a gently sloping grass lawn with 50 year old pecan trees planted by our grandfather, dock for your ski/fishing boat with public ramp 1 block away , use our double kayak and life jackets to explore wildlife preserve (Balcones Canyonlands Preserve) across the lake. Plenty of room for multi family get togethers. The kitchen is fully stocked and ready for that Holiday meal preparation and clean up is easy with our brand new stainless dishwasher!

There's plenty of outdoor space, grills for family cookouts, hammocks for relaxing, boat dock, horseshoe pit and large patio with Firepit!! Inside there is a wonderful fireplace with plenty of firewood included. Lake Austin Spa Resort is within walking distance, too!

Keywords: Lakefront, Lake Austin, family, pet freindly, large groups, lake activities, dock, pets

Home currently owned by 3 siblings who grew up coming to the Austin Lake House on a regular basis. We have now raised our own kids with regular visits - It never gets old!!

Monta Kennady purchased this house in 1949

Our grandfather, who was comptroller for Texas Parks and Wildlife, bought the property in the 40's, knowing that a Federal Wildlife Preserve was directly across the lake. He and my father built the origional home in the early 50's. The house has been expanded twice and recently updated for comfort and convenience.

We love our family lake house and want to share it with you. We have had many family holidays and events on this picturesque property.The front lawn is expansive and has seen volleyball, frisbee, baseball, and flag football games. The layout of sunporch and patio are conducive to outdoor BBQs and outdoor living. Two different sitting area with cable TV and DVD players allow 2 separate groups (kids/adults) to do their 'own thing'. Rooms are spread out so noise and privacy usually not an issue.

12 Reviews of Property 390568 in Austin, Texas

The Perfect Lake Austin Retreat!
average rating of 4.75 based on 12 reviews
business
The Perfect Lake Austin Retreat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390568vb
+1 512-423-4807
Austin Austin area
Dripping Springs
5

Great vacation rental!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This lakehouse was a lovely get-away for my family. The owner had everything we needed. The house was clean and had many amenities. The view was lovely and you can walk in the lawn barefooted! We had a great time and will stay again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
The Perfect Lake Austin Retreat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390568vb
+1 512-423-4807
Austin Austin area
5

A Memorable Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This was the perfect getaway for our family reunion: Plenty of space, direct lake access, a fire pit for smores, and all the toys any kid could ever want. We spent every moment of the weekend outside, and had more than enough beds for all of us to sleep comfortably when the sun finally went down. The pictures truly don't do the place justice We will definitely be back!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
business
The Perfect Lake Austin Retreat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390568vb
+1 512-423-4807
Austin Austin area
4

Back Yard to boot and great location!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
I stayed here with my family of about 8 people for a week. The house was the perfect size for everyone to spread out and have plenty of privacy - but we definitely could have made room for more people and been very comfortable! The back yard is definitely what makes this house - it is huge - lots of room for games and socializing - and backs up right to Lake Austin. The house was clean and met all of the expectations we had from reading the description and rental agreement. The location was great as well - very close to HEB and Torchy's tacos - two of my favorite Austin staples - and also close enough to anything one might need during their stay. Z Tejas up north also was not a bad drive and we had a spectacular brunch there - if you're not familiar with Austin put weekend brunch on your list of things to do. We had every intention of getting out and about in Austin - but found that we had such a nice time at the house that we barely made it out for a meal on some days (not that we had to, the grill was great!)

My only "complaint" is that some of the recreational equipment at the house seemed old and in need of some TLC. We had a hard time finding the appropriate air pump and settings for a few items, but when we contacted the owners they quickly had someone over to help, replace the parts, and get everything set up for us.

My family and I had a great time at this lovely home and I'm sure we'll be back in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Perfect Lake Austin Retreat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390568vb
+1 512-423-4807
Austin Austin area
Humble, TX
5

Absolutely Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
For starters our family wasn't there 2 hours when everyone already decided we have to come back next year. There was plenty of space for our big family and even room to grow. The beds were comfortable, the a/c was cold in the July heat and we didn't need for anything. Thank you to Ken , the maintenance guy, for being more than helpful. The kids really enjoyed all the inflatables and adults the kayak. The tree provided lots of shade and the view was breathtaking. See you guys next year!
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Perfect Lake Austin Retreat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390568vb
+1 512-423-4807
Austin Austin area
Houston, TX
5

A great time had by all!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We rented this Lake House as a last minute, trying to get the family together, type of thing. We used to go to New Braunfels every year (we had quit going when the children starting having babies & it just wasn't easy with infants and toddlers). We had decided at the last minute it was time to start up again as the babies were now 3 years - 12 years old. Could not get what we wanted at our old haunt in NB so started looking at VRBO for rental on Lake Austin.....well we got lucky and found this awesome house for a few days in July that fit our needs. Because some could only come for days, or a night and a day. This house was perfect. Everyone loved it. We brought our boat up and used all the awesome water and yard toys provided by the Lake House owner. We had a total of 4 families that were able to hang out sometime during our 4 day rental. It was such a big hit that we want to do this again next year for a whole week and now have to figure out how to accommodate more people for sleeping....we slept 14 comfortably and had about 10 other day visitors!!!! It was so much fun, even though it rained some of the time, we had plenty of room inside with the two living areas and the great table to play cards. The children loved it also. We can't wait to go back. It was not fancy but very clean and user friendly. Neighbors were nice also. My dog loved it and has been depressed since we came home....she loved watching the squirrels and deer and swimming in the lake. Also so convenient to stores and gas for the boat, etc......GREAT PLACE!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Perfect Lake Austin Retreat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390568vb
+1 512-423-4807
Austin Austin area
Houston, TX
5

The Perfect Lake Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We just returned from Pecan Ridge a few days ago and we are already planning our next trip back. We had the most wonderful time vacationing at your lake house. The view of the lake and tree covered hills was absolutely breathtaking. The lush yard was gorgeous and perfect for all the young children to run around in barefoot shooting each other with water guns. The pecan trees were beautiful and provided an abundant amount of shade. We were able to lounge comfortably all day under the shade of the trees in the middle of June with temps in the high 90s. The breeze off the cool lake was ideal. It was quiet, peaceful, relaxing and private. The boaters, skiers, jet skiers, kayakers, rope swingers, etc. were the perfect entertainment. The house with its 2 sitting areas provided enough space for all of us (6 adults, 5 children). We cooked big meals in the kitchen and on the outdoor grill, played cards all night at the dining room table, watched movies, roasted s ‘mores over the fire pit, and swam in the lake. We enjoyed fishing and using the slip-n-slide, baby pool, paddleboat, kayak, swing set, hammock, toys, etc. The rooms were big with great sleeping arrangements (king beds in every room along with bunks and separate twins). The surrounding neighborhood of Steiner Ranch was stunning and grocery stores, restaurants, etc. were easy to get to. All around, this was the best (lake/beach) vacation we’ve ever taken! I can’t thank you enough for sharing your amazing lake house with us. It was more than we could have hoped for! We will definitely be back to make more memories in the years to come!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
The Perfect Lake Austin Retreat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390568vb
+1 512-423-4807
Austin Austin area
Dallas, TX
5

Great Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Stayed at the lakehouse for Mother-in-law's 70th birthday weekend. Plenty of room for extended family. Loved sitting around the firepit. Kids enjoyed the paddleboat and kayak. Nice waterfront yard for outdoor activities.

Thanks!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Perfect Lake Austin Retreat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390568vb
+1 512-423-4807
Austin Austin area
United States
4

Good place for gatherings

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The house is very spacious and very comfortable and its located at a northern part of the lake which makes the lake calmer and less boat traffic the area next to the dock is nice and sandy so it makes for a nice place to hang out in the water, over all a really nice place to be we will definitely try to make out again.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Perfect Lake Austin Retreat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390568vb
+1 512-423-4807
Austin Austin area
colorado city, texas
4

Family Reunion

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
The house was great, and the grounds were beauiful we had a great time. We had our family reunion at this house and i was amazed at how well the kitchen was stocked with enough large pan and bowls to feed a large group. This is a great place. The owner was very helpful and our family was very pleased. thank you for our wonderfull vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Tootsie, for your kind review. We are constantly trying to improve our home for comfort and convenience. We have added a large dumpster at driveway entrance which will hopefully eliminate that pesky dog/trash problem. I hope you and your family will be able to spend time with us next year and we can get that star rating up to a "five".
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Perfect Lake Austin Retreat!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390568vb
+1 512-423-4807
Austin Austin area
Austin, Texas
5

A true "lake house" experience!

A true "lake house" experience!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
I always rely on reviews to make good decisions on rental properties, so here's my take on this property while it's still fresh. This property has everything you would ever need to house a large group, we had 10 people and never felt crowded and everyone had a bed. It had everything we needed and so much more! Paddle boat, kayak, grills, hammock, dock, binoculars, patio furniture....everything! We had loads of fun hangoing out in the back yard, grilling out, swimming, jumping from the rope swing on the other side of the lake...it was a really great experience! If you're looking for the true "lake house" experience, no matter what you're reason (couples getaway, friend gathering, extended family reunion, young or old) YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPOINTED!!
Owner's Response: Brian,
Thanks so much for the glowing review. We are glad you enjoyed the lake as much as we do!!
Helpful votes: 2/2