Huddleston house rental - Lake Top and Bottom Streetside
Lake Top and Bottom Streetside
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Huddleston House Rental Photos and Description
6 bedroom, 3 bath, Sleeps 12

Hatcher Creek Retreat

Maximum Occupancy: 12

6 Bedrooms, 3 Baths

Bed sizes: 2 Kings, 3 Queens, 2 Twins

Winter special - rent only 4 bedroom house (upper level) or lower level apartment (2 bedrooms) for special rates. Hatcher Creek Retreat is perfect for large groups. It offers main level living room with fireplace, newly remodeled eat-in kitchen with dishwasher, 2 main level bedrooms and bath, 2 upstairs bedrooms and bath. Plus separate lower level apartment with family room, eat-in kitchen, 2 bedrooms and bath. All bathrooms have been recently remodeled. Wonderful cove views. Lakeside patio and deck. Gas grill. Stationary and floating dock for boat storage.

Channel marker: H-1

Bryan and Laura Hochstein live in Greensboro, NC, with 3 young children. Bryan grew up in the NE and Laura in the South - Smith Mountain Lake offers the best of both worlds in one place. We hope to retire there one day.

Laura Hochstein purchased this house in 2010

We have been visiting SML since 2000. We fell in love immediately and quickly bought our own home. After several years of enjoying the lake, we invested in this property so we can help others enjoy it too! You will marvel at the crystal clear water and the beautiful landscape - both around the lake and in the surround area.

It is hard to find a home this size. It is great for large family and friend gatherings and celebrations. It also offers privacy for part of the group, with the separate basement apartment, which includes all the amenities of any home. The cove offers privacy and peace. There are wooded areas surrounding the home. The dock offers lots of space to lounge, fish or get ready for boating. 2 paddleboards available for rental onsite; they have detachable seats so that they can be converted to kayaks.

8 Reviews of Property 390499 in Huddleston, Virginia

Hatcher Creek Retreat- Great cove views.
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
business
Hatcher Creek Retreat- Great cove views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390499
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Richmond, VA
5

Great stay with family and friends.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I can't imagine a better way to enjoy the lake. This was the perfect house for our crew (six adults and six kids). A great view from the house was only bettered by the view from the dock. We boated, fished, paddle boarded, but most of all just relaxed and had a good time. We liked our stay so much we're already booked for next year. Thanks for a fantastic Memorial Day Weekend.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Hatcher Creek Retreat- Great cove views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390499
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Alexandria, VA
5

Great House and Great Value

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We stayed at Hatcher Creek for a 3-day Memorial Day weekend and came with two other families for a total of 12 people. The house was plenty big enough and the family who cam with a new-born loved the lower level dedicated 2-bdrm apartment for a little added privacy. The dock was perfect for the kids to play on and they never got bored. Concerning the price, I think you'd be hard-pressed to find a better value on SML. Most 5 or 6 bdrm homes are considerably more expensive.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Hatcher Creek Retreat- Great cove views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390499
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Lumberton, NJ
4

Worth the Wait!!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Starting planning an extended family vacation last Jan. and it all came together at Hatcher Creek. We had a fabulous time at Smith Mountain Lake and at Hatcher Creek we wanted for very little. Accommodations were more than we had hoped for. We spent a lot of time on the dock, rented a pontoon boat, took in some local attractions but enjoyed the lake front dock so much most of our time was spent swimming there or just relaxing taking it all in. Hatcher Creek accommodated our large family, we never felt all over each other. Would very much consider spending another vacation here.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Hatcher Creek Retreat- Great cove views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390499
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Manassas, Virginia
5

Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Wow! How cool is it to have a "lake house" in a quiet secluded area of the lake, AND be close enough to attend a NASCAR race?? My wife and I decided to use this house for our 1yr anniversary weekend with two trips to Martisnville for the Camping World Truck and Sprint Cup race. We had a great time relaxing (reading and cooking out) on the deck with a view of the lake. The updated kitchen and appliances and DIRECTV made for a great place to cook, dine and keep up with the weekend's sports. While it is secluded, it is still just minutes to "civilization", grocery and entertainment. We had a great time and plan to visit again next year!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Hatcher Creek Retreat- Great cove views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390499
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Manassas, Virginia
5

Great Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Wow! How cool is it to have a "lake house" in a quiet secluded area of the lake, AND be close enough to attend a NASCAR race?? My wife and I decided to use this house for our 1yr anniversary weekend with two trips to Martisnville for the Camping World Truck and Sprint Cup race. We had a great time relaxing (reading and cooking out) on the deck with a view of the lake. The updated kitchen and appliances and DIRECTV made for a great place to cook, dine and keep up with the weekend's sports. While it is secluded, it is still just minutes to "civilization", grocery and entertainment. We had a great time and plan to visit again next year!
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Hatcher Creek Retreat- Great cove views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390499
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

you won't want to leave

you won't want to leave
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This is a great house on a beautiful lake. It has a great dock with a hammock and chairs. Its a wonderful place to swim and fish or lounge in the hammock and read. Our kids caught fish right off the dock. The dock is covered so there is plenty of shade. The house has a very nice deck that wraps around with great views. There is a table outside for dining. We brought our boat and had a wonderful time skiing tubing and just enjoying the lake. There are cleats on the dock to tie up a boat and its about 12 feet deep at the dock so no danger of running aground. Its a beautiful lake with mountains rising up for some wonderful sights. The house is extremely well maintained. The rooms are big. The kitchen and baths have new granite countertops and the kitchen has new appliances. The views are great. we had plenty of room we didn't even need to use the downstairs apartment. It has been updated and has its own kitchen and bath. One day we hired a guide for a half day striper fishing trip. we caught lots of fish and the two biggest were 19 lbs. It was great to watch the kids try to land these big fish. The house is located on the best part of the lake. There is very nice marina nearby with a good restaruant for burgers and sandwiches and to refuel the boat. You can also rent jet skiis and other toys there. Thanks for a wonderful vacation. We plan to come back next summer!
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Hatcher Creek Retreat- Great cove views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390499
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
5

Fun Friends weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
We brought 4 couples with us for a fun filled weekend at SML! This house was perfect for all of us! Having the upstairs kitchen/apt and the downstairs kitchen/apt made it great for the early risers that slept downstairs while "later" risers slept upstairs. Coffee out on the doc in the early morning was an extra plus for me, I was able to make my coffee and quietly walked out the downstairs entrance with out disturbing anyone else! The remodeled kitchens and bathrooms are beautiful. Can't wait to come back again!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Hatcher Creek Retreat- Great cove views.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p390499
Huddleston Smith Mountain Lake
Blackstone, Virginia
5

Wonderful Family Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This house was a great find. We had so many needs when I was looking. My son was getting married at the Parkway Marina Point and we were from out of town. After I secured this place, which was large enough for my whole extended family, I decided to host the rehearsal dinner here. It was a smaller than usual affair but the renovated kitchens shone with beauty as the food was displayed. Everything was so elegant and new. Every window in the front of the house had the most beautiful view. Even the downstairs apartment was newly renovated and beautiful. I was overjoyed that my aging parents could come and be a part of all of the wedding activities but still have a private place to retreat to. The dock was a gorgeous place for pre-wedding pictures to be taken. After the wedding we had one more day to stay. The quiet of that day allowed all of us to relax and really enjoy the water and the sun as we lounged on the dock. We will be coming back. We loved it.
Helpful votes: 7/7