Honaunau house rental - One of a kind stone house. 'Hale Pohaku'
One of a kind stone house. 'Hale Pohaku'
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Honaunau House Rental Photos and Description
Bungalo 2 bdrm. Sleeps 6

Beautiful Hawaiian style beach house. 'Hale Pohaku.' Set in a quiet and peaceful oceanfront community. Some of the best kayaking, snorkeling and fishing on the Big Island. One block from amazing one of a kind pebble beach. Hike to several other hidden beaches. 20 miles to/from downtown Kailua-Kona.

House is crafted in the style of the old Hawaiian churches designed and built by artist and sculptor Brad Moran. Featuring an open floor plan, wood floors, an open beam cieling and a custom artistic bathroom. Ocean view with great sunsets.

A truly uniqe Hawaiian experience. Relax. Unwind. Be yourself. You will want to return to Hale Pohaku!

Keywords: Natural, stone, wood, hawaiiana, ocean, unique, fishing, kayaking, snorkeling, private, quiet, free wi-fi, hiking, diving, sunny, BBQ, whale watching, swimming, dolphins

My wife and I lived on the Big Island for 12 years, where we raised our four children and enjoyed the Hawaiian lifestyle. I worked as an artist in marine life sculpture and my works can be seen in the Collectors Gallery in downtown Kailua.

bradley moran purchased this house in 2000

My family and I enjoyed visiting this beach for several years before deciding to buy and build here. The water is crystal clear, tropical water. The variety of wildlife is outstanding. We love to fish and whale/dolphin/bird watch. This place has it all. The property is one block from the beach. This beach is unlike any other beach in that it is comprised of only pebbles.

Relaxation. Family time. Great scuba diving or free diving cyrstal clear tropical water, tons of beautiful fish and sealife. Kayak up or down the coast for more undisturbed adventure or just chill at the beach.

6 Reviews of Property 389909 in Honaunau, Hawaii

Hawaiian Style Stone Beach House. An authentic Hawaiian experience.
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 6 reviews
business
Hawaiian Style Stone Beach House. An authentic Hawaiian experience.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389909vbi
707-481-7997
Honaunau Kona Coast
1

Very dirty with rats

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We arrived at the house to find it overrun by RATS. There was RAT FECES on the couches, all over the floor in the kitchen, on the counters, which were also liberally strewn with RAT POISON. The master bed had rat feces on the sheets and the sheets were also covered in hair. The place was a nightmare and when we contacted the owner, he suggested that we needed to relax a bit and understand that things were different in the tropics.

The owner refused to refund our money even after acknowledging that the place was a mess and needed more cleaning. He eventually agreed that he would perhaps reimburse us for a night or two so that he could clean the place up.

Here is the text we received after our first night at another hotel: "Sorry its been about a month since somebody stayed there i can have a friend come down and clean can completely control all pest he can ne down there todsu you clean up i think you need to give it s little more of a chance sorry"

And this is the second text a day later after requesting that he refund our money: " sorry about mess i believe that it was mainly gecko poop i had a friend go down a clean a bit ,i don't think you guys should be giving uo so quick ,your in the tropics there are always more criters and bugs ,you guys have rented it its your choice wether you want to stay or not ,i have not represented falsly ,you need to give it a chance"

We did not return and DO NOT RECOMMEND that anyone trusts this deal. The house could have been wonderful had it not been so terribly neglected. OVERRUN BY RATS, it was not fit for humans. We are now dealing with insurance companies to try to get some of our money back for this nightmare.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hawaiian Style Stone Beach House. An authentic Hawaiian experience.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389909vbi
707-481-7997
Honaunau Kona Coast
2

Nice house but dirty

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
When we arrived at the house it hadn't been cleaned since the last rental. What a fun way to start our vacation. The house didn't seen like it had been cleaned thoroughly in a long time. The owner is in Calif. and doesn't maintain the house. Only with persistence and numerous calls, did the owner call us back. We are told we will be compensated for having to clean the house.
There is no dishwasher. The dining room table is small with metal folding chairs. The towels are marginal. There were no sheets for the mattresses that can be laid out on the floor if you need extra beds.
The good part is that the house is a block from the beach. It is in a nice quiet neighborhood. There are kayaks and snorkel gear to use. There are bicycles, but I can't imagine where you would use them. The neighborhood is so steep, and transporting the bikes without a bike rack is difficult.
There's plenty of cooking utensils and dishes.
This house rental is less expensive than most, and if cleanliness is not important, then it's the place for you. It is a nice house and has great potential if the owner put some effort into it.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Hawaiian Style Stone Beach House. An authentic Hawaiian experience.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389909vbi
707-481-7997
Honaunau Kona Coast
4

Very relaxing stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This house is basic, tastefully designed, and adequate for a relaxing vacation. It is 45 minutes from the airport, and in a small community 15-20 minutes south of Captain Cook. It is one street away from the ocean.

We had a great, and very relaxing, time. It was wonderful to be truly cut-off from the hub-bub. We took walks/hikes and snorkeled a lot. I loved the walk to the cinder cone as well as the daily workout to the top of the hill. We also thoroughly enjoyed Hookena beach about 5 miles away -- it was great for the kids (the neighborhood beach looked a bit dangerous). Though we cooked a lot at home (a big plus), we ate some meals at The Coffee Shack, Patz Pies, and the Up Country Cafe -- all fabulous.

BTW, a few facts you should know: (1) Water is scarce and tap water not drinkable -- so buy lots of drinking water; (2) There is no trash pickup so you will need to take trash to a facility 5 miles away; (3) There are no big grocery stores in the vicinity so stock up from Costco/Safeway in Kona before heading here.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Hawaiian Style Stone Beach House. An authentic Hawaiian experience.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389909vbi
707-481-7997
Honaunau Kona Coast
Ontario, Canada
5

Ontario, Canada

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Stayed at the beach house for a month. Absolutely loved it!! The view from the Lanai was breathtaking!!
The sight and sounds of the Humpback whales swimming by Pebble Beach everynight was exciting.
The house had eveything that we needed for a family of 4. Loved the outdoor shower.The friendly visits from the neighborhood gecko's added fun for the kids.
Pebble beach has alot to offer for able bodied people..but I would not recommend it for people with mobility challenges. Can't say enough about the neighborhood that has very friendly neighbors who did not hesitate to tell you about all that the island has to offer..
To those that have never travelled to Hawaii, you must have a car, especially if you are staying at this location.
Would defnitely rent from the owner again..
Mahalo!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Hawaiian Style Stone Beach House. An authentic Hawaiian experience.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389909vbi
707-481-7997
Honaunau Kona Coast
wyoming
5

Amazing Realxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
My husband an I stayed for 6 days at this fantastic Kona house right near the beach. The description of the home and location were exactly written. The neighborhood was very quiet that you easily hear the surf and sleep in the mornings. Location was amazing. we cooked dinners every night - either oven or BBQ. It was great not to worry about renting kayaks or snorkel gear! And they were in great shape. The house was very clean as well as sheets and towels. A must do to relax and enjoy the beauty of Kona.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Hawaiian Style Stone Beach House. An authentic Hawaiian experience.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389909vbi
707-481-7997
Honaunau Kona Coast
Oregon
5

Jim (Oregon)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We had the pleasure of staying at the stone beach house, just a short block from the black pebble beach. No need for the car to get to the beach, just an easy 2 minute walk. Many times we were the only ones there viewing the whales and occasional group of dolphins. Was able to easily snorkel and kayak from the shore. The location at the bottom of the hill made it very peaceful and quiet except for the pleasant sounds of the surf. The open floor plan made it very roomy and comfortable, and allowed the ocean breezes to flow nicely through the entire living area. The front lanai is very large and completely covered, facing West directly at the ocean. We enjoyed having the grill to cook outside and sitting out on the lanai every morning and evening, very - very relaxing. We spent a great deal of time there reading, watching the whales & fishing boats troll by, plus the beautiful sunsets. The kitchen a equipped nicely with everything you need for any food preparation plans. The carport out back allowed us the park our vehicle in shade and made loading and unloading very easy. There is also a washer and dryer, means you don't need to bring many clothes. The home supplied many sets of snorkel gear, a body board and two sit on top twin hulled stable kayaks. The outside shower was very handy. If you need to run back into Kailua-Kona to visit Costco or Walmart it is an easy 20-25 mile ride. However, there is an excellent grocery store called Market of Choice in Captain Cook, a quick 12 mile trip. The is also an Ace Hardware next door to the Market. A nice Farmer's Market behind the grocery store is held on Sunday to get local produce & crafts. There is also a nice place for breakfast just about 20 min. North of the house (The Coffee Shack) that has amazing views overlooking the bays, is reasonably priced & very friendly.
This is a great place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1