Kirkwood cabin rental - Luxury log cabin on five-acres in the foothills
Luxury log cabin on five-acres in the foothills
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights
 

Kirkwood Cabin Rental Photos and Description
4 BR+/3.5 BA, 2,750 SF custom-built log cabin, sleeps 9-12

Come stay in a secluded, custom-built, luxury log cabin nestled in the woods. Situated on five acres of private forested land in the heart of California's historical Gold Country, Gold Creek Cabin is only a 2-hour drive from the San Francisco Bay Area and just over an hour from Sacramento. You'll avoid the Tahoe commute traffic and feel so far away from it all. Gold Creek Cabin (3,500 foot elevation) is 38 miles (61 km.) downhill from Kirkwood Mountain Resort and just 16 miles (26 km.) uphill from Sutter Creek, one of the most popular and well-preserved Gold Rush towns, offering a variety of nice restaurants, antique stores, and unique shops.

Gold Creek Cabin was designed to accommodate two families comfortably:

- 4 bedrooms plus loft, 3.5 baths

- Three queen beds, built-in triple bunk bedroom, and queen & twin AeroBeds for loft (sleeps 9-12)

- Reading, game and TV loft with skylights

- Large recreation room with fireplace, pool table, dartboard

- Home theater with HDTV flat screen and Bose audio system

- DirecTV HD service and 150+ DVD collection

- Free high speed (12 Mbps) WiFi service

- Large wrap-around deck on two sides with gas grill

- Private balconies off upstairs bedrooms

Enjoy 'luxury camping' amenities:

- Gas campfire and Adirondack chairs on the front deck

- Gourmet kitchen with granite counters and stainless steel appliances

- Radiant heating in bathroom floors

- Tankless hot water system for endless hot water

- Two gas fireplaces, instant on with thermostat

- Central heat and A/C

- Full-size washer and dryer in utility room

In the winter, easily access the cabin from the Bay Area even when it is snowing hard uphill at Kirkwood Mountain Resort. Don't risk not being able to get to your vacation rental. Then make the drive to the ski mountain as soon as roads are clear. If roads are closed, enjoy all that Gold Creek Cabin has to offer, such as the home theater with 150+ DVDs, DirecTV HD, dartboard, and pool table.

In the summer, plan to quickly get away from the hustle and bustle of the Bay Area with an easy, 2-hour drive into the heart of the California Gold Country. Explore the historical attractions and visit Gold Rush towns like Sutter Creek and Volcano. Take a hike in to the ''potholes'' and relax by the water. Plan to go fishing, boating, biking, hiking, kayaking, and really enjoy the outdoors. Grill on the large wrap-around deck and relax in the Adirondack chairs, enjoying a cold beverage.

Sit around the ''instant on'' gas fire pit at night and make s'mores or just enjoy the peace and quiet under the stars.

We will help you plan a customized Gold Country getaway for your group! For more details on the property and local area, there are documents shared at: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/af4c7jz69u3qmu5/7zumbUIwWf

Layout: Queen bedroom and spa bathroom with steam shower in basement along with recreation room, home theater, and laundry room. Queen bedroom with private bath and shower, living room with cathedral ceiling open to kitchen and dining area, half bath on first floor. Queen bedroom and triple built-in bunk bedroom share a bathroom with bath and shower, open reading and game loft on second floor.

More Details
Hide Details

We live in the San Francisco Bay Area and love to spend quality time together as a family. Our favorite family trip was to a dude ranch in Montana where we stayed in an authentic log cabin. We truly felt like we were on vacation, escaping the stress of modern day life, and had much more fun than if we were staying in a hotel. With Gold Creek Cabin, we sought to recreate that atmosphere and provide a place where families (including dogs) could meet, relax, and enjoy all the wonderful things to do in the Gold Country. Doug has been a real estate consultant, providing insight to developers about resort properties, and now works for a real estate start-up in the Bay Area. Kelli was an art major and is the truly creative one in the family. Together, we designed, built, furnished, and now manage Gold Creek Cabin. We love spending time with Lily and Hayden (our children), Harley (our black lab), and any friends who join us at the cabin.

Doug Gribbel purchased this cabin in 2008

After making the long, congested commute to the Lake Tahoe Area, we sought to find a place where we could really get away more easily and more frequently. We bought a five-acre parcel of forested land in an old Gold Rush town called Volcano in 2005 and set out to design and build a unique vacation home that we could share with other families. Largely undiscovered by most people in the Bay Area, the Gold Country is located in the Sierra foothills and is accessible year-round via Highway 88 and well-maintained Amador County roads. At Gold Creek Cabin (3,500 foot elevation), you can stay above the hot valley climate in the summer and enjoy easy access even during heavy snowstorms in the winter. Incredible year-round recreation opportunities in the area include hiking, fishing, and boating in the summer and world-class skiing in the winter. The close proximity to the Bay Area (only a 2-hour drive) allows us to visit frequently, even if we don't leave until after an activity on Saturday. We can arrive in time for a nice dinner Saturday, enjoy a full day of fun, and still return home before dinner on Sunday. With no minimum stay (except during holidays), your family can do the same, even if you don't think you have time for a vacation.

Here are some of our Gold Creek Cabin favorites: making s'mores by the campfire on the deck, watching the deer walk through the woods, playing in the built-in triple bunk bedroom, taking a steam shower after a long day skiing, sledding and making jumps out front, following the trail to the teepee camp out site at night, building forts in the woods, shooting arrows at Hayden's archery range, listening to music while cooking in the kitchen, eating breakfast together at the breakfast bar, watching a movie together in the home theater, listening to the sound of silence, playing pool and darts, looking up at the bright stars at night, playing horseshoes, letting Harley roam and sniff, watching the snow fall outside while in front of a warm fire, cooking Kona-marinated chicken from Swingles on the grill, reading in the loft, having a drink while sitting in the big Adirondack chairs on the front deck.

11 Reviews of Property 389695 in Kirkwood, California

Unique, Secluded, 5-Star, Luxury Log Cabin in the Gold Country
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Unique, Secluded, 5-Star, Luxury Log Cabin in the Gold Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389695
+1 6507764059
Kirkwood Gold Country / High Sierra
5

Luxury Log Cabin is worthy description.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
Secluded, quiet, private and Ritz Carlton quality. The only thing we missed was a hop tub and room service. :)
business
Unique, Secluded, 5-Star, Luxury Log Cabin in the Gold Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389695
+1 6507764059
Kirkwood Gold Country / High Sierra
United States
5

Excellent accomodations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Twelve of us stayed for the weekend to attend a wedding at the "Hideout Lodge"; just over thirty minutes up the hill. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would go back at our first opportunity. Our only regret was that we were not able to stay longer. This log cabin is everything it is represented to be. There were more than adequate linens and other amenities for our large group. We found this property very comfortable and accommodating and highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Unique, Secluded, 5-Star, Luxury Log Cabin in the Gold Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389695
+1 6507764059
Kirkwood Gold Country / High Sierra
Prescott, AZ
5

Amazing log home in beautiful, serene setting.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We were attending a wedding by Kirkwood Resort & wanted our whole family to stay together. We found this & our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer to enjoy it. The home is very warm & welcoming. We had some babies & toddlers in our group & found a baby gate and pack and play which made our visit much easier. The guys had a pool tournament, the kids loved walking in the forest & the ladies enjoyed sipping wine on the deck. It has a great kitchen with all the staples you need. There is no downside to this property. The owners were very responsive and easy to work with. A+++++
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Unique, Secluded, 5-Star, Luxury Log Cabin in the Gold Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389695
+1 6507764059
Kirkwood Gold Country / High Sierra
Dana Point, California
5

Perfect Fit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This beautiful home was a perfect fit for our three-generation family getaway. Everyone was comfortable with their own bedroom and spa-quality bathroom. All were entertained with games, movies, pool table, archery and best of all, hide-and-seek in the 5-acre woods. When extended family joined us for a meal, there was room for all on the spacious deck. We returned home with wonderful family memories.
Owner's Response: We're glad you chose to spend some quality family time at Gold Creek Cabin and are so happy that you all had a nice visit! Please come back any time and generate some more family memories.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Unique, Secluded, 5-Star, Luxury Log Cabin in the Gold Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389695
+1 6507764059
Kirkwood Gold Country / High Sierra
Oakley, CA
5

AMAZING CABIN!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Thank you so much for allowing us to stay at your cabin, it was unbelievablly beautiful!! The moment we walked in the door, we were floored! The pictures don't do it justice. The kids loved the triple bunk bed and the adults loved the steam shower. We hiked to the Potholes on the first day and had a great time, even though it rained on us. We also loved that it was only a short drive to the Sutter Creek Gold Mines and also the Black Chasim Caverns, They were both awsome. We enjoyed waking up to our daily visits by the deer in the area and sitting by the fire pit each night making smores. We will definatly be back again and would highly recommend your cabin to all of our friends. Thanks again for making our stay a great one!!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Unique, Secluded, 5-Star, Luxury Log Cabin in the Gold Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389695
+1 6507764059
Kirkwood Gold Country / High Sierra
Roseville, CA
5

Relaxing Time!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We had a wonderful stay at Gold Creek Cabin. Tastefully decorated, with a comfortable atmosphere. We had 2 families with lots of room for everyone. The cabin is kept clean and fully stocked with all those little extras. And, I can not say enough about the fabulous bath towels!!! The kids enjoyed the pool table, darts, and movies. The adults enjoyed time on the great decks with margaritas in hand! We did some exploring and brought the air soft guns and even tried out the bow and arrows. Nice and private, we couldn't see or hear any of the neighbors from the house.
Something that would be helpful: If you are not familiar with the area you will want to mapquest things before you come to the cabin. Because there is almost no cell coverage, I couldn't use my phone gps or look at any maps on google. I had to use the maps at the cabin and needed them to be a little more detailed.
Doug was really great about supplying info and answered all my questions in a timely manner. Many Thanks!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Unique, Secluded, 5-Star, Luxury Log Cabin in the Gold Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389695
+1 6507764059
Kirkwood Gold Country / High Sierra
San Carlos, CA
5

A beautiful place to relax

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Had a great time at Gold Creek Cabin with our adult children and our dogs in June 2010. The cabin was beautiful, very clean and well-equipped. There were comfy robes for us to use, and the beds and bed linens were very cozy. The weather was perfect, warm during the days and cool at night. We loved the outdoor gas fireplace and all the Western decor. We even had a bucket full of ingredients for S'mores and a bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived! Doug and Kelli had provided great information about places to see and local activities. We never did find the potholes though! The river was very running very high and we kept walking alongside it, but never saw the potholes area. I guess we'll have to come back and try again sometime!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you David and Margaret for your nice review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you'll come back soon! A photo tour of how to get to "the potholes" is now available on the Gold Creek Cabin facebook page and we guarantee you'll find the special location next time!
business
Unique, Secluded, 5-Star, Luxury Log Cabin in the Gold Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389695
+1 6507764059
Kirkwood Gold Country / High Sierra
EINWILLER
5

Fantastic Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
We had a wonderful time at this truly luxurious, and beautifully modern log cabin. We spent five days in Volcano while hosting a family reunion. We filled the home with 6 adults and 5 children - comfortably! The kids ran around outside all day, played games and watched the huge library of cabin supplied movies in the evening after roasting marsh mellows on the deck’s gas fire pit. A great time was had by all and we highly recommend this quiet and relaxing cabin to anyone looking to get away while having all of the conveniences of a modern home. The cabin owners supplied us with many local maps and suggested local attractions - the caves in the area are great and Sutter Gold Mine tour is fun!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Unique, Secluded, 5-Star, Luxury Log Cabin in the Gold Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389695
+1 6507764059
Kirkwood Gold Country / High Sierra
San Francisco, CA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
We stayed the weekend before Christmas 2009 with
two other families. Returned home wiped out but
glowing in the wonderful time we had at Gold Creek
Cabin. Absolutely spectacular home they've built
there. We loved everything about it--from the
soaring ceiling, to the beautiful craftsmanship of
the woodwork, to the dart board and pool table, to
the cook's kitchen (which we used to the fullest).
There is no one "best" bedroom (except maybe the
kids built-in log triple bunkbed room, about the
coolest thing ever), as they each have their own
charms. And as I wrote in the guestbook, the kid-
world-class sledding a few miles up the road was
the snowy icing on the cake.

The owners couldn't have been more helpful or
accommodating to our needs, and clearly take
attentive care of their retreat.

Thanks for everything. We plan to make at least an
annual pilgrimage back to Gold Creek Cabin.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Unique, Secluded, 5-Star, Luxury Log Cabin in the Gold Country
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389695
+1 6507764059
Kirkwood Gold Country / High Sierra
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
The cabin is BEAUTIFUL and we had a fabulous
weekend! It is truly a log cabin but with all the
amenities you need/want in a luxury get-a-way!
We loved the different rooms that allowed different
people to do different things easily! Card table, flat
screens, pool table and lots of exploring outside for
the kids! We liked all the bedrooms spread out
among all three floors and felt very comfortable. It
is very well designed for "entertaining" and having
fun around the cabin. The area is very remote but
there are things to do. We loved the gold mining
and doing wine tasting nearby! Very good wineries.
The kids loved the cabin as much as we did! Easy
to grill and cook dinners! Smores on the deck were
a hit at sundown each night! The owners were
great with our questions and helping us plan our
stay! Great experience!
Helpful votes: 1/1