Ludlow house rental - Summer bloom!
Summer bloom!
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Ludlow House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

Spectacular hilltop craftsman-style home set on 30 acres with panoramic mountain views from every room.

Only 15 minutes to Okemo Mountain, and less than 30 to Killington and Stratton Ski Resorts. Cross-country skiing and sledding right outside your door!

Very spacious, making it the perfect get away for two or three families. Top floor has three queens, two full baths and laundry facilities. Main floor has sunken living room, well appointed kitchen and dining area, den with pull-out couch, half bath and screened in porch. Lower level has two bedrooms, one with two twins and one with two sets of bunks, full bath and family room (also with pull-out couch). Family room features 60' HDTV flatscreen, HD Dish Network and various games.

Room to spread out and relax!

Keywords: mountains, skiing, sledding, family room, kitchen, large living room, deck, view, porch, grill, satellite TV, DVD, internet, Okemo, Killington, Stratton, Bromley, outdoor summer activities, mountain biking, snowboarding, luxury, golf, spacious, multi-family, children, pet-friendly, hiking

More Details
Hide Details

Richard is an obstetrician and I am a minister and former banker. We plan to eventually retire to this home. We both enjoy gardening and outdoor activities such as hiking, skiing, kayaking, swimming. We love to travel and entertain. We enjoy theatre and music, which abound in Vermont in the summer. We have three grown children and two grand-puppies. We have been skiing at Okemo for 40 years (my mom grew up in Ludlow).

The Owner purchased this house in 1996

We chose the property for the views. It is very private on a beautiful dirt road lined by maples. Being north of Okemo we avoid the traffic and are closer to Rutland, where we can run in for a movie, bowling, ice skating, restaurants, best farmers market in Vermont, excellent grocery shopping. We are also only 15 minutes from the Weston Playhouse, 30 minutes to Manchester, Woodstock and Brandon.

Total privacy, beautiful gardens, walking trails in our woods can be used for cross country or snowmobiling. On VAST snowmobile trail.

18 Reviews of Property 389368 in Ludlow, Vermont

Spectacular 5 Bdrm on 30 acres Breathtaking Views
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 18 reviews
business
Spectacular 5 Bdrm on 30 acres Breathtaking Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389368vbi
203-264-4758
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
Woodstock, CT
5

Restful, relaxing, perfect.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Our entire family gathered in E.Wallingford for a week, in part for a family reunion. Our accommodation in the house was simply wonderful - plenty of room for 12 people to spread out, comfortable beds, indoor and outdoor amusements for all ages. The view and the sumptuous gardens are worth the trip. Photos convey the measure of the place very well, and the house was scrupulously clean. All communications with owner were immediate and pleasant. Kids enjoyed a White Rocks hike and swimming in Elfin Lake, while adults took advantage of kayaks for a float on a river in Poultney. Everyone played badminton and baseball, even our English daughter-in-law! We want to return every summer. Thanks to the Holdens for providing such a grand resource.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Spectacular 5 Bdrm on 30 acres Breathtaking Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389368vbi
203-264-4758
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
Durham, NH
5

Okemo Ski House - Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This house is everything you see in the pictures, and MORE! The house is fabulous - very interesting architecture, beautifully decorated, very comfortable and well-stocked with whatever you might need, and easily accommodates a group! Anyone who has a teenager knows how hard it is to impress them - my 14 y/o son took a look around and then said, "Oh Mom! We need to come here at LEAST four or five times a year!" The location is just wonderful - a very quiet road, woods and fields, and a spectacular view of the mountains. The owner was very quick to respond to my questions and provided great information. I wish we could have stayed longer, and I can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Spectacular 5 Bdrm on 30 acres Breathtaking Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389368vbi
203-264-4758
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
Sturbridge, MA
5

Vermont Beauty

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
One of the best places we have stayed in Vermont. Plenty of room for the grandchildren and the views are worth the drive. Peaceful and serene with privacy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
business
Spectacular 5 Bdrm on 30 acres Breathtaking Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389368vbi
203-264-4758
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
Lexington, SC USA
5

Winter wonderland

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This house was perfect for our family getaway and introductory ski trip (at Okemo). We were lucky enough to have heavy snowfall the day before and the day after we arrived, which gave us a huge hill and driveway covered in snow - perfect for sledding. And then we had perfect ski conditions, as well. The house was warm, beautifully decorated, and perfect for our needs. One downstairs bedroom includes 4 bunk beds, a great place to stash the kids if you have a large group. Just a few minutes to Okemo, and not much further to groceries and restaurants in the Rutland area. Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular 5 Bdrm on 30 acres Breathtaking Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389368vbi
203-264-4758
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
New York
5

loving this house!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. It was absolutely the best rental property we have rented through out the east coast! The design and decor of the home is stunning, and so are the views.

The property owners were wonderful to work with sooo accomidating!! When we arrived at the house we found that the owners thought of every little thing to make out stay there extremely comfortable, so your not running to the store for every 30 min. You can truly sit back and relax and enjoy being in the country with family and friends.

It made our stay at Okemo the best Christmas ever. Thank you very much to the owners and were looking forward to renting this house again!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular 5 Bdrm on 30 acres Breathtaking Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389368vbi
203-264-4758
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
Mays Landing, NJ
5

Wonderful Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We stayed for the Columbus Day Weekend. The facilities are excellent, even better than that.

The views from the expansive rear deck are spectacular.

It is a great location to explore the many nearby Vermont attractions. In our case autumn fairs, cheese farms, farmer's markets and of course the shopping in Manchester.

While indoors, watching football on the 60" big screen made it feel like you were almost at the game.

Everything about our stay was perfect. I would highly recommend this property any time of the year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular 5 Bdrm on 30 acres Breathtaking Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389368vbi
203-264-4758
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
Southbury CT
5

Phenomenal views with excellent creature comorts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
The property sits high up on a hill overlooking a gorgeous view of the VT mountains. Deck, Screened in porch, fully equiped kitchen was up to date and spotless. Again views abound.
The town is classic VT with little stores, friendly people and wonderful shopping for art, antiques and local farm markets. Would be great for skiing either Cross Country or downhill. Okemo is very close.
The beds are comfortable and waking up to such views is just awesome.
We had a great time in this elegant setting
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular 5 Bdrm on 30 acres Breathtaking Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389368vbi
203-264-4758
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
Connecticut
5

Vermont Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our recent stay at your home in Vermont was wonderful.

The setting is perfect - with beautiful views on one side and woodland trails on the other. And your gardens were a pleasure to experience.

Your location is ideal - with local privacy and easy access to Ludlow and Rutland for restaurants and supplies. The central location also provided a great base for day trips to Vermont treasures like Woodstock and Waterbury.

We found your home comfortable and spacious. We especially enjoyed dining on the enclosed deck with our favorite foods and wines.

We will try to visit Vermont again, soon, and when we do we hope your beautiful some is available for our stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular 5 Bdrm on 30 acres Breathtaking Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389368vbi
203-264-4758
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
Southbury, CT
5

Beautiful House with Stunning Views!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This house was an excellent choice for a rental property for our families summer vacation. The house and views were truly beautiful and the amenities inside the house were top notch. Its quiet location made our stay very peaceful but not too remote that we couldn't go to the places we wanted to visit. Our family had a wonderful vacation at this location and would definately rent again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Spectacular 5 Bdrm on 30 acres Breathtaking Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389368vbi
203-264-4758
Ludlow Ludlow / Okemo Mountain Area
Chatham, NJ
4

Great Time

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
With 7 children ranging from 2-18 and 4 adults we were all so pleased with our experience.
The house was clean and had everything we needed. The rooms and bathrooms are spread throughout the house so everyone had privacy.
It is set up high on a hill with a gorgeous view.
It is only 9/10 miles to Okemo which was easy access.
The owner was extrememly helpful and clear on what was expected and where to fine what we needed.
We would definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children