Harbor Island house rental - Home away from Home
Home away from Home
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
Minimum Stay nights
 

Harbor Island House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 7-8)

Our family fell in love with Harbor Island day one. Then, we found the perfect beach home on Ocean Marsh. You get all of the scenery and feel of the beach with the tropical feel of palm trees, ferns, and moss covered trees. We vacations at our beach home often. We have family gathering, golf weekends, fishing contests, wildlife viewing, and fun nights gazing at the unbelievable number of stars as we wind down the day on the second floor deck.

if you are looking for a place to reconnect as a family, experience the low country, have a great mix of beach time, nature walks, sunsets, and great food and shopping destinations. Harbor Island is the place to be!

A gated and secure vacation destination with tennis courts, volleyball, basketball, great pool and work out facility.

Keywords: Home, Pet Friendly, Full Service

We consider ourselves blessed to have three children, 2 dogs and a cat :)

The Owner purchased this house in 2005

Our beach home provides the full experience of Harbor Island. Experience the marsh and the ocean from the back decks. A quick golf cart ride (one of our favorite things to do) and you can chose your beach access point.

We often go kayaking, you are minutes away from Hunting Island, there are several great local eateries, several places to buy fresh sea food, Savannah Ga is 40 minutes away and Charleston is 60 minutes away.

16 Reviews of Property 389088 in Harbor Island, South Carolina

Beautiful Beach Home - Full Ocean and Marsh View.
average rating of 4.9375 based on 16 reviews
business
Beautiful Beach Home - Full Ocean and Marsh View.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389088vbi
678-653-6489
Harbor Island Beaufort area
Georgia
5

Very nice!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Very nice vacation home for a family. Plenty of room for everyone plus a nice sized porch and deck. Having use of the golf cart was a huge advantage for sightseeing and getting to and from the beach. We enjoyed our entire stay and hope to visit again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Beach Home - Full Ocean and Marsh View.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389088vbi
678-653-6489
Harbor Island Beaufort area
Lexington, SC
5

Labor Day 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The house Was exactly as it was described and the pictures Recent. Very open and comfortable. Loved the view of the ocean and the Marsh. We are all college football fans so watching the game was a challenge on the small TV's. The guys caught a lot of sharks and my grand daughter collected tons of shells. She found 2 perfect sand dollars. We have been to Harbor numerous times but never used the community pool until this trip and we loved it. Very nice ! The area is quiet and relaxing. We did visit Hunting island to fish off the pier.

The owner was very helpful and patient with me and my questions.

The only problem we had was the Mosquitoes.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Beach Home - Full Ocean and Marsh View.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389088vbi
678-653-6489
Harbor Island Beaufort area
Spartanburg, SC
5

Great house for kids and pets!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This house was TERRIFIC! It has an incredible view of the marsh and an unobstructed view of the ocean in the distance. We have been vacationing at Harbor Island for many years and have never stayed in this area - we LOVED it. It is surrounded by trees and VERY private. The house also had a golf cart which was perfect for rides to the beach and around the island. The interior is beautiful and equiped with everthing you could possibly need. The price was unbeatable! The bedrooms are large and with the surrounding trees, you are able to block out unwanted early morning sunlight, which worked out great for our baby who tends to sleep until 9:30/10:00. Everyone had more than adequate space and you couldn't hear anyone else in the house. All rooms had ceiling fans and there was an extra oscilating fan in one of the bedrooms. We will certainly consider this house for our next vacation!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Beach Home - Full Ocean and Marsh View.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389088vbi
678-653-6489
Harbor Island Beaufort area
PA
5

Tropical Paradise in SC

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
What a lovely vacation we had!! Everything was just as described/pictured and CLEAN! We enjoyed the bike trails and the pool. The golf cart was a MUST HAVE for a trip to the beach. Everyone was so friendly and Captain Johnson's restaurant was superb! Definitely recommend getting supplies before making the 16 mile trip to the island. One thing that disappointed our children was the lack of waves for boogie boarding but they enjoyed the sand and the mini 'pools' of water when the tide was out. It was a very relaxing time and a real treat to have the opportunity to stay in such a beauty. The porch was wonderful to sit and relax and look out over the marsh @ high tide. Definitely needed bug spray for mosquitoes @ high tide especially--but that comes with the territory--the bad with the good. Harbor Island is so natural, authentic--no lights and cheap glitz. A place to experience the real ocean/marsh environment. We look forward to coming here again! Thank you for sharing!!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Beach Home - Full Ocean and Marsh View.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389088vbi
678-653-6489
Harbor Island Beaufort area
OHIO
5

Wonderful Peaceful getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Thanks so much for our wonderful stay. We couldn't have asked for more. A peaceful beach getaway was what we wanted and exactly what was delivered. The house was as promised. The owners were very prompt with answering any questions/concerns. We saw dolphins, many types or crabs, sand dollars and more. The boys being able to being their 4 legged friend was an added bonus. I would highly recommend! The gold cart was great to zip to and from the beach/pool. While this is not directly oceanfront-the view of the ocean from the deck and many windows of the house feel as if it is right on the beach!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank You! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest in the future.
business
Beautiful Beach Home - Full Ocean and Marsh View.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389088vbi
678-653-6489
Harbor Island Beaufort area
SC
5

Wonderful home & location ~ we will rent again !

Wonderful home & location ~ we will rent again !
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is the perfect property if you want the privacy & quiet surrounds of Harbor Island ! It's like a cabin in the woods ~ with an ocean view. If we need this size property for our next vacation, we will rent again.

House was very nicely furnished, pictures are representative of property current condition (expect to see the normal wear & tear of a rental - scuffed paint, furniture wear etc) The house is well maintained - no issues during our stay. Tons of parking space if you need it.

Harbor Island is quiet- lots of nature, few people ! We walked on the beach several times a day~ saw fewer than 20 each time & the weather was glorious !

we loved having access to the golf cart and bikes- made getting to the ocean a breeze. Bringing our terrier with us on vacation was a wonderful bonus, she is like a child to us ! Although the property is a "pet rental" it is SOOO clean, you would never believe it there could have been animals in the house before you arrived.

Beaufort is a charming area~ much diversity in the food/cultures/shops, our favorite spot is on Dataw Island " Sweetgrass" restaraunt at the marina- AMAZING sunsets! (although the island is 'private" you can get a gate pass to go to lunch/dinner) We also like "Wren" in downtown Beaufort . We bought fresh seafood several times at "Gays Seafood" about 10 minutes from unit- couldn't get it any fresher, unless you caught it.

Highly recommend this rental- you won't be disappointed! A word of caution- this property is NOT for the disabled or physically handicapped, alot of steep entry steps- there is no alternate entry to this property. (back deck also has steep steps) Although there are outdoor flood lights on corner of property it is very dark at night, bring a flashlight if you will be taking your pets out for potty at night.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to having you back in the future!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Beach Home - Full Ocean and Marsh View.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389088vbi
678-653-6489
Harbor Island Beaufort area
Fredericksburg VA
5

A good time was had by all!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We enjoyed the home it was well maintained and comfortable and the view was great. The local food was outstanding and the selection was diverse. There was a lot to do on the island, fishing, walking on the beach, wildlife viewing and the golf cart and bikes was great for getting around.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you as our guest again in the near future!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Beach Home - Full Ocean and Marsh View.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389088vbi
678-653-6489
Harbor Island Beaufort area
Chapin
4

Relaxing stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My family and I enjoyed our stay here very much. We loved the tranquility of the home, being off the road some gave us our privacy. The wooded front yard made it pleasurable to sit outside on the porch. The owners were very efficient and helpful with our questions. The house is welcoming with a large kitchen and living room area which made it nice for my family to all be together. The fact it was pet friendly was a plus for us too.we will definitely look at renting again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Beach Home - Full Ocean and Marsh View.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389088vbi
678-653-6489
Harbor Island Beaufort area
Sumter, SC
5

Low country lover

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
This house is gorgeous! Wonderful open floor plan. Full of light and nice decks with fantastic panoramic views. Trekking to the actual beach is more of a haul than we expected, but not so inconvenient thanks to the golf cart.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so happy we could accommodate you guys! We hope you come back to visit our home soon!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Beach Home - Full Ocean and Marsh View.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389088vbi
678-653-6489
Harbor Island Beaufort area
Richmond, VA
5

Perfect vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Let me start by saying "Thank You" to the property owners. This house was just lovely. The view from the back deck couldn't be more perfect. The location of the house is so private. You feel like you are located in a forest setting. We didn't hear one car the entire time we were there. The ability to ride your bikes and not fear for your life was a nice treat as well. Thank you for the access to your golf cart. It was nice to have that available to carry our beach gear.

The entire vacation was great. We certainly look forward to coming back next year. I do hope the weather next year is as wonderful as our week was this visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: It was our pleasure to accommodate you at our home! We are glad the weather was cooperative during your stay! We hope to see you again at our home during your next visit!
Helpful votes: 2/2