Monteagle house rental - spacious living area with cozy fireplace
spacious living area with cozy fireplace
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Monteagle House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2-5)

Relax in the peaceful surroundings of the South Cumberland Plateau! Life is slowed down here; just perfect for a weekend getaway from the City.

Whether hiking, biking, or just taking in the sites, you will find my cabin a great place to return after your day of fun. The University of the South in Sewanee is just minutes away, offering cultural events for everyone. The South Cumberland State Park boasts more State Natural Areas than any where else in Tennessee. The Cabin overlooks Fiery Gizzard Natural area, one of the top 25 backpacking destinations in the Southeast.

Enjoy free 'Nashville Music' right here on the Mountain every Friday and Saturday nite at Jim Oliver's Smokehouse.

Whether you desire fine dining or authentic Mexican, the Mountain has it all. And it is all just minutes from THE FARM!

Keywords: cottage, cabin, farm

Born and raised on the Plateau, I am an avid supporter of keeping the area beautiful and welcoming to all who visit. I am a pet lover and board dogs. My Cabin is 'Pet friendly'. I am a Licensed Professional Counselor and understand the need to just 'get away' and 'get in touch'. I've designed my cabin with this in mind!

The Owner purchased this house in 2000

My cabin sits on 40 acres adjoining the South Cumberland State Park. The property has been in my family for years. You will love being a part of our history. Bring your dog and hike the trails or jog around the Grundy Lakes. Visit the The Dutchmaid Bakery, the oldest running bakery in Tennessee. Walk the beautiful campus of the University of the South. Bike the Mountain Goat Bike Trail! It all awaits you here!

32 Reviews of Property 389024 in Monteagle, Tennessee

The Farm,Pet Friendly;Monteagle;Sewanee, Fiery Gizzard,wireless
average rating of 4.9375 based on 32 reviews
business
The Farm,Pet Friendly;Monteagle;Sewanee, Fiery Gizzard,wireless
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389024vbi
931-592-6176
Monteagle Tennessee
5

A quiet secluded retreat.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The cabin was just what we needed, peace and quiet. Even though it rained the first two days, we enjoyed being in the quiet, reading and resting. The bedroom with floor to ceiling windows looking out over the mountains was our favorite spot. The one beautiful day we had, we hiked. The views are magnificent. Thank you for allowing us to bring our dog children.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I was afraid you didn't get to use your telescope! Glad to hear you enjoyed the place despite the weather. Do come again.
business
The Farm,Pet Friendly;Monteagle;Sewanee, Fiery Gizzard,wireless
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389024vbi
931-592-6176
Monteagle Tennessee
5

The Farm is a great place.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We truly enjoyed our stay at The Farm as well as the nice restaurants in Sewanee and Monetagle. The hikes were great and the Sewanee campus is one of the most beautiful I've seen. A great getaway from Nashville for the week-end. Close to home and easy to get around.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you guys enjoyed your time! Do come back anytime...and take pictures!
business
The Farm,Pet Friendly;Monteagle;Sewanee, Fiery Gizzard,wireless
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389024vbi
931-592-6176
Monteagle Tennessee
5

Wonderful Place to Relax & Unwind

Wonderful Place to Relax & Unwind
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
What a nice place to get away from the hustle & bustle of everyday life, anyone looking to step away from the fast paced world with the accommodations of home this is the spot. This was a very nice place and a perfect get-away spot. Everything was perfect and couldn't have been any better. We enjoyed our stay and will be returning in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you came! I hope you will visit again soon!
business
The Farm,Pet Friendly;Monteagle;Sewanee, Fiery Gizzard,wireless
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389024vbi
931-592-6176
Monteagle Tennessee
5

Clean, comfortable and cozy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Our two night stay was very enjoyable. The accomodations were better than expected and this is a very nice and quiet getaway. Thanks!
Owner's Response: So glad the frigid temperatures broke, giving you an opportunity to get on the hiking trails. Do come back!
business
The Farm,Pet Friendly;Monteagle;Sewanee, Fiery Gizzard,wireless
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389024vbi
931-592-6176
Monteagle Tennessee
5

Business traveler's haven

Business traveler's haven
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This cottage is in a great location for working in Grundy Co. TN. It is clean, quiet, and equipped for a comfortable stay. The views are fantastic and it makes a business trip feel like a vacation. Recommended with pleasure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway
Owner's Response: The work that you and your team are doing here in my home county is so very much appreciated! Glad that the cabin could serve as a home away from home for you!
business
The Farm,Pet Friendly;Monteagle;Sewanee, Fiery Gizzard,wireless
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389024vbi
931-592-6176
Monteagle Tennessee
Jackson
5

Clean, comfortable, and convenient

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We have stayed at very high end cabins through VBRO, but this was available when we needed it and it was perfectly comfortable and very reasonably priced. It was also close to trails, good restaurants, and all the beauty of the Cumberland Plateau. I realized that we didn't really need all the bells and whistles of more expensive places we've booked in the past. When the weather was bad, we stayed in, cooked, and watched netflix. The added bonus was our sweet new dog friend Buttons, one of the owner's dogs, who stayed with us part of the time. Our host was readily available for any questions or issues--but we didn't really need her. I will definitely return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a good time! Buttons has been a hit with so many of the guests! Not sure she has had bacon since you left! She says..."come back soon!"
business
The Farm,Pet Friendly;Monteagle;Sewanee, Fiery Gizzard,wireless
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389024vbi
931-592-6176
Monteagle Tennessee
nashville tn
5

Excellent place for a weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Neat and clean. The owner has thought of everything to make your stay relaxing.
You have all the privacy one may desire yet close to hiking and short trip to town if you think of something you may need.
Pet friendly. The pictures are exactly what the property entails.
Inside you have gas fireplace and outside you have a fire pit great for these fall days or cold winter days. Equipped with several ceiling fans if you visit the property in the warmer months.
I will look at the calendar to find time to rent this property again.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay! You left about 5 days too early...the leaves are slowly beginning to show their beautiful fall colors! Come again!
business
The Farm,Pet Friendly;Monteagle;Sewanee, Fiery Gizzard,wireless
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389024vbi
931-592-6176
Monteagle Tennessee
hendersonville, tn
5

great weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
had a wonderful weekend visiting our son at sewanee. the farm was perfect for our needs. very clean, well maintained.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: So glad everything was to your liking!! Come again!
business
The Farm,Pet Friendly;Monteagle;Sewanee, Fiery Gizzard,wireless
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389024vbi
931-592-6176
Monteagle Tennessee
TN
5

Two teachers seeking quiet and rest during fall break!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This property was exactly what we wanted. Spacious, clean, and quiet, with a terrific back deck looking out into the trees. The bed was very comfortable, the kitchen had everything we needed, walking on the property was enjoyable, and the gas log fireplace made for a peaceful evening. The new wifi works even outside by the front firepit. FYI: The floor plan is very open; it may sleep up to 5 but there really isn't privacy between sleeping areas. It is best for couple or small family. Emily lives nearby but didn't intrude. The doggies were fun to have around but didn't bother us a bit. Next time we may do some hiking but this trip was all about relaxing! Definitely recommended for the peaceful setting or as a base for local sites.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad to know you guys are all fired up and ready to return to the classroom! Do come back anytime.....Buttons will be waiting!
business
The Farm,Pet Friendly;Monteagle;Sewanee, Fiery Gizzard,wireless
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p389024vbi
931-592-6176
Monteagle Tennessee
Georgia
5

Beginning of the summer vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We are from Atlanta but have been going to Vandy for doctor's visits for a year and a half. We decided this summer to schedule a Dr. visit when we could stay in the mountains close to Sewanee. The Farm was perfect. We were able to bring our dog, relax on the back deck in the morning and by the fire pit at night. Emily left hiking and shopping info that was super helpful. We are both hard working teachers who did multiple summer training sessions. Our stay on the Farm was the best part of our summer by far. We hope to return this fall.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you could relax even after being so delayed at your doctor's visit. Come back anytime!