Saugatuck / Douglas house rental - Exterior
Exterior
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Saugatuck / Douglas House Rental Photos and Description
5 Bedrooms, 3 Full Bathrooms, 2 Half Baths + Outdoor Shower, Sleeps 12

Nestled at the end of a private street in a wooded surrounding, but only 2 blocks from downtown Douglas is the setting for this perfect vacation getaway. Only 5 years old, it was custom built to resemble the 4-Square style homes of the early 1900's. This well constructed home was built with quality materials and features custom millwork and 9 foot ceilings throughout. The home has an open floor plan ideal which is ideal for entertaining. An in-ground pool, gourmet kitchen, screened-in porch, and 2 living spaces provide ample space for family or friends to gather together.

Sleeping Accommodations: The home features 5 bedrooms. There are three bedrooms on the second floor including a large master bedroom suite with soaking tub and walk-in shower. The other two bedrooms are nicely appointed with queen beds and share a full bath with tub/shower. The third floor is a huge open bedroom with it's own 1/2 bath. This room has 4 twin beds each situated in their own nook. The fifth bedroom is very large and is located in the lower level of the home. It's en suite with it's own bathroom complete with walk-in shower and double vanity.

Wonderfully Furnished: The walnut-stained hardwood floors throughout (although the bedrooms have carpet) against the backdrop of the all white walls, make for a cool cottage feel. The house is furnished in an eclectic mix of modern furnishings and cool vintage pieces coupled with fun artwork. The kitchen features Kitchen-Aid Chef Series stainless steel appliances with gas cooks range, convection oven & warming drawer, granite countertops, large island and custom painted cabinetry welcome any cook. A walk-thru butler's pantry has butcher-block countertops and stainless bar sink. The custom built farm table seats 10-12 for dinner with room for another 4 at the island. The living room has 2 large modern slip-covered sofas plus 2 custom upholstered chairs and is a wonderful place to congregate. The screened-in porch features an outdoor dining table that seats 8+ as well as a lounging area - perfect for reading a book, checking emails, or watching the activities in the pool. The lower level media room has an unbelievably comfy sectional to hang out in & watch movies or the big game.

Backyard Oasis: The newly built custom swimming pool (heated of course) is the center piece of the backyard. This 30 foot by 13 foot 'plunge' pool ranges in depth from 4-4.5' deep. Integrated stairs with custom 5' x 7' tanning ledge (covered in 3 inches of water) make for a great place to hang-out. A large custom concrete patio surrounds the pool area and is the perfect place to lounge in the sun. In addition, there's a great custom patio area steps from the pool with wonderful seating area perfect for cocktails and extended conversations. For the sports-minded guests, there's also a cool outdoor ping pong table perfect for a little one-on-one or doubles competition. The fun outdoor shower and bbq complete the backyard oasis.

More Details
Hide Details

21 Reviews of Property 388966 in Saugatuck / Douglas, Michigan

'White Pines' A Luxury Home w/ Custom Pool in Charming Downtown Douglas
average rating of 5.0 based on 21 reviews
business
'White Pines' A Luxury Home w/ Custom Pool in Charming Downtown Douglas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388966
+1 (773) 450-0046
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

Beautiful Home, Great stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
This home is great! It is gorgeous, inside and out. It is very clean and well kept with plenty of storage for luggage and belongings. Plenty of beds, including a kids room on the 3rd level.The location is great, very close to downtown Saugatuck where there are many fun restaurants and shops. There is a grocery store in walking distance which is great. I would definitely recommend the White Pines to anyone.
business
'White Pines' A Luxury Home w/ Custom Pool in Charming Downtown Douglas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388966
+1 (773) 450-0046
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

Luxury Retreat without Compromise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Discovering the 'White Pines' Home down the private drive was like opening a wonderful gift on Christmas morning. The exterior is pleasing to the eye with it's historical design and well appointed landscaping. When we entered the front door, we felt the light, bright decor sweep us away with a feeling of immaculate design, clean-lined, yet comfortable. Each room has it's own unique character with a uniting thread of adequate space and attention to detail. The beds were comfortable with the right amount of bedding and cushioning. The hub of the house, the kitchen, has the supplies to make anything from muffins to a roast and serve it from casual to sit down.

We had a delightful time being so close to all the fun and amenities of this charming town and we especially enjoyed just being on a weekend vacation in the home itself.

The home is equipped with all the necessities to comfortably enjoy your vacation.
business
'White Pines' A Luxury Home w/ Custom Pool in Charming Downtown Douglas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388966
+1 (773) 450-0046
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Chicago
5

Exceeded all expectations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We rented this property for a winter weekend with a group of eight. Having rented several houses before, there is always that nervous moment when you walk in the door and see what the place really looks like - especially if you're the one who booked it for the group. From the moment we walked into White Pines, we knew we had found the perfect place for our weekend getaway.

We are very particular about our rentals, especially the kitchen and bathrooms. These were immaculate. We have never rented a property that made us want to make an offer to buy it 'as is' - until White Pines. We hope to make our trip an annual one. If you're planning to stay in the area, there's no reason to look any further than this place.
business
'White Pines' A Luxury Home w/ Custom Pool in Charming Downtown Douglas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388966
+1 (773) 450-0046
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Northern California
5

You will NOT want to leave this house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Holy Smokes, this house is fantastic! From the moment I walked in, I was in LOVE! We rang in the New Year here and truly didn't want to leave. I can't even imagine how great this house is in the Summer when the pool is open. The kitchen had everything we needed right down to cheese cloth, gravy boat and trussing twine! Come On!? What other rental has an asparagus steamer and a pastry docker? The bathrooms are super clean, just like the rest of the house. The house is so solid and well proportioned and the decor is straight out of Architectural Digest. We took photos of every bedroom and artful design touch. I loved the kitchen so much that I had to be pulled downstairs for the movie. Then I just wanted to nap there after the movie and look through the coffee table books. It is amazing how fast a person can adjust to pure luxury. I cannot recommend this house enough. It is fantastic! You will LOVE IT! We sure did. Steve, if you ever want to sell it, please let us know first. Cheers!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'White Pines' A Luxury Home w/ Custom Pool in Charming Downtown Douglas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388966
+1 (773) 450-0046
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

All that was promised and more!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
You walk into this carefully appointed home and instantly relax! The place is an oasis in the true sense. In every room you are surrounded by luxury and style but in a completely comfortable easiness.
The kitchen is stocked with more quality drinkware and kitchenware than you could ever use.
You feel like you are visiting a very close friend who has loaned you his home.
business
'White Pines' A Luxury Home w/ Custom Pool in Charming Downtown Douglas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388966
+1 (773) 450-0046
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Shaker Heights, OH
5

Fabulous Girls' Getaway

Fabulous Girls' Getaway
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our Mahjong group of seven takes a trip every summer. White Pines far exceeded our expectations. The beautiful property was spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped. The pool and patio areas were spectacular.
The owner was available and attentive when we had a power issue due to an outage. Problems were quickly resolved.
White Pines is walking distance to neighborhood shops, restaurants and a full service grocery store.
We would recommend this property to anyone and everyone. Hope to return next summer !
business
'White Pines' A Luxury Home w/ Custom Pool in Charming Downtown Douglas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388966
+1 (773) 450-0046
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
West Chester, Ohio
5

First Annual Family Vaca

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This past Christmas our daughter who lives in Chicago suggested we give the gift of time spent together to one another in the form of a family vacation. And that is how we decided to find a vacation rental that our growing family could all enjoy. Our trip to White Pines was a pleasant drive for most and easy access via Grand Rapids for those who needed air transportation. All twelve of us, including Grandma, our six month old grandson, six children, one spouse and one finance, had a lovely time with plenty of space to just chill around the pool, chat the night away in the third floor bedroom or find some quiet for business calls in the lower level. The kitchen was well appointed and spacious and we grilled out several meals. A very short walk to the grocery made meals at home easy. The neighborhood was great for running, walking, shopping, and dining. We enjoyed the adjacent bowling alley with the young people as well as playing ping pong and croquet. Although the air was cool in the mornings, the afternoon sun was warm with only two cloudy days. I would definitely return to this beautiful and pristine location for a wonderfully relaxing vacation with my family. We would probably plan to return later in the season so that we could enjoy the beautiful pool! Thank you to our gracious host who made sure our stay was perfect.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'White Pines' A Luxury Home w/ Custom Pool in Charming Downtown Douglas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388966
+1 (773) 450-0046
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Chicago, Il
5

Ed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
WOW, what a wonderful experience. Everything we hoped for was delivered. We visited with our family including grandchildren. The pool was perfect and the surrounding pool deck and intimate shaded area provided a calm respite for the adults. Whether it was time for reading or relaxing while sunning in one of the many chairs, you felt like you were at your own personal retreat. When it came time for dinner you had the choice of a gourmet kitchen with everything you needed. A quick walk to the grocery or an excursion to one of the many farmers markets made for a wonderful meal served at the outdoor picnic table. From coffee in the morning to dinner on the town you are never more than a short walk from really good restaurants. If you want the full Lake Michigan experience you are 10 minutes from Oval Beach, rated as one of the best beaches in the world. We had a wonderful week and we look forward to a return visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
'White Pines' A Luxury Home w/ Custom Pool in Charming Downtown Douglas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388966
+1 (773) 450-0046
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
Chesterfield, Missouri
5

Great Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
White Pines is a gorgeous, beautifully furnished home well suited for our family vacation. We had our three grown children, spouses and 6 grandchildren with us and the home was a godsend for the kids. We vacation as a family every so often and the challenge is always finding something for the grandkids to do. While Douglas/Saugatuck is what I consider more of an adult destination, this home provided almost all the things the grandkids wanted to do. The backyard pool is wonderful, the recently installed ping pong table was a godsend and the downstairs media room was great for the teenage grandkids to watch television. The home is very large and spacious and the outdoor area as well as screened in porch is spectacular. The home is very clean and well furnished. This is by far and away the best home we have ever stayed in for a vacation. It is also in walking distance to a cute little bowling alley that serves pretty good food as well as within walking distance to several good restaurants in Douglas.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
'White Pines' A Luxury Home w/ Custom Pool in Charming Downtown Douglas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388966
+1 (773) 450-0046
Saugatuck / Douglas Southwest Michigan
5

Perfect for families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My family just returned from a week's stay at White Pines and we couldn't have been more pleased. As has been pointed out by others, the house is quite spacious and is very tastefully decorated. It was perfect for our family gathering of 10. Ages of our grandchildren ranged from 2 1/2 to 22. Plenty of room for teens to spread out (they loved the bedroom in the upper lever (loft), and we all enjoyed the heated pool immensely. The kitchen couldn't have been better equipped- from dishes, glasses, flatware to utensils and cutlery. Location was perfect- a short path led to the grocery store and a brief walk to downtown Douglas for restaurants and shops.