New Orleans house rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

New Orleans House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Nicknamed 'The Smile House' due to its unique front of the house that gives the appearance of a smiling face.

*****This House Will Be Exclusively Yours With Your Own Private Courtyard.*****

If this house is not available on your requested dates please see our other listing:

Vrbo.com/577066

This 1500 square foot historic home is located in the heart of the Marigny Triangle, only 3 blocks from the French Quarter and Bourbon St. And only 1 block from the music filled Frenchman St.

Please see reviews which all state pictures do not do the house justice!

The kitchen has custom made cabinets with marble counter tops and a unique pot sink. The kitchen is fully stocked with all your culinary needs to keep you busy during your vacation whether you are just looking to make a quick breakfast or if you are serving dinner for eight! Small courtyard in rear of house.

Enter the home into a sitting greeting room with 2 recliners and a daybed. Day bed has 2 TWIN size mattresses. Sitting room opens into main living room with oversized couch, 2 recliners, electric fireplace insert, 32' flat screen TV w DVD, Ipod dock w CD player. Beyond living room is the amazing updated eat in kitchen w table seating for 8, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, coffee maker,etc.. Off kitchen is laundry room, 2nd bedroom and bath. The bath features an original claw-foot tub w shower, and pedestal sink. 2nd bedroom has 2 FULL size beds with linens.

Also off the entry sitting room is the master suite. Suite has its own living room with oversized couch and love seat, apartment size refrigerator, 32' TV w DVD, Ipod dock w CD player. Living room opens to master bedroom. The Master bedroom features a large armoire, QUEEN sized Tempur-Pedic bed w linens, desk, Chaise Lounge, 37' flat screen TV w DVD. Off the master bedroom is master bath including: Whirlpool Bathtub, separate shower w jets for 2.

House features 12 foot high ceilings, original wide planked wooden floors, tile floors in kitchen and baths, tons of natural lighting, exposed brick chimneys, and much more.

The home is great for families and groups of all lifestyles. The neighborhood is friendly and accommodating to all, host to many local bars and restaurants for all tastes and styles. The home is non-smoking, but smoking is permitted outside in courtyard.

No pets.

MINIMUM AGE to rent home is 25 years old and subject to verification upon request.

Keywords: House Mardi Gras French Quarter

More Details
Hide Details

I have searched for a second home in this neighborhood for several years. I feel that I have found the perfect location, central to everything you need, and the peacefulness of a safe residential neighborhood. I am extending my home to you when I am not there because it is too beautiful not to share.

Jesse purchased this house in 2011

1 block form Frenchman street which has the best music and food to be found in New Orleans.

3 blocks from French Quarter.

Tons of amazing restaurants and shops within the surrounding blocks.

Safe and friendly residential neighborhood.

Historic home with all the right updates while keeping all the important vintage features.

12 foot ceilings and floor plan make for a very cozy yet open home.

112 Reviews of Property 388707 in New Orleans, Louisiana

'Smile House' Only 3 Blocks to French Quarter! Sleeps 6-10
average rating of 4.919643 based on 112 reviews
business
'Smile House' Only 3 Blocks to French Quarter! Sleeps 6-10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388707vb
7164812529
New Orleans Louisiana
5

311 Day at the Smile House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I can't say enough good things about this rental property and its location. We were a group of 5 guys in town for the 311 Day concert. The location is a 10 minute walk to Bourbon Street, Frenchman Street and the river/French Market/Cafe Du Monde area. We felt very safe walking to and from these locations at all hours of the day/night.

Iggy's 24 hour bar down the block is a must see. Local dive bar with interesting patrons. We never had to buy alcohol for time spent at the house because this place was so nearby and affordable. I dare you to order a shot at this place.

The house slept our group very comfortably. The kitchen and bathrooms are more than adequate. The master bathroom shower has a nice spa feel to it. There are cd/mp3 players and flat screen TV’s in all areas of the house. Not one necessity has been overlooked.

Is it March 11th, 2016 yet??? Our group cannot wait to return to New Orleans and to The Smile House. Thank you for everything!!!!!!!!!!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Great review.
Always glad to hear of guests good times!
business
'Smile House' Only 3 Blocks to French Quarter! Sleeps 6-10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388707vb
7164812529
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Great house and location! :)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Our stay in the smiley house was great. We celebrated my best friends bachelorette party. The house is only a 10-15 minute walk to Bourbon Street or a $7-$10 cab ride. The pictures posted are a true depiction of what the house looks like. The open layout of the house was perfect for entertaining. I especially loved the artwork and pops of color throughout the house. The owner was very helpful in providing tips or suggestions. Also, he was kind enough to give us early check in and check out times due to our flight times. Overall, I would highly recommend this property to anyone visiting NOLA. I hope to visit the smiley house again in the near future. :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Welcome back anytime!
business
'Smile House' Only 3 Blocks to French Quarter! Sleeps 6-10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388707vb
7164812529
New Orleans Louisiana
Pensacola,FL
5

Perfect Girl's Weekend House!

Perfect Girl's Weekend House!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We rented this house for a bachelorette party and it was perfect! It was just like the pictures! The bride requested that we stay in the Marigny area so I hunted on the web to find this gem! All the girls were thrilled with the house. They had seen the pictures online and were excited to see it in person. No one was disappointed! It slept all 7 of us very comfortably. I had to contact the owner several times leading up to our stay because of travel changes within our group. Jesse was very easy to get ahold of and very accommodating. He refunded part our extra guest fee that we already paid when a couple girls ended up not being able to make it last minute. Thank you so much for being so easy to work with and for helping us to have a bachelorette weekend none of us will ever forget!!! We love Smile House!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You were a charm to work with.
Welcome back anytime!
business
'Smile House' Only 3 Blocks to French Quarter! Sleeps 6-10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388707vb
7164812529
New Orleans Louisiana
Fort Worth
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Six friends and I stayed at the smile house to celebrate my birthday. The house was amazing and the pictures does not do it justice. It was close to the French Quarters and so many other wonderful spots. Great for walking a seeing all the sites,sounds and tastes of New Orleans. Once you stay at the Smile House you wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. Thanks Jessie for such a wonderful place to vacation. I hope to visit every year!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words!
business
'Smile House' Only 3 Blocks to French Quarter! Sleeps 6-10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388707vb
7164812529
New Orleans Louisiana
BIRMINGHAM, AL
5

Great location beautiful property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The location is perfect, walking distance to Frenchmen street and close to all the fun the french quarter has to offer. The property itself is very nice. The owner was very nice and helpful and even mailed me back my keys after I left them at his property.
Owner's Response: No problem. it was an adventure finding your keys ;)
business
'Smile House' Only 3 Blocks to French Quarter! Sleeps 6-10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388707vb
7164812529
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Smile House.....Great Location......Great House......Great Amenities!!!!!!!!Great Owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had 10 family members stay the Superbowl weekend before our cruise. Super, great and wonderful time.........we owe it to the SMILE House! Location close to everything....lots of extras that the owner added to compliment our vacation and made it special for us All!
We will be back for certain! Thanks Jesse!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Great guests.
Come back anytime!
business
'Smile House' Only 3 Blocks to French Quarter! Sleeps 6-10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388707vb
7164812529
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Bachelorette Party on MLK Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had a group of 7 girls stay here on a bachelorette weekend. The pictures and descriptions were very accurate! It was very clean with lots of space for all of us hanging out but not feeling crowded. The couches, beds and trundle bed were all very comfortable and there were plenty of pillows, blankets and linens for our group size. The master bath was huge! About a 15 minute walk to the heart of Bourbon Street. The area around the house looks a little run-down in places but we never felt unsafe. The owner Jesse was very generous in our arrival and departure times and was able to let us leave later based on our flights. The only con I would report is the house is not very insulated from noise so we heard every car start, people talking outside walking by and the clip-clop of horse-drawn carriages going by. But we were definitely not in NOLA to sleep so no major harm done!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. I believe the clip clop of the horses (mules actually) is part of the charm :)
Welcome back anytime!
business
'Smile House' Only 3 Blocks to French Quarter! Sleeps 6-10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388707vb
7164812529
New Orleans Louisiana
5

AWESOME HOUSE, AWESOME LOCATION!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
A group of 7 of us stayed at the Smile House for an extended weekend in November. The house is in the perfect location! Only a short walk from the French Quarter, French Market, and anything else worth doing while in NOLA. This will definitely be our preferred place to stay whenever visiting. The Ruby Slipper is a must for breakfast and is located just around the corner from the house. Jesse was a pleasure to work with and even arranged for a late check out to accommodate our flight.
Owner's Response: Welcome back anytime!
business
'Smile House' Only 3 Blocks to French Quarter! Sleeps 6-10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388707vb
7164812529
New Orleans Louisiana
Warrenton, VA
5

Perfect Family Christmas!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We had a wonderful Christmas at the Smile House! The house is beautifully decorated and convenient to anywhere you would want to go in New Orleans. We would definitely stay there again. Jesse was very kind and accommodating. Only a block and a half away from Binder's Bakery. Go there for the best cream cheese donut ever!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: That bakery is evil!
You are all welcome back anytime.
business
'Smile House' Only 3 Blocks to French Quarter! Sleeps 6-10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388707vb
7164812529
New Orleans Louisiana
4

Great Location and very local feel

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
3 of us spent a long weekend in the Smile House to celebrate our turning 50 this year. The house is very cute, and well appointed with many nice touches. It is decorated with New Orleans color and style. The front entry has very helpful information about the area, restaurants and most anything you would need to know for your stay. We had no problem parking a car the entire stay on the street, but also often took a cab for the short ride to areas in and around the French Quarter. We also walked to the FQ a time or two. Beds were comfortable. Overall we had a great stay.

The only 2 reasons I don't give it 5 stars is there was a heat issue while we were there. One day we were there was the coldest night of the year, below freezing, and the heat could not keep up so we awoke to a very cold house. To his credit, the owner Jesse responded to the issue immediately and had a us buy a couple of space heaters since he would not be able to get anyone there to fix it during our stay. He reimbursed us fully and a little extra for our inconvenience, and with the space heaters there was no longer a heat problem. Also the kitchen faucet had a bad leak, which I'm sure was something new and I have no doubts Jesse will have that fixed as the overall condition of this charming old time New Orleans property was very good.

I would return to the Smile House again, it was a location and environment that really said New Orleans!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You guys were great guests and rolled with the punches of the unexpected winter we got.
I had the heat system updated this week to handle any conditions old mother nature throws at us.
So should be smooth sailing from here.