Long Bay bungalow rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Long Bay Bungalow Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedroom, 2 Full Bathrooms, sleeps 4

Located on same 1 1/4 acres as the large house.

This house rental consists of two twin bedrooms, each with connecting full bathrooms. There is a living-dining room area, with a full kitchen. 52' ceiling fans in each room. A full size washing machine & cloths dryer. Wireless WIFI. A broad deck faces the sea.

The sea-view from the deck is glorious. The house sleeps up to four people.

The house rental fee includes daily maid service and a gardener.

A cook can be arranged at the expense of the renter(s).

All linens are included in the house rental fee as well. The house has free wireless Internet access.

See Homeaway property #388055 for 4 bedroom beach house.

We are a large family, 13 siblings, from a small town along the Canadian border in Northern NY. My Dad originally bought the property to escape the brutal winter seasons. I currently manage the property for the family. My siblings and their families are heavy users of the property.

Brian FitzGerald purchased this bungalow in 1963

Barbados is English speaking.

All the comforts of home are close at hand if you want them as Barbados is one of the most developed islands in the region. The literacy rate approaches 98% and the capital Bridgetown and its surrounds are booming.

Our property is away from the luxury resorts of the west coast and the well-developed south coast, so if you are looking for a highly developed commercial resort setting, that is not our property. We are a short drive from the well-developed southern coast should you wish to access it.

Our property is located on the Southeast coast which is where you’ll find what makes the island special. Steady cooling easterly trade winds and a pristine natural setting. The property is located beachfront in a quiet, upscale and safe residential setting, close to supermarkets, restaurants and bars. The property has its own beach, there are a number of beaches within walking distance and Crane Beach, one of the finest beaches on the island is 10 minutes by car.

Barbados is a great package, and despite its popularity, you’ll have no trouble making it your own. Away from the glitz, it’s still a place of classic calypso rhythms, an island-time vibe and world-famous rums.

Half a million people can’t be wrong. That’s the number of visitors Barbados attracts annually, and it doesn’t take long before you see why they come by the planeload: the coasts are ringed by the kinds of azure-water and white-sand visions that fuel the fantasies of Brits, Americans and Canadians stuck shivering away in some snowy winter clime.

The property is a unique opportunity for the budget conscious wanting a private ocean front natural setting but not wanting to incur the high cost of a luxury villa. The house is charming, roomy, comfortable and simply furnished.

15 Reviews of Property 388473 in Long Bay, Barbados

Ocean Front 2 Bedroom Bungalow on Private Estate
average rating of 4.714286 based on 15 reviews
business
Ocean Front 2 Bedroom Bungalow on Private Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388473
+1 3052157145
Long Bay St. Philip
5

First and foremost, a beautiful seaside location.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
First and foremost, a beautiful seaside location. Knock your socks-off undeveloped coastline and beaches!!!

The house really is a nod to the traditional beach bungalow style. No flat screen TV or A/C, yes to wireless high speed internet. We found it comfortable, family friendly & roomy. Bathrooms, recently renovated, spacious and modern. The full kitchen was well equipped, we used it quite a bit.. Gabbi, the housekeeper, her daily service, pleasant and diligent. She cooks a flying fish and cou-cou dish we’re still dreaming about. Not too far to bars, markets and restaurants. We rented a small car from Stoutes, in late at the airport, took a cab to the house and Stoutes delivered the car to the house early the next morning. When not out and about in the neighborhood, we took a few drives around the island; Bathsheba is not to be missed!

Very reasonably priced – we’ll be back
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Ocean Front 2 Bedroom Bungalow on Private Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388473
+1 3052157145
Long Bay St. Philip
Chicago
5

A wonderfully Relaxing Vacation Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had a lovely stay at the Bungalow. The house and property exceeded our expectations from what is a fair presentation on HomeAway. The house, simply furnished, we found to be comfortable, well maintained and very clean. The bedrooms are spacious and the two full bathrooms crazy spacious! The kitchen is fully stocked for home cooking. Gabby, the housekeeper, helpful, friendly and one heck of a cook.

A nice, safe, upscale residential neighborhood – quite and away from the touristy spots. The ocean front location is a naturalist delight. Well kept grounds, flowers, hummingbirds, green monkeys in the trees from time to time. Great walking beaches & coastline, Sharks Hole swimming and my favorite Crane Beach just down the road. We would go out to Emerald City for food shopping or stop at Cutters for a rum punch and a sandwich.

Early morning breakfast on the deck with the sun rising over the ocean, doesn't get any better.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ocean Front 2 Bedroom Bungalow on Private Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388473
+1 3052157145
Long Bay St. Philip
5

Location, amenities, and price are right.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Renting vacation property sight unseen can be a leap of faith. Fitzgerald's bungalow is all that it indicates. Great location, well-kept grounds, and the natural scenery is fantastic. Gabby, the house-keeper, is pleasant, helpful w/ excursion suggestions and she's willing to prepare (like a pro) local cuisine in-house. I recommend this property to anyone looking to be removed from the high traffic touristy spots and wanting to relax in a safe, serene, location. We had two couples in our group and found the space, including two bathrooms, ample. The kitchen is fully functional and most of our at-home leisure time was spent on the expansive deck. All for a very reasonable cost.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ocean Front 2 Bedroom Bungalow on Private Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388473
+1 3052157145
Long Bay St. Philip
Bradford, Ontario
4

Edges rough just like coast.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
1) We only saw the groundskeeper once when he came to batten down the windows with Tropical Storm Chantelle threatening; when the all clear was given by the government and the weather had passed, he did not return so my son and I propped open the big shutters with two broomsticks and a piece of cane - we were out by 8 on the next morning and when we returned by mid-day the proper sticks were back on the shutters, though the broomsticks had disappeared never to reappear. Air circulation is so limited that they needed to be open at nighttime.
2) The advertised maid was occasional. Her husband is a fisherman so that was good - she also cooked a meal for us. She did change towels twice and ran our laundry three times.
3) Related to laundry, given the unused space in both bathrooms, a machine should be put into the Gatehouse. No need for a dryer in Barbados, but the lack of a laundry machine is a weakness.
4) I felt keenly that our clothesline was too close to the hedge and in reaching distance from the lane, so I was reluctant to leave clothes on it too long. It also got too much shadow in this location (morning and late afternoon).
5) Safety: the fencing on the gate has clearly been cut, probably by fishermen, but it was still unnerving as my daughter pointed out. There are at least three other cut areas on the fence by the lane - the hedge being broken down and the fence pushed out opposite the kitchen door gives the impression someone leapt out of the house through the fence! A bit of wire stitched around the cut areas would at least address the integrity of the fence.
6) Circulation: With the neighbouring houses, trees, and the Hut to the sea side, wind is limited in the Gatehouse, especially with the double window covering... louvers plus shutters. The fans were great but ceiling fans would have been better - as it was, with a single plug and no extension cord, fans ended up being right beside our heads at night. At least two of us experienced ear blockages as a result.
7) Mosquitoes: the screens on the windows by the beds are nullified by the two seaside windows and three in each bathroom which are not screened! We ended up burning mosquito coils to control the mosquitoes.

The supply of dishes, glasses etc. were fine as was the fridge, toaster...
All in all it was a good visit with just minor flaws. I had stayed in The Hut in 2005 and would stay there again because of the breeze; the Gatehouse is more limited. The location is the real gem.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Ocean Front 2 Bedroom Bungalow on Private Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388473
+1 3052157145
Long Bay St. Philip
2

Extremely rustic

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This bungalow is 15 feet from property number 388055 so the garden, driveway and small beach are actually shared and the second property obscures 70% of the view. We did rent both properties due to this reason and the larger house is the only one with a washing machine which was important as we rented for 3 weeks.
There is no pool which is sorely needed as it is not possible to swim in the sea due to strong currents and pounding surf (the swimming beaches are mostly on the west island side). There is no air conditioning so the property can get extremely hot which can get rather uncomfortable especially whilst cooking inside as there is no BBQ provided to use outside. There are four plastic chairs and two loungers on the terrace one of the loungers is broken and none have cushions so can get sticky.
If you like walking along the cliffs and beaches then this property is ideal however, a car is essential.
Inside the house is very basic only adequate is the word to describe the furnishings, not the most comfortable property we have ever rented - wardrobe doors do not close - bathroom doors only have a lock and no handle so need door stoppers to keep the sun from streaming through the bathroom windows and heating the bedrooms even more. Only some of the windows have mesh so bug spray was essential.
Gabby is an excellent cook, her fish is mouth watering and she is always ready with a smile.
So to recap the bungalow is adequate and reasonably priced but in need of modernising and please, please, please instal a pool.
Would we go back? Not unless some drastic changes were made - POOL - air conditioning - descent ouside and inside furniture and BBQ
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ocean Front 2 Bedroom Bungalow on Private Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388473
+1 3052157145
Long Bay St. Philip
5

Awesome place for a get-away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The location of the house is just perfect. Be warned that you just won't want to leave, once you'll have tasted the tranquility and the serinity of the premises. Lots of quiet beaches a short distance walk away, very close to the airport and the popular south coast beaches. The owner was readily available for our questions. You should consider renting a vehicle for the time you're visiting, it makes it easier to move around the island.
All in all, it's a great place to kick back, relax, enjoy the view of the ocean, away from the hustle and bustle of the more touristic areas of Barbados.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ocean Front 2 Bedroom Bungalow on Private Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388473
+1 3052157145
Long Bay St. Philip
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
5

Crashing Waves and Tranquility

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This was our second stay at Fitzgerald house and we are already planning our return. This time we did spend some time staying between Oistins and the Gap, but you really cannot beat falling asleep to crashing waves as opposed to traffic, dogs barking and roosters crowing! The house has had some improvements and we were very comfortable. Gaby was as usual a great help and very friendly to boot. We did hire a car right away, but the buses are really close and make it easy to get around. The neighborhood is quiet and safe, and you cannot beat the stars you can see at night. Great grocery shopping at Six Roads, and when we did not want to cook there were plenty of restaurants close by. I cannot stress enough the difference between staying here and staying in the tourist hub. Peace, quiet, cool breezes that eliminate the need for air conditioning and friendly staff and neighbors. Stay here if you would like some peace and privacy with the most beautiful view right in front of you. With a front garden like that, you forget all about cell phones and television!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ocean Front 2 Bedroom Bungalow on Private Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388473
+1 3052157145
Long Bay St. Philip
5

Another wonderful stay in Barbados!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Still our favorite place to visit, and this fabulous rental home is really ideal. Well located near the best beaches on the island. We love to stroll to Sam Lord's beach in the morning and to take a swim at the Sharkhole, which is minutes away. Gaby, the house manager made us a great meal of typical Bajan fare. Her mahi-mahi was excellent! We never tire of staying here. The view is extraordinary, the sunrise calm and colorful. We have breakfast at home, on the terrace overlooking the sea, lunch wherever we are visiting and stop by to grab a few groceries for dinner or an excellent meal to go from Cutters. We of course take advantage of the excellent restaurants around the island. Evenings usually end with some Cockspur rum punch on a lawn chair as we gaze at the millions of stars overhead. Every night, we see a shooting star here - just magical. It is wonderful to sleep with the wind coming in through the windows and the sound of the sea and tree frogs. This vacation sure provided us with a change of pace and of scenery and we appreciate the authenticity of our bajan experience.
Talk with the folks you meet here and discover the genuineness of their welcome!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ocean Front 2 Bedroom Bungalow on Private Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388473
+1 3052157145
Long Bay St. Philip
5

Lose the stress, a stay at Fitzgerald's

Lose the stress, a stay at Fitzgerald's
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Find the lost art of talking while Listening to the ocean waves, find the local swimming spot (the shark hole) have Gabby cook you a Bajian meal, as she gives you a cooking lesson, or call Cutters and order a pizza or meal. I appreciated Brian's response to either phone or email questions. Hoping time will allow us to return. Barbados is a wonderful island to visit. June Sarno
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ocean Front 2 Bedroom Bungalow on Private Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388473
+1 3052157145
Long Bay St. Philip
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
5

Location, location, location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
The cottage is on the east side of the island, the Atlantic side. If you are looking for soft, sandy beaches and easy swimming, expecially for small children; or for night life; this is not for you. Instead you get gorgeous scenery as described by the last reviewer, quiet and a respite from the abundant tourism of the south and west.
We did not find anywhere to walk to that was safe for swimming due to high waves when we were there. You can drive or bus to Bath beach, the only beach on the island that is safe for swimming. It has a nice park as well and used by locals.
A great drive is up the east coast to Bathsheba (Bath beach on the way); it is at least 30 minutes to Oistins and an hour to the west coast, so if you want to snorkel or swim or go to the fish fry, you need to consider the timing.
The description and pictures of the property are accurate. The cottage by no means is luxurious, so if you are looking for matching dishware and fancy decor you will have to pay a lot more. We found the cottage charming and simply furnished. It is pretty rough and ready, with a bit of a scarcity of electrical outlets, but just fine. Two bathrooms for 4 people is great.
The real appeal is the beautiful views over the ocean; and Gabby, who looked after us. She cooked us a real Bajan meal, and let me watch her every step of the way. She even bought me a coucou stick! I have not yet used it, but will try although I lack the knack, I am sure.
Owner's Response: Tina thank you for the wonderful review.
Helpful votes: 3/3