Craftsbury house rental - Early Morning
Early Morning
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Craftsbury House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, (Sleeps 10)

Chandler House provides an ideal retreat for families and friends looking to experience the quintessential Vermont experience. The house is set up as your own 'Private Inn,' featuring five bedrooms and five baths in addition to comfortable living, kitchen and dining spaces.

The house is located in postcard-perfect Craftsbury Common, one of the Northeast Kingdom's most photographed villages. The town served, for example, as Alfred Hitchcock's stage set for 'The Trouble with Harry.' Chandler House, in fact, makes several appearances in the film, including the moment when 'Hitch' makes his signature, on-screen cameo.

The Town, founded in 1789, sits atop a plateau surrounded by forest and farmland. Federalist architecture, white clapboard, and the classic church steeple encircle the ideal village green. The town is additionally home to Sterling College, a celebrated four-year institution specializing in environmental education. The Common itself is a hive of activity, farmers markets, summer concerts, soccer camps and town parades. Local artisans abound. Craftsbury Common is sleepy and sophisticated at the same time.

Craftsbury's sits as the southwest gateway to Vermont's Northeast Kindom, an area noted for its abundant wildlife and breathtaking scenery. Warm days and cool nights characterize the area’s summer season. Fall foliage is spectacular throughout the region, and is considered the best in the State. During the wintertime and located within a snow belt, Craftsbury's visuals are those of a Robert Frost poem. Native photographer, John M. Miller, captured the land and its people in his work, whereas the writer, Howard Frank Mosher, has underscored the unique essence of the area in his famous novels 'The Fall of the Year' and 'Where the River Runs North'

Outdoor activities abound in Craftsbury and the region. Hiking, mountain biking, swimming, golf and downhill skiing are all close-by. Adjacent Greensboro is home to Caspian Lake, which is surrounded by summer cottages and estates. The hiking and biking trails around fjord-like Lake Willoughby are spectacular.

The Craftsbury Outdoor Center encompasses two smaller lakes in the area, Great and Little Hosmer. The Center offers sculling camps in the summer and some of the most extensive and best-regarded cross-country trail systems in the State. The annual Winter Marathon attracts upwards of 1500 athletes each January who compete and take in the area’s well known hospitality. According to one participant, the terrain has '...a delightful mix of vistas –snow laden balsam firs, silver-gray or red barns, expanses of farm fields, frozen lakes and beaver ponds, white birches against sometimes blue skies, and small beech trees still clinging to their dry golden leaves.”

Keywords: Country House, Federalist Architecture, Village Setting, Family, Friends

More Details
Hide Details

As the owners of Chandler House, we feel that Craftsbury Common has a remarkable spirit and sense of place unlike any other that we have visited. One of us is an architect who specializes in the design of resort facilities throughout North America and abroad. The other is an actor and child psychiatrist specializing in Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome or PTSD. Craftsbury is a great place to recharge. It unfailingly reminds us what is important in our lives and why we do what we do.

John Ashworth purchased this house in 2009

Craftsbury is the perfect Vermont Village: picturesque and unspoiled; an architectural gem and a perfect place to unwind and reflect on what is truly important in life.

Outdoor Activity, wildlife and leaf viewing, family gathering, reading, fire-making, relaxation, and time away from cell phones and email.

18 Reviews of Property 303238 in Craftsbury, Vermont

Chandler House: Quintessential Vermont
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 18 reviews
business
Chandler House: Quintessential Vermont
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303238vb
(415) 652-7184 (California, USA)
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Rhode Island, USA
5

Family gathering in rural Vermont

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This house is amazing! Located in a picturesque village in the northeastern Vermont it is definitely remote but perfect for a family gathering. As with other comments, the kitchen is small but we took care of that by each taking turns cooking. We loved our evenings around the dinner table playing cards. There was plenty of room for ten with the big bedrooms and private bathrooms. It was very clean and well stocked, lots of towels! We had planned to snowshoe and snow board but it was rainy although we were surrounded by snow. So we ate our way though the area..beer tasting at 2 breweries (including the brewery at the Von Trapp Lodge in Stowe), cheese tasting at Cabot and ice cream at the Ben and Jerry's ice cream factory. John, the owner, was very helpful and easy to work with. We definitely hope to be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Chandler House: Quintessential Vermont
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303238vb
(415) 652-7184 (California, USA)
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Waterville, ME
5

Great house in a fantastic location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Given the lack of accommodation for groups in Craftsbury, we were so excited to find this house. It's a beautiful house, just minutes from the Outdoor Center. So nice to be able to cook for ourselves and relax right on the Common.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Chandler House: Quintessential Vermont
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303238vb
(415) 652-7184 (California, USA)
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Portland, ME
5

A warm and comfortable get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We had a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday in the lovely Chandler House. It is just minutes from the Craftsbury Outdoor Center, one of the top cross country ski centers in the northeast. The rooms are large and well appointed. There is a comfortable common room. The kitchen is well equipped and efficient enough to prepare a Thanksgiving feast for 8. It is large enough for good size group but still cozy and inviting. We hope to stay there again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Chandler House: Quintessential Vermont
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303238vb
(415) 652-7184 (California, USA)
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Katy, TX
5

A Wonderful Family Vacation Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We hosted our family of 9 this year on our annual VT vacation. Chandler House is a very well cared for house with old world charm. It's very clean and the beds are comfortable, plus a bathroom for each bedroom. The photos speak for themselves and what you see is what you get. You won't be disappointed. The area scenery and recreational opportunities are amazing. The Craftsbury Outdoor Center rents mountain bikes and has bike trails for all skill levels. Caspian lake is 15 minutes away. We biked, swam, boated, rode the Stowe ski lifts up and alpine slides down, played cards at night and one persistent family member put together a 1,000-piece puzzle over several nights. Thanks to John (the owner) and Janet (the caretaker) for taking good care of us during our stay. What a great vacation!!! YOLO - Chandler House and Craftsbury Common should be on your bucket list.
business
Chandler House: Quintessential Vermont
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303238vb
(415) 652-7184 (California, USA)
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
USA
5

Outstanding rental in Craftsbury Common

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 31, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is a beautiful home, well equipped to house 10 of all ages. View from the patio is spectacular, comfortable beds, within easy walking distance of library, Sterling College, and trails. Although we were there in the spring, it is truly a home for all seasons.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Chandler House: Quintessential Vermont
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303238vb
(415) 652-7184 (California, USA)
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
New Mexico
5

Great Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This place is wonderful. It'll stay in my heart forever. Very comfortable, super clean, spacious, everything perfect. The photos are all accurate. Couldn't believe our luck! Perfect location, very quiet. We loved absolutely everything about this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Chandler House: Quintessential Vermont
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303238vb
(415) 652-7184 (California, USA)
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Westchester,New York
5

A place to restore the passion and joy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
The house is beautifully decorated and comfortable creating a real homey feel. Our clan spent precious moments playing board games(provided with the house) with the kids when we were not taking long walks, spending time at the library (the staff there were so welcoming and friendly!). We enjoyed speaking to the friendly people at the art/cofee house across the way and to the locals selling their products at the farmers market. A trip to the general store for lunch was a treat for the kids as was fishing at near by Paige Pond. The countryside is amazing for long bike rides as one of our clan took advantage of. This place allows oneself to step back and take the opportunity to reconfirm what is truly important. The house and setting is truly a gem!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Chandler House: Quintessential Vermont
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303238vb
(415) 652-7184 (California, USA)
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Dedham,MA
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
My family rented this house with my sister and her family. We had 2 young children and 2 teenagers. The house worked out great for everyone and the owners were very accommodating. There is a lot to do in Craftsbury and the surrounding area and the house was central to everything we wanted. Besides having the Common right out our front door, the library was two houses over and a small bookstore/coffee shop was across the Common. There was also plays put on at the library and Sterling college the weekend we were there. The kitchen is a little small but the rest of the house more than makes up for it. The bedrooms were large and comfortable and the bathrooms were well done and clean. We are looking forward to coming back!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Chandler House: Quintessential Vermont
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303238vb
(415) 652-7184 (California, USA)
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
5

Great time during the holidays

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We had a lovely time in Chandler house. We stayed during the Christmas vacation and enjoyed the snow-covered hills and vistas, cross-country skiing at the nearby Craftsbury Outdoor Center, alpine skiing at Jay Peak and Stowe, restaurants and just hanging out in the house. One especially fun day involved cross-country skiing on the commons. Not too distant is the Willey’s general store – which is worth a visit just for its incredible size and variety of items despite an unassuming storefront. Nearby is Mill Village Pottery, with potter Lynn Flory, who has many unique pieces including an invaluable rice cooker.
The kitchen, while small, is incredibly well-equipped. Each room was well-appointed and had a distinctive character. The place was very clean and well-maintained and also offered considerably storage for ski equipment. We would definitely return, possibly for a summer trip to experience the non-winter activities in the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Chandler House: Quintessential Vermont
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p303238vb
(415) 652-7184 (California, USA)
Craftsbury Northeast Kingdom
Vermont
5

Sue-Vermont

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Chandler House offers the ideal getaway, tucked along the bucolic Common Of Craftsbury for quietude, yet a stone's throw from the seasonal activities such as nordic touring at the Cratbury Outdoor Center or swimmingiat nearbyllake Caspian.Our small group of women had "fled the homefronts" for a weekend escape. After kilometers of perfectly groomed nordic skiing the wood fires back at the "Inn" were a welcome pleasure to kickback and watch the snowflakes fall. The well-equipped kitchen maximized its petite square footage, such that the cook could throw the meal together while sharing appetizers and stories with the rest of the crew at the adjoining large dining table. Bedrooms were spacious enough to accomodate sitting areas so privacy could easily be snatched up. Chandler House sits midway along the historic commons, lined with quintessential white house with green shutters to one side and the environmental Sterling College to the other;the past and the future seeminglessly merging.Sipping a glass of wine, watching the late winter sun vanish and leave an almost dreamlike sepia-toned landscape in its wake, a tethered llama walks by with its handler....all is calm, all is rejuvenated once again....
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway