Albuquerque cottage rental - Steve & Kara Grant (property owners)
Steve & Kara Grant (property owners)
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Albuquerque Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Convertible bed(s), Sleeps 2-4

Charming historic cast stone home nestled in the middle of a neighborhood full of beautiful restored historic homes. This cozy home was once the original carriage house to one of the beautiful restored homes that is know as the “Spy House” because of atomic bomb drawings being sold by David Greenglass, the brother of the infamous Ethel Rosenburg, to a soviet spy. The “Spy House” is also a bed and breakfast where you will be more than welcome to have your breakfast at an additional cost of $10/per person when the B & B schedule permits. It is also within walking distance of many great restaurants.

There is one bedroom with a king-size bed that is next to a large living area that has a daybed that can pull out to an additional king-size bed or two twin beds.

The dining area is in the living area with an antique table that can be used just as a desk or pulls out to easily accommodate four people.

The private fenced backyard wraps around the house and has a bench and small table should you want to sit outside for diner or just to relax.

You are an easy 5-10 minutes from Convention Center, UNM, Hospitals, Old Town, Museums, Zoo, Airport, and even a shorter distance to great shopping, restaurants or even the movie theater. You are also within walking distance to the train/bus stations that can take you to many other great attractions in the Albuquerque area.

Weekly and monthly rates available only.

Normally bookings for less than one week are not accepted more than a month in advance (returning guests exempt).

No smoking, (Smoking permitted outside the house.) Sorry, no pets.

More Details
Hide Details

Steve and Kara Grant, the owners and innkeepers of the Downtown Historic Bed and Breakfasts of Albuquerque, have been residents of Albuquerque since 1999. When they first moved here, they settled in a typical home with their 3 children. But two years after their fourth little girl was born, they came across a unique house with an amazing story behind it in the downtown area of Albuquerque. The house was badly in need of TLC, but Kara fell in love with the house and Steve soon warmed up to it as well. They spent 6 months making the house livable and moved into it Christmas Eve of 2004. This house was the “Spy House” (ATOMIC BOMB SECRETS TRADED HERE), which they made their home for 5 years. The other building on the same property is the 'Carriage House', which is the one we currently use for VRBO business.

Steve and Kara Grant purchased this cottage in 2003

We love the historic neighborhood area that and the GREAT location is a plus too!! Located in Downtown Albuquerque, close to just about everything - Hospitals, University of New Mexico, Old Town, Nob Hill, Airport, 5 blocks to the Rail Runner Train station that goes all the way to Santa Fe!

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION!! WE ARE THE PERFECT LOCATION TO REACH JUST ABOUT EVERYTHING IN ALBUQUERQUE!

8 Reviews of Property 388314 in Albuquerque, New Mexico

Downtown Historic Home by UNM Convention Center, Hospitals
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
business
Downtown Historic Home by UNM Convention Center, Hospitals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388314
+1 (505) 238-0308
Albuquerque New Mexico
los angeles
5

Wonderful stay, wonderful hosts, and great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We had so much fun visiting ABQ, and we loved staying at Steve and Kara's Carriage House. The house is beautiful and was really comfortable for the 3 of us (2 adults and a 3-year-old). We made full use of the kitchen, and while it was a bit tight on space for dining inside the kitchen, we enjoyed most of our meals there in the big beautiful yard listening to the stream, where there is plenty of seating and space (and lots for our 3-year-old to look at). The house is in a quiet neighborhood, but so close/walking distance to restaurants, bus stop, train station. (Really bike-friendly streets too. We were car-less and rented 2 bikes and a bike trailer for our child, and either bicycled or took the bus/train where ever we wanted to go.)

Steve was always available for questions or suggestions during our stay, and we enjoyed getting to know him while we were there. We had a really relaxing stay, and we would definitely stay there if we were in ABQ again. Thanks again, Steve and Kara!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Downtown Historic Home by UNM Convention Center, Hospitals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388314
+1 (505) 238-0308
Albuquerque New Mexico
Natchez, Mississippi
5

Home Sweet Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
My boyfriend stayed in the Carriage House while I stayed in the Cabinet House for 5 months while working in Albuquerque and we loved every minute of it! Beautiful house and beautiful grounds, and the location is excellent. Within walking distance of plenty of restaurants and shops along Route 66, and very convenient for interstate access. The Carriage House and Cabinet House has everything needed for an extended stay, or is perfect for a weekend getaway. Steve and Kara were excellent hosts and we enjoyed getting to know their wonderful family during our stay. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this B&B for anyone coming to Albuquerque! -Christine
business
Downtown Historic Home by UNM Convention Center, Hospitals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388314
+1 (505) 238-0308
Albuquerque New Mexico
5

Excellent Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
My 5 months extended stay at the Carriage House has been wonderful. Steve and Kara are very willing to work with their guests to make the stay enjoyable. The backyard is gorgeous, the hot tub feels perfect, and there are multiple outdoor fireplaces/fire-pits to enjoy a good fire on a cool night. The location is great with multiple restaurants in walking distance on Historic Route 66. I highly recommend this B&B for anyone planning a trip to Albuquerque.
business
Downtown Historic Home by UNM Convention Center, Hospitals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388314
+1 (505) 238-0308
Albuquerque New Mexico
Foxboro, MA
4

The Carriage House Fit Our Needs Perfectly

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
My husband and I were in Albuquerque and instead of staying in a hotel, we thought we would try a rental for a week. The Carriage House fit our needs perfectly. The owners, Steve and Kara Grant were gracious hosts and we enjoyed being part of their "family" for the week. Their yard, their pets and their children added to the enjoyment of our stay. The entire neighborhood is part of an historical district and is within walking distance to some great shops and restaurants. Our other recommendation would be to make sure your visit is "in season". We found a couple of the tourist locations were closed in early November.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Downtown Historic Home by UNM Convention Center, Hospitals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388314
+1 (505) 238-0308
Albuquerque New Mexico
Battle Lake MN
5

Great house, great hosts, great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We recently spent seven wonderful weeks (from mid-January through early March) at the Carriage House! We loved the Carriage House: intimate, cozy and just the right size for the two of us. All facilities were as described except it didn’t say you would be taken care of as if you were family! Every request/problem was answered/solved in a timely manner.

The Grants were terrific sources of information regarding activities, events, and opportunities in the Albuquerque area and the location was the BEST -- 15 minute walk to transportation hub, convention center, movie theater, restaurants galore, 25 minute walk to Univ. NM, Nob HIll shopping! We would return in a heartbeat -- loved the city, the carriage house, and the Grant family! Thanks for making our first trip to New Mexico so memorable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Downtown Historic Home by UNM Convention Center, Hospitals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388314
+1 (505) 238-0308
Albuquerque New Mexico
Portland, Oregon
5

Stay Here!!! The Best Stay Anywhere!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
I spent 8 days in Albuquerque for a conference and brought my husband and 2.5 year old son. We stayed in the newly remodeled "cabinet house" and it was fabulous! We called the owners Steve and Kara the day before and said we were coming in a day early, and the house was available so they said "no problem" and meet us at 11pm to let us in the house.
Everything about the "cabinet house" was great, well stocked, quiet, comfortable. The owners were gracious, kind, and accommodating. They have 4 well mannered and extremely charming children, that played with my son and I even taught the girls how to knit :) I really can't say enough positive things about the rental house, the owners, and the property. We had access to their beautiful backyard for their bed & breakfast property with a wonderful patio, grass, and water display (my son loved it)
Everything was just as fabulous and well maintained - as they said and I was exceptionally pleased. It was a 12 minute walk to the convention center, restaurants in easy access, my entire family loved staying here.My husband and son could easily access the zoo, aquarium, park and more.
I come to Albuquerque a few times a year so we plan on changing from the stuffy hotel to the relaxing stay at the Cabinet House or Carriage House owned by the Grant family. I would recommend this property to anyone and everyone i meet that is staying in Albuquerque!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Downtown Historic Home by UNM Convention Center, Hospitals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388314
+1 (505) 238-0308
Albuquerque New Mexico
Mountain View CA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
Home Away From Home!

We stayed here for several months in the fall/winter of 2009-2010 during our temporary work assignment to Albuquerque. I cannot say enough good things about the property - quiet, clean, comfortable, well-stocked kitchen, and within easy walking distance of the library and two of downtown's best restaurants (The Grove and the Artichoke Cafe). The property managers are professional, polite, easily reachable, and provide the utmost in service. I highly recommend this VRBO and absolutely would stay again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Downtown Historic Home by UNM Convention Center, Hospitals
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388314
+1 (505) 238-0308
Albuquerque New Mexico
Maryland
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
What a great place! Steve and Kara were so welcoming and friendly and the house was a real treat. Was in town a week for a conference at the convention center and it was only a brief 10 minute walk to downtown. Convenient for a quick stop in for lunch or a rest between sessions. There are also a few good choices for food right nearby. House was clean and comfortable. Thanks so much Steve and Kara!
Helpful votes: 1/1