Gaiole in Chianti barn rental - Terrace
Terrace
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
Minimum Stay nights
 

Gaiole in Chianti Barn Rental Photos and Description
Barn, 2 Bedrooms, 2.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Lovely restored ancient hay-barn in the very heart of the Chianti Classico area ( 2 kms from Gaiole in Chianti and 7 Kms from Radda in Chianti)

Stunning, overwhelming views over olive groves, wineyards and oak woods.

The structure, which was restored with great care overv a number of years, has been transformed by the present owners into an extremely charming and comfortable house.

The old and the new have been tastefully combined.

Internal furnishings are made up of period pieces. Old terracotta floor tiles extend through the house and wood beams and old terracotta tiles make up the ceilings of each room.

One of our guests once said that we have learned "HOW TO STOP THE TIME"

The villa consists of one large living room with fire place, open kitchen , large dining room and H/bathroom on the ground floor; two bedrooms and two full bathrooms (one with tub and shower and one with just shower)

on the first floor.

Each room has a super view over the valley

Large terraces all around with plenty of flowers where to enjoy your meals or have a drink at sunset admiring the red sun setting down over Radda.

MANAGED BY OWNERS

Keywords: apartment, cottage, restored barn

More Details
Hide Details

CORNER OF PARADISE,

THE HOUSE WITH A STUNNING VIEW, WITH PEACE AND PRIVACY

THE HOUSE WITH A SETTING OUT OF A STORYBOOK

Riccardo and Anna Maria do enjoy meeting people and becoming friends with them.

You will see them around working in their daily gardening, handy and pleased to help their guests.

11 Reviews of Property 388291 in Gaiole in Chianti, Italy

Lovely Restored Ancient Hay-Barn in the Chianti Classico Area
average rating of 5.0 based on 11 reviews
business
Lovely Restored Ancient Hay-Barn in the Chianti Classico Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388291vbi
00390577749199
Gaiole in Chianti Chianti Senese
Ohio
5

Wonderful Chianti Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Erbolino is an idyllic retreat in the Chianti hills with a lovely view of Vertine, olive orchards, vineyards and Radda in the distance. Riccardo and Anna Maria were so very charming and helpful, taking time to describe the history of Erbolino, their renovation (really a reconstruction), their antiques and collectibles, places to visit, etc. Knowing their history added immensely to our enjoyment of Erbolino and we thank them for sharing it with us. They are both available as much as you need them, but not intrusive if you want to be left alone. The living area is extremely comfortable, as pictured, and a nice place to unwind after sightseeing, hiking, etc., with vino in hand. (We regret that the weather didn't allow us to make better use of the lovely large patio to watch the sunsets each evening.) We enjoy going to local shops/markets (try Macelleria Chini in Gaiole) for food and cooking dinner "at home" and found the kitchen to be well-equipped with pretty much everything you could possibly need. There is even a full-size refrigerator. Erbolino is conveniently located for taking the train from Montevarchi (for example, to Firenze) and Anna Maria gave us advice about where to park (very helpful!). Erbolino is perfect for a romantic getaway or for sightseeing for all age groups, however, anyone who has trouble climbing stairs should be aware that the bedrooms and full bathrooms are upstairs - but there is a handrail and there is a small bathroom downstairs. Wi-Fi is available; we had trouble picking it up downstairs, but upstairs was just fine. We would recommend Erbolino in a heartbeat and, in fact, we hope to return ourselves. You couldn't ask for more charming hosts than Anna Maria and Riccardo, nor a more idyllic place to stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Lovely Restored Ancient Hay-Barn in the Chianti Classico Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388291vbi
00390577749199
Gaiole in Chianti Chianti Senese
Ontario, Canada
5

A great Chianti experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
As others have described, this property far exceeded expectations. The house is spectacular in both decor, conveniences and setting (the photos do not do justice to the gardens and flowers when they're in full bloom). We wish we had arranged to stay a full week so we could have continued to appreciate and explore all it and the region had to offer. The view from the multiple terraces was breathtaking, and included the Vertine Castle just down the road (with a great little restaurant), Radda in the distance, and lots of hiking or cycling as well. Each evening on the terrace was like watching a painting being created as the lighting changed over the incredible little valley below.

The proud owners, Riccardo and Anna-Maria, were always ready to help or advise on anything. A lovely couple with many stories to share; we truly enjoyed our conversations with them.

A memorable place from which to base your Chianti vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Lovely Restored Ancient Hay-Barn in the Chianti Classico Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388291vbi
00390577749199
Gaiole in Chianti Chianti Senese
5

Dream Tuscan Vacation with the Best Hospitality

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
While I think our experience was similar to every review here, I just had to echo the sentiments. Renting in a foreign country can be a little daunting but from the start Anna Maria and Riccardo guided us through the details. And then we arrived at the vacation villa of our dreams. Our only regret was the short time we had to spend. This restored property is not to be missed! Not only for it's historic location but for the attention to architectual detail where building to take in the view at each moment, each season was considered. We visited right on the cusp of blossoming flowers of spring....just fantastic! Perfect location for daytime sightseeing. Anna Maria and Riccardo will get you going on your way with lots of reccomendations for where to go and what to do. Loved it all but especially sitting on the deck with a good local bottle of wine and charcuterie and local cheese watching the sunset....priceless. Priceless as well was the warm welcome and stories of the area, history of the place, family history of our hosts. We felt we were at home:) I almost did not want to talk about it lest we would not be able to come back because of the popularity. We loved every minute....planning on returning soon. XOXO we loved feeling we were part of Anna Maria's and Riccardo's family. We have reccomended it to numerous friends and family
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Lovely Restored Ancient Hay-Barn in the Chianti Classico Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388291vbi
00390577749199
Gaiole in Chianti Chianti Senese
Yukon Territory, Canada
5

Best Vacation We Have Ever Had!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Words cannot express the beauty of this Region. Vertine is breathtaking, peaceful, and picturesque. The Property is the best one I have ever rented and we frequent VRBO.com alot. When planning our trip to Italy we knew we wanted Chianti Region of Tuscany. Riccardo e Anna Maria were terrific hosts. They gave us a bountiful amount of information about the area, travelling, wineries, restaurants, and shopping. We travelled to Rome and Riccardo booked our B&B in a prime location of Rome and gave us extensive instructions on sites to see and places to go. Pisa, Siena, and a number of smaller towns in Chianti were also visited. We arrived as guests but we will never forget the chats in the evening over a drop of wine on the terrace, the sunsets, the birds, the workers in the vineyards. This is the place you should stay, it has everything you need, and two people who love what they do, their home, their property, their family, friends and guests that grace their doorstep. There wasn't enough time for us to learn, see and do all that we desired. We will be returning. Thank you Riccardo e Anna Maria!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely Restored Ancient Hay-Barn in the Chianti Classico Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388291vbi
00390577749199
Gaiole in Chianti Chianti Senese
5

Family Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Its all been said and we agree wholeheartedly!Erbilino is a wonderful place.The location is breathtaking!
We especially enjoyed the walking, hikeing,running opportunities!Take an early morning walk to Gaiole,have coffee,walk home by a different route.Lots of wildlife, we even saw a wild boar!!Anna Maria and Ricardo are helpful and fun.We were escorted to the Co Op grocery store on the first day. Anna Maria explained the details of buying produce! and where to find everything.
The kitchen has everything the most demanding cook could want.The decor throughout the house is beautiful.View from the spacious patio is breathtaking .
This is a great holiday home for any age group.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Lovely Restored Ancient Hay-Barn in the Chianti Classico Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388291vbi
00390577749199
Gaiole in Chianti Chianti Senese
moscow
5

from home to home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Holidays in Tuscany, namely Riccardo and Anna Maria, is what we imagined in our dreams .
Excellent location . Very sensitive, caring and hospitable hosts. Warm, cozy and spacious home. Nearby there is everything you need if you want to return from complete relaxation to civilization.
Many thanks for the wonderful time spent.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lovely Restored Ancient Hay-Barn in the Chianti Classico Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388291vbi
00390577749199
Gaiole in Chianti Chianti Senese
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
5

An Exceptional villa as a home base for touring the Chianti Region

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Let me start by saying this property is not only as advertised, it is so much more! We are hesitant to post a review for fear Erbolino will become so in demand and we will not be able to get back in!! The property description was very accurate but it was not until we got there that we truly appreciated how exceptional it was. My wife and I spent 2 weeks at Erbolino together with another couple. Being on two floors, there was ample space for all of us. The "hay-barn" is incredibly well appointed with all amenities and you immediately feel at home. As we drove up to the property along the cypress tree lined driveway overlooking the hills of Chianti, we were greeted by the owners, waiving to us from the terrace. They are an amazing couple and we would have loved to have spent more time with them. The villa is literally in the middle of an olive grove and less than 100 meters from the front gates to a medieval town. The views are unbelievable and the sunsets just spectacular. The owner was incredibly responsive to our pre-trip questions and even helped stock some basic food items (including wine) so that when we first arrived we would be able to sit and relax. You do need a car to get to the villa and would certainly want one to explore the region, we could easily have spent months there. The owners have put incredible thought and planning into the upgrades of the “hay-barn” and it is furnished with many local antiques. The little town of Gaiole is a couple of kilometers down the hill and has all the amenities you may need (food, pharmacy, gas, bank, restaurants, etc…). We were there in December and greatly enjoyed the fireplace and heated floors! In the summer it would be amazing having diner out on one of the 4 outdoor sitting areas! In short, if you are looking for a home base from which to explore Tuscany and in particular the Chianti region, we can highly recommend Erbolino as your home away from home. The owners are truly amazing hosts and very special people.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lovely Restored Ancient Hay-Barn in the Chianti Classico Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388291vbi
00390577749199
Gaiole in Chianti Chianti Senese
San Rafael, CA
5

Amazing Villa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Although the pictures are quite lovely, the actual experience in seeing it in person and enjoying the property firsthand is unforgettable. Ricardo and Anna Maria are not only charming, but they work hard at making your stay enjoyable and stress-free not only with every amenity you could possibly want but they are a wealth of information for outlining towns, wineries, restaurants, and the history of the area and most importantly the villa where you'll find your own little museum of treasures rich with story. Not only did we have one of the most amazing views of the countryside from every window in the villa, but we watched the sun set each night as we gazed upon the castle in Vertine (just a walk down the hill) and saw the lights of Radda (one of our favorite towns). Beds were very comfortable and bathrooms and kitchen were the best stocked in Italy. . . except for a pizza cutter but Ricardo, that scissors worked just fine! This was our most memorable week in Italy and the location was perfect for getting around the region. With a perfect home base in Gaiole (and, if you find everything closed and you want something to eat go to Pizza It - he's always open until 11 p.m. or more and you can get a great pizza for only 5 Euro - again, ask Ricardo and he'll show it where it is), you are near Radda (La Botte de Bacco - favorite restaurant here - went back twice), Castellina, Greve, San Gimignano, Sienna and many others but those were our favorites. Don't miss having a delightful lunch in Volpia and trying the lovely wine at the castle winery just 5 mins. away. Ask Ricardo for names, maps and directions. He was very helpful each morning as we began our adventure of the day. We will always remember and treasure the time we had in this amazing villa and getting to know Ricardo and Anna Maria.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lovely Restored Ancient Hay-Barn in the Chianti Classico Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388291vbi
00390577749199
Gaiole in Chianti Chianti Senese
Ft. Worth, Texas U.S.A
5

Pat & Wally-Ft Worth,Tx

Pat & Wally-Ft Worth,Tx
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We stayed with Ricardo and Anna Maria for a week and we wished it could have been longer. Their home has been built with love and care and it is evident everywhere you look. The view from the terrace is something that we looked forward to returning to every day! Their location is a perfect starting point for exploring all of Tuscany. The best part of our stay was having the pleasure of getting to know Ricardo and Anna Maria; they are special people and make you feel so welcome. Anna Maria told us that we were to think of their place as our home while we were their and that is exactly what it felt like- Home. When we are fortunate enough to return to Italy, we will be heading for Erbolino! Thank you Ricardo, and Anna Maria for your help, your kindness and your friendship.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lovely Restored Ancient Hay-Barn in the Chianti Classico Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388291vbi
00390577749199
Gaiole in Chianti Chianti Senese
Fogelsville, PA
5

Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Erbolino is a Tuscan paradise. Its wonderful location allows easy exploration of other towns in the Tuscan region. We will be visiting for the third time this coming April.
We absolutely adore Riccardo and Anna Maria. They are the perfect hosts. You will definitely not be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5