San Jose house rental - Your Willow Glen Cottage as seen from the street.
Your Willow Glen Cottage as seen from the street.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
Minimum Stay nights
 

San Jose House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-5)

Long Description of Property

Located in the heart of Willow Glen, this charming two-bedroom cottage would be ideal for vacation or business, or family gatherings such as weddings, graduations and other events where a comfortable and functional base of operations is needed. The home has everything you would need for a pleasant and comfortable stay whatever the purpose of your visit.

The home, built in 1925, retains its original hardwood floors in the living room, dining area and hallway. The living room boasts the original zinc glass windows, a wood burning fireplace, HDTV with satellite, DVD player, a comfortable couch for curling up and reading your favorite novel that can be taken from the bookshelf. Also available is a small television with built-in VCR with numerous children’s videos at hand for the younger set that may be traveling with you.

The two bedrooms are each distinctively decorated, one with a queen bed and one with a full bed. (If needed, a roll-away twin bed as well as a portable crib are also available) The back bedroom opens up to a sunny deck through the French doors where you can enjoy your morning coffee. Both bedrooms have large closets as well as dressers to store your belongings during your stay. The bathroom has a vintage claw foot tub that can be used for that deep soak after a long day of touring as well as a combination shower over the tub.

A full kitchen complements the home with stove, full size oven, refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher and all dishes, pots, pans, utensils and flatware. If anything else is needed, all you need to do is ask and it likely can be accomodated.

There is full internet connectivity including WiFi available. In addition, a washer and dryer is located in the basement for you to use. A picnic basket and coolers are provided for day trips to the area's many destinations, including but certainly not limited to San Francisco, Santa Cruz, Mt. Tamalpias, Mt. Hamilton, Mt. Diablo, and the many local and state parks nearby. There are many wonderful things to see and do, and the owners will be happy to suggest possibilities depending on your interests.

Closer at hand, the home is a short walk to Lincoln Avenue, the “main street” of the Willow Glen neighborhood. This bustling street has many unique stores and boutiques, restaurants, coffee shops, salons and spas.

For the business traveler, the home is just minutes away from the downtown San Jose area, including businesses, courts, convention center, the “Shark Tank” and major freeways that lead to Silicon Valley business and beyond.

We are confident that you will find your stay here invigorating and enjoyable!

Keywords: Cute cottage, Full kitchen, backyard, sundeck, clawfoot tub, washer/dryer, Lincoln Ave., close to shops and restaurants, easy access for day trips, Highway 280, 17, 101

More Details
Hide Details

Brian and Sue are “recovering attorneys”, who love to travel, cook, and enjoy the local sights, sounds and tastes of wherever they go. Brian likes to play guitar, and often their destinations will involve music festivals. Sue is a former National Park ranger and enjoys hiking, camping and exploring new areas. While traveling they seek out the local farmers’ markets, shops and other street vendors to experience a real taste of the local cuisine and culture.

Northern California, and the Bay Area in particular, is known throughout the world for its local and sustainable cuisine, great chefs and restaurants, performing arts (and artists!) including symphonies, opera, and theatre, not to mention the many free music festivals that abound throughout the year. We are also graced with some of the finest parklands that Nature has to offer! (Don’t miss the annual Monarch butterfly migration at Natural Bridges State Park, or the elephant seals at Ano Nuevo State Park, coming up during the winter months!) Even Yosemite National Park is just a day-trip away, with more local National Parks close at hand in San Francisco and Hollister (The Pinnacles).

For those seeking an adventure closer to home, downtown San Jose offers some of the best taquerias and Vietnamese food in the Bay Area, and a wonderful day could be had by all with a visit to the Tech Museum, Christmas in the Park at Cesar Chavez Plaza, Childrens’ Discovery Museum, Rosecrucean Egyptian Museum, San Jose Museum of Art, and the Municipal Rose Garden. Or, for some, creating your own gourmet meal at this home using the best local ingredients from the various farmers’ and gourmet markets could be just the ticket for a satisfying day!

Wherever your interests lie, it is our hope that you can make this Willow Glen cottage your personal retreat for the time that you are here, and discover all that San Jose and the Bay Area has to offer.

owner/property manager purchased this house in 1998

The Willow Glen area of San Jose is the ideal location, or "starting point" for any trip within the Bay Area. The small town feel of Willow Glen and its shops and restaurants provide an enjoyable and relaxing backdrop, while still just minutes away from Downtown activities, sporting events, and Silicon Valley businesses.

Did we mention the "moderate Mediterranean climate"? (You can wear shorts in San Jose in the summer, but not in San Francisco!)

Fifteen minutes from San Jose Mineta International Airport, 45 minutes from San Francisco, and 45 minutes to the Pacific Coast (Santa Cruz, Capitola, and south...). A family-friendly house in a quiet neighborhood.... What could be more ideal?

18 Reviews of Property 388278 in San Jose, California

Charming Willow Glen Cottage--Short Walk to "The Avenue"
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 18 reviews
business
Charming Willow Glen Cottage--Short Walk to "The Avenue"
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388278vbi
(408) 209-0211
San Jose The Bay Area
Skaneateles, New York
5

Willow Glenn Cottage San Jose Ca 95125

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
I stayed a month at the cottage visiting my adult software engineer son. The house is sweet and was ready to be lived in. Brian and Sue supplied fresh flowers, many kitchen food staples, shopping bags, wine and the most incredible ginger chocolate cookies--freshly baked. I felt nurtured on my arrival.
The house served my family well. There are two nice sized bedrooms. A good sized living room with hardwood floors and a working fireplace--we did use the fireplace on some chilly nights. There is a dining nook that seats four. The kitchen has lots of cupboard space and is well supplied with glassware, cups, and dishes. One of the most charming aspects of the house is a very private deck and outdoor brick patio.
It is located very close to a nice laundromat and a delicious mexican casual restaurant--La Abuela. We were within walking distance to many other fun restaurants, Peets coffee and Starbucks.
San Jose is a very bicycle friendly city and the cottage is a 5-10 minute bike ride to Los Gatos Creek trail that goes from Willow Glen to Los Gatos. (10 + miles) It is also close to the Guadalupe river trail which heads downtown. I rode almost every day.
We really enjoyed our stay-and I highly recommend it-the owners were very easy to reach and very accomodating--for our next visit we may need something a little larger.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Charming Willow Glen Cottage--Short Walk to "The Avenue"
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388278vbi
(408) 209-0211
San Jose The Bay Area
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The cottage was exactly what we had hoped for and more! From all the personal touches and extra amenities to the awesome and convenient location.
We celebrated Thanksgiving here with our family and it felt like being at home. The oven cooked my turkey to perfection.
The owners were extremely helpful (especially when I locked us out of the house). They take care to cover every possible desire you might have while visiting.
Peet's Coffee & Noah's Bagels are right down the street, as well as the Willow Creamery - which serves my favorite "Frost" Cupcakes.
Thanks again for an awesome week!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Willow Glen Cottage--Short Walk to "The Avenue"
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388278vbi
(408) 209-0211
San Jose The Bay Area
4

renter

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Loved the location. Living room furniture met time period of the home but was not comfortable for sitting. All the little extras from the owners were awesome.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Willow Glen Cottage--Short Walk to "The Avenue"
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388278vbi
(408) 209-0211
San Jose The Bay Area
Savoy, IL
5

Amazing Location with the Comforts of Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We are relocating to California from the midwest, and were looking for a place to stay that had easy access to the entire Bay Area, and was going to be easy to get around with only one vehicle. I found this cottage on VRBO and was so excited that they had a last minute cancellation.

Willow Glen is a wonderful area, and several amenities that are easily walkable from the house. We enjoyed eating up and down Lincoln Avenue (The Table, The Crepevine, the Grapevine, Opa!, Aqui, etc.). My son attended the Steve and Kate camp at the nearby Booksin Elementary so we could go look at houses and it was nice not to be three people and a dog piled into a single hotel room with two beds. We had space to spread out.

It's close to entrances for 101, 280 and 87, so it's easy to get around to San Francisco, downtown San José, California Great America, etc.

We grilled out several times at the cottage, and we ate every last one of the cookies that Sue left for us. The beds are comfortable and the kitchen and linen closet have everything you could possibly need during your stay. The owners are super friendly, and we were so comfortable and happy for the nine days we were in Willow Glen.

For pet owners: Willow Glen is a very dog friendly area of San José. Our leash broke while we were there, and the Petco Unleashed staff on Lincoln were very friendly during our visit. Our 7 year old also liked that we could walk down to Willow Glen Creamery for dessert.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Willow Glen Cottage--Short Walk to "The Avenue"
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388278vbi
(408) 209-0211
San Jose The Bay Area
Harrisburg
5

Awesome experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
What a great experience! Sue got back to me right away and answered all my questions. She was very patient with us as we tried to coordinate this vacation. The house is gorgeous, comfortable, and in a great location. I am already planning my next vacation to San Jose and it will involve staying in this house again.
I was traveling with my 4-year-old son and he loved the house. There was lots of room for him and we were within walking distance to tons of restaurants. It was easy to get to the downtown area and all that had to offer (check out the children's museum. so much to do and not too expensive).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming Willow Glen Cottage--Short Walk to "The Avenue"
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388278vbi
(408) 209-0211
San Jose The Bay Area
4

Excellent Hosts and Location with One Large Oversight

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This place is wonderfully located. It has easy access to downtown San Jose and is steps from the fun shopping/dining of Willow Glen. Sue and Brian are wonderful hosts with an eye to detail. They were very responsive and helpful, and there were lots of fun surprises when we got to the rental house, like fresh-baked cookies and fresh fruit. They even had milk in the fridge for my babies!

One large oversight was that the backdoor only has a doorknob lock with no secondary lock. Being a city girl, I am accustomed to having more sturdy locks on my outside doors. Also, the rental house is in a busy area with people walking by and parking nearby a lot (at least during our stay), and I would have felt a touch more safe with something like a deadbolt or a chain on that door. Not to mention that I had no way to prevent my two-year-old from opening that door and going right out.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This young family stayed at the cottage for 4 nights in March. It was not until after their departure that they voiced a concern regarding the lack of a deadbolt on the back door. Since that time (and prior to the writing of their Review) a deadbolt was installed. It is always helpful to let us know if there are any concerns as they arise so that they can be timely addressed. It has always been our practice to immediately deal with any concerns of our guests.

We have owned this property since 1998 and have had no issues or concerns from previous guests regarding the security of the back door. Hopefully, it is now resolved.

One of the charms of the Willow Glen area is the fact that residents are constantly about, whether walking their dogs or merely going to and from the "Avenue" with its shops and restaurants. It is a very friendly neighborhood with children and pets abounding. Obviously, if this interaction with the neighbors is a concern, you should be aware that it is a constant, and as far as we are concerned, quite enjoyable!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Charming Willow Glen Cottage--Short Walk to "The Avenue"
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388278vbi
(408) 209-0211
San Jose The Bay Area
Murrieta, CA
5

Excellent Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We stayed at this home for eight days while visiting our daughter. It was absolutely perfect--on a quiet street just around the corner from the village--a short walk to coffee shops, restaurants, boutiques. But what made the stay perfect was the care the owners showed for the house and all the many amenities they provided to make us feel welcome--home-baked cookies waiting for us, teas, coffee, milk, fruit, chips, candies--the list goes on! This is one of the best vacation experiences we've had.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Charming Willow Glen Cottage--Short Walk to "The Avenue"
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388278vbi
(408) 209-0211
San Jose The Bay Area
Greater Boston MA
4

A really nice cottage!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Pros:Excellent location, informative and accurate web site, clean, well maintained and well equipped. The owners are very attentive and accommodating. Cons: I would have rated my overall experience as a "5 Stars" but I did not enjoy the bathroom... There is only one bathroom and the claw foot tub is nice for soaking but hard to use as a shower!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Charming Willow Glen Cottage--Short Walk to "The Avenue"
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388278vbi
(408) 209-0211
San Jose The Bay Area
santa rosa valley ca.
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The cottage was just as described quaint and private and very clean. The amenities that Sue and Brian provide are above and beyond any place we have stayed.
The cottage is almost a hundred years old so there are minor defects but it does not take away from the charm.
The location is perfect, downtown San Jose is 5 minutes away, Santa Clara, all so close.
We will definetly be back, if they have any openings it was a great place compared to hotels.
Parking is a premium to find in Willow Glen, enough room for 2 cars in driveway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Willow Glen Cottage--Short Walk to "The Avenue"
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p388278vbi
(408) 209-0211
San Jose The Bay Area
Waynesboro, PA
5

Person who made the reservation and stayed a week

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
They say it all in the description of the cottage- charming. I will add comfortable, very neat, nice decor. THe town is also charming- a real little boutique community. We were visiting son and daug-in-law anticipating birth of first child/grandchild so having a wonderful home away from home, was reassuring.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2